Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yeah I'm in the wrong but is this really that big of a deal??

• 02-10-2008 7:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I will try to make this as short as possible, just looking for an opinion or two. I have broken up with my girlfriend of 10+ years over not something exactly stupid but in my eyes doesn't warrant a breakup.

Basically we moved into a house a while back and one night while she was taking a shower, I took about a 5 minute video on my camera of her taking a shower. Let me stress that this is not something I am into by any means, it was simply a once off just being a lad etc. Now she didn't actually see me videoing her nor did she know that I had done it.

Obviously I love how my girlfriends looks and like what she looks like naked, so yes I hung onto the video to cop a peek at her in the nip once in a while but then basically the whole thing slipped my mind. To cut a long story short, she lent her sister the memory card from my camera and well you can guess what happened from there...

So my girlfriend has thrown a complete wobbler, called me a pervert, dirty minded so and so etc and give me a huge lecture on how filming her without her consent is against the law etc, basically making me out to be the worst in the world. She actually now thinks that I have some sort of sex sickness..

Now I do understand this. I understand that she is probably majorly embarressed about her sister seeing it and I understand that she probably thinks that I make a habit of it, or that I have been showing it to mates or something. Which is totally understandable, but I honestly would never do anything or the sort. It was merely a once off thing, acting the bollox at home one night.

Yes she should be angry but its at the stage where she never wants to talk to me again over it, I really don't think it warrants that. It's not like its some other girl, it was her naked I was looking at??.

Anyhow thoughts please, what should I do?. I'm actually thinking of knocking it on the head after her making me out to be a complete pervert when really I'm just a young enogh guy with a healthy appetite for sex who likes to look at his other half naked. Is that so bad??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

It depends on whether you believe that making a video without knowledge or permission of your partner consititutes "betrayal of trust".

You may see it as merely embarrassing, she sees it as the above. The idea of being a pervert is secondary tbh.

If you cannot see and accept the above you are best knocking it on the head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

marksie is right, this is a complete breakdown of trust. She didn't break up with you solely because you took a video of her in the shower - she broke up with her because she's thinking "Maybe he has video of us having sex? Maybe he has LOADS of videos of me in the shower and he's been showing all his mates?" And of course, you'll tell her you don't, but then you would say that, wouldn't you? And she might have believed you, but then she wouldn't have thought you'd have taken footage of her in the nude without saying it to her (during or since), so why should she believe you now? And if she can't believe you about this, this fundamental lack of respect, then what can she believe you about?

If you want her back, apologise, apologise and then apologise again. Tell her you know you betrayed her and left her incredibly vulnerable, and that you'll do anything you can to get her back. And be prepared for her to tell you to fcuk off.

You probably knew she wouldn't be happy with you doing this - otherwise you would have asked her permission first. You did it anyway. Deal with the consequences man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Point taken lads, yes I betrayed her trust. Though when your looking at a naked women in front of you its not exactly what you think of at the time unfortunately. I'm actually more embaressed about it myself now to be honest...

Though we were in a relationship for a very long time, aside from everything else do you not think that deep down she knows it was only a bit of harmless fun on my part??.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Its a really big deal. You fimed her, didn't make it known you were doing it and then didn't tell her about it after. So why were you doing it? Because 'for your own personal enjoyment' doesn't really cut it when it was all so underhanded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Though we were in a relationship for a very long time, aside from everything else do you not think that deep down she knows it was only a bit of harmless fun on my part??.

Chances are she is in shock that you have done this, if it is as out of character as you say then she is wondering if she knew you at all and what other things you have done with out her permission. You lack of regard for her, lack of respect for her, that you invaded her privacy and had the opportunity to show what to who knows how many people, may have soured all that she thinks of you and mean the end of the relationship, which is she is possibly grieving.

Some things are for people utter deal breakers, lack of respect and such an invasion of privacy would be deal breakers for a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Pol Pot

Pol Pot disagrees with the above consensus.
    To call it a betrayal of trust is a bit much. Pol Pot wonders what happened to the 10 years of kudos built up , surely it warrants forgiving a "naughty" deed as this.
    Yes, indeed Pol Pot sees the OP's actions as merely naughty.
    Personally Pol Pot believes she is over reacting.

Had the relationship been in it's infancy perhaps Pol Pot would agree with the previous posters. But it's a 10 year plus relationship.

Pol Pot does wonder OP about your motivation for retaining the offending video? Surely once you had a look you would have deleted it.
    Perhaps your gf is worried that you were showing it about in the pub.
    But after 10 years Pol Pot would imagine , assuming it's a decent relationship, that she would believe you.

Pol Pot suspects that she is mortified that her sister saw the video and her motivation for dumping you is not what you did but because her sister saw the video.

Either way apart from grovelling, flowers,chocolates there is not much you can do.

I think the betrayal of 10 years of trust is worse, if he didn't know at that stage it was a 'wrong ' things to do ( which he must of otherwise he would have asked or shown her the vid after he took it) at that stage of the relationship and was willing to treat her like his property to do with what he wished maybe she is better off with out him.

What he did was wrong, disrespectful and he needs to be careful as she is in possession of the sim card that she doesn't go to the garda with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Absolutely. It's horrendously embarrassing and I can see where one might be a little annoyed and ask that's it's never done again, but if I did that to my girlfriend....I really don't think she'd care, she'd just be mortified and we'd probably have a laugh over it later. At worst she would ask that I ask her permission next time, but it would not be an issue as such. I know with my ex she definitely wouldn't care, in fact she'd probably be happy that I took a video of her in the first place, for example - the point I'm getting at is these people would automatically realise it was a case of 'You look great in there, I'm going to take a video for myself', not some dirty, degrading alterior motive. Whether or not it's inappropriate in their eyes doesn't really change that, after the initial fallout things should be able to return to normal - I'd wonder about the nature of your relationship to be honest, if a simple video of your girlfriend is the shower means the end of it all after such a long period together. Now that said of course not everyone reacts in the same way and it's a perfectly acceptable entitlement to be very insulted by the whole affair but on the whole, it's a ridiculously silly thing to break up over, and an equally silly thing to call someone a dirty pervert/sex addict over in my opinion.

I'd just sit her down and say 'Listen, my girlfriend was in the shower and looking fantastic, that was my only motivation for taking the video, I'm really sorry that I didn't consider where it might lead but I promise it'll never happen again.'

Not much more you can say and if the story is as described here then I think she is totally over-reacting in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thaedydal wrote: »
    You lack of regard for her, lack of respect for her

Yes Thaedydal, this is exactly the tone on of her anger with me. The point I am failing at is that, I didn't do it out of lack of respect for her. To be honest I was actually pretty stunned with her comments, I don't get how exactly I am a pervert if its my own girlfriend of 10 years that I am looking at?. Is it not natural for me to want to see her naked, how does that make me perverted or some kind of sex fiend?.

The kicker is, that if I had of just told her about it at the time she probably would have just posed and had a laugh or something. Anyways I guess its probably just best to give me sincere apologies and let her go on her way.

Why is it though that most women accept that guys look at porn, or check out other girls or even masturbate thinking about other girls (my ex also is of this mindset), though I make a 5 minute video of her and its such a big deal?. That is the part I am struggling with to be honest...likes its un-natural that I have those urges about her?. Doesn't make any sense to me at all. If it was the other way round minus the family seeing the video, I think I would be a bit flattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

I think I would have to go with TerrorFirmer on this one, but can also see why she might be a bit peeved. Hopefully she will have a laugh at it when the dust settles OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭EM2008

As a woman who has a bf who often tries to take sneaky pics of me i think its funny a compliment i must say he's never descrete about it though so i always catch him and i don't care... i think your gf is completely over reacting and must have just been embarrassed that her sis seen the video, her sis is either saying my god you let him video you or what a perv he did it with out you knowing
    I think if the sister never seen it there wouldn't be an issue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Pol Pot wrote: »
    Pol Pot suspects that she is mortified that her sister saw the video and her motivation for dumping you is not what you did but because her sister saw the video.
    QUOTE]

Why in god's name would you talk in the third person?

I kinda agree with both sides of the argument If my Other half had this happen too her I would imagine she would hit the roof. I do beg the question though why didn't you tell her when she came out of the shower? In saying that after 10 years it does seem madness to break up over it. Hope it turns out ok for ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Pete4779

No-one's mentioned so far that his gf decided to lend the memory card from his own video camera to her sister, without telling him.

That shows she is just as presumptuous about privacy as he is. Has she lent other thigns belonging to him to other people without asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I think your girlfriend is over-reacting tbh. I can see why she would be pissed off, you filmed her in the shower without her permission, didn't tell her afterwards and then her sister seen the video, but I don't think it warrants a break up.

I can't understand why you didn't just either ask you if she'd mind you making a video of her, or at the very least tell her that you had made the video. That way if she wasn't comfortable with it she could have told you that she'd prefer if you didn't, or if you had already made it then asked you to delete it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

OP, there's probably a case for saying your g/f's reaction was a little OTT.

10 years must mean something, but I've a feeling her reaction is being led by her interpretation of the expectations of others. For example, now that her sister is aware that she lives with such a 'pervert' she has no choice but to crank up the drama a little...

Sounds to me like she's over-reacting. I'm not saying she's no right to be annoyed or embarrassed - you certainly did break trust here. You've a major apology to make, but that shouldn't involve begging her to come home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Burial

Yes its that big of a deal. She can't trust you anywhere now, because who knows what/when you did this before or if you did this before. If it was you just being a lad[no, it wasn't], then you would've told her or deleted it. It sounds very pervy to video someone you trust doing something privately without their consent, especially NOT telling them after.

I don't think she's over-reacting. Imagine your best friend recording you while showering and a year later that being shown to your father. You'd forgive and forget??? It's a huge invasion of privacy. Why did you need to record it anyway when you can see her naked ALL the time anyway??

The kicker is, that if I had of just told her about it at the time she probably would have just posed and had a laugh or something.

so why didn't you?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

TBH its an invasion of privacy, so what you're together 10 years, so what she'd have posed if ask. The point is you didn't ask and you didn't tell her, she wasn't given the option of consent or to delete the video.
    It's a complete lack of respect and I can see how she doesn't trust you, no matter how many times you say it was the one video, why should she believe you?
    To be honest I was actually pretty stunned with her comments, I don't get how exactly I am a pervert if its my own girlfriend of 10 years that I am looking at?. Is it not natural for me to want to see her naked, how does that make me perverted or some kind of sex fiend?.
    If you respected her you'd have asked her, why didn't you? according to yourself she would have agreed, why did you need to film her unawares?

Also for those that are saying that the OP's GF was somehow wrong in dumping him, take it from the other side. 10 years of trust in him and him being her best-friend, who is supposed to know her and their boundries etc. And he does this. It'd tell me he has no respect for her, as a person. Just as a sexual object. 10 years of relationship means nothing if the man had no respect for her. Had she broken up with him for nothing, THEN he'd have a case. However thats not the scenario here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭rvd156

I would have to say she is over reacting....

A 10 year relationship shows that there is trust built well into that relationship..So to say he has betrayed the trust is stupid (in a way) because there are 101 worse things you could do to betray someones trust...But I can also see it from her point about breaking the trust...(CONFUSION) :confused:

He simply was doing it to admire his missus body whenever he wanted to...She should be happy in a way that her man is happy with her body as most women worry about their apperaance....Espically in the nip....

I mean I can understand her anger at her sister finding it...And dude yeah you could have told her that you recorded her...It would have made sense to tell her.....

BUT you must apologise to her and see what happens....

The fact you even forgot that you had recorded her on the camera shows you ain't some sort of pervert....

And to be fair if she is willing to throw a 10 year relationship away on something like this then she obv isn't stable herself....

I do see her point but she is pushing it a bit....

What she going to tell people "my man recorded me in the shower so I dumped him and our 10 year relationship" hardly the most hateful thing a man can do....

rvd156 wrote: »
    I would have to say she is over reacting....

A 10 year relationship shows that there is trust built well into that relationship..So to say he has betrayed the trust is stupid (in a way) because there are 101 worse things you could do to betray someones trust...But I can also see it from her point about breaking the trust...(CONFUSION) :confused:

He simply was doing it to admire his missus body whenever he wanted to...She should be happy in a way that her man is happy with her body as most women worry about their apperaance....Espically in the nip....

I mean I can understand her anger at her sister finding it...And dude yeah you could have told her that you recorded her...It would have made sense to tell her.....

BUT you must apologise to her and see what happens....

The fact you even forgot that you had recorded her on the camera shows you ain't some sort of pervert....

And to be fair if she is willing to throw a 10 year relationship away on something like this then she obv isn't stable herself....

I do see her point but she is pushing it a bit....

What she going to tell people "my man recorded me in the shower so I dumped him and our 10 year relationship" hardly the most hateful thing a man can do....

What would your reaction be if he recorded her while she was sleeping? Same thing. Could've happen all/any of the time she was asleep/having a shower.

*NOTE*

I'm not saying he did this action.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

rvd156 wrote: »

No, she's going to say (if she wants to) "my man decided to record me naked in the shower without my consent or knowledge. He continued to fail to tell me after the fact and I only found out through a chance happening. Otherwise, how do I know he would ever have told me? so I dumped him..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

She's over-reacting altogether, I'd say led along by the nose by her sister too.

I cannot believe she broke up with you over this, to me its like she was already unhappy about something else and decided to use this as an excuse to break up.

I dont get how its breaking trust at all, its not like you filmed her taking a dump or something....I'd be well flattered if my fella did this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭unhappycamper

You were having a bit of sexual fun, she is completely over reacting and I can only predict she is using this as an excuse to break up or something.

SpookyDoll wrote: »
    I dont get how its breaking trust at all, its not like you filmed her taking a dump or something....I'd be well flattered if my fella did this.

My point exactly...

Dude I think there is a totally different reason why she is reacting like this....

I wouldn't call this A REALLY SERIOUS issue....

Theres men out there doing god awful thing to women and they get away with it.....

Why should this man suffer because he made a minor slip up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I feel sorry for the OP, after ten years you'd think certain things were not out of bounds especially since he wasn't showing anyone else. I'm sorry but I'd only see a betrayal of trust here if he was actually showing someone else, presumably he saw her naked quite regularly, although that said I don't think I'd do it myself without permission. Lighten up on the poor guy I really don't think the punishment fitted the crime. Seriously after ten years you would think that's the OP's other half wouldn't be so uptight about this even though I can see she'd be embarrassed. In this situation there's no way on earth he's a pervert for doing it.

Are ye saying that an invasion of privacy is ok, if you've known the person for 10 years?? Or are you saying an invasion of privacy is ok because they've been going out for 10 years? How about if it was 8? 4? 2? 1? a month? When does this action get accpetable?

How about if this was a regular occurance, and you found a room full of tapes with just his GF showering? how about a quarter of the times she went to shower. Ok how about 30 times. How about 10? 5? 2? 1? I'm sorry, it doesn't get better as you go down. Having consent is different. He didn't have it and she wasn't a willingful participant. How much of the time is he allowed do this before the GF can break-up with him?

I'm not a woman, or the OP's partner but even I can see why this is a big deal to her.

If you'd asked her a week ago "Would your partner ever video you naked without your consent or knowledge?" She would have said "no, of course not, he knows me better than that".

If you asked her now, she would have to say yes. So, if you ALSO asked her "Would your boyfriend show those videos to his mates?" She would probably say "a week ago I would have said no, but now I don't know". Her faith in the OP has been completely destroyed. She MAY calm down in a week or so, but if she didn't, I wouldn't blame her. Sorry OP.

A bit of sexual fun is not recording your partner when naked with out thier permission in a place that they feel safe in.

You were well out of order and I don't blame her for being freaked and embarrased and
    doubting you. How does she know you didn't upload it on to some dodgy pron site ?
    She must be thinking the worse of you and I can't say I blame her, if you want her back you need to give her space and then grovel like fúck and hope that she will listen.

People make mistakes...We all ain't saints you know....

Lay off him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

She is looking for a reason to dump the fella, this is no way a red card offence.

Shes playing the dying swan to the max here. If all was rosy in the garden otherwise she would just find it funny and flattering, instead of acting wounded and trying to take the moral high ground.

All this about invasion of privacy is just splitting hairs, do they not see each other naked all the time sure? Shower together, take naughty pics in those 10 years.....? I dont believe anyone in a relationship could get so bent outta shape about this.

Spookydoll you are talking some good Sh!t here...

There is an underlying reason for the break up not just this recording of her in the shower....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭unhappycamper

TBH mate after 10 years your girl should be flattered that you are perverting on her with a handy cam. She should see it as a compliment as opposed to breaking her civil liberties. It is not like you showed it to your mates now is it? That would be a different story altogether..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

I will try to make this as short as possible, just looking for an opinion or two. I have broken up with my girlfriend of 10+ years over not something exactly stupid but in my eyes doesn't warrant a breakup.

Basically we moved into a house a while back and one night while she was taking a shower, I took about a 5 minute video on my camera of her taking a shower. Let me stress that this is not something I am into by any means, it was simply a once off just being a lad etc. Now she didn't actually see me videoing her nor did she know that I had done it.

Obviously I love how my girlfriends looks and like what she looks like naked, so yes I hung onto the video to cop a peek at her in the nip once in a while but then basically the whole thing slipped my mind. To cut a long story short, she lent her sister the memory card from my camera and well you can guess what happened from there...

So my girlfriend has thrown a complete wobbler, called me a pervert, dirty minded so and so etc and give me a huge lecture on how filming her without her consent is against the law etc, basically making me out to be the worst in the world. She actually now thinks that I have some sort of sex sickness..

Now I do understand this. I understand that she is probably majorly embarressed about her sister seeing it and I understand that she probably thinks that I make a habit of it, or that I have been showing it to mates or something. Which is totally understandable, but I honestly would never do anything or the sort. It was merely a once off thing, acting the bollox at home one night.

Yes she should be angry but its at the stage where she never wants to talk to me again over it, I really don't think it warrants that. It's not like its some other girl, it was her naked I was looking at??.

Anyhow thoughts please, what should I do?. I'm actually thinking of knocking it on the head after her making me out to be a complete pervert when really I'm just a young enogh guy with a healthy appetite for sex who likes to look at his other half naked. Is that so bad??

I have to say that, while a silly thing to do, does seem like something that could be sorted out without the whole 'betrayal of trust' routine especially after 10+ years together.

It doesn't seem like sufficient evidence to me to brandish someone you've spent 10 years with as a pervert.

Lads what is important is how she views it and if she thinks it was a deal breaker.
    Clearly she does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭dango

As has been already posted there's obviously an underlying issue here. I think it would be a good idea to sit down and talk about the problems in your relationship rather than focusing on the camera incident too much.

she is in possession of the sim card that she doesn't go to the garda with it.
    Seriously. Come off it.

HERES THE REASONING...

*If its on the internet.... YOU SHOULD BE DUMBED
    *If you showed it to your mates....YOU SHOULD BE DUMBED
    *If you have 10,20,30,40,50+ videos of her stashed under your bed...YOU SHOULD BE DUMBED.

He simply recorded one video....

Lock the man away....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Probably irrelevant because I'm not the OPs partner but personally i'd be delighted to thihnk my partner of 10 years was that into the sight of me naked.

Katgurl wrote: »
    Probably irrelevant because I'm not the OPs partner but personally i'd be delighted to thihnk my partner of 10 years was that into the sight of me naked.

Thank you...About time someone from the female side agreed with some of us...

Apart from spookydoll cz she is posting good Sh!t too....:D

rvd156 Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

The thing is she doesnt know its just one video or how noble his intentions were. All she knows is all of a sudden she realises that without her knowledge her boyfriend filmed her while she was in the shower. For all she knows he has done this countless times, showed the lads, uploaded it. He can tell her he has never done any such thing but before she found it she probably would have said he would never have filmed her at all.

From her perspective it looks very seedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭F.A.

Why is it though that most women accept that guys look at porn, or check out other girls or even masturbate thinking about other girls (my ex also is of this mindset), though I make a 5 minute video of her and its such a big deal?. That is the part I am struggling with to be honest...likes its un-natural that I have those urges about her?. Doesn't make any sense to me at all. If it was the other way round minus the family seeing the video, I think I would be a bit flattered.

There is a huge difference between looking at porn containing women you don't know & care about & who quite likely knew they were being filmed and your girlfriend who you filmed without her consent or even knowledge! That you consider your filming her in the same league as watching porn says a lot about you, to be honest. You basically used her like an object by not letting her know and agree or disagree. Basically, you used her for self-gratification without her consent. It's a bit as if you'd masturbate on her while she's asleep and thus not able to (dis)allow what's happening.

As was rightly pointed out before: why do it in secret if she would have allowed you to do it had you asked? I assume it added to the kick? So basically, her not giving consent gave you a thrill - that's what my take on this would be if I was her. Some girls might get a kick out of it, but I guarantee plenty would be extremely disturbed/shocked/offended by your actions, and quite a few would dump you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Oh my god, why the hell would you do that?? You need to ask yourself why you felt the need to be so sneaky and underhanded when you know she wouldn't have minded if you'd just told her. Did you enjoy the fact that she was completely unaware? I think you need to admit to yourself that there had to have been a reason for you to keep this a secret, whether it's that you knew she wouldn't like it, or that the peeping tom thing turns you on.

In my opinion this is most definately a red card offence. To those who say she should be flattered, that's really not the point. Yeah it might've been flattering if you were in the shower and your boyfriend of 10 years came in and said "you look great, I'm getting a video!" Then she probably would've been flattered, either way flattery is not the issue here.

Just because you've been together ten years, does not give you the right to do something like that. You could apply the same logic to raping her. "Well she said no to sex, but she's my girlfriend of ten years so I'm just gonna go ahead and force myself on her". I know that's an extreme comparison but the logic is still the same. Just because she's your girlfriend doesn't give you the right to do whatever you like to her.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Hrududu wrote: »
    The thing is she doesnt know its just one video or how noble his intentions were. All she knows is all of a sudden she realises that without her knowledge her boyfriend filmed her while she was in the shower. For all she knows he has done this countless times, showed the lads, uploaded it. He can tell her he has never done any such thing but before she found it she probably would have said he would never have filmed her at all.

From her perspective it looks very seedy.

It does, finding the one person you trust completely has secret footage of you can completely skew any opinions you had about them beforehand and will have you doubting their revelations about it being the first time, who has seen it etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I can see where this thread is going/has probably already gone.

I think she's over reacting, Definately. I'm a bloke by the way, I would ask first but still it's 10 years you've been together. The way she's going on you'd swear it was someone else in the video. Id agree with SpookyDoll and say she was looking for a reason to end it and this is the perfect one. Or she's just nuts or on the rag or both. Either way, it might have been closing time anyway.
    Leeby wrote: »
    You could apply the same logic to raping her. "Well she said no to sex, but she's my girlfriend of ten years so I'm just gonna go ahead and force myself on her". I know that's an extreme comparison but the logic is still the same.

I know what you mean, cameras commiting rape has gone up nearly 46% since the introduction of Firewire. Sorry, but a bit too extreme there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Im sure if the girlfriend had asked the OP if she could take the memory card out of the phone then this could have been all nipped in the bud.

I really think the girlfriend is overreacting. I could totally understand if the video was posted on the net or if the OP had a load of pervy videos on his phone but all he did was film his girlfriend of 10 years naked and kept it on his phone. I cant understand why she is so angry. She should be thrilled that after 10 years they still have such a lust for each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

What he did was wrong, disrespectful and he needs to be careful as she is in possession of the sim card that she doesn't go to the garda with it.

Huh? I would love to be a fly-on-the-wall when she turns up at the garda station demanding that they take action.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Gyalist wrote: »
    Huh? I would love to be a fly-on-the-wall when she turns up at the garda station demanding that they take action.

Oh yes because everybody knows that abuse can never exist within a relationship. Sure only strangers do that sort of thing. Pathetic. Irish. Catholic attitude: "it doesn't matter what they do to each other, as long as they're married".

I love the way many of the men's responses are "jesus she should just be grovelling on the floor for the fact that he still fancies her". Ridiculous.

It is not like you showed it to your mates now is it? That would be a different story altogether..

how does his other half know that he didn't?

rvd156 Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

Didn't realise I was breaking rules...My bad....