Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish women are brill! :)

• 18-10-2008 7:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭

In a direct riposte to that other thread dissing every Irish woman based on a sample size of two, I want to do the opposite based on a sample size of one. :D

I went to college with a young woman who was conscientious, honest, diligent, kind, generous, helpful, polite, patient, sober, softly spoken and highly intelligent.

Irish women, I salute you. :)

mixed_roses.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Quite like them myself lol.

Pretty much the only women that are capabale of cracking jokes that are actually funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Knew I'd felt a disturbance in the force, this thread explains it.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

I'm suspicious .........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

I am too. I didn't know what to write here.

<<
    >>

What's going on?

But we are great, it's true. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

6-12 months ago before this forum was created i would have totally disagreed with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

6-12 months ago before this forum was created i would have totally disagreed with you.

I was under the impression, from several people that I spoke to that the majority look down at LL, so that's really nice. Please explain further!

I do love my fellow Irish females, I think they are loyal, considerate, and I love the fact the majority have a great sense of humour that I think is unique to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭coco85

Donno what to say here only 'thanks' on behalf of Irish women!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

yeah thanks!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I agree, those of us that are civilized are absolutely brilliant. I salute me!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Pherekydes wrote: »
    In a direct riposte to that other thread dissing every Irish woman based on a sample size of two

I think it's really annoying when 2 million people are tarred with the same brush because of two wenches someone met in a nightclub queue! So thank you for liking Irish women :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Of course Irish women are brilliant. They haven't chucked me out of here yet for starters. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

She Devil wrote: »
    I'm suspicious .........

Why?

My motivation was to poke sarcastically at that other thread and to pay tribute to my college classmate.

End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

To put up with the likes of me ya would have to be brilliant :D

I salute ye all ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

I salute this thread :D What a lovely idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

You're right. We are very lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Irish women are brill! :)

Pfft, sweeping generalization. :rolleyes:

Galvasean wrote: »
    Pfft, sweeping generalization. :rolleyes:

Erm, that's the POINT of the thread! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Erm, that's the POINT of the thread! :rolleyes:

Yar, I'm joking. :pac:

I salute this thread :D What a lovely idea!
    I saluted the thread to but never got a thank you from Pherekydes . But it is the ladies lounge so that explains that .

latchyco wrote: »
    I saluted the thread to but never got a thank you from Pherekydes . But it is the ladies lounge so that explains that .

Happy? :)

Happy? :)
    Why thank you , yes yes yes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Ah yeah, there are a fair few assholes that ruin it for the rest of you, but being an asshole isn't really race or gender dependant tbh...
    Irish women rawk!

(might change my tune if this one doesn't get back to me soon though!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

To be honest I am a bit of bitch but not sure if thats cause Im Irish or the fact i am bitter, twisted 26 year old who is already on the scrapheap. Probably the latter.:p

I think Irish women make very good friends, im straight so no idea what kind of lovers they make.

JaneyMc wrote: »
    I was under the impression, from several people that I spoke to that the majority look down at LL, so that's really nice. Please explain further!

well i'll try my best, expressing the thoughts in my head into text that for someone to read mainly ends up in them tearing their hair out to dicipher it.

around two years ago i use to hang around with girls i didn't like just because they were cool and had lads wagging their tails at their every command. i thought that this was what "everyone" thought was great. i came to realise that it just wasn't but yet couldn't see any girls out there that didn't do this complete and utter **** act and was beginning to lose hope that there were polar opposite girls out there.

so i expanded my circle of friends and had some patience and think it's worked out for the better.

this forum has shown me that there are a whole array of different girls out there with a varied array of personalities and other shining qualities.

some examples being: a girl posts here about feeling down and what happens, the girlies here group together, talk about it and go out for drinks, making the girl that was feeling down, not feel down. that's just great tbh and i couldn't see that happening before.

the hugh heffner thread, one of the funniest threads i've read in here, again wouldn't have happened anywhere but here.

even from attending just one TLL beers cocktails, i just got a cool - allbeit hard to describe - unintimmidating vibe from a bunch of lovely girls that you would be hard pushed to find anywhere else a vibe where a guy who was also horribly outnumbered.

those "several" people should be shot tbh, if this forum makes one person feel apart of something - no matter how small it may be - then it's worth it and i say feck the ney-sayers tbh.

For the record I was at beers so technically I'm included in the term "unintimidating bunch of lovely girls". So there! :D

• Subscribers Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭girl_friday

Of course Irish women are brilliant. They haven't chucked me out of here yet for starters. ;)

Are we allowed to chuck out the mod?? :confused: But thanks for the compliment!! :D
    Lux23 wrote: »
    To be honest I am a bit of bitch but not sure if thats cause Im Irish or the fact i am bitter, twisted 26 year old who is already on the scrapheap. Probably the latter.:p

Lol!! You're not on the scrapheap at 26!!!
    I think Irish women make very good friends, im straight so no idea what kind of lovers they make.

Great friends but I don't want to know about anything more!! :eek: I like men too much!!

Cremo wrote: »
    this forum has shown me that there are a whole array of different girls out there with a varied array of personalities and other shining qualities.

some examples being: a girl posts here about feeling down and what happens, the girlies here group together, talk about it and go out for drinks, making the girl that was feeling down, not feel down. that's just great tbh and i couldn't see that happening before.

the hugh heffner thread, one of the funniest threads i've read in here, again wouldn't have happened anywhere but here.

even from attending just one TLL beers cocktails, i just got a cool - allbeit hard to describe - unintimmidating vibe from a bunch of lovely girls that you would be hard pushed to find anywhere else a vibe where a guy who was also horribly outnumbered.

Awww! Thanks for being so honest and sweet. You've given me a real warm fuzzy cute feeling!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

This is a nice thread :) Irish girls are quite nice yes, but only while sober!

Are we allowed to chuck out the mod?? :confused: But thanks for the compliment!! :D

Lol!! You're not on the scrapheap at 26!!!

Oh but I am.

sorry but i'm going to have to rubbish that lux23 with this story

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/7662967.stm

if you keep saying to yourself that you're on the "scrapheap" then you will be, but at the age of 26 you can't possibly be.

agony uncle cremo is here all night :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭von Neumann

Is there space on that scapheap for two? :D.

P.S.
    You's are all brill.......

Piste wrote: »
    This is a nice thread :) Irish girls are quite nice yes, but only while sober!

I'm a nice drunk apparently!! You'll have to ask the lads from the last two cocktail nights for their opinion!

if you keep saying to yourself that you're on the "scrapheap" then you will be, but at the age of 26 you can't possibly be.

How wise!! :) Indeed it would have the potential to become a self fulfilling prophecy so just get out there and enjoy life pet!! Thats what I'm doing!
    agony uncle cremo is here all night :pac:

U just get sweeter and sweeter!! :D

...26 year old who is already on the scrapheap.

Total nonsense, lux. I met my current partner at nearly 32 (her age). Sure you're only a kid yet. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

Awesome Post Cremo!

I have to agree, not being Irish myself - Irish Girls rawk :D

Cmol wrote: »
    not being Irish myself

u are irish!! u just got a bit eh... misplaced!! ;)

Total nonsense, lux. I met my current partner at nearly 32 (her age). Sure you're only a kid yet. :)[/QUOTE

It is possible that some people never meet someone, I haven't had a proper realtionship since i was 19 so personally think I am better off not believing all this fairytale nonsence. Im not despressed about it, its just the way it is.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Cmol wrote: »
    Irish Girls rawk :D

I am also awesome. It's ok. I forgive you for leaving that bit out ;)

Total nonsense, lux. I met my current partner at nearly 32 (her age). Sure you're only a kid yet. :)[/QUOTE

It is possible that some people never meet someone, I haven't had a proper realtionship since i was 19 so personally think I am better off not believing all this fairytale nonsence. Im not despressed about it, its just the way it is.

Do you actually want to be in a relationship though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

ChewChew wrote: »
    I am also awesome. It's ok. I forgive you for leaving that bit out ;)

Did Celbridge secede or something??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

First off, Irish girls are great. Yeah some aren't but you get that everywhere. This forum alone shows how friendly, funny and caring Irish girls can be.

But the main question I want to ask here is why is the Ladies Lounge forum looked down on as pointed out in a post in here....why exactly would and should anyone look down on it? Because their forums are all so much better? Hardly. I'd like to know why. There's a wide range of topics discussed here, like Cremo said, anyone that's come on here who is lonely etc everyone has offered support and arranged to meet up with. Lots of people on here have made great friends and there's been some great nights out.

To anyone that looks down on that, that's a sad attitude to have.

Just like every race, gender, neighbourhood, city, country, group, band, faction, etc. in the world... There are amazingly nice, sweet women.. and there are sour, cruel bastards.

I would never say that irish women are great. Maybe in some people's experiences they are. But in my experience, the vast majority are inconsiderate, up their own ass, big headed, mentally retarded assholes.

Although I'd imagine the women that post here are, for the most part, sensible, decent people.

Clare Bear wrote: »
    First off, Irish girls are great. Yeah some aren't but you get that everywhere. This forum alone shows how friendly, funny and caring Irish girls can be.

But the main question I want to ask here is why is the Ladies Lounge forum looked down on as pointed out in a post in here....why exactly would and should anyone look down on it? Because their forums are all so much better? Hardly. I'd like to know why. There's a wide range of topics discussed here, like Cremo said, anyone that's come on here who is lonely etc everyone has offered support and arranged to meet up with. Lots of people on here have made great friends and there's been some great nights out.

To anyone that looks down on that, that's a sad attitude to have.

I doubt it was meant literally. If anyone has time to 'look down on a forum' then they need to get off the internet for a few weeks.

I would never say that irish women are great. Maybe in some people's experiences they are. But in my experience, the vast majority are inconsiderate, up their own ass, big headed, mentally retarded assholes.

The vast marjority? Hardly. It must be tough being you if the vast majority of this country's women have been so horrible to you. Think again, there's a lot of idiots out there but if most of us were like that you wouldn't be able to talk to anyone!

By the way there's PLENTY of threads on Boards giving out about Irish women, you might enjoy posting your negativity in them more than the one positive thread there is.

The vast marjority? Hardly. It must be tough being you if the vast majority of this country's women have been so horrible to you. Think again, there's a lot of idiots out there but if most of us were like that you wouldn't be able to talk to anyone!

By the way there's PLENTY of threads on Boards giving out about Irish women, you might enjoy posting your negativity in them more than the one positive thread there is.

Yeah.. You're right. Sorry. I'm just in a bad mood, and its woman related, and i seen this on the main page and just ranted on :o

My bad. Boards women = great (when they don't write "Wimmins" or "Tis".. that bugs me) :o :pac:

Yeah.. You're right. Sorry. I'm just in a bad mood, and its woman related, and i seen this on the main page and just ranted on :o

My bad. Boards women = great (when they don't write "Wimmins" or "Tis".. that bugs me) :o :pac:

Ah damnit, I wanted an argument!!

lol Only joking, well I'm sorry that some Irish girls have been nasty to you. Hopefully some have been nice too. Just ignore the idiot ones ;)

Clare Bear wrote:
    But the main question I want to ask here is why is the Ladies Lounge forum looked down on as pointed out in a post in here....why exactly would and should anyone look down on it?
    I doubt it was meant literally. If anyone has time to 'look down on a forum' then they need to get off the internet for a few weeks.

It was, actually. The Ladies Lounge took a bit of time to settle down into what it is now, a friendly community of broadly like-minded individuals, but with enough differences between them to provoke discussion and offer help/advice/entertainment based on their own experiences. There was a lot of in-fighting in the beginning and many outsiders, myself included, feared for the future of the forum as it was getting itself a bad reputation. It was definitely looked upon as being the "problem child" of Boards, and it took a while to shake that tag. Some people chose to leave rather than continue arguing or posting on a forum that was going in a direction that they didn't like, others joined as the forum developed into a place where they felt comfortable. Nothing unusual there, that's pretty much what happens in all forums, it just took a little more time and grief to get to where it is today.

Where it is today, imo, is a forum where the serious (women's health issues, for example) can sit alongside the banal (which shoulder you wear your bag on anyone?), and where the regulars feel comfortable enough to meet up in RL quite often. It's gone beyond the stage where people "look down" on it, to a point where it would be very hard to justify not having a forum such as this. Besides, people are too busy slagging me for being a mod here to be bothered slagging off the forum itself. :)

Anyway, I digress, that's just my 2c in response to the above comments. This thread is about why Irish women are brill, not for navel-gazing, so please keep it on-topic. Thanks.

The vast majority? LOL.
    Although I'd imagine the women that post here are, for the most part, sensible, decent people.

Hmm, the women that post here are decent and sensible, but the vast majority of Irish women as a whole are big-headed, mentally retarded assholes? LMAO.

As Clare said, take your bitterness to another thread. The other one, in fact.

P.S. If you've problems with so many women, maybe you're the problem?

The vast majority? LOL.

Hmm, the women that post here are decent and sensible, but the vast majority of Irish women as a whole are big-headed, mentally retarded assholes? LMAO.

As Clare said, take your bitterness to another thread. The other one, in fact.

P.S. If you've problems with so many women, maybe you're the problem?

Quite possible.

Play nicely lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Budge up on that there scrapheap. I'm a bit of a bitch too... but I like to think it's endearing :)

I think most Irish women are great - I know a lot of wonderful, sane, intelligent women who are simply ace. However, there is a large contingent of self-centred, game-playing bints who give the rest of us a bad name. But that's not the point of the thread - GO TEAM OVARIES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Because for a lot of people it's not okay to have a thread about which shoulder your bag should hang on in the same forum as a thread about abortion.

It's upsets them to think that these two thoughts can exists in the same head because they see one as being a very important issues and the other as being pointless.

It should be noted these are largely the same people who think that unless you think everything they do then you are a moron. They are also absolutely sure of their own intelligence, the education of their opinion and that they are some how enlightened.

In short, they are really, really annoying people and best left ignored.

Here's the thing, if they don't like the forum how do they know what is in it? Clearly they are reading the threads and just not bothering to respond. When it comes to discussion of Fora i will only pay attention to people who actually take the time to post in it and if you are posting in threads regularly and then turning around and slagging the forum that just makes you an asshole.

Now then, back to Irish wimmin and how captivating they can be.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I said it before and I will say it again I love foriegn women but it takes an Irish women for me to be in love.

So to Irish women I salute you.