Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cynical Kerry masked by Talented Footballers

• 24-08-2008 05:24PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭

Kerry are an incredible football team. Save for two lapses in concentration, today they should have had the game wrapped up.

However, I have grown weary of some of their less than sportsmanlike behaviour. I realise that as a Dub, my county is often guilty of indiscretions. However, Kerry (with the exception of Paul Galvin) are rarely pulled up on their commonplace.

I think this has much to do with with their large glut of talent. However, I think it is vital that people recognise this. Bear in mind Darragh's sending off was their fourth of the Championship year.

Will the panel on the Sunday Game pick this up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I have just locked a similar thread. I will wait and see where this thread is going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Het-Field wrote: »

No, they are a bunch of hypocrites. Just look at the Collie Moran and Marc O'Se incidents earlier this year. I am pretty sure Pat Spillane wont call that performance what he called Ulster football a few years back even though that was worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

Het-Field wrote: »

Going on the past form of Spillane and Tohill I doubt it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

No, they are a bunch of hypocrites. Just look at the Collie Moran and Marc O'Se incidents earlier this year. I am pretty sure Pat Spillane wont call that performance what he called Ulster football a few years back even though that was worse.

Those were two seperate and completly different incidents. O'Se's red card was correctly rescinded, where as Morans was not as clear cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Was it me or did the RTE panel actually try to argue that O'Se 's uppercut wasn't a red card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Those were two seperate and completly different incidents. O'Se's red card was correctly rescinded, where as Morans was not as clear cut.

Both were illegeal shoulders that warranted yellow cards only. One was to an oncoming player in the head the other was to an oncoming player in the chest. They said Morans to the chest warranted a red whereas O'Se's to the head did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

That's a matter of opinion.

On topic, I was quite satisfied to see Dara O'Se sent off today, he has got away with foul play far too often because of his reputation as a great footballer. Was also highly impressed by the acting abilities of Aidan O'Mahony. What an example to young people playing the game... :rolleyes:
    Aside from that, Kerry were by far the better team today, they really dug in and produced a performance after O'Se was sent off. If they had taken half the chances they created in the second half they would have been out of sight. That's the second time this year they've let Cork back into a game they should have had wrapped up, a sign of frailty they didn't show the last 2 years really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Terrible 'off the ball' stuff going on today.

I reckon both teams were watching tooooo many highlights of the Olympic Boxing matches..........!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sure it's all part of the game, except if it's Tyrone or Armagh!:confused:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Sure it's all part of the game, except if it's Tyrone or Armagh!:confused:

You make a very fair point. The more I think about it, the less and less I will be willing to charge Ulster as a dirty province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Jealousy of Kerry's success sparks threads like these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Jealousy of Kerry's success sparks threads like these.

Incorrect. Hypocrisy from Spillane and Co on The Sunday Game sparks threads like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

There won't be much more success playing like that today......!

They played well enough, 14 wides was the problem. The 2 goals wouldn't have mattered.

Can't see them being as wasteful the next day, at least O'Se can't can't get sent off this time! :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Incorrect. Hypocrisy from Spillane and Co on The Sunday Game sparks threads like these.
    Afaics Spillane and co don't post on boards.

This thread (and a second one) was started after Kerry almost get through to another final. Even when most of the forwards have left their shooting boots at home they almost had Cork out of sight and I doubt Cork will be expecting to win the next day.

Kerry don't get credit for their success on boards not that it will worry many of them but this is just another begrudgery thread tbh.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Afaics Spillane and co don't post on boards.

This thread (and a second one) was started after Kerry almost get through to another final. Even when most of the forwards have left their shooting boots at home they almost had Cork out of sight and I doubt Cork will be expecting to win the next day.

Kerry don't get credit for their success on boards not that it will worry many of them but this is just another begrudgery thread tbh.

No.

It has to do with the O Shea uppercut, The centre half back flinging the ball in a Cork Mans face, The late challanges, the haranguing the referee, Gooch Cooper's taunting of the opposition

It is so commonplace. However, it continues to go on and on, and people never pick it up. I have outlined my belief that Kerry are a top team. However, I feel their superior playing ability masks a terrible nasty streak. Remember, Kerry have had 4 red cards in this Championship, and Darragh O Shea has been sent of twice.

Deep Blue I would ask you to rebut my argument without resorting to the jealousy argument. I conceed I would love to see Dublin enjoy Kerry's success, however, it is pissing me off that Kerry are never pulled up on their inherent nasty streak, while a vast array of other teams cant fart on the pitch without it being made mention of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Having watched the game would've said Cork were at least as bad if not worse than kerry in off-the ball stuff.

Plus everyone criticising ref just becasue he sends off cork player :confused: , you should be giving him freedom of the city, he handed the game to cork in that:
    1. - Donaghy gets 2 handed mauling in square, stone cold penalty, not given!
    2. - Masters goal - as obvious a square ball as I've ever seen (even said so himself in radio interview afterwards), goal given.
    3. Cork penalty, complete joke, Canty took 2/3 steps then leapt into kerry back, obvious free out to me.

I mean that's 9 points alone so dunno how any cork person can have any issue with ref, he kept you in game in which you were thoroughly outplayed for 60mins. I am neutral in terms of this game but think a lot of posters here are letting jealously cloud their interpretation of things ever so slightly...

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Having watched the game would've said Cork were at least as bad if not worse than kerry in off-the ball stuff.

Plus everyone criticising ref just becasue he sends off cork player :confused: , you should be giving him freedom of the city, he handed the game to cork in that:
    1. - Donaghy gets 2 handed mauling in square, stone cold penalty, not given!
    2. - Masters goal - as obvious a square ball as I've ever seen (even said so himself in radio interview afterwards), goal given.
    3. Cork penalty, complete joke, Canty took 2/3 steps then leapt into kerry back, obvious free out to me.

I mean that's 9 points alone so dunno how any cork person can have any issue with ref, he kept you in game in which you were thoroughly outplayed for 60mins. I am neutral in terms of this game but think a lot of posters here are letting jealously cloud their interpretation of things ever so slightly...

Exactly, that's my point, it's not just with Kerry.

I've seen many far cleaner Ulster matches, yet Ulster has a bad name.

Even Galvin apologists were giving out about Clare this year, so this goes to prove Munster is as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Exactly, that's my point, it's not just with Kerry.

Yeah, I was at a club relegation play-off before watching Kerry game and idiots where sledging and diving in that. It has seeped into game in recent years and is only getting worse. Imo GAA should take retrospective action where video evidence shows blatant diving and any player sledging or sneering at player after scoring or before taking free etc should be booked, its only way to stamp this out....if couple of those lads missed AI final because of their antics it might make them think twice when next summer comes around....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

In fairness, I think the majority of ill feeling towards Kerry stems from Aidan O'Mahony's pathetic behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The late challanges, the haranguing the referee, Gooch Cooper's taunting of the opposition

I was at the game i didn't see this? i did see Gooch being flattened after Cork had won a free against him right in front of the ref and no action taken.

Donaghy was pulled down in the box -twice. The second time the ref gave kerry a soft free as soon as the ball was cleared as he didn't have the bottle to give the peno.

Aidon o Mah's dive? what about that Klinsman at the end diving directly into a kerry back to con the ref for a peno, and then Cork have the cheek to play the victim card?

They scored 7 points, most of those from frees. Check the monopoly sets in Cork. There are no more get out of jail free cards left.

having said that darragh will be back for the final now so Cork did Kerry a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 oneeyedman

Am/was a big fan of Omahony but his behaviour today was pathetic. The question i have is why did he not recieve a 2nd yellow for unsporting conduct when he lay down - the linesman clearly saw the incident and indicated to the ref that it was only a tap he recieved - giving the 1nd yellow in this case will soon root out the playacting if the refs stick to thier guns, but mcquillan was weak today and hadn't the cahoneys to reduce kerry to 13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

I'm probably going to get a slatting for this but sure here i go.

You don't get the success that Kerry have with being rough and tough. There are alot of off the ball incidences but its not just kerry who do it so i can never understand how people stick this Cynical play onto Kerry. If Billy Morgan never mentioned that a few years ago this thread would not exist.

If Dublin were a bit tougher maybe they wouldn't have been walked over by tyrone last week!

Let me give u an example today. Hop ball, donaghy is running over to it. Cork player is already in position. Donaghy shoulders him, flattens him. He gets up, Donaghy Wins the ball.

I'm not saying wat Dara didn't deserve to get sent off, i'm not tryign to stick up fo rthe of the ball incidences etc, i'm just saying its a tough game played by tough men......Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭seandugg

Will somebody down in kerry tell him its not soccer he's playing? rolling around the ground like he was shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭manster

Troll. Stupid thread already being discussed elsewhere. Can a moderator lock it please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I've lost all respect for the man, I'm sure he'll be fairly embaressed when he sees a replay of it.

im not trolling manster and sisnt see this discussion until bow. I thought it was horrible carry on that will lead down the road to premiership diving taking over the game. or maybe you condone that sort of thing

Dapos wrote: »
    I'm probably going to get a slatting for this but sure here i go.

You don't get the success that Kerry have with being rough and tough. There are alot of off the ball incidences but its not just kerry who do it so i can never understand how people stick this Cynical play onto Kerry. If Billy Morgan never mentioned that a few years ago this thread would not exist.

If Dublin were a bit tougher maybe they wouldn't have been walked over by tyrone last week!

Let me give u an example today. Hop ball, donaghy is running over to it. Cork player is already in position. Donaghy shoulders him, flattens him. He gets up, Donaghy Wins the ball.

I'm not saying wat Dara didn't deserve to get sent off, i'm not tryign to stick up fo rthe of the ball incidences etc, i'm just saying its a tough game played by tough men......Get over it!

Agreed, the more successful counties all do it! They all have their Galvins, Doohers etc. These haven't suddenly emerged either, the 80's and 90's had the same, Meath, Cork, Dublin etc.

Some supporters seem to forget their own offenders when attacking other counties and Kerry are no exception there!

what kind of bans will the 2 red cards today get?

His behaviour was a disgrace.