Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin scenery

• Registered Users Posts: 43 PlaneLover

Hi, I don't know if i have missed it on the other pages but that Dublin scenery, is it available to download and where, is it for fsx, fs2004 or both (I am looking for the one with the photos on page 1)

thanks ms755

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

ms755 wrote: »
    Hi, I don't know if i have missed it on the other pages but that Dublin scenery, is it available to download and where, is it for fsx, fs2004 or both (I am looking for the one with the photos on page 1)

thanks ms755

The shots above are of scenery currently in development - i.e. has not been released. Meanwhile, get the IFSD here for FS9 only.

Do you know when it will be realesed and will it be free/payware, where will it be available from, will it be for both fs2004 and fsx

thanks ms

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

If you are talking about the stuff I posted then currently I have no plans or time to finish it.
    That's why I offered it to anyone with experience who might want to take over the project.
    If it ever was finished, it would be freeware.

I can't speak for the work fsterry/cherrytaz is doing though.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭cherrytaz

Well i currently have no date as to when the scenery will be finished.id ideally like to have it done by summer but i just cant say.Im getting absolutely nothing done with it at the moment with college and stuff like that. Its just impossible to get the time at the moment. About payware/freeware i dont really know. Iv put in a huge amount of time and as i said its just me doing it so i suppose some financial reward would be nice.(Us students always welcome a bit of money!!)Anyway that doesn't matter as the scenery is not yet finished.

Terry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Simtech

70684.jpg

70685.jpg

70686.jpg

70687.jpg

The IFSD scenery can be made to work in FSX with a little tinkering. As you can see I have some of the FS9 EIDW scenery running fine in FSX. The first screenie shows where I have stitched in the photo scenery for Dublin. Might be interested in starting a project if anyone wants to help. Lots of work in it. If Terry was interested maybe a good Dublin could be done. Collaborate Terry?? Anyone else?? Sent an E-mail to Nick from the old IFSD about maybe taking over the old domain but if no reply received might start something new. Anyone interested?

:rolleyes: Tumbleweed rolls past :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Should that not be Simbleweed?

I've never done any modding on a game, though I have graphics and programming experience. Though like the rest of ye very little free time. Perhaps theres someway of automating it, or at least making your own tool to make it easier. Thats something I could look at, if that was of interest.

BostonB wrote: »
    Should that not be Simbleweed?

I've never done any modding on a game, though I have graphics and programming experience. Though like the rest of ye very little free time. Perhaps theres someway of automating it, or at least making your own tool to make it easier. Thats something I could look at, if that was of interest.

In the future any skills learned within the framework of FSX the game, might prove useful in other scenarios. Have a look at Microsoft ESP and see what you think.
    Anyway, the main difficulties that the production of photoscenery presents to me, are maybe within your areas of expertise, such as with the production of textures for night and seasonal variations (graphics) which is a very labour intensive process applying layers and masks etc. Perhaps you would know more than I here. I have only basic photoshop skills. There is an SDK to help. Also, and if you could find some way to automate this you would be in demand, with the placement of Autogen 3D objects which is currently done by hand a few objects at a time using Microsoft Autogen Annotator tool (supplied with SDK as are several other tools) I have been grappling with FS for years in my spare time to come up with the basic understanding of it that I have. I hope to stimulate interest in this project and learn from others as much as they might from me. There are tools available to help and it's an interesting pastime.
    If you think you can find the time to help, well the more the merrier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Well you never know. I'll PM you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 damo mc

I'm also an ex ifsd forum member,stumbeled upon this!!:)
    Quick question: Is there a way to alter ifsd for FSX,easily!!

Regards
    Damo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭pclancy

damo mc wrote: »
    I'm also an ex ifsd forum member,stumbeled upon this!!:)
    Quick question: Is there a way to alter ifsd for FSX,easily!!

Regards
    Damo

Welcome mate, I think I remember you actually :cool:

It was a great forum, would love to get a lot more of its ex members here as there was always plenty of advice and chat between members.

The last time I installed the scenery it seemed okay for me...are there known issues with it and FSX yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 damo mc

Howya buddy:)
    Just installed the EICK as a sort of "Toe in the water exercise" seems to be a black image,also aircraft taxi on grass.. At the mo i'm using EIDW by Neil Keane,avaible on av-sim. Hope there will be a better one soon!!:rolleyes:

Regards
    Damo.

damo mc wrote: »
    Howya buddy:)
    Just installed the EICK as a sort of "Toe in the water exercise" seems to be a black image,also aircraft taxi on grass.. At the mo i'm using EIDW by Neil Keane,avaible on av-sim. Hope there will be a better one soon!!:rolleyes:

Regards
    Damo.

Don't use DX10. Strip out some of the files (play around) and redo the afcad using Airport design editor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Puff Puff Pass

Well, Just came across this - dont be here too often - i too used to be a regular poster on IFSD under 'Darrell'.

Its a real shame the site disappeared but i know from my own experience that these days i just dont get time for FS, so i can understand the commitment involved.
    That will probably change after i finish college in june so id be open to help get the Irish Flight Sim Community going again. im sure we could get a few of the old IFSD forum readers to pitch in a few quid.

Fair play to all the people like Steve + FsTerry and indeed the IFSD boys for what they've done for the community and with no financial reward.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

Well there's no reason we can't revive IFSD on boards.ie - we could arrange a hosted forum here if there's enough interest, wouldn't cost a penny. If anyone is still in contact with the original members then let me know, I can organise it. :)

Steve wrote: »
    Well there's no reason we can't revive IFSD on boards.ie - we could arrange a hosted forum here if there's enough interest, wouldn't cost a penny. If anyone is still in contact with the original members then let me know, I can organise it. :)

Anthony Murphy (Mythicalireland) was in talks to do just that but on his own forums - as far as I know the plan was to take over the domain and restore proper order. I'll let him know this thread is here.

In the interim, I did the same myself, I was ste01 as ye know - http://www.stephend.net/phpbbforum/index.php

Ignore the Viagra ads -as you can see, it didn't really take off (i.e., register ;) )!!

Welcome Darrell :)

It would be great to get lots of the old members to come onto here as that forum was always quite busy and had interesting stuff on it. I envisioned this forum becoming the same but it needs publicity and some word of mouth building as most people that use FS or used to use the IFSD site dont seem to know we're here. If they wanted a subbed IFSD forum im sure that could be done but everyones very welcome to post here as it is. We all asked for ages to have a flightsim forum so more people would be very welcome.

As for the IFSD software it was exceptionally well made and presented for a free package and everyone gave lots of free tech support both on and offline. Whats happened to it now? Does anyone actually own the software as such or has it just been left as a general release for anyone to mod now the IFSD site is gone?

Im amaazed someone like Justflight didnt buy it off them and market it. Tons of flightsimmmers around the world would love to virtually fly in Ireland.

Would be great to get IFSD going again. It was a great forum. Boards.ie is grand and all but IFSD needs a "real home". Surely theres enough of us around to set someting up??

Terry (fsterry)

Just some rendered images of T2 and Pier E (Still to be fully textured)

Terry

d.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

a-1.jpg

e.jpg

f.jpg

Well all,

This will be my last update for a while as i start studying for finals. The afcad is courtesy of Andrew Lawler who did a great job.As can be seen almost all textring is done and a fair chunk of the night lights. The night textures for buildings however has to be done but im fairly happy with the progress.

Enjoy,

Terry

6509250.jpg

6554038.jpg

6569451.jpg

6613241.jpg

6628482.jpg

6677310.jpg

6719743.jpg

6832656.jpg

6736949.jpg

6775575.jpg

6895446.jpg

6961014.jpg

6917911.jpg

7117420.jpg

6928269.jpg

Excellent work Terry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Great pics, cant wait to get my hands on her!

Good luck in the finals too!

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭Skyknight

Terry,
    First of all just wanted to wish you the best of luck with your finals,and I hope all goes well. Secondly, those screen shots are seriously Serria Hotel. Bloody smashing Looking forward to seeing it when you have your exams behind you and you have it complete.

Jolly good show,(and again the very best luck with your exams)

Mark
    Skyknight

Great work mate :)

As I said over at VATeir terry, very, very excellent stuff.

Keep us updated whenever, but more importantly best of luck with the exams!

great... looking at it makes me want it more!! haha

When do you think it will be ready and where will it be available from??

Dont know when it will be done to be honest..Im still in the middle of my finals and then im in chicago for the summer,i might have some free time then to get it finished or else it will more than likely be when i return to Ireland.

T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Aerlingus231

does anyone know whene this exelent scenery will be released and if it will be freeware / payware / donation-ware. is it possible to get a copy of the scenery in its current state, even if its not finished its still a 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000... times better.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭highlydebased

cherrytaz wrote: »
    Dont know when it will be done to be honest..Im still in the middle of my finals and then im in chicago for the summer,i might have some free time then to get it finished or else it will more than likely be when i return to Ireland.

T

Aerlingus231, see above