Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Upcoming Police State: New laws with e100 on the spot fines for being drunk in public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

lock up the idiots tbh.

you try get 100e from a drunken clown at some god awful hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

If it stop some fcukwit smashing something or beating some innocent bystander to death then whats the fcuking problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Shelflife

should be a €500 fine and a night in the cells for D&D, too lenient on gob****es ruining everything for everyone else.

Id even bring back the stocks and the lash for petty criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Gardai are now given new powers to issue e100 on the spot fines to anyone caught drunk in public .

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7616715.stm

So if you go to a pub, and get drunk (as you do), and then decide to walk home a guard can fine you for being drunk in public......!!!!!

Thats mad Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Delighted myself. Walking through town at night over the weekends is like fighting a sea of drunken morons.

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭jim_bob

looks like the government finally figured a way to pull is out of the "recession" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Yeah I don't get it. Define drunk!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

How will drunkenness be proved by the garda ?

I think the €140 fine for drunk and disordely makes perfect sense. There's no need to tie up the courts with such petty matters, but the €100 fine for just being drunk does need closer attention IMO.

The €100 fine should only apply to someone who isn't being disorderly but who's drunken state may be a risk to their health and the health of others.

EDIT : I'll check the Intoxicating Liquor Act as soon as it's updated online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Jesus thats a load of bollocks. Gards will run wild, knowing a few of them I wouldnt be surprised to see them pocket a few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Ponster wrote: »
    How will drunkenness be proved by the garda ?
    blow into this bag please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

So you go for a night out and get hammered then you say to yourself "**** i'd better not walk home the two miles i might get fined 100 euro" .. where's my car keys i'll drive it. Next there will be a law brought in that the guards can take booze of you if they dont like the look of you..Oh wait a minute

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

It's about time. Not many civilised places left that allow idiots to run around smashed. Far too lenient though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

kaimera wrote: »

you try get 100e from a drunken clown at some god awful hour.
    No problem when the National ID comes inrto effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,015 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Just as we thought things were getting bad for off licences and night clubs closing early, Gardai are now given new powers to issue e100 on the spot fines to anyone caught drunk in public and e140 for those that are drunk and disorderly in public. The Gardai will have a field day in any city or large town in Ireland.
    This is just another definite move towards a police run state.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7616715.stm

This is true - and more of a reflection of the the cities and large towns in Ireland than the Gardai. What would you rather they did - give each individual a police escort home...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,890 ✭✭✭✭Stark

togster wrote: »
    If it stop some fcukwit smashing something or beating some innocent bystander to death then whats the fcuking problem.

I think the problem is the fine is for being "drunk" rather than being "drunk and disorderly". ie: according to the terms of the law, you could be on your way from the pub to the Nitelink and be fined 100 euro simply for being out on the street after drinking. I know the Gardaí will probably apply a common sense approach but still. Why use the term "drunk" when the intention is to crack down on people who are "disorderly"?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The power has been there a while anyway. It's just beefing it up based on the 2004 Liquor Act. Enda's drunk tank coming to fruition. I have to say it can only be a good thing.

Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994
    4.—(1) It shall be an offence for any person to be present in any public place while intoxicated to such an extent as would give rise to a reasonable apprehension that he might endanger himself or any other person in his vicinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

No problem when the National ID comes inrto effect.

Bring it on then

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I agree with the fine for drunk & disorderly, but €100 for just being drunk (and orderly??).

Looking forward to this one being all over papers / Joe Duffy etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I was walking to the bus on saturday night with 2 friends when we saw blue flashing lights fly onto the wrong side of the road and stop arseways in the middle blocking the entire lane...

A timmid little voice trying to sound tough came out of the crack in the window. Low and behold, 2 bean Garda trying to prove a point to all the men who said they would never make it...

"You know theres a fine for being drunk in public" said the little feminist behind the wheel.*

"I'm just walking to the bus on my way to town, your taking the piss?" says I...

"I'll let you away with a warning but next time I won't be so leaniant!" says the wee little garda before speeding off down the wrong side of the road for about 50 yards before finding her lane.

I don't buy into this police state bull**** usually but stopped for walking down the road? How else am I going to get to a ****ing bus stop!

*Talking about this one person so don't bother taking offence to that statement...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

And when he's finished he can go to the pub you were drinking in and fine the bartender for surviving alcohol to an intoxicated person.
    chef wrote: »
    So if you go to a pub, and get drunk (as you do), and then decide to walk home a guard can fine you for being drunk in public......!!!!!

Thats mad Ted.

BTW, we've done this already...

http://smelly.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055341530

EDIT :

I've looked up a couple of sources and it's as is_that_so said. It's always been in the States powers to arrest you for being drunk (and orderly). All that has changed is that you have the choice of paying a fine if you want to avoid court.

I'm guessing that because there hasn't been horror stories of people being arrested for walking to the LUAS/DART/Bus while drunk then we probably won't hear any horror stories of people being fined.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Then only thing that has changed is the Garda is now "Judge, Jury and Prosecutor" which sounds like a police state to me.
    is_that_so wrote: »
    The power has been there a while anyway. It's just beefing it up based on the 2004 Liquor Act. Enda's drunk tank coming to fruition. I have to say it can only be a good thing.

Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I've had enough.

Stark wrote: »
    I think the problem is the fine is for being "drunk" rather than being "drunk and disorderly". ie: according to the terms of the law, you could be on your way from the pub to the Nitelink and be fined 100 euro simply for being out on the street after drinking. I know the Gardaí will probably apply a common sense approach but still. Why use the term "drunk" when the intention is to crack down on people who are "disorderly"?
    This is my point, I don’t see anything wrong with guys being pulled up for being drunk acting the maggot in public, being a danger to traffic and a threat to the public.

To make it an offence to walk home after a few pints from your local is ridiculous.

This new law is definitally another knock on the head for the Irish Pub industry and another gain for home drinking.

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    Then only thing that has changed is the Garda is now "Judge, Jury and Prosecutor" which sounds like a police state to me.

Nope. If you feel that you are in the right then you don't have to pay the fine and you can take your case to court.

Are you against all "on-the-spot"-type fines (e.g. speeding) or just these new ones?

This is my point, I don’t see anything wrong with guys being pulled up for being drunk acting the maggot in public, being a danger to traffic and a threat to the public.

To make it an offence to walk home after a few pints from your local is ridiculous.

I'm assuming you missed this....
    4.—(1) It shall be an offence for any person to be present in any public place while intoxicated to such an extent as would give rise to a reasonable apprehension that he might endanger himself or any other person in his vicinity.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Ponster wrote: »
    Nope. If you feel that you are in the right then you don't have to pay the fine and you can take your case to court.

Are you against all "on-the-spot"-type fines (e.g. speeding) or just these new ones?

I wonder will there be a larger fine for taking your case to court like with some other on the spot fines. Tbh that really pisses me off and violates the spirit of the constitution if not the letter.

Dragan wrote: »
    I'm assuming you missed this....
    Where do they draw the line? someone who had a couple of pints unintentionally makes a smart comment to a cop outside a night club, he is subsequently thrown into the back of a paddy wagon and fined. Was this guy "a danger to himself or any other persons in his vicinity". It would be his word against theirs.

Where do they draw the line? someone who had a couple of pints makes a smart comment to a cop outside a night club unintentionally, he is subsequently gets thrown into the back of a paddy wagon and fined. Is he "an endanger to himself or any other persons in his vicinity". It would be his word against theirs.

I think you're confusing things.

The point of the thread is about the new fining system. If you make a smart comment then there's a chance you'll "get thrown into the back of a paddy wagon" but that's already the case and has been for years.

Where do they draw the line? someone who had a couple of pints makes a smart comment to a cop outside a night club unintentionally, he is subsequently gets thrown into the back of a paddy wagon and fined. Is he "an endanger to himself or any other persons in his vicinity". It would be his word against theirs.

How do you make a smart comment unintentionally? Genuine question. Especially if the person you are addressing is a cop?

Look, if you mouth off to a cop then you’re a plank and deserve a few hours in a cell to learn your lesson. I've had a lot of dealings with cops, from a professional and non-professional standpoint and I wasn't always on the right side of the law either.

I've never had any problems with them and I find that most of the people who DO have problems with them have never even interacted with them in the course of their duties.

I see this thread turning into another whinge fest from people banging on about freedom and all that jazz when it's not going to be valid.