Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey Protein Gold Standard 10 lbs Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey

• 12-10-2008 1:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭

Hey guy I'm planning on getting this stuff but not sure what its like. What are your thoughts on it? Is it worth getting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Nowler

1 of the best there is, i use it a lot and know plenty that love it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pro-Nutrition

Hey guy I'm planning on getting this stuff but not sure what its like. What are your thoughts on it? Is it worth getting?

Hey there, Optimum. I have to say I love it. Its a good grade of protein with approx 24g per serving. Mixes easy and tastes great. Comes in a 5lb tube €59.99 or a 10lb bag which works out at about €100. Great value for money. Chocolate is :D

Keith
    pronutrition.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Use it myself. Nice flavours generally, mixes well with both water and milk.

Only thing is make sure you know and like the flavour, 10lbs of a shite flavour is a lot to be stuck with :D

Hey there, Optimum. I have to say I love it. Its a good grade of protein with approx 24g per serving. Mixes easy and tastes great. Comes in a 5lb tube €59.99 or a 10lb bag which works out at about €100. Great value for money. Chocolate is :D

Keith
    pronutrition.ie

Thats expensive, where do you get it?

I get it for bout $75 for 10lb bag, i get it from bulknutrition.com or discountanabolics.com
    You pay for p+p alrite but its still cheaper.

Another 1 i get is american sports nutrition "american whey" 25lb for $150

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 best boardsie

It's my favourite supplement, but it's very hard to get in the chocolate flavour, its never in stock with UK and Irish suppliers which is a pain.

Nowler wrote: »
    Thats expensive, where do you get it?

I get it for bout $75 for 10lb bag, i get it from bulknutrition.com or discountanabolics.com
    You pay for p+p alrite but its still cheaper.

Another 1 i get is american sports nutrition "american whey" 25lb for $150

sh** $75 really, Dam that is cheap. I am sure you know that I own pronutrition.ie and I am sure that we could do better than 100 for you guys from boards. $75 is cheap but you have to wait for it to get from the states. You not try NutritionX Big Whey or Matrix? Matrix is amazing, time release system down to the 3 blends of protein (WHEY, PEA AND CASIN)

It's my favourite supplement, but it's very hard to get in the chocolate flavour, its never in stock with UK and Irish suppliers which is a pain.

I think we have it in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

Keith
    pronutrition.ie
    Its €90 here http://www.nutritionconnection.ie/goods-17.html

Price around, no doubt about the quality but it can be gotten delivered for cheaper than €100

5 lbs for €59.99 is a rip off, id feel a complete mug if i paid that. Its here for €51 and again id be confident of getting it even cheaper if you looked around http://www.nutritionconnection.ie/goods-10.html

In chocolate and in stock:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

French vanilla and cookies and cream taste mank as ****. Strawberry was grand though.

sh** $75 really, Dam that is cheap. I am sure you know that I own pronutrition.ie and I am sure that we could do better than 100 for you guys from boards. $75 is cheap but you have to wait for it to get from the states. You not try NutritionX Big Whey or Matrix? Matrix is amazing, time release system down to the 3 blends of protein (WHEY, PEA AND CASIN)

Ye it is cheap, it costs a bit to send over but i still get it cheaper than irish sites, and i always order 3 months supply so that im not waiting on anything.
    Never tryed nutritionX, as for matrix, i wount use pea protein as its not as good as normal whey and the cassin is only used for night time so that my muscles dont go catabolic when i sleep, it is slow releasing, i think bout 7 hrs.

Well done bout being the owner of that site, there's a killing to be made in selling supplements in ireland even when reducing your prices to beat your competition, i was thinking bout setting up shop but im pretty busy trainning to be a gym instructor and bodybuilding.

Esse85 wrote: »
    Its €90 here http://www.nutritionconnection.ie/goods-17.html

Price around, no doubt about the quality but it can be gotten delivered for cheaper than €100

5 lbs for €59.99 is a rip off, id feel a complete mug if i paid that. Its here for €51 and again id be confident of getting it even cheaper if you looked around http://www.nutritionconnection.ie/goods-10.html

In chocolate and in stock:p

I am sure that we could do something on the price for you guys from boards.ie ;)we deliver for free anywhere in Ireland within 4-5 working days

Ye it is cheap, it costs a bit to send over but i still get it cheaper than irish sites, and i always order 3 months supply so that im not waiting on anything.
    Never tryed nutritionX, as for matrix, i wount use pea protein as its not as good as normal whey and the cassin is only used for night time so that my muscles dont go catabolic when i sleep, it is slow releasing, i think bout 7 hrs.

Well done bout being the owner of that site, there's a killing to be made in selling supplements in ireland even when reducing your prices to beat your competition, i was thinking bout setting up shop but im pretty busy trainning to be a gym instructor and bodybuilding.

trust me its not easy but I have always loved the sport of bodybuilding and I can always remember paying crazy money for supplements when I first started training. I am sure you remember. There are so many companys out there that dont have a clue and charging people stupid prices. So I want people to get to know me and I want to supply people with good quality at cheap prices. Tommy Staunton (3 times Mr Ireland) manages the shop and he is there to offer advice on training etc etc . I would love to compete myself, I just do not have the confidence to stand up on the stage, you compete?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Hornd

Have you ever had any problems like being stopped by customs?

Esse85 wrote: »
    Have you ever had any problems like being stopped by customs?

I have to say that Customs are really getting tough, they are checking all orders coming through. We got a delivery from a supplier in the states on friday and you could see the way that they opened it and then resealed the boxes. I thinks its crazy when there is so much cocaine and other sh** coming through every day of the week right under the noise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

hello

recently got some of this stuff. its in 'cookie and cream' though. Not too fond of the taste.

anyone got suggestions to improve it slightly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    hello

recently got some of this stuff. its in 'cookie and cream' though. Not too fond of the taste.

anyone got suggestions to improve it slightly?

iirc it was ok-ish added to angel delight, but obviously that's not the most healthy option. I'm sure rubadub will have ideas though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

order from the uk

its way cheaper than buying it in eire

i get mine for about 75 delivered with free shaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

The ON Choc Mint flavour is without a doubt my favourite whey supplement that I have used.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

www.bulkpowders.co.uk
    The cheapest anywhere even with delivery.

madmik wrote: »
    order from the uk

Can you give a link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I usually buy from this site or bodybuilding.com based in the US. Both are fairly good (well stocked) and reliable and their is a sale on at the moment in the below suppliers. The only problem with buying from the states is that the goods have to pass through customs and their can be a 2-3 week lead time.

http://www.discount-supplements.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭blobert

madmik wrote: »
    order from the uk

Would be keen to know where you got this from too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

http://www.monstersupplementstore.com/Optimum_100_Percent_Whey_Gold_Standard_-_10_lb

or

http://monstersupplements.com/store/p/445/1/Optimum-Nutrition-100-WHEY-PROTEIN-10lb-+-FREE-GIFT.html

the first site are a bit retarded,can take a few weeks to deliver! but they do come thru in the end)

the second site are a bit more expensive but they deliver within 72hrs usually(choose the cheapest delivery option regrdless of ur order weight,they deliver anyway even if u choose 5kg shipping and ur order is 40kg!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭hardtrainer

And just in case anyone didn't know, Optimum Nutrition was bought by Glanbia last year, as they try to move in on the lucrative sports nutrition market. So, buying ON means you are buying from an Irish-owned company now :)

I buy it becuase it tastes great in milk or water and it mixes really easily (v. important).

I woudn't just go for ON protein. There are some other good ones out their aswell such as Dymatize, BSN and I used EAS for a while which is quite good buta bit dearer

could someone answer my question please

how would i make the 'cookies and cream' flavour taste better?

any help please

I has the Cookies and cream flavour from ON before and i just mixed it with Milk. It was bearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

Hornd wrote: »

bingo.yet again i find myself saying its the cheapest supplement shop with the best delievery service in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

could someone answer my question please

how would i make the 'cookies and cream' flavour taste better?

any help please

youll come to learn that few protein shakes have an enjoyable taste.
    get over it and just chug the thing

feck it

cause i actually liked the taste of the RAM stuff i used to use!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Rocket!

quirkster wrote: »
    bingo.yet again i find myself saying its the cheapest supplement shop with the best delievery service in the country

You cant beat Gareth for value or service. Or overall friendliness! Hes a big cuddly bear really!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

feck it

cause i actually liked the taste of the RAM stuff i used to use!!

That's cos it's jammed full of carbs. You won't find a straight protein shake that tastes as nice tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Rocket!

Hanley wrote: »
    That's cos it's jammed full of carbs. You won't find a straight protein shake that tastes as nice tbh.

You ever tried IDS Isolate Cappacinno flavour Hanley? Pretty damn nice.
    Not as good as Muscle Milk or Syntha 6 but its better nutritionally speaking.
    And thats all that really matters!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Are there any places selling just flavouring? I know bulkpowders have a new range but just wondering if people can recommend some they have tried.

Everybody says the syntha6 is nice. I have unflavoured whey which I add to all sorts of things. I liquidise fruit in it, or just use nesquik. I am guessing aldi or lidl might have milkshake powders cheap. My tesco used to do strawberry own brand ones, but never have it now.

Nutritionx or supplement factory are making their own mixes AFAIK so could sell the flavours by themselves.

EDIT myprotein do it too.
    http://www.myprotein.co.uk/products/flavouring-systems/mp-flavouring-(strawberry)/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 solarpower

Hey, anybody noticed a change in the taste of ON Gold std whey. i bought it before chistmas and just bought a new tub its tastes very different and i dont mean better. Choc flavour on both occasions. just wondering am i dreaming it or anybody else noticed same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

rubadub wrote: »
    Are there any places selling just flavouring? I know bulkpowders have a new range but just wondering if people can recommend some they have tried.

Everybody says the syntha6 is nice. I have unflavoured whey which I add to all sorts of things. I liquidise fruit in it, or just use nesquik. I am guessing aldi or lidl might have milkshake powders cheap. My tesco used to do strawberry own brand ones, but never have it now.

Nutritionx or supplement factory are making their own mixes AFAIK so could sell the flavours by themselves.

EDIT myprotein do it too.
    http://www.myprotein.co.uk/products/flavouring-systems/mp-flavouring-(strawberry)/

Bulkpowders are doing a full range of flavoured whey these days.Its only a couple of quid more expensive too.
    I got chocolate cookies flavour..its like drinking cold cocoa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭bungaro79

been reading alot about nutrition lately and think my diet needs more protein so gonna start using protein shakes. now the thing is i don't drink milk so is this a big issue??
    am in the cork area so is there any place people would recommend for whey or would it be better to get it from some place online??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

bungaro79 wrote: »
    now the thing is i don't drink milk so is this a big issue??
    Can you drink milk? Most of the protein supplements are derived from milk so if you have trouble with milk you might have trouble with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭bungaro79

i don't think i'm lactose intolerant ciaran, just have never drank it really. if i ever have cereal i drain most of the milk off of it but its still there so hope this means i can use protein shakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Boss_eye

I have to say lads ya gotta try Nutrition X , best brand on the market if you ask me. Good prices , Its an Irish Brand too , so keeps it in the country etc etc.... The ZMA pudding (casin product) is lovely:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

i actually got sent the cookies and cream by "accident" and opened it before checking..my bad

I mix with milk and some walnuts in the morning and give it 60 seconds in the magic bullet.......i actually really like the taste.....i could even say i look forward to shakes.....!!weird!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 solarpower

Most protein shakes if they are any good should be low in Lactose. The carbs you see on the panel in a 100% whey protuct are generally lactose so if they are lso and they shold be the n your should be fine. If you are completly lactose intolerant then you will be iin trouble but by the sounds of it you should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 pumpit2010

only starting to do gym work, doing some weights and cardio to build up fitness. Previously played soccer so fitness levels not too bad but strenght needs improving. Going to gym maybe 4 times a week. Any recommendations on a protein supplement to suit for when I start doing weights more frequently. Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey protein Gold Standard? Appears to be recommended quite a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 pumpit2010

where can you get Nutrition X?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I quite like the strawberry nutrisport whey and it comes with 100g of creatine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

bungaro79 wrote: »
    i don't think i'm lactose intolerant ciaran, just have never drank it really. if i ever have cereal i drain most of the milk off of it but its still there so hope this means i can use protein shakes

I'm semi lactose intolerent, gives me stomach trouble. I find whey doesn't at all, maybe just me. if you're ok with yogurt, then you'll probably be OK with whey. I actually quite like the taste now. I think that's because I take it after a workout and I know it's doing good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭theredletter

Just started taking this and getting confused with the amount I should be taking as the guy I bought it off was really unhelpful. Basically I got half a pint of water and blended have a tablespoon. Is that enough? I took it after a good cycle. I'm going to be taking it after gym sessions only, i just wanted to see what it tasted like! That ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Bit of a Zombie bump on the thread.

Best advice would be follow label guidelines for now and take it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Reggy

Just started taking this and getting confused with the amount I should be taking as the guy I bought it off was really unhelpful. Basically I got half a pint of water and blended have a tablespoon. Is that enough? I took it after a good cycle. I'm going to be taking it after gym sessions only, i just wanted to see what it tasted like! That ok?

Its not medicine man, take it whenever you want, obviously before and/or after the gym is an optimum time. I find skimmed milk makes it taste alot better.