Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do you like being single?

• 06-11-2008 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭

Just in contrast to the other thread :)
    This isn't to say that I don't want a relationship, just observations.

I don't miss the following from relationships;

rows over nothing
    communication breakdowns which lead to the above
    Not having my own space
    Being expected to like all of her friends, hoping they will like you
    Meeting the parents for the first time, nerve racking.
    The akward time at the beginning when you're still getting to know each other. Usually it's fine, but there are occassions.
    When she asks you for your opinion on something and you dunno how to respond :)

Things I like about being single;

My own space
    just gotta look after myself
    Uhm dunno what else :o:o:o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Being able to see who I like, when I like without anyone getting jealous or possessive
    Not having to deal with his moods just because he has jealousy issues

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

i don't know... people always say its great, no rows and you can do whatever you want to do. i dont see how that would drastically change in a relationship, i would never want to be like that - do what ya wanns do for god's sake! but everyone is different. I'm practically forever single though amd i dont mind being single, but i'm getting a bit sick of it now:(. Bring on the relationships!! haha

you always want what you dont have though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Not having to worry if you behaviour would upset the OH :p

Being selfish, having more time, not having to share so much of your life with one other person, not having to put up with jealousy, controlling boyfriends, arguments, sulkers...

• Registered Users Posts: 26,556 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

cooties.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭fits

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Not having to worry if you behaviour would upset the OH :p

Being selfish, having more time, not having to share so much of your life with one other person, not having to put up with jealousy, controlling boyfriends, arguments, sulkers...

yes I agree with these. I like being able to make plans without really needing to consider others too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Not having someone else suffer because of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

being able to feck off on adventures at the drop of a hat

being able to suit myself and use my time all for me, to do what i need to or want to

being able to eat dinner or not whenever I like

having full use of my car

duvet domination!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Oooh, girly holidays!

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

Being totally self centered ... however then when I'm in a relationship this is a bad thing - hence why I end up being single again :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

i dont like getting to know their friends, especially when their friends make no effort whatsoever. arrrgh!

my own space.
    not having to worry if you look ok or the awkwardness of having a bad cold when they keep kissing you, yugh, haha.
    you can actually concentrate on things.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Not having someone else dominating how I live my life
    (this is cause I am a twat)Feeling that someone elses happiness is more important than my own
    Always second to a computer game
    Someone else making me feel insecure (well able to do that myself - ta)
    Waking up in the middle of the night freezing
    Dirty Bathroom
    Always doing the dishes (still am but at least they are my own)
    Forced family occasions
    Lies
    Fighting

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭cheerio

Having more time to spend with friends.
    Having the option of going travelling or moving away.
    Feeling more independent.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

i'm too selfish to think about anyone else so I love:

my time to myself.
    i can do what i want. . when i want. . .
    no rowing
    no extra pressies to buy
    no anniversaries and birthdays to remember cause i'm worse than a bloke for date!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

not having to deal with horrible in laws
    spending my money without worrying what someone else will think of what I do with it - I spent my SSIA on diamonds and a jeep (instead of the wedding it was started for!)............LOVE my jeep!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Oh and not forgetting misinterpreted text messages..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

cjmcork wrote: »
    not having to deal with horrible in laws

• Registered Users Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

- not having to deal with irrational jealousy
    - no drunken phonecalls at 3am (yay sleep)
    - no getting worried hes dead in a ditch somewhere if i dont get the drunken phonecall (yes i am a complete worrier, but in my defence my ex was from a dodgy area & i always worried)
    - watching what I want on tv
    - watching girly DVDs without being moaned at about "watching that sh*te" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

sar84 wrote: »
    - no drunken phonecalls at 3am (yay sleep)

lol, I had friends who were prone to that (hence why I now turn my mobile off at night:D), but none of my partners were.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

farohar wrote: »
    lol, I had friends who were prone to that (hence why I now turn my mobile off at night:D), but none of my partners were.

in fairness, i had a habit of doing it too.. :o

i still occasionally have missed calls from him in the middle of the night but ive learnt how to use the silent option on my phone :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Ahh the single life. I love being single! (even though i'm not at the moment)

Total freedom to do whatever you want without having to consider someone else.

Not trying to be friends with their friends - friends of boyfriends can be the scariest people in the world. Especially when you meet them all at once and can't remember any names...

The stupid fights over nothing at all.

Meeting the parents - terrifying

The jealousy and the distrust of all other women that i develop.

Being able to lounge around the house dressed like a homeless person or in your pyjamas without the risk of the OH dropping in.

Singleness is fantastic! My OH will probably kill me if he sees this... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Not having to think for 2.

farohar wrote: »
    Not having someone else suffer because of me.

You've been read up on PUA strategies haven't you. :D

Making bastards discover they have a heart isn't actually as alluring as those losers think.

It is more so. PM please. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Having your own space
    • Stuff is where you left it
    • Not having to check with anyone before going away or to the pub
    • Not having to discuss serious **** when you're out or late at night
    • Having the remote control :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

the only difference for me between being single and in a relationship she that i get more sex in a relationship

other then that nothing else has changed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

*Slum around my PJ all day long
    *Get up at crack of dawn if I feel like it
    *Not having to tell anybody where I am or what I'm doing
    *Kissing a helluvalot of cute Irish boys
    *Farting in the morning (I'm such a bloke, really)
    *Not having to smell his farts
    *Not rowing over stupid, ridiculous things, then after the row NOT having make-up s*x because OH is still p-ed off at something not even he can remember
    *Going out 2-5 times a week just because I like it
    *Not having to "like" his friends
    *Being able to listen to trance/house/electro from 2005 without anyone giving out (I love my neighbours)
    *Walking around with morning breath untilo mid noon
    *Eating in bed
    *Doing my nails wherever I want

I can sit all day and write stuff down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

When you're single you don't need to worry about:

His annoying friends
    Tantrums
    Jealousy
    Possessiveness
    Cheating
    Lying
    'fat' days (:P)
    Your free time is your own, you go see whoever you want/do whatever you want!
    You dont need to top up your phone as much :P
    You dont have to worry about the plank causing a fight when you're out together
    You dont get dragged along to see poxy films like James Bond :rolleyes:
    There's no fear of his mother calling you his ex's name (yes, it has happened!)
    You can let your bedroom get as messy as you want!
    You can listen to whatever music you want without having to compromise :D
    No stupid, stubble face! :mad::pac:
    You can wear your silly star pyjamas all day long
    You can go out with the guys and girls after work without having to ask permission
    No weird, paranoid, drunken texts that are frickin impossible to try and decode!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Girls, why can't you wear your pyjamas around your boyfriends? I have no problem at all with lads seeing me in pjs with dancing cows on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

the only difference for me between being single and in a relationship she that i get more sex in a relationship

other then that nothing else has changed

If I was you I would probably stay single.

I can't think of anything worse than going out with someone that has absolutley no impact on my life in any other way rather just getting my hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

mp1972 wrote: »
    Girls, why can't you wear your pyjamas around your boyfriends? I have no problem at all with lads seeing me in pjs with dancing cows on them.

I have a problem with anybody seeing me in my PJ's all day. Unless I'm sick. But even then....
    It's just not a good lok.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

mp1972 wrote: »

I get jokingly given out to when I wear pyjama bottoms around the house instead of trousers!

I was happy when I was single, but since getting with my boyfriend all that's changed is I'm happier, there's nothing I can't do now that I could when I was single (aside from the obvious scoring other guys). I wouldn't be in a relationship if I felt it was restricting.