Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What are the best rivalries in the GAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

weebelly wrote: »
    btw - grenache - you missed a classic: Derry-Tyrone the accident of geography has some players from one county playing club football (and county football) in the other - you couldn't repeat the abuse those guys get in any public forum.
    Pretty much all (or most) of these rivalries are between counties that border on each other, whats the biggest modern rivalry where they don't share a border (i.e. modern - Kerry-Dublin doesn't count).
    yes i ment to include Derry-Tyrone on that, Donegal-Derry is another big one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 westcork

Has my moniker shows, I have a slight involvement in this one, but over the last number of years the Cork/Kerry rivalry has been something fierce!! In a positive and negative way, in that the passion is unreal but also the tensions and in some cases bile at the matches is getting close to the edge!!

Next to Cork/Kerry, I have been travelling to games for the last 30 years, and Dublin/Meath, Dublin/Kerry are the greatest footballing "Rivalries" I have seen - Galway / Mayo not as big IMHO - Tyrone seem to get up a lot of people's nosein the North!

In hurling, Cork/Tipp/KK in any order are strong

Re Local rivalry in the true sense, I spent a weekend with a friend in Ballaghadereen when Ros were playing Mayo in the Championship - Mighty craic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭weebelly

westcork wrote: »
    Tyrone seem to get up a lot of people's nosein the North!

I do believe Kerry aren't overly fond of them these days either (although it hasn't yet spilled over into wrestling matches which would suggest there isn't real needle there yet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Dublin V Meath and Dublin V Kerry for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

grenache wrote: »
    yes i ment to include Derry-Tyrone on that, Donegal-Derry is another big one.

Would put Donegal-Tyrone miles ahead of Donegal-Derry. Not too bad when ye get beat by Derry as their followers nearly all live up the far side of the glenshane pass and you never bump into them, Tyrone, a different story, their always in our faces unfortunately:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

shiibata wrote: »
    Would put Donegal-Tyrone miles ahead of Donegal-Derry. Not too bad when ye get beat by Derry as their followers nearly all live up the far side of the glenshane pass and you never bump into them, Tyrone, a different story, their always in our faces unfortunately:(
    Aye and I live there. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Killinaskully & Bally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

It's all down to location. They haven't played much recently, but traditionally the main rivalry in hurling in Kilkenny v Tipp. The two counties share a large border and both are successful. I'd say that this would more intense than Tipp v Cork because they've never met in an All-Ireland.
    On the other hand, you could say Cork v everyone else is pretty intense. 31 counties hate Cork and the present situation down there would show you why.

There isn't really a Dub/Meath, Cork/Kerry, Galway/Mayo rivalry in Ulster. There have never been a 'Traditional Big 2' and for years there was an 'Us against the Rest' mentality that made sure that they supported each other when they came down and got the ****e kicked out of them in All-Ireland Semi-Finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

From a tipp point of few ive been to most championship matches they played since 1998.

Without a doubt it has to be clare in the 90s and early 00s there is still bitterness there but not to the extent of back then.

I would have loved to be in cork this year for the game but was leaving the country the same day that game was more historic but there isnt that bitterness between the counties.

My personal favourite rivalry is waterford as i do harbour bitterness down to been close to the border and my mother coming from the county. I have never seen the hatred they have for tipp either so i must say its my personal favourite rivalry.

My god the munster championship is great may they never get rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭connacht100

dublin/everyone

kildare/offaly

cork/kerry

monaghan/armagh

kilkenny/tipperary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

I'd nearly say Cork v Kerry in Football, Cork v Cork in hurling!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

cmcsoft wrote: »
    Cork v Cork in hurling!! :D

Never a truer word spoken :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I think these rivalries may be intensified as the GAA are planning on having more earlier provincial matches in smaller venues next year as opposed to Croke Park.In Leinster,I think it is the case that Dublin-Meath is in Croker while preliminary rounds and other quarter finals are in neutral venues.

So Kildare-Offaly may be played out in Portlaoise and Laois-Louth (if it occurs) in Parnell Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rockfish

While Mayo V galway is a huge derby and always a grea occasion, i personally look forward more to games V Roscommon. Love to beat them cos their a large minority of their fans <Snip>

Rockfish wrote: »
    While Mayo V galway is a huge derby and always a grea occasion, i personally look forward more to games V Roscommon. Love to beat them cos their a large minority of their fans <Snip>
    Infracted.

Try posting about rivalries without resorting to abuse in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Dublin v Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,021 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Rockfish wrote: »

I think the Roscommon fans are sound out great craic all the time. What ya on about man....:rolleyes:

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Lovin' It

Cork 2008 hurling team and the Cork county board...hate each other....first round 2009 will be some game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Lovin' It wrote: »
    Cork 2008 hurling team and the Cork county board...hate each other....first round 2009 will be some game!

Wont be the best of rivalries cos one side cant field a team :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 mlelsc

Always a cracking hurling match between both counties when the deise play the rebels. As for Dublin football fans (and I am a Dub!) they only bother to go to Croker when the team are playing there! The Dublin fans are a disgrace.......Yes there is a small hardcore base of loyal fans, but when the Dubs play in Croker they always delay the start of the match and this is very unfair to the other team and their fans,....... but the reality is that GAA are worse in condoning this! GAA get your act together...If the dub fans are lingering in the local pubs to hell with them....The Dubs do not own Croke Pk...it is for all counties!

mlelsc wrote: »
    Always a cracking hurling match between both counties when the deise play the rebels. As for Dublin football fans (and I am a Dub!) they only bother to go to Croker when the team are playing there! The Dublin fans are a disgrace.......Yes there is a small hardcore base of loyal fans, but when the Dubs play in Croker they always delay the start of the match and this is very unfair to the other team and their fans,....... but the reality is that GAA are worse in condoning this! GAA get your act together...If the dub fans are lingering in the local pubs to hell with them....The Dubs do not own Croke Pk...it is for all counties!
    Thanks for your wonderful insight there mlelsc. Now, try keeping on topic in future. This thread is about GAA rivalries be they county or club and has nothing to do with Dublin fans.

You may consider this a warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

While i agree somewhat with your sentiment mlelsc your wrong in blaming the GAA, it has nothing to do with them it is the Gardai who delay the start of then games for safety reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Someone ranting about Dubs fans already??:eek:

To be fair to the Dubs fans a Packed Hill 16 is one of the greatest sights in GAA if you ask me. As for delaying the start of matches it has to be done to prevent something like Hillsborough happening

You're right as regards Cork and Waterford in recent years though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

At club level here in Dublin there are many rivalries that start the heart beating.

St Vincents and Na Fianna

I know Na Fianna have gone off the boil in recent years but a league match in either Pairc Naomh Uinsionn or Mobhi Road is always very well attended and 9 times out of 10 it will be a close match.Its a localish derby but these two always put on great matches.

St Vincents and Kilmacud Crokes

Probably the two best clubs in Dublin.Whenever one beats the other in the Dublin Championships,that team goes on to win the Championship.Last year we beat them on route to winning Dublin Championship and then we went on to win Leinster and the All Ireland.

This year they bet us after a replay and went on to win the Dublin final then Leinster and are now in the All Ireland semi final.

St Vincents and Ballyboden St Endas (hurling)

We always used to get the upper hand over the Firhouse Road outfit but they walloped us to deny a double last year in the Dublin championships.This year they squeezed past us and then made sure that Kilmacud Crokes suffered the same fate as us last year by hockeying them in the final.

St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh and St Brigids

These are two very local teams in Dublin 15 and both sets of fans have a dislike for each other.The games between the two are usually very heated

Clontarf and Raheny

Not the best two clubs at senior level but again its a local derby and the games are always tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Browney7 wrote: »
    Someone ranting about Dubs fans already??:eek:

To be fair to the Dubs fans a Packed Hill 16 is one of the greatest sights in GAA if you ask me. As for delaying the start of matches it has to be done to prevent something like Hillsborough happening

You're right as regards Cork and Waterford in recent years though

Thank you its easy to Dub bash blah blah blah but for any GAA fan worth there salt trying to get to the Hill on a big match day is also a disgrace so it aint just the Dubs staying in the pubs so dont even bring that into a thread bout GAA rivals

If I see one more post that mentions Dublin fans or late kick offs or anything even slightly off-topic, the poster will be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

Ya it probably is one of the most intense in recent years, but there is a lot of anomosity there. When Cork and Tipp play, you'd almost not mind the other lads getting one up on ye, and it's all off for pints together afterwards.

When it's Cork and Waterford, it's a different story. Ever since John Mullane's two fingers to the Cork fans a few years back, it's been a rivalry that is far from healthy. I think it was a rivalry to hurt Waterford hurling too. They treated provincial games against Cork as All-Ireland finals.

I have to disagree with you there...I think Cork and Waterford have a very healthy respect for each other. The games are always tough but they shake hands and commisserate/congratulate each other after the full time whistle.

The rivalry is fierce alright but there is no anomosity there IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Lovin' It wrote: »

Maybe not the best rivalry, definitely one of the worse....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

ballyclough v buttervant, any code , any time , anywhere! :mad: