Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much would you change to keep a man?

• 07-10-2008 10:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭

I was listing to the radio yesterday and I heard about women getting breast implants for free on the medical card. All they had to do was call into a doctor and say that having small breasts was affecting their life in a negative way.

But one story was about this girl who got breast implants because her boyfriend was at her to get them. She said that he was always looking at other women with bigger breasts so she had to get them.

If a girl wanted me to change my body like that for her i'd tell her to get the car keys, hop in, start it up and drive to pi$$ off land. I wouldn't expect a girl to change anything about herself either.

So ladies would you get plastic surgery to keep a man?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i wouldnt change anything to keep a man, what you see is what you get with me and if you dont like it, i dont need it

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭litup

I was listing to the radio yesterday and I heard about women getting breast implants for free on the medical card. All they had to do was call into a doctor and say that having small breasts was affecting their life in a negative way.

That is completely untrue. I had to jump through hoops and get reports from chiropractors etc before I was even referred to a specialist to get a breast reduction done on the public system.

I hate this attitude of 'low income people have the life of Reilly and we pick up the tab'.

No.

That is not to say I wouldn't change at all for the sake of my relationship. I would (and have) tried to grow as a person, try new things, see different perspectives and compromise in order to help my relationship.

Also, my boyfriend hates short hair so I keep mine long for his sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

litup wrote: »
    That is completely untrue. I had to jump through hoops and get reports from chiropractors etc before I was even referred to a specialist to get a breast reduction done on the public system.

I hate this attitude of 'low income people have the life of Reilly and we pick up the tab'.

I was just saying what I heard on the radio. I didn't dumb it down or make it seem easier then how they portrayed it to be. Also the only reason the medical card came into it is because if a person has the money to do it themselves then their situation was not discussed on the radio, only people on medical cards.

Also a lot of people need breast reductions for medical reasons, like back pain. Not many need breast implants for medical reasons maybe only a few. One doctor was discussed yesterday for referring over 100 women in their 20's for breast enlargement in one year.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I could do about a dollar fifty. That do it?

I was just saying what I heard on the radio. I didn't dumb it down or make it seem easier then how they portrayed it to be. Also the only reason the medical card came into it is because if a person has the money to do it themselves then their situation was not discussed on the radio, only people on medical cards.

And if you heard on a radio chat show it must be true, right?
    Also a lot of people need breast reductions for medical reasons, like back pain. Not many need breast implants for medical reasons maybe only a few. One doctor was discussed yesterday for referring over 100 women in their 20's for breast enlargement in one year.

My point was that something that can be seen as a purely cosmetic operation (such as a breast reduction or enlargement) requires a lot of proof that it is required for medical reasons before it will be considered under the public system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Generally speaking when two people end up together they will both change in some ways. It's the happy human dynamic. We are affected by the people we know and the world around us.

It should become an issue when one is trying to force change in the other, not when that change is happening naturally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

The key is to get a man that you don't need to change for and that doesn't want you to.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

relationships changes both parties in some way, constant interaction with a partner changes you.. like it or not that is true... but it usually is very subtle changes..
    as to physical changes no way.... take me for what I am not for what I look like... other take that car to pi$$ off land...

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ja. Von vadio vells vo lies!

=-=

Ye gotta love when someone tries to discuss something people hop down your throats :rolleyes:

I wouldnt want a girl to change for me. Generally if she was good enough for me at the start why would she need to change for me? I'd also expect the same in return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Clare Bear wrote: »
    The key is to get a man that you don't need to change for and that doesn't want you to.

For me the key was to find a woman who would end up helping me make the changes i had always wanted to make! lol :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I think you've entirely missed the OP's point...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭p

Honey-ec wrote: »
    That he listens to **** radio stations that don't fact check their stories?

p wrote: »
    That he listens to **** radio stations that don't fact check their stories?

No, that he was asking how far women are prepared to go to keep a man happy.

Clearly you missed it too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

My girl changed.. I got her to stop smoking. She was only the 2nd girl I've ever kissed who's smoked. After a year I couldnt put up with kissing her anymore so told her to give them up or i'm gone. Thankfully she gave them up and she's thanked me for it since!

She makes me watch eastenders though :eek: Its obvious who made the bigger sacrifice!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Not a chance, no way would I get breast augmentation to keep a man. And if he made me feel so insecure about myself that i'd consider such a drastic move then i'd be showing him the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

There is no way i would change to keep a man, no way. I am me, take me as I am, or not at all. My flaws are apparently endearing ;) hmmm
    BUT i would do anything to get a breast enlargement, seriously, just a subtle change of a cup or two, my boyfriend has said he likes me as i am, and expressed a little bit of worry regards to why exactly i wanted it done. But if i had the dosh i would get it done as soon as.

My girl changed.. I got her to stop smoking. She was only the 2nd girl I've ever kissed who's smoked. After a year I couldnt put up with kissing her anymore so told her to give them up or i'm gone. Thankfully she gave them up and she's thanked me for it since!

She makes me watch eastenders though :eek: Its obvious who made the bigger sacrifice!

Now, the fags I could just about live with, but Eastenders??? That's a dumpable offence...!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

This is quite relevant to me, cos my fella has expressed the opinion that he'd fancy me more if I lost weight, however, it's not a dealbreaker for him. Yes, he's honest to the point of getting a slap for being an idiot. I was torn between telling him to go f*ck himself (since I wouldn't be anymore :P ) and actually, you know, maybe losing a bit of weight.

I settled somewhere in the middle - I told him to f*ck off, that I'm happy as I am (which is true) and that if he wants a skinny girlfriend, he'd best go get himself one. Which he hasn't. So far...

So, I guess I wouldn't change myself for a guy, not physically anyway. I moste definitely wouldn't get cosmetic surgery - but I am open to preferences about hair length and clothes and er, grooming in the down-there-hair area.

Honey-ec wrote: »

I don't think I have. I answered the question of whether I would get cosmetic surgery to please a man, and I also explained the changes I would be willing to make for the sake of a relationship.

My other, admittedly off-topic, comment was because I hate to see the casual, unthinking perpetuation of unfair negative stereotypes of certain sections of society.

Anyway, back on topic. Helimachopter; my boyfriend also asked me to give up smoking. I knew he hated the way it looked, smelled etc. but I also knew that unless I was giving up for my own reasons I would end up back on them, or having sneaky fags and not telling him. In the end I realised that the main reason he hated my smoking was because he cared about me and knew how bad it was for me. That kind of gave me the extra push I needed to give up. So like Dragan said, he helped me make a change I always wanted to make!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

nah i wouldn't do it, wouldn't be in a relationship with a man that thinks like that in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

God I'd never get plastic surgery for a fella! Madness.

I am however at the minute attempting to become more organised. The OH doesn't quite understand my exceedingly laid back relaxed "ahhh i'll do whatever" type attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,012 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

I would never want a girl to change anything for me. Its not right, if your in love your in love for what she's got, so no need to change.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭coco85

I would never have any plastic surgery to keep a man happy. He would obviously not be worth it!

Although..i do know one or two women who would prob do anything to keep their partners happy.... now that is what i call having a sad life!!!...

If they are worth it they wouldn't expect you to change!

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭SarahJ

I'm sitting here wondering what type of man would let his girlfriend/wife etc go through plastic surgery, knowing that the only reason she's doing it is to make him happy? And what kind of woman would do this??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

If you love someone why would you want them to change anything, instead you love who you imagine they could be and so are just in love with an imaginary person.

One of my exes for example used to always wear her hair up, on the occasions I saw her with her hair down I thought she looked much cuter, made sure not to say it to her though as she clearly liked her hair up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

I would assume that if someone is with me, its because they like me as I am. I enter into relationships with people because I like them, not because I think they have potential once they are moulded to my will.....!

I wouldn't change anything about myself physically, and I don't think its possible to change who I am as a person at any kind of meaningful level.

However, compromise is the essence of compatibility, and the ability to be flexible is key to sucess in all relationships.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

So you're saying it NEVER happens unless you see it with your own eyes ? Or it happens to you/your friend ? Or do you have to hear it on RTE or Sky News for it to be true ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I have no problem changing myself for someone I love. Surgery though is a bit extreme, but weight loss or hair cut (i'd never go too short or dye my hair black though) would be ok by me. I think we all subtly change for people we love, even if we don't like to admit it cos y'know we're strong independent women who don't need to change fo' no man and all that crap. If your boyfriend finds your constant nattering about shoes annoying, chances are you'll talk less about shoes. When your natural will is to rabbit on and you force yourself not to then that's changing yourself, much as you mightn't like to admit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Sometimes change can be good, nobody's perfect and all that jazz. Considering surgery to please someone else is insane though.