Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the best rivalries in the GAA?

• 08-10-2008 8:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

This stems from the draw topic. After seeing so many great clashes coming up next year, what does everyone think is the most fierce rivalry in the GAA today?

It's hard to tell in hurling. If we look back on the decade so far, Cork and Waterford have met way more times than any other pair of counties, and the quality of hurling they produce is something else, so that has to be up there, but the two counties still share a mutual respect for one another, much more so than say Waterford and Kilkenny.

Their rivalry stems from location alone, with so much to do with the bridge across the Suir, Waterford peoples perception that all Kilkenny people work in Waterford and that kinda stuff. But they very irregularly meet in the Championship nowadays, so do you think that makes their rivalry more or less fierce and intense?

Cork and Tipp have a more historical rivalry, as do Cork and Kilkenny, but do they really stand out far more than any other matches in the Championship? One very good way of analysing rivalries over in the PL is the atmosphere. The noise at Arsenal/Tottenham or Man Utd/Liverpool is far and away greater than you're average PL match. But for some reason, that doesn't quite exist to the same degree over here. Tbh I'd find a Munster final atmosphere between Cork/Tipp to be around the same as a Munster final featuring two teams who don't share such a rivalry, like Waterford vs Clare/Limerick.

But then again, a Man Utd/Liverpool FA Cup final would have a much better atmosphere than a Chelsea/Portsmouth final or something. Why is that the case over there and not here?

Thats why I want to ask the Dublin fans something. Every Championship match you play, it's played in front of a 82,000 capacity. But would you notice a stronger atmosphere when playing Meath compared to your regular Leinster counterparts like Laois or Wexford? I've never been to a Dublin football match so I'd actually like to know is there a major difference?

Getting onto the football, Dublin/Meath, Dublin/Kerry, possibly Cork/Kerry and Meath/Westmeath would stand out for me. Do you think Armagh/Tyrone fit in that catagory. Like I said I don't get to many football matches so I honestly don't know. Is there any other footballing teams you'd consider to have a strong rivalry with?

Personally I'd have to go with Cork/Waterford in the hurling still being the greatest rivalry in the GAA at the moment, solely down to the intensity of their matches, the numbers of times they've met since 2002 and the sheer closeness of many of their matches.

Quick fact for you lot, the two have met every year between 2002-2007. They played each other 9 times in 6 Championships, with Cork winning 4, Waterford winning 4 and one draw. Corks wins came with a margin of 4, 3, 5 and 1 point, and Waterfords wins were by margins of 1, 1, 3 and 3 points. Says it all really!

Anyone care to agree/disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

You didn't mention Galway v Mayo? Tyrone v Derry can be very intense as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

I may be biased by i think in football the cork and kerry rivalry has always been there and has intensified in the last few years with them meeting 2/3 times a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I've been going to Dublin matches since the year dot but as a kid I always remembered the atmosphere at Dublin-Meath games being more intense.Then again,they would have been the first games I experienced or remembered especially the late 80s and early 90s when the 4 game saga occurred and as a kid everything seems louder,bigger etc when you remember them in later life.

The Croke Park factor doesn't really give a proper indication of the intensity to a particular rivalry.I've found that you experience the real rivalry in smaller county grounds and I think to gauge the real rivalry between Dublin and Meath you would have had to have been in Parnell Park back in April when the real fans were there shouting and cheering in the heat of battle.Otherwise,compairing that game to the games in 07,you just saw great football between two good teams in a Leinster Championship and a good game in the league marred by fighting and skull duggery.The atmosphere for Dublin games in Croker is always special so thats why I'd discount it as a venue to gauge rivalry between Meath and Dublin.Thats best done in Parnell Park or Pairc Taillteann.

I feel the banter before games with Meath fans is more interesting than say when Dublin play Laois,Westmeath or Offaly.You get the usual slaggings etc but when it comes to Croke Park,its pretty much the same.Dublin fans (including myself) are very quick to go mad at the team or a particular player if he passes the ball to the opposition or makes a bad mistake.In most Dublin games this will happen.

While Dublin-Meath is a huge rivalry,I think the rivalry betwen Tyrone and Derry is an underestimated one.From watching games between the two and listening to accounts from Tyrone fans,there is very little banter,friendliness or even respect among the two sets of supporters.I'd love to be a neutral at Tyrone-Derry game in Clones.

I don't go to as many hurling matches as I do football but I'd imagine that Tipp and Cork,Waterford-Cork and Limerick-Clare are the biggest rivalries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

blackbelt wrote: »
    I've been going to Dublin matches since the year dot but as a kid I always remembered the atmosphere at Dublin-Meath games being more intense.

I feel the banter before games with Meath fans is more interesting

While Dublin-Meath is a huge rivalry,I think the rivalry betwen Tyrone and Derry is an underestimated one.From watching games between the two and listening to accounts from Tyrone fans,there is very little banter,friendliness or even respect among the two sets of supporters.I'd love to be a neutral at Tyrone-Derry game in Clones.

Couldnt agree more with the meath stuff blackbelt though i am surprised you didnt mention Dublin v kerry rivalries there i believe it goes back much further then meath

As for the tyrone derry one yes that is a big thing but i will add it is as much the people as the sport ( ie derry people cant stand tyrone people and vice versa, now obviously there are exceptions but as a whole that is a given here) however i was surprised how many derry men would admit to hoping for tyrone to win the final but then it was an Us against them" mentality against a "southern" team of kerry.

I highlighted underestimated in your quote there cos it damn sure isnt underestimated here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

some great rivalries at club level it has to be said.

but at county;

Cork and Kilkenny - always has that something special

Clare and Tipperary - unfortunately there's always been a touch of anomosity there. I know a few big wigs who are still sore over the whole Nicky English and Ger Loughnane capers

Cork and Kerry - neighbours that always meet a good few times a year so bound to happen

deise59 wrote: »
    Quick fact for you lot, the two have met every year between 2002-2007. They played each other 9 times in 6 Championships, with Cork winning 4, Waterford winning 4 and one draw. Corks wins came with a margin of 4, 3, 5 and 1 point, and Waterfords wins were by margins of 1, 1, 3 and 3 points. Says it all really!

Ya it probably is one of the most intense in recent years, but there is a lot of anomosity there. When Cork and Tipp play, you'd almost not mind the other lads getting one up on ye, and it's all off for pints together afterwards.

When it's Cork and Waterford, it's a different story. Ever since John Mullane's two fingers to the Cork fans a few years back, it's been a rivalry that is far from healthy. I think it was a rivalry to hurt Waterford hurling too. They treated provincial games against Cork as All-Ireland finals. Whenever they beat us (I'm a Leeside by the way) they went mental, absolutely mental...but they always failed to take the next step, claim Liam McCarthy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

Football:
    Mayo-Galway should be near the top of any list

I guess also Kerry V Dublin
    And Meath V Dublin is the big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

Clare and Tipperary - unfortunately there's always been a touch of anomosity there. I know a few big wigs who are still sore over the whole Nicky English and Ger Loughnane capers

Love that one me. Ger Loughnane made that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Clare v Tipp
    Even though the bile has gone out of it a bit recently, some classic encounters during the years strangely enough don't remember a single red card in 10 Cship meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭mydogjack

used to be kilkenny vs tipp.
    kilkenny vs waterford.....well that got sorted sharpish in september.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Kerry V Tyrone, It is a new rivalry but Kerry people really are dying to beat them now. League Matches in Tralee between the two are often very intense packed out encounters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

blackbelt wrote: »
    The Croke Park factor doesn't really give a proper indication of the intensity to a particular rivalry.I've found that you experience the real rivalry in smaller county grounds and I think to gauge the real rivalry between Dublin and Meath you would have had to have been in Parnell Park back in April when the real fans were there shouting and cheering in the heat of battle.Otherwise,compairing that game to the games in 07,you just saw great football between two good teams in a Leinster Championship and a good game in the league marred by fighting and skull duggery.The atmosphere for Dublin games in Croker is always special so thats why I'd discount it as a venue to gauge rivalry between Meath and Dublin.Thats best done in Parnell Park or Pairc Taillteann.

Was at that game and in terms of passion and atmosphere very few Dublin games at Croker could compare. Obviously the volume of noise made by 82,000 people can't be matched but the passion and intensity was incredible. I'd say definitely in Leinster Meath-Dublin games have an extra edge. Would have loved to live through the Kerry-Dublin games of the mid to late 70's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

You've got to be kidding about atmosphere and Spurs v Arsenal/ United v Liverpool being louder than the rest, deise. May once have been, but the real vocal fans have been priced out at these clubs. These days even Chelsea v West Ham or Newcastle v Sunderland are louder and far more intense than those.

As regards rivalries, a lot is based on surrounding counties: some in Kilkenny would go for Tipperary (usually the older ones), some would opt for Waterford (the South Kilkenny ones mostly) and still others would go for Offaly or Wexford. I and many more City Cats just love beating (in recent decades) arch-nemesis Cork most of all, so that's my selection. But I would suggest KK have too many mini rivalries to feature in any top hurling duo rivalries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Laois Offaly - both codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

djScarey wrote: »
    You've got to be kidding about atmosphere and Spurs v Arsenal/ United v Liverpool being louder than the rest, deise. May once have been, but the real vocal fans have been priced out at these clubs. These days even Chelsea v West Ham or Newcastle v Sunderland are louder and far more intense than those.

Oh I agree with you, dont get me wrong. The point I was making was that United/Liverpool matches have an extra edge atmosphere wise compared to if one of those teams just had a regular PL match against mid-table opposition. But thats not the case here so all the matches are so much more competitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

From my viewpoint having attended a lot of Championship games in hurling the biggest rivalry at the moment seems to be Cork v Waterford. There is a noticeable buzz around the place when these two play each other. Its not a traditional rivalry per se, but perhaps having played each other a lot in recent years has something to do with it.
    Limerick v Tipperary is a big rivalry too. These two always produce cracking games, the Limk/Tipp trilogy was one of the high points in hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

I'd always have considered Tipp as Galways main rivals.

RichTea wrote: »
    Love that one me. Ger Loughnane made that one.

did he what!! +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Meath-Dublin. End of.
    Name me one other match up that could sell out Croke Park in the first round of the championship?

Meath-Dublin. End of.
    Name me one other match up that could sell out Croke Park in the first round of the championship?

Dublin and anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Meath-Dublin. End of.

Well probably Tyrone Armagh. They got 20,000 at a McKenna Cup Final in 06!

I think for pure epics which probably culminated in the most intense match of the decade in 05, Tyrone and Armagh. Francies shoulder on Mulligan ending up with the 2 of them on the ground I'll never forget. It ended up in a penalty for Tyrone.

I think the Tribune did stats on them before the match, Armagh where ahead from about 99/2000 on.

Guess how much? 1 Point.

Donegal Derry is probably our biggest. Some Derry muckers at the matches who are soccer fans, not GAA Fans. Donegal Armagh would be good if we could beat them!

I think the best outside Ulster is Galway Mayo. They can still have the craic.

Hurling, Cork Waterford for this decade but Cork Tipp brings back memories from the 80's and early 90's.

PS. Guess how much Tyrone won by? A point!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Dublin and anybody else.

Dublin vs Louth this year had everyone clamouring for tickets (sarcasm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Meath-Dublin. End of.

Selling out croke park doesn't mean anything when it comes to rivalry IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭BOSTIK

buck65 wrote: »
    Clare v Tipp
    Even though the bile has gone out of it a bit recently, some classic encounters during the years strangely enough don't remember a single red card in 10 Cship meetings.

2 players got the line when the sides met in 2003, Seanie McMahon got a straight red while John Carroll was sent off for 2 yellows. Clare won it easily, confounding all pre-match speculation of a handy Tipp win. That match marked the end of any memorable clashes between the teams, fewer than 30,000 people turned up for a paring that was pulling twice that in the preceding years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Vixen Sexlectra

Hello..

Would have to be Kilkenny vs Cork imo
    They both as hungry as each other.. ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Very noticable that Tipp appear in nearly 75% of the hurling rivalries mentioned, but i think the only reason for this is that Tipp has a border with almost every other traditional hurling county and the rivalries tend to be more fierce depending on what part of Tipp your from.

When i first started attending games it was Galway and Tipp - the Keady affair etc. - and then the Clare thing which in hindsight got way out of hand, but even while these were happening there was always what i would describe as healthy rivalries between Tipp, Cork and Kilkenny where despite the intense rivalry there is always alot of respect and admiration behind it all.

Very noticable that Tipp appear in nearly 75% of the hurling rivalries mentioned, but i think the only reason for this is that Tipp has a border with almost every other traditional hurling county and the rivalries tend to be more fierce depending on what part of Tipp your from.

When i first started attending games it was Galway and Tipp - the Keady affair etc. - and then the Clare thing which in hindsight got way out of hand, but even while these were happening there was always what i would describe as healthy rivalries between Tipp, Cork and Kilkenny where despite the intense rivalry there is always alot of respect and admiration behind it all.

+ 1

Dublin and anybody else.

Em no,Dublin played Louth and Westmeath in the Leinster championship this year, both failing to sell out Croke Park. Dublin only sell out Croke Park in the Leinster championship if they're in the final or (as was my original point) playing Meath. Check the stats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

It depends on how you understand the term rivals i think. If you look at the dictionary description it would simply mean 2 teams competing against eachother for a common goal, and maybe of similar talent also so there would be rivalries all over the place. I however think there has to be a bit more to it. I think there has to be the feeling that if you dont beat the team, you will never get over it kinda thing (slightly ott but you get what i mean :) ) For that reason, i wouldnt see something like Kilkenny v Cork for example as what i would call a rivalry. Just asked my Dads opinion also and he agrees but says Tipp v Cork was one hell of one :) Everyone has a different idea of what a rivalry is though so i think peoples opinions would vary alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Very true! For some reason Tipp are team that everyone wants to beat, you'd think it would be Kilkenny at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

Meath-Dublin. End of.

Dublin is the highest populated county so they are bound to have a bigger support base and also Croke Park is a home game for them. There are more rivalries than Meath and Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

CyberDave wrote: »
    Dublin is the highest populated county so they are bound to have a bigger support base and also Croke Park is a home game for them. There are more rivalries than Meath and Dublin.

indeed there are galway/mayo cork/kerry and so on but Dublin and meath is special... although not so much right now as Meath are fairly useless.. I really hope to see a return to the days when they were evenly matched.

Alany wrote: »
    indeed there are galway/mayo cork/kerry and so on but Dublin and meath is special... although not so much right now as Meath are fairly useless.. I really hope to see a return to the days when they were evenly matched.

Dont worry Dublin are well on their way to achieving this ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

BOSTIK wrote: »
    2 players got the line when the sides met in 2003, Seanie McMahon got a straight red while John Carroll was sent off for 2 yellows. Clare won it easily, confounding all pre-match speculation of a handy Tipp win. That match marked the end of any memorable clashes between the teams, fewer than 30,000 people turned up for a paring that was pulling twice that in the preceding years.

Yeah you're right I was actually at the game , Seanie hit Conor Gleeson a box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Dont worry Dublin are well on their way to achieving this ;)

Now Now!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

As a child of the 70's and 80's I think Dublin v Kerry will always be the main football rivalry for me. Meath came along just after that for the Dubs. Similarly in Hurling it has to be Cork and Kilkenny for me. Those two ties will always have an extra little bit of bite for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Waylander wrote: »
    As a child of the 70's and 80's I think Dublin v Kerry will always be the main football rivalry for me. Meath came along just after that for the Dubs. Similarly in Hurling it has to be Cork and Kilkenny for me. Those two ties will always have an extra little bit of bite for me.

+1 on both accounts with Football and Hurling ...

I grew up with the Kerry -v- Dublin rivalry and to this day it is still very much evident at Championship level and second to none.

I think the Kerry -v- Cork rivalry is really only at provincial level and as for kerry -v- Tyrone; i just don't see it reach the intensity as with the dubs.

Cork -v- Kilkenny for me any day is a savage match to watch...at any level and imo seems will be that way too for a while to come too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I really hope to see a return to the days when they were evenly matched.

It might be sooner than you think. Beware of a Meath team written off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

CyberDave wrote: »
    Dublin v a bad (even by their standards) Offaly team sold out Croke Park

Danno wrote: »
    This trickled down into club level at least for a few years during the mid 90's.

as a Biffo, we always knew that no matter how bad things were, we'd be able to give Laois a good run in Football, and beat ye in hurling :-).
    Strangely, from an Offaly viewpoint, football rivalry v Westmeath or Kildare was always more intense than v Laois.
    In Leinster hurling, there's not much of the Cork-Waterford, Clare-Anyteam rivalries, maybe Wexford v Kikenny useta come close.

Very true! For some reason Tipp are team that everyone wants to beat, you'd think it would be Kilkenny at this stage.
    It's not so much the Tipp team we wanna beat, it's to quieten the fans.

Tipp fans tend to go on so much about being home of hurling and stuff, while the "new" stand in Thurles was falling down around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

Bogger77 wrote: »
    This trickled down into club level at least for a few years during the mid 90's.

as a Biffo, we always knew that no matter how bad things were, we'd be able to give Laois a good run in Football, and beat ye in hurling :-).
    Strangely, from an Offaly viewpoint, football rivalry v Westmeath or Kildare was always more intense than v Laois.
    In Leinster hurling, there's not much of the Cork-Waterford, Clare-Anyteam rivalries, maybe Wexford v Kikenny useta come close.
    Danno wrote: »

+1 on the Laois Offaly rivalry! I'm from Portarlington which is on the border of both counties, divided by the Barrow. Many's the Saturday night fight down the town would be between both sets of fans:D To me its always great to beat Offaly. At any games between them, you can feel the intensity of raw rivalry. And if Offaly win a game I tend to stay in couldn't listen to the slagging!:o
    Ah no seriously its great banter, when Laois are winning:p

Bogger77 wrote: »
    It's not so much the Tipp team we wanna beat, it's to quieten the fans.

Tipp fans tend to go on so much about being home of hurling and stuff, while the "new" stand in Thurles was falling down around them.

No harm in wanting doesnt mean its going to happen anytime soon.

As for Semple stadium yeah your right we really could learn alot from those modern marvels in Tullamore and Birr :D

What about the draw last year or the game before that in 2005 which was a 2 point victory for the Dubs?? Roll on June!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

ack meath still arent there yet but I think they will be soon. Never the less Roll on June. strange that Dublin should get meath...its as if the GAA wanted a fullhouse and soem buzz about GAA early inthe C'ship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

ack meath still arent there yet but I think they will be soon. Never the less Roll on June. strange that Dublin should get meath...its as if the GAA wanted a fullhouse and soem buzz about GAA early inthe C'ship

Indeed and Tyrone Armagh too. Rumours that they want to play in Croker too!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Indeed and Tyrone Armagh too. Rumours that they want to play in Croker too!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=102425
    Harte would relish Croker date with Armagh

15 October 2008

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte admits he would love to see next year’s Ulster SFC first round showdown with Armagh played in Croke Park, despite the Red Hands having home advantage for the glamour tie.

Harte says he would happily sacrifice home advantage to begin Tyrone’s All-Ireland defence at GAA headquarters against their fiercest rivals.

"Absolutely," he said when it was suggested to him that the game could kick off the GAA’s 125th anniversary celebrations.

"I’d love it, I would. I love going to Croke Park, why wouldn’t you? And that would thrill me to bits.

"Omagh mightn’t like that because they might think they have the game because it’s a home draw and Clones mightn’t like it because they might feel they should have it. But if the opportunity to go to Croke Park was viable, I would love it."

Given the tough draw Tyrone have been handed, Harte conceded that the back door may once again be their best route to defending Sam Maguire next year.

"The way the draw has gone for us, Ulster isn’t going to be easy. We play Armagh first and, if we are successful there, we meet Monaghan or Derry.

"So if you had to go to the pin of your collar to win Ulster, I don’t think it would be a good idea because you are going to come in a tired team at a time in the championship when that matters most."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Petrolium Hat

deise59 wrote: »
    This stems from the draw topic. After seeing so many great clashes coming up next year, what does everyone think is the most fierce rivalry in the GAA today?

It's hard to tell in hurling. If we look back on the decade so far, Cork and Waterford have met way more times than any other pair of counties, and the quality of hurling they produce is something else, so that has to be up there, but the two counties still share a mutual respect for one another, much more so than say Waterford and Kilkenny.

Their rivalry stems from location alone, with so much to do with the bridge across the Suir, Waterford peoples perception that all Kilkenny people work in Waterford and that kinda stuff. But they very irregularly meet in the Championship nowadays, so do you think that makes their rivalry more or less fierce and intense?

Cork and Tipp have a more historical rivalry, as do Cork and Kilkenny, but do they really stand out far more than any other matches in the Championship? One very good way of analysing rivalries over in the PL is the atmosphere. The noise at Arsenal/Tottenham or Man Utd/Liverpool is far and away greater than you're average PL match. But for some reason, that doesn't quite exist to the same degree over here. Tbh I'd find a Munster final atmosphere between Cork/Tipp to be around the same as a Munster final featuring two teams who don't share such a rivalry, like Waterford vs Clare/Limerick.

But then again, a Man Utd/Liverpool FA Cup final would have a much better atmosphere than a Chelsea/Portsmouth final or something. Why is that the case over there and not here?

Thats why I want to ask the Dublin fans something. Every Championship match you play, it's played in front of a 82,000 capacity. But would you notice a stronger atmosphere when playing Meath compared to your regular Leinster counterparts like Laois or Wexford? I've never been to a Dublin football match so I'd actually like to know is there a major difference?

Getting onto the football, Dublin/Meath, Dublin/Kerry, possibly Cork/Kerry and Meath/Westmeath would stand out for me. Do you think Armagh/Tyrone fit in that catagory. Like I said I don't get to many football matches so I honestly don't know. Is there any other footballing teams you'd consider to have a strong rivalry with?

Personally I'd have to go with Cork/Waterford in the hurling still being the greatest rivalry in the GAA at the moment, solely down to the intensity of their matches, the numbers of times they've met since 2002 and the sheer closeness of many of their matches.

Considering Meath have never lost a championship match to Westmeath EVER i dont think that's worth considering.

Meath v Dublin is the best rivalry bar none. No atmosphere like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Petrolium Hat

Why is it strange that havent got each other in the first round, correct me if im wrong but they havent palyed each other at that stage since 1991. That'll be 8 years. There's only 8 other counties they could have played. It's strange it hasn't come up since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Why is it strange that havent got each other in the first round, correct me if im wrong but they havent palyed each other at that stage since 1991. That'll be 8 years. There's only 8 other counties they could have played. It's strange it hasn't come up since.

The played each other in the Leinster quarter finals in 2007 AFAIR