If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jikashi

Not UL bitching per se, rather Plassey Road leading to it. Anyone else here have to drive over that monstrous new speed hump at the Vistakon end of it near the roundabout? Worse than the ones outside the arena. Even going under 5kmph it sounds very unhealthy for the tires. Problems seems to be that not only is it quite tall but it is very narrow meaning that unlike most speed bumps that you sort of climb over, by the time your back tires hit it the front ones are long passed and the car is level again. I appreciate trying to slow drivers down but it would be nice not to shag up the axles in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭rebel89

Jikashi wrote: »
    Not UL bitching per se, rather Plassey Road leading to it. Anyone else here have to drive over that monstrous new speed hump at the Vistakon end of it near the roundabout? Worse than the ones outside the arena. Even going under 5kmph it sounds very unhealthy for the tires. Problems seems to be that not only is it quite tall but it is very narrow meaning that unlike most speed bumps that you sort of climb over, by the time your back tires hit it the front ones are long passed and the car is level again. I appreciate trying to slow drivers down but it would be nice not to shag up the axles in the process.
    This!!! I went along here last Wednesday morning and there was nothing and when I came back in the evening I nearly took the bottom off the car! A sign or two wouldnt have killed them that evening:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

I'm surprised that this hasn't been mentioned recently, but the non-observance of the new "silent desk" signs in certain parts of the library annoys the hell out of me. We now have a system where people can go to specific parts of the library to have whispered conversations yet the majority are still as ignorant as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

snausages wrote: »
    I'm surprised that this hasn't been mentioned recently, but the non-observance of the new "silent desk" signs in certain parts of the library annoys the hell out of me. We now have a system where people can go to specific parts of the library to have whispered conversations yet the majority are still as ignorant as ever.

I generally stay away from the silent desks (the desks in the corner across from the stairs on the first floor FTW) but i generally think it has improved, Although the two security people on the floor are still as useless as ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Best use of Noonan security yesterday evening. Standing near the Main Gate, and when the traffic light went green, he waved traffic on...

That'll do donkey... that'll do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

snausages wrote: »

What I can't understand is why they needed to put up signs in the first place? It's a library, people are here to do work and study. It's not a café so be quiet. There's little reason for anyone to talk, if you're doing group work they have separate rooms for that. :confused: If they want to talk they can go somewhere else! *shakes fist* :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Broke a shock coming out of college court! 40 quid and 2 hours of work to try and get a new one back in. Dangerous work i may add. The speed bumps are a killer around UL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Best use of Noonan security yesterday evening. Standing near the Main Gate, and when the traffic light went green, he waved traffic on...

That'll do donkey... that'll do...

Saw a lad waving people around a round about,
    Except he was waving people to carry on after they exited a certain turn off...
    Essentially, keep on driving...
    Top class :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭The Little Fella

Was going into lectures last sunday when i encountered this unearthly beast. You can fly over all the other ones, very little breaking required, unfortunately this is an altogether different kettle of fish. It was like Istabraq going over the last fence in Cheltenham as my car went over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Was going into lectures last sunday when i encountered this unearthly beast. You can fly over all the other ones, very little breaking required, unfortunately this is an altogether different kettle of fish. It was like Istabraq going over the last fence in Cheltenham as my car went over it.

Agreed, also the new ones near the Arena in the direction of the main buildings are horrible as well. No matter how slow you go it's horrible. The amount of ramps in the area is over the top.

just been informed by my housemate my bike wwas robbed by some little ****ers today:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Agreed, also the new ones near the Arena in the direction of the main buildings are horrible as well. No matter how slow you go it's horrible. The amount of ramps in the area is over the top.

To bad some UL is home to some of the worst drivers and its needed.
    On Thursday around six my friend and I walked pass a group of six student who were drunk who saw there pals in a car who were drunk too and ran out onto the road to mess with their car. The traffic moves again and that car speeds pass with the six guys now in the car with the original five. The boot was wide open with two sitting in it. Both back doors and the passenger are open with a guy half sitting out of the car. The driver takes the turn so fast one of the back doors snapped open almost leaving one of his pals sliding along the ground.

I also hear the best put down during lunch on Thursday. A first year was talking about dropping out and like Breaking Bad cook meth to make money. He was in a middle of a rant on why this makes perfect sense when his friend turn and says so dead pan "You can't cook pasta"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

That's not bad driving it's a bit of humour. ha ha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Jester252 wrote: »

I also hear the best put down during lunch on Thursday. A first year was talking about dropping out and like Breaking Bad cook meth to make money. He was in a middle of a rant on why this makes perfect sense when his friend turn and says so dead pan "You can't cook pasta"

But Breaking Bad makes it look so easy. Are you saying it's not that simple to attain 99.999% meth purity? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jikashi

Update: was coming home this afternoon to see a JCB drilling this bloody hump off the road. Guess the County Council reads boards :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Yep I very happily noted the change this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Exam timetable = shíte :(

A nice exam timetable, with a couple of days before my tough exams could mean I end up doing extremely well...now I'll be lucky to pass some of them, because I have my 3 hardest exams on the Thursday, Friday and Saturday of the first week. Not cool...

Fireball07 wrote: »

A nice exam timetable, with a couple of days before my tough exams could mean I end up doing extremely well...now I'll be lucky to pass some of them, because I have my 3 hardest exams on the Thursday, Friday and Saturday of the first week. Not cool...

Bad buzz. Still though, loads of time yet. Be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Fireball07 wrote: »

It's only provisional, go to your class rep and/or lecturers and ask for a change in at least one and possibly two of the exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Is the provisional timetable up? Don't see it on the timetable.ul.ie site.

Never mind - I guess this is Autumn 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Went to write a report earlier, though it would take an hour, tops. Turns out it's gonna take up several hours. All my pens ran out before I started writing so had to wait til I got back to Limerick and now I'm back, walked into the house to find the kitchen window has been smashed with a large concrete brick.

So now I'm cold, tired and under pressure...

sup_dude wrote: »
    Went to write a report earlier, though it would take an hour, tops. Turns out it's gonna take up several hours. All my pens ran out before I started writing so had to wait til I got back to Limerick and now I'm back, walked into the house to find the kitchen window has been smashed with a large concrete brick.

So now I'm cold, tired and under pressure...

Oh feck! Are you alright? Did anyone actually get into your gaff? That sounds awful :(

mud wrote: »
    Oh feck! Are you alright? Did anyone actually get into your gaff? That sounds awful :(
    We're okay, yeah. Luckily I decided to go home this weekend so no-one was in the house. Nothing is gone or anything, they just seemed to smash the window, come in, and go back out the other window cause it was open. Very weird and very annoying! :confused:

Fuucckking arseholes :mad: Are there other people with you? Hope you're alright and best of luck with your report. I have a pretty srs week ahead now too. Why oh why is everything due the same week?

mud wrote: »
    Fuucckking arseholes :mad: Are there other people with you? Hope you're alright and best of luck with your report. I have a pretty srs week ahead now too. Why oh why is everything due the same week?

At the moment, yeah but I think my housemates are going to other peoples houses this evening. I've this report due tomorrow so have to stay here :(

You've a heap of stuff due this week too?

At the moment, yeah but I think my housemates are going to other peoples houses this evening. I've this report due tomorrow so have to stay here :(

You've a heap of stuff due this week too?

I sure do :) Two 2,000 word essays. A documentary to edit and a (god awful) ongoing project. Fun times!

On a lighter note I'm happy with my exam timetable. Two exams 17th and 18th then OFF for Christmas. Yay. (Although my FYP will have to be addressed during the break too) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Hope you're okay,
    And that they fix your window fast,
    Horrible time of the year for it to happen :/
    Happened to me as well last year,
    Bricked 3 windows while there was no one there,
    House was freezing when we got back,
    It lacked heating anyway and happened at end of Winter,
    Nobody got caught for it,
    Nothing was taken again...
    Very odd...
    Best of luck with projects :)

Timetable wise,
    Finished the 15th which is lovely,
    Despite it being a Saturday...
    However start on 10th,
    And have 5 exams in between...
    Much rather stay up that extra few days and spread out exams a bit more than have them so cramped together..
    Hope they do end up getting stretched out a bit..
    Big course so hopefully a few people will complain..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm actually quite happy with my timetable. I start on the 11th and finish on the 18th. Only negative is that I have the exam on the Satruday, was supposed to see Mumford and Sons on the 17th, but my toughest module exam is on the 18th, so I'll have to give it a miss (the concert, not the exam!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I don't have exams. :cool:

I wish I did though... :o

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I don't have exams. :cool:

I wish I did though... :o

ill take this one

OUT!!!!!!!!