Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many eggs is too many eggs?

• 30-09-2008 1:04pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭

i currently eat 2 full eggs a day (scrambled with a bit of milk).
    is this excessive or ok?

any thoughts?

thanks,
    keith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

kceire wrote: »
    is this excessive or ok?

any thoughts?

thanks,
    keith.

it is most likely okay but why not have your cholesterol levels checked so you can decide for sure? there are a small minority of people who are intolerant to the cholesterol found in eggs but it is mainly saturated fats that cause high cholesterol levels and excess sugar / alcohol that cause high triglycerides ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Petrolium Hat

When you're farting every 20 mins youre eating too many eggs.

Seriously.

Depends on the person. I eat that amount every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

If I ate that many eggs during the day then the guy who sells me eggs would go out of business. I'd eat 24 over the course of a week, probably 3 a day with my son picking up the slack in the two dozen I get every Monday.

There are some concerns about cholestorol of course but only a doctor is placed to tell you how high or low that is. A guy I know works with teams and their diets and his opinion on eggs and cholestorol was that if half the guys stopped eating the other oily crap the did then eggs would be the perfect breakfast. But fried food is still pretty common in the Irish diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

I'm eating 3 eggs a day every morning and I feel grand.
    My cholesterol levels are normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

You can never have enough eggs! But 3-4 would be what I usually have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Doesn't seem like too much to me; I have 2 soft boiled duck eggs (when available) with grainy brown toast every day or every second day. good source of protein.You should see how many hard boiled eggs some sick body builders eat during a day, I can't imagine how bad their gas level does be, because 2 eggs on an empty stomach turns me in to a regular chemical factory :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭dango

One egg is un oeuf

*gets coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Petrolium Hat

dango wrote: »
    One egg is un oeuf

*gets coat

That's eggseptional egvice egxactly what i was thinking.

*also gets coat....and fills suitcase*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

There's a fair amount of saturated fat in eggs but the latest theory seems to be that they don't do you much harm. I'd say two a day would be fine if you're taking a lot of exercise.

It's the other rubbish like crisps, fries, and fast food you need to avoid like the plague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Theres days when I eat 6 egg omlettes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

dango wrote: »
    One egg is un oeuf

*gets coat

Yay!!

That's eggseptional egvice egxactly what i was thinking.

*also gets coat....and fills suitcase*

BOO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭TKD SC

Yay!!

Quote:
    Originally Posted by dango
    One egg is un oeuf

*gets coat

Yay!!

Don't egg him on!

Pen1987 wrote: »
    Theres days when I eat 6 egg omlettes...

Have look over this article! He's cautious about overdoing egg consumption. Suggests 4 a week.

http://cbass.com/Eggs.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 james1984galway

ive been eatin 8 raw egg whites every day for da past 3 weeks,all 8 in a pintglass,it easy enuf to drink down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

ive been eatin 8 raw egg whites every day for da past 3 weeks,all 8 in a pintglass,it easy enuf to drink down

I feel slightly ill.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Before I went on holidays there for a month I had my blood tested, getting the results today at 2pm. For about 8 months up to that I had been eating 14-16 eggs a week.

I had my bloods done in August 07, I was then eating 6-8 eggs a week and my cholesterol was 3.7.

I could have a quasi scientific answer to the eggs question this afternoon. :)

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Hardcore but ultimately pointless.

Raw eggs are much more difficult for your body to digest - your body can assimilate virtually all the protein in a cooked egg but only about half of that in a raw one. A 4 egg white omelette (with added spinach? mushrooms? tomatoes? ham?) would be superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Even if they were cooked 8 at one time would still be too much. I'm open to correction but I think your body can only process 60g of protein at a time, after that it's just expensive poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

g'em wrote: »
    Raw eggs are much more difficult for your body to digest - your body can assimilate virtually all the protein in a cooked egg but only about half of that in a raw one.
    Yep, even if the bioavailability was better when raw I would cook mine, I like cooked eggs, I am not going to force feed myself stuff I do not like.

I remember a heavyweight UFC fighter was followed around for his typical day, I think breakfast was a 8 egg omlette and 12oz steak, after a quick 6mile run of course :eek:

Roper wrote: »
    I'm open to correction but I think your body can only process 60g of protein at a time, after that it's just expensive poo.
    I have heard this before, but some things would be slow to digest, I expect eggs might be quicker, but I do remember being sick and seeing meat & chicken from hours before (enjoy your lunch now folks!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Superdub2

Hardcore but ultimately pointless.

Raw eggs are much more difficult for your body to digest - your body can assimilate virtually all the protein in a cooked egg but only about half of that in a raw one. A 4 egg white omelette (with added spinach? mushrooms? tomatoes? ham?) would be superb.

+1 and eating raw eggs is dangerous as any possible bacteria in the eggs wont be destroyed as the egg is not cooked!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 blazingsaddles

It is but i think everyday maybe a bit too much in the long run, try every second day

My cholesterol has jumped to 4.8 in a year. Thats concerning.

they/them/theirs

But what about the rest of your diet?

i.e. was the change in egg consumption the only dietary change made in the last 12 months?

But what about the rest of your diet?

i.e. was the change in egg consumption the only dietary change made in the last 12 months?

Ah jaysus no, thats why I was saying it was only a quasi scientific result. I've been eating a lot more red meat and dairy products in the last 12 months. Since I started weight training I have at least doubled my intake of red meat I reckon.

I am not actually worried about that cholesterol result to be honest, its just another little push to clean out the diet a bit more. Leave out the fried on egg on my steak for a while I suppose.

they/them/theirs

]Leave out the fried on egg on my steak for a while I suppose.
    lol, nah, just poach it and it's fine - the oils you use to cook will be more likely to be the culprit than the egg ;)

lol, I know but sure its hard when the pan is already hot.

You don't know off hand a good place to learn more about the rest of the results from a standard blood test by any chance? All the haematology and biochemistry readings are within the "acceptable" range, I was wondering though if they could tell me anything about whether I need to supplement my diet with anything.

For instance my Haemoglobin is towards the lower end of the scale, should I take Iron?

they/them/theirs

You need to correlate your age with your cholesterol reading. It tends to increase linearly with age, even if diet etc. remain the same i.e. if your reading is a pretty safe 5.0 at age 25 it will probably drift up to 7.0 by the time you're 50.

So it's pretty important to keep a handle on it at all ages

kceire wrote: »
    is this excessive or ok?

any thoughts?

thanks,
    keith.

way too many. 1 egg(yoke) is two thirds of your cholestoral for the day!

3 eggs per week is healthy. Saying that you can eat as many egg whites as you want as they contain no cholestoral and are full of protein

You don't know off hand a good place to learn more about the rest of the results from a standard blood test by any chance? All the haematology and biochemistry readings are within the "acceptable" range, I was wondering though if they could tell me anything about whether I need to supplement my diet with anything.
    I don't off hand, but I'll have a good search around tomorrow when I'm in work and I have full access to journals etc.
    For instance my Haemoglobin is towards the lower end of the scale, should I take Iron?
    Funnily enough, so was mine when I had a blood test a few months ago! I didn't take any iron supplements and I don't know what it's like now, but there's a niggling voice in my head saying something about iron supplement absorption... again, I'll check up on it!!!
    rarnes1 wrote:
    1 egg(yoke) is two thirds of your cholestoral for the day!
    The "eggs increase your cholesterol" myth has been thoroughly de-bunked at this stage. An egg a day, as recommended by Bord Bia, will do you no harm. Personally I scoff two (sometimes three) each day myself :D

I think you're correct in so far as consuming cholesterol (in eggs) per se does not seem to raise your cholesterol levels. In that sense eggs are pretty safe.
    You are taking in saturated fats but no more than in a glass of milk:

Egg, small Egg, medium Egg, large
    Saturated Fat (g) 1.2g 1.4g 1.6g
    Total Fat (g) 3.7g 4.4g 5.1g

I don't off hand, but I'll have a good search around tomorrow when I'm in work and I have full access to journals etc.

G'em,

You are, are as ever, a star.

Funnily enough, so was mine when I had a blood test a few months ago! I didn't take any iron supplements and I don't know what it's like now, but there's a niggling voice in my head saying something about iron supplement absorption... again, I'll check up on it!!!

Maybe we should look into thaking some of that Bovine Haemogloben that was so popular with cyclists a few years ago?;)

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭tlev

Usually 12 whole eggs a day for me (6 in the morning and 6 at night). (Gotta eat the yolk and the white to properly digest it, as protien digests best with fat)

The stuff that clogs your arteries and kills you from heart disease isn't eggs but processed carbs and laziness.

Right now my diet has cut out all carbs bar a bowl of porridge in the morning. It is high in protien and raw veggies, no milk, only natural yoghurt (for the calcium and friendly bacteria)

http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?p=205747171

There is a good topic about it here, with sources from medical studies which have shown that eggs dont give you high cholesteral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

in reality the egg consumption vs cholesterol levels debate could go on to infinity .. if anyone is concerned about their cholesterol levels they should contact their doctor to have a fasting lipid profile done and that way they can have the true HDL / LDL ratio etc etc ... Like other posters have pointed out it is saturated fat that mainly contributes to cholesterol so yes eggs do play a part but possibly no more so than a piece of fatty meat ...

How To Read a Blood Test:

There's a few internet sources that give brief explanations of how readings should be interpreted, but of course given that it's the web, you can't be sure of accuracy...

How to interpret your blood test results
    How To Read & Interpret Your Laboratory Blood Test Results - Publication Of The Seattle Treatment Education Project - February 1993

I'm still having a search through the Medical Textbooks for some reliable info and I'll get back to it.

With regard to low iron, we're both probably iron deficient without being anaemic. The reasons for this can be varied, but it's slightly more common in women than men (regular blood loss). Athletes are also more prone because by the nature of our activity our bodies require more iron for increased red blood cell consumption (red blood cells house hameoglobin, of which iron is an important constiutent, and hameoglobin transports oxygen around the body).

The recommended daily intake of iron (according to the UK Food Standards Agency) is 8.7mg a day for men and 14.8mg a day for women. Iron can be taken in supplemental form but has a range of not-very-pleasant side effects including constipation, diarrhoea, nausea and an upset tummy and it can make your poo turn black (oo-er!!). Keeping your diet rich in Vitamin C also helps as it aids absorption of iron (iirc that was what I was concerned about when taking iron supps before - taking them on their own was a bit wasteful). Iron is stored in teh body and you can overdose on it, so the upper threshold for iron supplementation is 17mg per day.

Food is still the best way to get your iron in, with liver, meat, beans, nuts, dried fruit, whole grains (such as brown rice), fortified breakfast cereals, and most dark-green leafy vegetables (such as watercress and curly kale) being the best soruces.

For more see Bupa, a discussion of low Hm in the book Runners by John A. Hawley (Google Books).

Cheers G'em.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Roper wrote: »
    Even if they were cooked 8 at one time would still be too much. I'm open to correction but I think your body can only process 60g of protein at a time, after that it's just expensive poo.

I heard this somewhere too, accepted it for a while and then started to wonder. what is "a time"? Is it an hour or a minute? Does this apply to someone who's fat/active/short/heavy/light/skinny or everyone? Maybe someone looked at a steak with 60g of protein in it (that'd be something like 8 or 9 ounces or so. Not spectacular.) and said "Jazus, i couldn't process that at once". It sounds like the recommendation that states the "RDA" of protein for a human being is 54g.