Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weight Motivation Clinic - Still Hungry

• 19-09-2008 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭

hi all,

I recently (tuesday) joined up to the Motivation weight loss clinic on Dawsons street. Anyway i was wondering if anyone has any success stories from this type of diet- i am feeling hungry all the time and i want to know if anyone else has experienced this and if so does it get better. I am a bit concerned because my daily calorie intake (according to the book) is 800Kcal - Surely this is very little - i feel sick/weak but also bloated as if its bigger my tummy is getting!!

For those of you that dont know about this place - it offers one to one consultation and a dietary plan - The basis of which protein is to be eaten at each meal. 6 meals a day - Now wehn i say meals i mean Breakfast - lunch - dinner and 3 Snacks (which 2 must be those protein supplements - which i cannot stand they are choc bars- i hate them)

Can anyone recommend any other substances that they see which i may like - other than choc bars - cause i need to get 2 in a day, and i am obliged to buy 2 packs a week!! 30Euro!!!

Thanks in advance for all your responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

800cals for a day seems very, very low. I''m not surprised you're starving!!

What weight are you at the moment and what are your goals??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Anything that is asking you to replace meals with chocolate protein bars that you HAVE to buy sounds to me like a scam. Just from the outside looking in. Do they make you sign a contract? Direct debit for a year or something?

With enough willpower you should be able to reduce your calories and slowly increase your activity levels by yourself. What about weight watchers or similar if support is what you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

i am feeling hungry all the time

my daily calorie intake (according to the book) is 800Kcal

i feel sick/weak

i am obliged to buy 2 packs a week!! 30Euro!!!

Worrying.

It may be old an unfashionable but Weightwatchers is about the best of these schemes.

This is a scam.

The premise seems to be eat fúckall and throw money at us for the priveledge. You'd be better served reading the stickies on this site and really educating yourself by doing some research, and it's free.

These places really get my goat, they almost have a cultish quality I can't quite put my finger on

Sweet Jesus on rollerskates a quick look at their site and the "research" to back it up seems to imply the guru at the top of this organisation (cult?) see's weightloss as psycholgical and that the disorder can be treated with VLCD's (Very Low Calorie Diet). My god...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭STUBBORNGIRL

Malteaser! wrote: »
    800cals for a day seems very, very low. I''m not surprised you're starving!!

What weight are you at the moment and what are your goals??

I weighed in at 14 st 11lbs - which is very worrying - the heaviest i have ever been is 14st

My Goal is to lose 3 stone by christmas - that was giving me 4 months

I have tried WW and it doesnt work for me - i go for a few weeks , Quit , rejoin - See the motivation clinic offers advice on your mental weight, they identify why i am overweight! (i dont tend to excessively eat so therfore its mentally i have the problem)

kevpants wrote: »
    Sweet Jesus on rollerskates a quick look at their site and the "research" to back it up seems to imply the guru at the top of this organisation (cult?) see's weightloss as psycholgical and that the disorder can be treated with VLCD's (Very Low Calorie Diet). My god...

CULT

Stop scaring me - i just forked out 700Euro for a 20 week programme!!!! ARGGH - My reasoning is if it makes me lose the weight i dont care how much it costs - some people say if you want it enough you just will but not with me!! I want to so bad - but im so lazy about it! i do go to the Gym and had a personal trainer but he couldnt take me on Sat anymore so i had to give up!! i still go to the gym though but wouldnt work myself as hard!! he was all weights and no cardio - everyone was telling me you have to do the cardio first and leave the weights til the weight was coming off and increase these weekly or otherwise i would build muscle over fat!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Okay... that's basically physiologically impossible. While positive mental attitude can help you in everything you do, weight gain is due to calorie intake and lack of calories burned. Can you provide more detail on the term "mental weight" as it's been explained to you?

Unless there's something I'm missing here this is pseudo-science masquerading as health.

I think you get the award for "Person who has received the most crap advice".

It sounds like you were one of the few people to get proper guidance from a personal trainer but were persuded to quit by your friends cos weights will add muscle to your fat. It won't. A proper weights routine with a proper diet is far superior to hours of mindless cardio.

That this motivation place has convinced you that your weight is there not due to your eating habits but due to some mental illness is disgraceful. That they've taken €700 plus installments of €30 for chocolate bars is tantamount to robbery. If you were a member of my family there'd be a very angry Kevpants in their office right now looking for a cheque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

For a guy who's a worldwide expert, there's very little information on him except for stuff he's written himself.

Having read through his stuff, the idea isn't completely crazy.

From what I can tell he basically has a theory that says that you can link a particular psychological profile to your ability to control your weight. This is the "mental weight" thing. You basically answer a series of questions, and they're weighed or scored somehow, and the figure you get is your "mental weight", and can be too high or too low just like your normal weight.
    The aim of the programme is to combine an attempt to fix your "mental weight", with a VLCD. So it's not completely crazy. For most overweight people trying to lose weight, the primary limiting factor is self-control, and I've no doubt that for many of them, there are unresolved issues at the core which are unrelated to the actual weight problem.

However, plenty of people are simply overweight and have nothing to blame it on except that they enjoy their food. The programme does contain elements which attempt to increase your motivation, which is no doubt good for everyone, but it also seems to try to solve your personal problems, which you may or may not have.

The ridiculously low calorie diet and the protein bars that you have to pay for are just a bog standard "Pay us loads of money and lose weight far too fast" scheme.
    In reality, a VLCD shouldn't be used as a standard dieting regime, and unless the person in the clinic who gave you the diet plan is a doctor of medicine, I'd be careful and go talk to your own GP about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

CULT

Stop scaring me - i just forked out 700Euro for a 20 week programme!!!! ARGGH - My reasoning is if it makes me lose the weight i dont care how much it costs - some people say if you want it enough you just will but not with me!! I want to so bad - but im so lazy about it! i do go to the Gym and had a personal trainer but he couldnt take me on Sat anymore so i had to give up!!i still go to the gym though but wouldnt work myself as hard!! he was all weights and no cardio - everyone was telling me you have to do the cardio first and leave the weights til the weight was coming off and increase these weekly or otherwise i would build muscle over fat!!!

I don't normally say anything to threads like this since my opinion seems unnecessarily harsh, but I hate to see people being exploited.

I've bolded and underlined some sections in this quote in the hope that you'll see how you're making a positive statement, then adding a "but" and making an excuse.

This is the reason you have put on weight, and the reason these people have preyed on you. I don't know if you need some counselling, a really tough coach, a team sport or something else to push you, but you need to make yourself mentally strong.

Read the stickies here - educate yourself about nutrition, weight loss, training and everything in between. You'll soon realise that your are on a loser with this "Motivation Weight Loss" - they've given you a poor diet and haven't motivated you!

Get yourself in good shape - mentally and physically - one small step at a time. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

If i have paid someone 700euro for their time and information i would be instantly asking questions about them if i turned to a free resource for information and help.

Dragan wrote: »
    If i have paid someone 700euro for their time and information i would be instantly asking questions about them if i turned to a free resource for information and help.

I know what you are saying Dragan - i dont have my next appointment until wed - and believe me i will inundate them with questions - for the moment i said i wuold just ask others if they had done this and how they felt - whether it worked for them or not. i havent been sticking to it because i am too weak - i have to get that little extra of Carbohydrate into me - in saying that i havent eaten any rubbish and its just eating a pitta with my salad or having potatoes or pasta as part of my main meal.

I dont like being taken for a fool but the success stories on their website intrigued me and i suppose i wanted to be one of those and that was my reasoning for joining.

thanks for all the comments though it really has got me wondering but time will tell - and i will definitely get some carbs into me when i start to feel weak - i wont be making any trips to the hospital thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Some protein snacks that you can use to replace the bars; cottage cheese. Low fat cheddar cheese (Avonmore slimline is low fat), egg white chocolate mousse (recipe on request!), can of protein pudding, whey ice-cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Graceland

I've found the best diets to do are the ones you do yourself. I've never liked the thought of these so called experts telling people what they should and shouldn't eat. I've lost 2st 9lb so far since the beginning of February and I haven't cut anything out of my diet, I've just cut down on it. I do a decent diet during the week but I have my treats at the weekend and so far it is working for me.
    Also one of the best exercises to do is walking. It doesn't cost you anything and it will tone you up from top to bottom.
    I think what you are being charged is a complete scandal in my opinion and 800 calories isn't enough to eat. You'll never stick to a diet like that as it is too hard and you will always be hungry. The only reason they are telling you to eat this little amount is so you will keep coming back to them. It's people like that who could cause you to damage your health instead of improving it (just my opinion).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

I want to so bad - but im so lazy about it!
    Well you need to want it more then, because when want > laziness you will put in the effort.
    i do go to the Gym and had a personal trainer but he couldnt take me on Sat anymore so i had to give up!!

Why would you need a personal trainer anyway? Maybe for some advice right when you start exercising but it's totally unnecessary after that - giving up cos you the pt couldn't take you on saturdays is pure laziness and excuses...what difference does it make if you had a pt with you while training anyway, do you think he/she's gonna hop on the auld exercise bike and pump out a few kms for ya?

I agree that with the others that say this is a con job. You're paying 35 quid a week for information that is not even as good as what is freely available on the net...800 calorie a day diet...thats a joke. A diet that reduces your calorie intake by a reasonable amount is a much better way of achieving long term weight loss. There's no magic program that is going to knock 3 stone off you no matter how much you shell out for it - it's simple, eat less calories and do more exercise and you will automatically lose weight. It's all about having the discipline to stick to what you should be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Glyni

hi,
    two friends of mine are actually doing this diet right now and are losing approx 4lbs a week. I agree it is a scam no diferent than doing slimfast But a lot more expensive. You,ve paid the money now my advice make the most of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 NanoNano

Hi Stubborn girl

You signed up for 20 weeks so you're stuck. They never give money back and they force you to buy the supplements every week unless you get a note from your GP that you can't have them for whatever reason.
    They're diet is a high protein/low carbs diet and there are loads more diets like that. They have just as much success stories and failures as every other diet.

I suggest make the most of your 15 min. every week, get copy's of the weight print out every week and study your fat and muscle ratio. They don't like doing it but ask. Don't buy the books or the tapes, more money for them to be made. Do make your homework from the handouts and let them get back to it for your next visit. Ask them for a suggestion every week and not only the ones that are on the hand-out. The consultants see about 30 people a day so you can't blame them for going on automatic pilot every now and then but when you make your homework, keep the food diary immaculate and let them study it, you will have results. However they don't focus much on exercise only walking and for long term results you need to incorporate exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 gmurray

I myself am thinking of joining the motivational weight loss clinic. does anyone know if you have to pay the money up front or in installments? do they offer free consultations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

As far as I know, the first consultation is free, then you pay upfront.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

gmurray wrote: »
    I myself am thinking of joining the motivational weight loss clinic. does anyone know if you have to pay the money up front or in installments? do they offer free consultations?

Did you read the above. If you want, for €600 i'll show up at your home once a week and spend 15mins telling you to starve yourself!

If you want to lose weight, read the stickies, eat healthy, take up exercise and use the €800 to join a gym and get a few sessions with a PT. There's plenty of good ones on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 NewLifer

I have just joined this programme and in fact to day is my first day. I did a lot of research before I forked out that much money (€2650). This includes everything!!! For the 20 weeks, thereafter, no doubt they will want more money, but i'll cross that bridge when i come to it! One thing no one has mentioned is that this IS a MEDICALLY surpervised programme, I have seen a doctor before starting the programme, I will see him again half way thru the programme and again at the end, and any time in between should i feel it's necessary. My diet is even lower than yours 500 calories per day, but then i do have 9.5 stone to lose!!

I did consider weight watchers, but the time that it takes to lose that amount of weight would be about 2 years, I am not that patient!! Also the thought of being grouped with a bunch of fatties wobbling around me fills me with dread. This programme is one on one, which is what I was looking for, however, I do know that as much as they will hold my hand, the work is down to me, it's very simple stubborngirl, you either want to lose the weight or you dont. Same applies to smokers. When you DECIDE for yourself that you want to lose it, you will do it, regardless of which method you choose.

I did notice that your post was in September and you wanted to lose the weight for xmas, why??? Dont you want to lose it for yourself???

All I can say is best of luck, I hope you take action soon, the last time i weighed 14.5 stone was many years ago, but it wont be long before I do again. Try to learn from others to save yourself the pain, dont let your weight consume your life, lose it or love it and live with it, but dont make poor excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Hi New Lifer

I have also just signed up to the programme. I have between 2 and 3 stone to lose in total. I am just sitting here reading my program material and I know it is going to be hard for me as many of the foods you can eat are ones I dont like.

Has anyone done motivation that has any decent recipes to share.

Hopefully, we can also keep each other going.

I found them quite helpful and I do not disagree with the mental attitude towards weight loss. I piled on 1.5 stone over approx. 4 months when I was in a job I hated and really started to comfort eat.

Good luck with it to one and all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

NewLifer wrote: »
    IMy diet is even lower than yours 500 calories

what do you do? look at the two cho bars then snort half a protein shake!! 500 calories is madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Quite honestly, anyone who does this with the knowledge that it's stupid / a quick easy fix deserves to get ripped off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Is there any way you can just improve your diet a little bit, e.g. cut out takeaways and start cooking your meals, and do a little bit of exercise, e.g. a fast walk for 45 minutes every day? You can also add some simple things like taking the stairs instead of the lift and cutting back on booze.

It'll be easier to stick to and you will get results, slowly but surely.

Like everything, once you've established a routine it'll be easy.

Extreme diets never work, especially ones which require lazy/depressed people to make massive yet temporary life changes

On my programme, I am getting 2 bars per day(which dont actually taste too bad) and my daily allowance is 1,000 calories.

I think it is "doable" for me, so am going to give it a fair whack, having paid the money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

Seriously, before anyone else shells out for this, would you not make an effort to eat healthily and exercise for just a couple of weeks beforehand??

€2650 is an insane amount of money to spend!

I've lost 9lbs over the last month through eating healthily, logging what I eat and taking up some exercise. This has cost me nothing. If anything, it's saved me money. It's been easy! If you have the discipline to stick to a diet like this clinic one, then you'll have the discipline to eat healthily. And people on these forums will help you in making the right food choices.

It's said to take 21 days to form new habits. Rather than spend thousands of euro on a program like this, would you not attempt to spend just 21 days attempting to form new healthier habits first? Once you get into it, it becomes easy. And once you've started to see the difference on the scales, it becomes even easier. This is what I am doing at this very moment, and I remain amazed by just how simple it actually is.

I dont think it costs €2k for everyone. That is when you need a Doctors involvement, I think. Mine is costing in the region of €600 fior 20 weeks.

It is more personal than weight watchers, so if it works for me then it is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

€2650 to be told to eat 500 calories a day ? Jesus wept.

anewme wrote: »
    On my programme, I am getting 2 bars per day(which dont actually taste too bad) and my daily allowance is 1,000 calories.

I think it is "doable" for me, so am going to give it a fair whack, having paid the money!

1. 1000 calories per day is unhealthy
    2. Are you going to be able to maintain this long term? No, so you are wasting your time and money. As soon as you go off this extreme diet you are going to pile on the weight.

Stop wasting your time with extreme diets. THEY DON'T WORK. Just make some small lifestyle changes and work from there.

Seriously, what you're doing is stupid.

Yes, €2650 is a hell of a lot of money to spend, break it down its costing me €132.50/week. Still worth it to me, I'm not interested in anyones approval or disapproval. I have tried other diets, they all work for a while then something will happen and i'll lose my motivation. This is not a fad, there has been sound scientific research behind this diet. It's not just about losing the weight, it's about finding the causes that make me lose motivation and what causes me to overeat/gain weight in the first place, I'd love to find a psychiatrist that would cost as little as that per week. A week and half in I'm down 5 pounds, doesnt sound like drastic weight loss to me, feeling healthier and feeling a lot more positive in other areas of my life too, yes maybe I could have done it on my own, but it would probably taken me a lot longer to find those 'triggers' by myself and how many diets would I have tried by then, probably failing miserably each time and wracking myself with guilt each time I failed!! I dont have the time to do that, my health is at risk, if I dont do this I will probably die, so I need as much help as I can get. Would you make the same comments to someone who has paid even more for gastric bypass/balloons etc. Yes something else I considered but looking at the long term, that would drastically alter my life for ever. This diet is about changing attitudes as well as getting me healthy, it's not for everyone but I'm making the effort, I now weigh 18 stone 9 pounds, I wonder how many people passing comment know what it's like to be so big. My goal is 9 and a half stone. Half the woman I am now lol. The protein supplements arent that bad, some are yuck, but there are plenty choose from, the foods that are allowed arent too bad, for me it's a means to an end so I'll persevere, it's not forever, I know when I've completed the programme and reached my goal I wont be able to go back to living and eating the way I was, and quite frankly I dont want to, it's not about focusing on what you cant have but what you can. I dont expect to lose it all in 20 weeks, that would be unrealistic. The reason I do like this and it's working for me is they focus on the WHOLE person, not just weight loss. To each his own and being a fat person that has been judged all my life because of my size, I'll say this, judge not lest ye be judged. Ce la vie.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    1. 1000 calories per day is unhealthy

Can you please state your medical qualifications to justify that statement?

You are brain washed.

What do you think is going to happen to you when you come off this diet and return to a relativily normal eating habit?

I'll tell you what will happen -

The fat cells which have been emptied (but not destroyed) by your starvation diet will cling onto every calorie they can get their hands on. Not only will you immediately start gaining weight, but you will most likely become heavier than your original weight.

So forget about the damage you are doing to your body (your body needs around 1500 calories for basic activities such as using your kidneys, liver, etc.) and the damage you are doing to your bank account, these sort of extreme short term diets do not work.

I accept you do not understand this and have been brainwashed into thinking a life of yo-yo diets is the way forward, but you are wrong and will never achieve the body you want until you cop on.

Can you please state your medical qualifications to justify that statement?

I don't need a medical qualification to know basic information about our bodies.

That's your problem - you think some quack doctor has all the answers and everyone else is wrong.

In fact, I bet you the weight loss clinic pushes this idea. "Remember, we are qualified medical staff, don't listen to your friends and family who say this diet is not for you. Just ask for their qualifications!"

Yes, €2650 is a hell of a lot of money to spend, break it down its costing me €132.50/week. Still worth it to me, I'm not interested in anyones approval or disapproval. I have tried other diets, they all work for a while then something will happen and i'll lose my motivation. This is not a fad, there has been sound scientific research behind this diet. It's not just about losing the weight, it's about finding the causes that make me lose motivation and what causes me to overeat/gain weight.......

Your problem is you don't accept that the "something" that will happen and throw you off is you.

I might sound like a nasty git but fat people of Ireland, It's all your own fault. The sooner you accept it the sooner you'll be thin again.

You see the same type of talk from people who repeatedly try and fail, they quote some event or circumstance as a reason.

The sooner you stop looking around for organisations, guru's, plan's, diets etc to put the responsibility of losing weight into the sooner you'll succeed. Just do it yourself and wake up every day and be proud of yourself for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

Is that calorie count including or excluding the protein bars? It must be in addition to the bars, because they would be 150 - 200 calories each.

This could go on forever, I'm going to agree to disagree. I wish I had been brainwashed, that would make this all so easy. I'm used to the taunts and jibes from 'thin' people, yes it is my own fault that I'm fat, after all no one held a gun to my head and told me to eat. But with such sweeping statement you may as well say that depressed people are to blame for for their depression, sure, if they just smiled a bit they'd be cured. However, I'm sure we all know that's not the case, neither is it that simple with obesity. And for the record I AM doing something about it, maybe not the way you would, but my choices are NOT yours to make. I hope I'm not infringing on copyright by putting this in, but I am unable to put this in my own words:

"As surprising as it may seem, the human body can easily adapt to starvation. This adaptation reaction stems from its need to be strong enough to hunt or fish without eating, and dates from eras when humans depended on these methods for all their food intake.

In less than three days of dieting, the body adapts to this new state of calorie and carbohydrate deprivation. The fat digested is transformed into ketone bodies. These in turn supply energy to the body and fuel to the brain in order to function adequately.

The net results are appetite suppression and a feeling of well-being. All normal activities can be conducted as well.

This is a spectacular and motivating diet since the individual is not hungry, feels better and loses weight rapidly without damage to his/her health."

"To have all the benefits of such a diet, the individual has to comply carefully by being supervised by a knowledgeable physician, by taking all the protein prescribed and by taking enough mineral salts, especially sodium, potassium, calcium and magnesium, and enough vitamins and water.

All these nutrients are VERY IMPORTANT and should be administered individually and monitored regularly since no two individuals may need the same amount."

"The refeeding phase after this diet is also VERY IMPORTANT in order to enable the body to adjust gradually and prevent major water retention and cardiac irregularities.

Responding to the critics about the health hazards of these type of diets, Drs. A Frank, C Graham and S Frank have written in the 'International Journal of Obesity' in 1981: 'No properly managed patient has died because of the liquid protein diet. It is unfortunate that this potentially extremely valuable technique for controlling obesity has been criticised.'

Dr. George Blackburn from the Harvard School of Medicine, who is considered the father of the technique in North America has concluded: 'Again we emphasise the programme must be physician-supervised and should be carried out only by people knowledgeable in the metabolics of fasting and in its appropriate role in a comprehensive weight control plan.'"

1. I dont feel hungry
    2. I am being supervised by a physician, not a quack
    3. I am taking all supplements supplied and recommended
    4. I'll pat myself on the back when I've achieved what I've set out to gain, which is not just losing 9.5 stone...
    5. Anybody else contemplating this programme, it is not a miracle diet, it will only work if YOU do what is required
    6. Best of luck to all those out there trying to find the way out of fat hell.
    7. Last post, over and out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Lil' Ian

NewLifer..............clearly a troll

But with such sweeping statement you may as well say that depressed people are to blame for for their depression, sure, if they just smiled a bit they'd be cured.

That's a completely non-seniscal thing to say. Explain the "you may as well say" to me there?

A depressed person smiling is not going to make them happy.

A fat person not putting the chocolate eclair in their gob IS going to make them thinner.

Apples and Oranges.

Then again you aren't allowed apples and oranges so I suppose it's understandable ;)

All I'm going to say to close is, when you finish your famine-diet stand in front of the mirror while eating your first proper meal. I reckon you'll actually be able to see the weight going back on.

kevpants wrote: »
    Then again you aren't allowed apples and oranges so I suppose it's understandable ;)

LMAO :D

I'm not saying anymore :P

The thing is, the people on this forum are living breathing proof of what can be achieved if you put in the hard work and actually put in effort instead of a lazy, half-arsed quick-fix that rips you off obscenely and will leave you right back where you started within a few months of finishing it.

You're basically sticking your fingers in your ears and singing "tra la la la la", and putting your faith in this crap, and I can assure you you'll end up regretting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Bog Butter

The thing is, the people on this forum are living breathing proof of what can be achieved if you put in the hard work and actually put in effort instead of a lazy, half-arsed quick-fix that rips you off obscenely and will leave you right back where you started within a few months of finishing it.

You're basically sticking your fingers in your ears and singing "tra la la la la", and putting your faith in this crap, and I can assure you you'll end up regretting it.

Yes and I am one of them. I have lost a least a half of a stone since the start of the year through eating healthy and exercising. And I lost weight before by doing the same thing only I reverted back to my old lifestyle, which included no exercise, and a lot of it went back on. Any weight loss programme should include exercise, which would continue beyond into normal routine. Otherwise the weight WILL go back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 shaunamona

OMG if you've nothing good to say about something that's helping loads of people then say nothing!

Motivation helped me sooooo much, I bought ever book and cd they had to offer. I work in sales and these girls aren't trying to 'sell' you these things they really help. I lost loads of weight and 3 years on haven't put it back on again because they helped me change my mind set!

It's not a bloody cult. And there are sooooooo many more supplements than choc bars they have loads - nuts/drinks/maltesers and even like cordials. They are not meal replacements but snacks, they're a damn sight better than snacking on crisps/choc or fizzydrinks. and the reason is to like get your skin not to sag if you loose loads of weight.

Motivation worked wonders for me.I'd have paid 6000 instead of 600

randomer wrote: »
    Is that calorie count including or excluding the protein bars? It must be in addition to the bars, because they would be 150 - 200 calories each.

Yes, it is 1,000 calories and 2 bars at about 150-200 calories each. That is why I am finding it quite doable at the moment.

Have to say, some of the responses to New Lifer are a bit rich. I am doing the Motivation, as I said I have between 2 stone and 3 stone to lose. In conjunction with diet and exercise, I would like to have the 2 stone or most of it gone by July/August.

People who are doing something about their weight should be applauded all the way.

It should be remembered that not everyone ticks the same way. Some people find it easy to motivate themselves and some do not. There are too many sneery comments in the vein of "fat...lazy..." and this is what this person battled against for so long, so here it is again.

In my case, I lashed on 2 stone in a matter of months last year. That is not healthy. However, my best friend died tragically and unexpectedly, coupled with me starting a new job, which I hated. First time in my life I hit comfort eating junk food/lack of exercise with a vengence and as a result put up 1.5 stone in as many months. I have never been lazy, lacking in motivation or whatever you guys think, life throws stuff at us sometimes and we react as best we can.

Something had to give, so even in this market, concentrated on getting another job(which I did and love) and now the next thing to be tackled is the weight. Motivation WL Clinic is my boost to kick start the weight loss.

Week 1 and so far so good, think I will be down about 3lbs, happy enough with this on a 1400 calorie diet, which is hardly starving myself, given my gender, age and height.

Newlifer, 500 calories a day ( plus bars, so you are at about 900), but if you are determined, then I hope it works for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

500 calories a day is what the average ethiopian gets, need i say more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

There has been a running theme throughout these sort of threads with the people advocating these diet's saying that the people who are against them want them to be overweight/unhealthy and what not. Why the hell would they?
    It should be remembered that not everyone ticks the same way. Some people find it easy to motivate themselves and some do not. There are too many sneery comments in the vein of "fat...lazy..." and this is what this person battled against for so long, so here it is again.

I'm sick of reading this crap. The people on the forum are only trying to help, they aren't trying to sabotage your efforts, they aren't trying to belittle you. So give the martyr card a rest please.

Look at the many topics were they spend a LOT of time giving advice. Advice which is free btw, yet you insist on spending a 1000 euro for it? The more money you spend on something doesn't mean the more it's going to work.
    kick start

Do a search of how many time's that rubbish buzz word has been said over and over again. It's meaningless.

The sad thing is that in all likelyhood, the same people doing this disaster (and utter rip-off) of a 'clinic' will be back in a years time moaning that it didn't work and what they should eat and do in the gym.

I don't mind giving whatever (meagre) advice I can here (and what i do give is mainly of my own experience thus far, I'm still learning here every day) but it pisses me off to see people come on here to double-check if ridiculous schemes/diets will work, and then they get huffy and haughty when told its bullsh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 lifofifo

Even from a purely financial point of view this is completely idiotic! Instead of spending €2.5K for starvation, you can save a fortune by just eating healthy. The added benefit is that you are going to lose weight at the same time. Let me give you an example. Until last year, I used to eat two chocolate
    croissants for my breakfast which cost me €3. So that was 3*365 = €1095 a year. For the past 14 months this is what I've been eating for breakfast - Two weetabix bars with 250 ml of low fat milk, 15 grams of cashew
    nuts and a boiled egg. Here's the breakdown of the cost -

2 Weetabix bars = 25 cents (a box of 24 costs €2.97)
    250 ml low fat milk = 36 cents (1 litre milk is €1.50)
    15 grams of cashew nut = 39 cents (a pack of 90 grams costs €2.29)
    One egg = 35 cents (a box of 6 cost €2.10)

So that's a grand total of €1.35 a day. That's 1.35*365 = €493 a year. So I'm saving (1095 - 493) = €600 a year on breakfast alone. And I wouldn't even mention the health benefits here. If I take my other meals into account I would say I'm saving over €2K a year. I pay 400 quid a year for my gym and it still leaves with a saving of over €1500 a year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

No wonder we're in a recession if people are pissing away their money like idiots.