Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

inappropriate id?!?

• 08-09-2008 9:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭

last night I was out with a few of the girls and we decided to go to a place where we go quite alot on harcourt st for a few drinks... so we go up and the bouncer asked us for id (even tho we are mid 20's!!!) but we obliged, because he was only doing his job... he then said to me... " when was the last time you where here?" I said "oh last month" and he then said well then you would have known that I have stopped excepting drivers licences as a form of ID... so that was that...we didnt go in! The job that I do requires me to have my passport everyday with me as I fly everyday, so I cant bring that out just incase it gets lost or stolen... But just wondering... Is not excepting a full drivers licence illegal since a licence is a legal document?

Thanks guys!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

last night I was out with a few of the girls and we decided to go to a place where we go quite alot on harcourt st for a few drinks... so we go up and the bouncer asked us for id (even tho we are mid 20's!!!) but we obliged, because he was only doing his job... he then said to me... " when was the last time you where here?" I said "oh last month" and he then said well then you would have known that I have stopped excepting drivers licences as a form of ID... so that was that...we didnt go in! The job that I do requires me to have my passport everyday with me as I fly everyday, so I cant bring that out just incase it gets lost or stolen... But just wondering... Is not excepting a full drivers licence illegal since a licence is a legal document?

Thanks guys!
    You'll need that age card thing then, stupid thing which you have to apply for and wait months for, I just use my DIT ID and most places accept it, but the only ones shops require to accept are Passport/Garda Card, I wouldn't mind if you got one once your over 18 automaticly but the hasstle of it means ive never bothered

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

that doesnt sound right. a drivers licence is a valid form of id. you should probably make a complaint to the management about him. some bouncers can be p***ks which is more likely to be the reason he wouldnt take it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just get an age card, it's only costs a few quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭White_Feather

that doesnt sound right. a drivers licence is a valid form of id. you should probably make a complaint to the management about him. some bouncers can be p***ks which is more likely to be the reason he wouldnt take it.

Your completely right! He was one of the rudest obnoxious ar$e I have come across in a long time... I thought Bouncers had kind stopped all the crAp and it was mainly a thing of the past!!! Was thinking about complaining but sure I would prob just receive email back saying it is there policy etc...there hardly going to agree with me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

In that situation it sounds like the bouncer was just being a prik, unless you look particularly young.

No point arguing with him. Just go elsewhere.

I would never bring a passport out with me as a form of ID. Its too valuable a document to worth risk losing on a night out.

In the exceptional circumstance that that the club happened to be raided by the Gardai, they would happily take your car licence as a valid form of ID. Come to think of it, they'd probably take college ID/bus pass too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Driver's licenses can be forged easily enough (a guy i worked with when we would have been pre leaving cert had a mini empire built on a scanner, imac & work's laminator...)

To be honest, I'd say 50% here was the bouncer first of all wanted to gauge what state you & your friends were in which is why he asked for the ID, and he probably refused the drivers license cause he figured you or one of your mates weren't fit to come in...

Bouncers can be waitresses on powertrips at times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Btw if the OP is a chick then I find the bouncers actions quite strange.

Dardania wrote: »
    Driver's licenses can be forged easily enough (a guy i worked with when we would have been pre leaving cert had a mini empire built on a scanner, imac & work's laminator...)

To be honest, I'd say 50% here was the bouncer first of all wanted to gauge what state you & your friends were in which is why he asked for the ID, and he probably refused the drivers license cause he figured you or one of your mates weren't fit to come in...

Yeh but they can easily check the waterproof mark on the licence itself to prove that is real. Thats fair enough about the bouncers checking us out to see if we were sober, but this was at 9.30pm and a drop hadnt even past our mouths! I even knew the other bouncer on with him but this guy seemed to be the head bouncer...and yes in answer to ya question,,,i am a chick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

The bouncer didn't want you in there. No matter what id you showed him, he wouldn't of let you in. Some people simply enjoy being assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Btw if the OP is a chick then I find the bouncers actions quite strange.

Unless she's a fat chick.

Only joking.

keen wrote: »
    Unless she's a fat chick.

Only joking.

Damn...My secret is out! Guys Im secretly Mary Harney!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Technically he's right. It's not a recognised ID by law except when you're driving. The fact that most pubs, airlines, etc accept it doesn't matter - that's optional.
    But in reality he was just being an arse. You have to provide a birth cert when applying for your first license and it is a government issued document based on that birth cert. So there's no way the pub could be done for allowing you in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

This thread has sadly reminded me that I'll need to get a new garda ID... thought at 24 I'd have been fine without one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Damn...My secret is out! Guys Im secretly Mary Harney!!!:D

Prove it! (Drivers license not acceptable ;-p)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Prove it! (Drivers license not acceptable ;-p)

Itl need to be a 2 page photo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Who in their right mind goes to Harcourt Street on All-Ireland finals night??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭gaybitch

Do you still need a postal order to get a Garda card or can you stick a tenner in with the application form? Is it just

-application form
    -birth cert
    -tenner

you need?

EDIT: oh and passport photo of course..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Buy a gun capable of automatic rounds and educate bouncers as to why they should not fcuk with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

gaybitch wrote: »
    Do you still need a postal order to get a Garda card or can you stick a tenner in with the application form? Is it just

-application form
    -birth cert
    -tenner

you need?

EDIT: oh and passport photo of course..!

Another form of ID as well, there is nothing about a postal order/cash, I assume you just give in ten at the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

I'd say he didn't like the look of you for some reason in which case he'll pick a random reason to fcuk you off. If you look really young he'd a said sorry girls over 21s only or over 25s only depending. Could a tried sorry not tonight girls locals/regulars only.

One weekend a while back three mates and i were in london. We had been poppin in and out of pubs for a while and decided to try this big flashy club that caught our eyes cant remember the name, something tropical i think like the palm i dunno.
    So we strolled up cool and the gang loike to this large , rather sharply dressed man i must say, of the anglo african persuasian. He looks us up and down and says "sorry lads couples only tonioght" in that musical cockney tongue. So i looked accross at one of the lads and clasped my hand around his and then looked back at your man with a quizickle grin. It didn't fly, not a gook out of him, i at least expected a smile all we got was a thumb pointing down the street to his left and "sorry lads". Of course it probably didn't help the illusion of the gheyness i was going for that my mate was shaking his arm violently in an effort to escape my vice like grip.

Good times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I sometimes use my Powder Monkey ticket if it looks like the bouncer is going to give my mates hastle in the que, tis a federally isued document,it has a photo on it, and i really focuses their minds when the realise what it is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I bring my passport everywhere with me and use it to get into clubs, But its going through the wars and i'll probably end up needing a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Unfortunatly for you op it wouldnt matter what id you showed be it passport drivers licence or garda. anywhere can refuse an id all they have to do is say we dont accept that. take me for example im 27 and about a month ago I went to go into a club in dublin thats renowned for serving late ( no names here) the three door men looked at me and one asked for id me being a right prick showed him my IDF identity card ( all written in hebrew ) he had a great look at it, then asked me how old was I :D I turned round and said if you cant read my date of birth on a goverment issued ID what f..king good are you as a doorman. I snached my card back while his two friends laughed at him. funny thing is if it was them they would be in the same position. best thing to do is keep away from d2 or coppers as if the doormen need id there sub intelligent and your saftey would be in jeapordy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I don't like it but I have to carry my passport with me everywhere :mad: The cops here can ID when they like and its the only valid form of ID I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ive worked in bars before that wouldnt accept the license. they're too easy to fake - any 15 year old can get one for pocket change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I sometimes use my Powder Monkey ticket if it looks like the bouncer is going to give my mates hastle in the que, tis a federally isued document,it has a photo on it, and i really focuses their minds when the realise what it is ;)

Similar to the off-duty Garda showing his/her ID at the door on the way into a club. Good idea though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

If you are asked to prove your age and provide valid age ID (see list) and are subsequently refused entry, you have a prima facie case for discrimination under the Equal Status Act. Ask the doorman to get the manager, because you would like his solicitor's details.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2003/en/act/pub/0031/sec0015.html
    Production of evidence of age by persons between 18 and 21 years.

15.—The Act of 1988 is amended by inserting the following section after section 34:

“Production of evidence of age by persons between 18 and 21 years.
    34A.—(1) The holder of a licence of any licensed premises shall not allow a person who is aged at least 18 years but under the age of 21 years to be in the bar of those premises between 9.00 p.m. and 10.30 a.m. on the following day (12.30 p.m. if the following day is a Sunday) if the person does not produce an age document to the holder.

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1) of this section ‘age document’ means a document containing a photograph of the person in respect of whom it was issued and information that enables the age of the person to be determined and being one of the following documents relating to a person referred to in that subsection:

(a) an age card referred to in section 40 of this Act,
    (b) a passport,
    (c) an identity card issued by a member state of the European Communities,
    (d) a driver licence, or

(e) a document issued by a body, and in a form, prescribed by regulations made by the Minister.

(3) A person referred to in subsection (1) of this section shall not be in the bar of licensed premises between the times referred to in that subsection while not having with him or her an age document.

(4) A person who contravenes subsection (1) of this section is guilty of an offence under this section and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding—
    (a) for a first offence, €1,500, or
    (b) for a second or any subsequent offence, €2,000.

(5) A person who contravenes subsection (3) of this section is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding €300.”.
    Overheal wrote: »
    ive worked in bars before that wouldnt accept the license. they're too easy to fake - any 15 year old can get one for pocket change.
    Then you aren't checking them properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Macros42 wrote: »
    Technically he's right. It's not a recognised ID by law except when you're driving.

That's not what I heard. Afaik you can call a Garda and they're obliged to come and verify that it's a valid ID. At which point you have a pissed off Garda (hopefully at the bouncer) and the bouncer has to let you in. Amateurish from the bouncer tbh - if he want's to refuse entry he doesn't have to give a reason.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Saw a sign in the off-licence the other day that they're not taking drivers licenses anymore either... What a jib, cos that's what I usually use! I have an age card too, but it looks nothing like me so I can imagine that will lead to more hastle :rolleyes: Morons

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

To clarify,

Powder Monkey is a slang term in the mines for Explosive technician

I got the ticket as part of my induction on a mine relocation a few years ago, we had to move everything, this included explosives, so me bein the most senior of the team there at the time was signed up to the 'course' before I went up.

get some strange looks from bouncers when they realise what it is:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,307 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Might be worth while getting a second passport. Since you use one everyday then it might be handy to have one anyways.

You realise a second passport will cost you several thousand euros and a few years jail time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

IIRC it is illegal to carry you passport on you if you are not leaving the state in the next 48 or 72 hours.

OP. Did you note his ID number since he legally has to have is on display at all time while working.
    Victor wrote: »
    If you are asked to prove your age and provide valid age ID (see list) and are subsequently refused entry, you have a prima facie case for discrimination under the Equal Status Act. Ask the doorman to get the manager, because you would like his solicitor's details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i wish i was a powder monkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,307 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    IIRC it is illegal to carry you passport on you if you are not leaving the state in the next 48 or 72 hours

In "Long Way Down" all members of the travelling team carried two passports at all times. One on their person and one in their luggage.

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    IIRC it is illegal to carry you passport on you if you are not leaving the state in the next 48 or 72 hours.
    No it isn't and don't be so silly. Can you tell us what act it is illegal under?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

A lot of nonsense in this thread. Just make sure to remember its illegal to ever carry a passport in case you go insane and start shooting up a school with it.

Maybe you should just get the Garda ID instead of listening ot people that don't know what they are talking about or just not go to the club/pub again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Just photocopy your passport and bring that. Screw any place that doesn't let you in with it.

BTW, who's the oldest person you've been/seen being asked for ID?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jeremyquinn

Who are you lot. The minute I am asked for id, I just say, there are plenty of other places want my money, mate.

I mean I have seen groups of people queueing up with passports to get into copper's.

What next, DNA testing.

Stop complying and see how quickly the arrogant attitude changes.

And for all the docile, yes, there are higher forces at work here. The ID card push is on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭hot2def

I get turned away from pubs/not served in tesco regularly with a US passport and an Irish drivers licence. I'm 26. I refuse to get an age card because a) I believe it amounts to an additional id for young people - screw that, and b) I know full well that I look over 18 and have acceptable id on me, these people just don't want to serve me and I don't believe for a second that an age card would change that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jeremyquinn

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I bring my passport everywhere with me[ /quote]

Thats a good little boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

If financial instituitions accept a valid dated drivers licence as proof of id why cant some some small cock, big head, bommer jacket wearing egit on the door

+1 for hot2def
    Feck that pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Just don't go to crap clubs that insist on checking the ID of people that are clearly overage.

Outside of New York I don't think I've been asked for ID in about 7 or 8 years. Man, I must be getting old. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Valid ID as said before is only a Garda age card. Off Licences have gotten into trouble in court before for serving with a passport or drivers license. Driving license is proof of eligibility to drive, passport of nationality and right to travel and in the eyes of the law the age card is the only legal proof of age.

Although many places take them because they believe its good enough technically the bouncer is right although its never happened to me. He was prob using it as an excuse to not let you in but its a valid one in the law

Read what I quoted, before I call you names and embarrass you.

I'm pretty sure its been updated since 2003 and I have been told this by a barrister also he said it was now 23 that id had to be carried till.

Then name the act and section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I just rang my local Garda station to ask if there's an upper age limit for the National Age Card (as I had heard you can't get one if you're over 23). He said he didn't know, but his "professional advice" (his words) are to tell any establishment who won't accept your driving licence to "sing for it" (his words again) and take your business elsewhere.

And I'd be inclined to agree. I'm 26 years of age, there is no way in hell I'm going to go an queue in the Garda station with a load of spotty 17 year olds to apply for an Age Card.

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Slightly off topic but just wanted to ask about being asked for ID in general.

Had a really weird experience in a pub in Dublin city. It was the around lunch time. Went into a pub and was asked for ID by the barman before I'd even ordered. What really annoyed me was all I wanted was an orange juice.:mad:

Was wondering I hadn't given him ID, could he refuse to serve me the orange juice? I was 27 at the time.

In relation to the age card, I know of a person that the guards wouldn't sign the age card application because she was 26.:eek:

If you can read this, you're too close!

Then name the act and section.

I haven't a bean but the ILA was updated in 2004,2006 and of course 2008 AFAIK.
    Had a really weird experience in a pub in Dublin city. It was the around lunch time. Went into a pub and was asked for ID by the barman before I'd even ordered. What really annoyed me was all I wanted was an orange juice.

Was wondering I hadn't given him ID, could he refuse to serve me the orange juice? I was 27 at the time.

And yes he can as you for ID as soon as you come on the premises.