Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cynical Kerry masked by Talented Footballers

• 24-08-2008 4:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭

Kerry are an incredible football team. Save for two lapses in concentration, today they should have had the game wrapped up.

However, I have grown weary of some of their less than sportsmanlike behaviour. I realise that as a Dub, my county is often guilty of indiscretions. However, Kerry (with the exception of Paul Galvin) are rarely pulled up on their commonplace.

I think this has much to do with with their large glut of talent. However, I think it is vital that people recognise this. Bear in mind Darragh's sending off was their fourth of the Championship year.

Will the panel on the Sunday Game pick this up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I have just locked a similar thread. I will wait and see where this thread is going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Het-Field wrote: »

No, they are a bunch of hypocrites. Just look at the Collie Moran and Marc O'Se incidents earlier this year. I am pretty sure Pat Spillane wont call that performance what he called Ulster football a few years back even though that was worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Het-Field wrote: »

Going on the past form of Spillane and Tohill I doubt it. :rolleyes:

No, they are a bunch of hypocrites. Just look at the Collie Moran and Marc O'Se incidents earlier this year. I am pretty sure Pat Spillane wont call that performance what he called Ulster football a few years back even though that was worse.

Those were two seperate and completly different incidents. O'Se's red card was correctly rescinded, where as Morans was not as clear cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Was it me or did the RTE panel actually try to argue that O'Se 's uppercut wasn't a red card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Those were two seperate and completly different incidents. O'Se's red card was correctly rescinded, where as Morans was not as clear cut.

Both were illegeal shoulders that warranted yellow cards only. One was to an oncoming player in the head the other was to an oncoming player in the chest. They said Morans to the chest warranted a red whereas O'Se's to the head did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

That's a matter of opinion.

On topic, I was quite satisfied to see Dara O'Se sent off today, he has got away with foul play far too often because of his reputation as a great footballer. Was also highly impressed by the acting abilities of Aidan O'Mahony. What an example to young people playing the game... :rolleyes:
    Aside from that, Kerry were by far the better team today, they really dug in and produced a performance after O'Se was sent off. If they had taken half the chances they created in the second half they would have been out of sight. That's the second time this year they've let Cork back into a game they should have had wrapped up, a sign of frailty they didn't show the last 2 years really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Terrible 'off the ball' stuff going on today.

I reckon both teams were watching tooooo many highlights of the Olympic Boxing matches..........!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sure it's all part of the game, except if it's Tyrone or Armagh!:confused:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Sure it's all part of the game, except if it's Tyrone or Armagh!:confused:

You make a very fair point. The more I think about it, the less and less I will be willing to charge Ulster as a dirty province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Jealousy of Kerry's success sparks threads like these.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Jealousy of Kerry's success sparks threads like these.

Incorrect. Hypocrisy from Spillane and Co on The Sunday Game sparks threads like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

There won't be much more success playing like that today......!

They played well enough, 14 wides was the problem. The 2 goals wouldn't have mattered.

Can't see them being as wasteful the next day, at least O'Se can't can't get sent off this time! :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Incorrect. Hypocrisy from Spillane and Co on The Sunday Game sparks threads like these.
    Afaics Spillane and co don't post on boards.

This thread (and a second one) was started after Kerry almost get through to another final. Even when most of the forwards have left their shooting boots at home they almost had Cork out of sight and I doubt Cork will be expecting to win the next day.

Kerry don't get credit for their success on boards not that it will worry many of them but this is just another begrudgery thread tbh.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Afaics Spillane and co don't post on boards.

This thread (and a second one) was started after Kerry almost get through to another final. Even when most of the forwards have left their shooting boots at home they almost had Cork out of sight and I doubt Cork will be expecting to win the next day.

Kerry don't get credit for their success on boards not that it will worry many of them but this is just another begrudgery thread tbh.

No.

It has to do with the O Shea uppercut, The centre half back flinging the ball in a Cork Mans face, The late challanges, the haranguing the referee, Gooch Cooper's taunting of the opposition

It is so commonplace. However, it continues to go on and on, and people never pick it up. I have outlined my belief that Kerry are a top team. However, I feel their superior playing ability masks a terrible nasty streak. Remember, Kerry have had 4 red cards in this Championship, and Darragh O Shea has been sent of twice.

Deep Blue I would ask you to rebut my argument without resorting to the jealousy argument. I conceed I would love to see Dublin enjoy Kerry's success, however, it is pissing me off that Kerry are never pulled up on their inherent nasty streak, while a vast array of other teams cant fart on the pitch without it being made mention of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Having watched the game would've said Cork were at least as bad if not worse than kerry in off-the ball stuff.

Plus everyone criticising ref just becasue he sends off cork player :confused: , you should be giving him freedom of the city, he handed the game to cork in that:
    1. - Donaghy gets 2 handed mauling in square, stone cold penalty, not given!
    2. - Masters goal - as obvious a square ball as I've ever seen (even said so himself in radio interview afterwards), goal given.
    3. Cork penalty, complete joke, Canty took 2/3 steps then leapt into kerry back, obvious free out to me.

I mean that's 9 points alone so dunno how any cork person can have any issue with ref, he kept you in game in which you were thoroughly outplayed for 60mins. I am neutral in terms of this game but think a lot of posters here are letting jealously cloud their interpretation of things ever so slightly...

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Having watched the game would've said Cork were at least as bad if not worse than kerry in off-the ball stuff.

Plus everyone criticising ref just becasue he sends off cork player :confused: , you should be giving him freedom of the city, he handed the game to cork in that:
    2. - Masters goal - as obvious a square ball as I've ever seen (even said so himself in radio interview afterwards), goal given.
    3. Cork penalty, complete joke, Canty took 2/3 steps then leapt into kerry back, obvious free out to me.

I mean that's 9 points alone so dunno how any cork person can have any issue with ref, he kept you in game in which you were thoroughly outplayed for 60mins. I am neutral in terms of this game but think a lot of posters here are letting jealously cloud their interpretation of things ever so slightly...

Exactly, that's my point, it's not just with Kerry.

I've seen many far cleaner Ulster matches, yet Ulster has a bad name.

Even Galvin apologists were giving out about Clare this year, so this goes to prove Munster is as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Exactly, that's my point, it's not just with Kerry.

Yeah, I was at a club relegation play-off before watching Kerry game and idiots where sledging and diving in that. It has seeped into game in recent years and is only getting worse. Imo GAA should take retrospective action where video evidence shows blatant diving and any player sledging or sneering at player after scoring or before taking free etc should be booked, its only way to stamp this out....if couple of those lads missed AI final because of their antics it might make them think twice when next summer comes around....

In fairness, I think the majority of ill feeling towards Kerry stems from Aidan O'Mahony's pathetic behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The late challanges, the haranguing the referee, Gooch Cooper's taunting of the opposition

I was at the game i didn't see this? i did see Gooch being flattened after Cork had won a free against him right in front of the ref and no action taken.

Donaghy was pulled down in the box -twice. The second time the ref gave kerry a soft free as soon as the ball was cleared as he didn't have the bottle to give the peno.

Aidon o Mah's dive? what about that Klinsman at the end diving directly into a kerry back to con the ref for a peno, and then Cork have the cheek to play the victim card?

They scored 7 points, most of those from frees. Check the monopoly sets in Cork. There are no more get out of jail free cards left.

having said that darragh will be back for the final now so Cork did Kerry a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 oneeyedman

Am/was a big fan of Omahony but his behaviour today was pathetic. The question i have is why did he not recieve a 2nd yellow for unsporting conduct when he lay down - the linesman clearly saw the incident and indicated to the ref that it was only a tap he recieved - giving the 1nd yellow in this case will soon root out the playacting if the refs stick to thier guns, but mcquillan was weak today and hadn't the cahoneys to reduce kerry to 13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

I'm probably going to get a slatting for this but sure here i go.

You don't get the success that Kerry have with being rough and tough. There are alot of off the ball incidences but its not just kerry who do it so i can never understand how people stick this Cynical play onto Kerry. If Billy Morgan never mentioned that a few years ago this thread would not exist.

If Dublin were a bit tougher maybe they wouldn't have been walked over by tyrone last week!

Let me give u an example today. Hop ball, donaghy is running over to it. Cork player is already in position. Donaghy shoulders him, flattens him. He gets up, Donaghy Wins the ball.

I'm not saying wat Dara didn't deserve to get sent off, i'm not tryign to stick up fo rthe of the ball incidences etc, i'm just saying its a tough game played by tough men......Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭seandugg

Will somebody down in kerry tell him its not soccer he's playing? rolling around the ground like he was shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭manster

Troll. Stupid thread already being discussed elsewhere. Can a moderator lock it please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I've lost all respect for the man, I'm sure he'll be fairly embaressed when he sees a replay of it.

im not trolling manster and sisnt see this discussion until bow. I thought it was horrible carry on that will lead down the road to premiership diving taking over the game. or maybe you condone that sort of thing

Dapos wrote: »
    I'm probably going to get a slatting for this but sure here i go.

You don't get the success that Kerry have with being rough and tough. There are alot of off the ball incidences but its not just kerry who do it so i can never understand how people stick this Cynical play onto Kerry. If Billy Morgan never mentioned that a few years ago this thread would not exist.

If Dublin were a bit tougher maybe they wouldn't have been walked over by tyrone last week!

Let me give u an example today. Hop ball, donaghy is running over to it. Cork player is already in position. Donaghy shoulders him, flattens him. He gets up, Donaghy Wins the ball.

I'm not saying wat Dara didn't deserve to get sent off, i'm not tryign to stick up fo rthe of the ball incidences etc, i'm just saying its a tough game played by tough men......Get over it!

Agreed, the more successful counties all do it! They all have their Galvins, Doohers etc. These haven't suddenly emerged either, the 80's and 90's had the same, Meath, Cork, Dublin etc.

Some supporters seem to forget their own offenders when attacking other counties and Kerry are no exception there!

what kind of bans will the 2 red cards today get?

His behaviour was a disgrace.

Looked like a body check to me, interesting to see what the Sunday Game say!

Edit: It wasn't a square ball either though the penalty was 50/50 I'd say!

seandugg wrote: »
    what kind of bans will the 2 red cards today get?

Both out for the replay, barring appeals! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Looked like a body check to me, interesting to see what the Sunday Game say!

Edit: It wasn't a square ball either though the penalty was 50/50 I'd say!

I also thought the Kerry back had no intention/inclination to play the ball, he ran across the attacker's line and I think it was a penalty.

Aidan O'Mahoney will regret his behaviour for the rest of his life I think. He's a guard in Cork, and that was absolutlely disgraceful conduct from a 'hard man' that he portrays himself to be.

Can't see his fellow work colleagues, or indeed general public in Cork having much respect for him after todays debacle.

Culchie wrote: »

Aidan O'Mahoney will regret his behaviour for the rest of his life I think. He's a guard in Cork, and that was absolutlely disgraceful conduct from a 'hard man' that he portrays himself to be.

Can't see his fellow work colleagues, or indeed general public in Cork having much respect for him after todays debacle.

Can't see that going down too well. With him being a Guard you would have though he would have a bit more cop on(If you pardon the pun ;):D)

O'Mahony's job is irrelevant.

He went down easily and made a meal of it. But if O'Connor hadn't raised his hands then nothing would have happened. O'Connor might have a chance of getting off on appeal, but technically he broke the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The two most cynical teams in the country are All Ireland Champions and both are going for 3 in a row.
    While Kerry and Kilkenny have fine players they are also guilty of the most cynical fouling and unsportsmanlike behaviour.
    The GAA need to lay down the law and clean the game up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

O'Mahony's job is irrelevant.

He went down easily and made a meal of it. But if O'Connor hadn't raised his hands then nothing would have happened. O'Connor might have a chance of getting off on appeal, but technically he broke the rules.

You're talking from the rulebook, I'm talking from the tradition of gaelic games for the last 130 years in this country.

His conduct was a disgrace to the Kerry Jersey and I'm sure the ex-players of the Kingdom will be disgusted at their 2008 captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

the referee didnt hand the game to Cork - Kerry were 7 points up with 3 minutes to play. no referee can overturn a match at that stage, however a full team can lose a game.

1. Foul on Donaghy was definitely a penalty. his problem was he got straight up after the penalty and didnt appeal it. he didnt make the referees mind up for him.

2. Masters goal was proven to be legitimate

3. if you watch the tv replays carefully of aiden o mahony he is watching canty's run. AOM then turns his back on canty and stops his run in attempt to block canty's run. it was a very well disguised cynical foul and was rightly punished with a penalty. It is also called Karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

in reaction to the thread title - it is rare the good guy wins in sport!

the referee didnt hand the game to Cork - Kerry were 7 points up with 3 minutes to play. no referee can overturn a match at that stage, however a full team can lose a game.

1. Foul on Donaghy was definitely a penalty. his problem was he got straight up after the penalty and didnt appeal it. he didnt make the referees mind up for him.

2. Masters goal was proven to be legitimate

3. if you watch the tv replays carefully of aiden o mahony he is watching canty's run. AOM then turns his back on canty and stops his run in attempt to block canty's run. it was a very well disguised cynical foul and was rightly punished with a penalty. It is also called Karma.

Thank you. O'Mahony just stood in his way, didn't make any attempt to play the ball or even put his rams up and then turned his back on Canty. Clear obstruction.

As well as that, after O'Se's sending off, the ref gave Kerry more then a few soft frees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

You'd want to get glasses there kid, clearly outside the square as proved by the computer simulation on the Sunday game. Or maybe you don't understand the rule???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

Was wondering what people thought of McMahons yellow card. Seemed crazy to me. Just coming on for O'Brien. First thing O'Shea does is meet him with a shoulder in the face in front of the linesman. Instead of theatrically diving to the ground, McMahon (probably naively) shoulders him back. Ref comes over and gives McMahon a yellow....O'Shea scampers off down the field?!?!?! The whole crowd and the linesman saw it. Totally unjustified and baffling. At worst, it should have been a yellow for both of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

I remember watching an old cork kerry match early 80s dinny allen was marking paidi o se dinny clattered paidi ,then paidi flattened him witha punch fair and square in front of the ref
    The ref ticked both of them they shook hands and played on all this diving is turning me off gaa.
    Mr o Mahoney is suppsoed to be hard man bloody drama queen more like.
    Kerry have some very talented players of course but the lieks of donaghy sceaming at teh ref is bs too no respect for refs anymore either.
    It should be liek rugby any lip 10 metres every time continued back chat a card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Right where do i begin? Darragh Ó Sé was stupid. He shouldn't have thrown a punch dispite the fact that Pierce O'Neill was, since the second half started niggling at Darragh.
    Aiden O Mahoney's acting was a disgrace, but i'd rather him throw himself down, then react and get himself sent off. A slap is a slap, Red card no doubt! And for all ye hypocrits out there... what about Alan Quirke trying to get Gooch sent off!!! Canty diving in the box to get a penalty!!! But of course they're from Cork so, they couldnt be cheating!
    Everyone always has stick for the Sunday Game, but they highlighted the incidents, they said that they were both red cards! How much more anylising do you want!
    Fair play to Masters, he timed his run for the Goal well, but the Penalty, was a dive, plain and simple!
    As for the name of this thread, come off it, Kerry played hard and were involved in some unsavoury incidents but, in no way were they cynical! They didn't pull and drag out of Cussens, they didn't block the cork runners aftergiving the ball etc. So i'd advise changing the name of your thread. To "Cynical Cork very lucky to escape Croke Park Massacre!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I would have to agree with the title of the thread based on this years performance. AOM was disgraceful no doubt about that but he should have been taken off by management shortly after the barging incident (great call by the ref ) it was obvious the guy was out to hurt someone and was more interested in Cork players than the ball. I was also delighted to see the ref book gooch for what i guess was interference or incitement, he walked into that cork player looking to get knocked over and have the cork lad booked. Gooch loves that carry on. OSe was unlucky to be caught punching your man.. a lot of that goes on and its rarely a one man tango. but got was he deserved.

You know why CD didn't get his peno ? because kerry were looking for frees all over the place, it was obvious to the ref..also he moans about most decisions... you should not expect to get those kind of calls when you set out your stall as a moany, back chatting team.

great game by the ref imo. did as well as he could have possibly done.

Wow Alany didn't expect this from you! Why so sour? So you are saying Donaghy didn't get his penalty because Kerry were looking for free's... Oh yeah i forgot the rulebook stated that a penalty should not be given in tyhe case of persistant pulling and dragging by the Cork team leading to Kerry team players looking for frees! Silly me! AS for Gooch getting booked... are you sure? Didn't see that incident myself (i was at the match so didn't have the pleasure of replays of any foul) As for AOM, he was fired up, but he wasn't looking to injure anyone. Cussens with his flying fist to Scanlons face was in my mind a lot more dangerous!

P.S: In case you think im being overly biased, Daragh Ó Sé's punch was dangerous too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭tomdadude

DDC1990.I've seen a few of your posts and it is very obvious that you are extremely anti-Cork.

And judging by your last line above you've noticed yourself that you're very biased.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Wow Alany didn't expect this from you! Why so sour? So you are saying Donaghy didn't get his penalty because Kerry were looking for free's... Oh yeah i forgot the rulebook stated that a penalty should not be given in tyhe case of persistant pulling and dragging by the Cork team leading to Kerry team players looking for frees! Silly me! AS for Gooch getting booked... are you sure? Didn't see that incident myself (i was at the match so didn't have the pleasure of replays of any foul) As for AOM, he was fired up, but he wasn't looking to injure anyone. Cussens with his flying fist to Scanlons face was in my mind a lot more dangerous!

P.S: In case you think im being overly biased, Daragh Ó Sé's punch was dangerous too!

I'm not saying it was right he didn't get a peno. I'm just offering the reasoning. As someone who has played football for 20 years now I have learned that ref's are always predisposed to the team he perceives to be less hassle. I think cussons challenge was similar to Collie Morans, clumbsey. he could have easily got a red card on another day.

I dont know why your surprised at me comments. for years I have been annoyed with some things in gaa. Barging, play acting, moaning/backtalk at the ref and this thing of giving a player who just scored a bump. ( didnt see much of that yesterday). for the rest of those things all counties do it. but it seemed plainly obvious to me Kerry were worse.

Alan

Ah now im not anti-cork. I just feel a lot of this crap coming kerry's way is very unfair, considering Cork were at it as well if not more! i just needed to add a bit of balance ffs!

Edit: In response to Alany, Sorry i just thought that you (like lot of Dubs i know) had jumped on the ABK wagon, and try to justify The referee not giving a stone wall penalty to a side, because of incidents seen previously in the game! I agree with you that Aiden O'Mahoney's dive was a disgrace but to single him out, when Quirke did the same thing to Colm Cooper...it is a joke!

Tom da dude, don't worry about DCC's bias or lack of... there is no rule to state that your opinion must be fairly balanced... we all have opinions from different perspectives. If you have something to say on the discussion .. please do.

Alan