Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gary Glitter

• 22-08-2008 9:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭

Lads - Dodgy sick bastid put comments put aside... Am i the only one who think Gaz has a cool little beard? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Its a kiddie fiddler beard. I hope the sick f*cker burns in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Am i the only one who think Gaz has a cool little beard? :confused:

Nope,

Kids love it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭JAMM222

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Nope,

Kids love it..

this thread is sick how could anyone possibly post something positive about this pedo:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Kiddie fiddler beard... He's a pure scumbag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Sad to see the ol' Vietnamese going soft. Just three years? God be with the days when the likes of him would get thirty years in a tiger cage. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Facial Hair and Hats Forum That Way
    > Or Down If you are using the drop down menu, which you probably are but I cant put in a down arrow key so easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

He should be snipped and branded. Like the rest of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Lads - Dodgy sick bastid put comments put aside... Am i the only one who think Gaz has a cool little beard? :confused:

Someone give this man a key to Lolocaust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Apparently he has said that he wants to have a go at resurrecting his musical career!! Delusional much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Anyone else looking forward to his forthcoming album?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

The media are worse to be giving the dirty fecker the time of day. He loves the limelight. Wonder where he's going to live now? His neighbours wont be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Read some where he's going to be making an appearance at this years "Late Late Toy Show", At least he will get an easy interview from the plank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

What he did was awful and three years is far too short but wow his life is going to be hell. He'll never have a minutes rest with the british media. Media intrusion in britain is bad at the best of times for a 'good' celeb, I can't imagine what it's going to be like for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Namesco wrote: »
    Read some where he's going to be making an appearance at this years "Late Late Toy Show", At least he will get an easy interview from the plank

He will definatley be making an appearance when they're hanging Glitter.

What he did was awful and three years is far too short but wow his life is going to be hell. He'll never have a minutes rest with the british media. Media intrusion in britain is bad at the best of times for a 'good' celeb, I can't imagine what it's going to be like for him.

The best thing for him to redeem himself now is to appear in Vietnamese Big Brother and then get Cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

GG can't be that bad a guy if Peter Kay likes him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRKddR9-qXg

WindSock wrote: »
    The best thing for him to redeem himself now is to appear in Vietnamese Big Brother and then get Cancer.
    "Today in the Big Brother tunnels, Gary and Jade are making punji stake traps and defusing unexploded bombs." I'd watch it.

However bad Gary Glitter is, the British press is far worse imo. Glitter has negatively impacted on two peoples' lives. The British press has ruined thousands. I hate seeing paparazzi following people down the footpath in London snapping away with their camera inches from the "celeb's" face. I don't know how they resist from punching them hard in the face.

The Press are also whipping up the dumb masses with all this Glitter stuff. Glitter committed a criminal act, for which he was tried in a court of law, convicted then sentenced. He has served his sentence and now should be left alone and live the rest of his life with the appropriate British authorities overseeing him to make sure he is not reoffending etc. The judiciary should be the only body that can impose a sentence, not the f**king Daily Star, Sun or Mirror which are rags I wouldn't wipe my ar5e with.

It will probably be next week Glitter will go out to buy a loaf of bread and will be within 200 yds of a school in order to get to the shop and there will be some shameless papp out with his camera snapping away. Next day, "Broken Britain - Beast Glitter on the Prowl". F*ck off.

If anyone is familiar with the Brasseye Paedophile episode, it basically sums up my views well. Paedophilia is an awful crime, Glitter committed a wicked deed, but for that deed he received punishment and served his punishment. This episode highlights the extraordinary lengths the Press will go to to create sensationalism. Always remember, when you see a tabloid talking about Maddie or paedophiles etc, the editors etc don't give a f*ck about them in the slightest. They want you to buy a copy of the paper and so contribute to the purchase of their next yacht or Lambo. They do this by appealing to the pitchfork waving witch hunt obssessed proletariat who take as gospel anything they read in a red top.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    However bad Gary Glitter is, the British press is far worse imo. Glitter has negatively impacted on two peoples' lives. The British press has ruined thousands. I hate seeing paparazzi following people down the footpath in London snapping away with their camera inches from the "celeb's" face. I don't know how they resist from punching them hard in the face.

The Press are also whipping up the dumb masses with all this Glitter stuff. Glitter committed a criminal act, for which he was tried in a court of law, convicted then sentenced. He has served his sentence and now should be left alone and live the rest of his life with the appropriate British authorities overseeing him to make sure he is not reoffending etc. The judiciary should be the only body that can impose a sentence, not the f**king Daily Star, Sun or Mirror which are rags I wouldn't wipe my ar5e with.

It will probably be next week Glitter will go out to buy a loaf of bread and will be within 200 yds of a school in order to get to the shop and there will be some shameless papp out with his camera snapping away. Next day, "Broken Britain - Beast Glitter on the Prowl". F*ck off.

If anyone is familiar with the Brasseye Paedophile episode, it basically sums up my views well. Paedophilia is an awful crime, Glitter committed a wicked deed, but for that deed he received punishment and served his punishment. This episode highlights the extraordinary lengths the Press will go to to create sensationalism. Always remember, when you see a tabloid talking about Maddie or paedophiles etc, the editors etc don't give a f*ck about them in the slightest. They want you to buy a copy of the paper and so contribute to the purchase of their next yacht or Lambo. They do this by appealing to the pitchfork waving witch hunt obssessed proletariat who take as gospel anything they read in a red top.

Brilliant post Jigsaw. You've summed it up perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

However bad Gary Glitter is, the British press is far worse imo. Glitter has negatively impacted on two peoples' lives.

While I despise the British gutter press as much as you you are incorrect in stating that he negatively mipacted two peoples lives. Firstly, I'm sure those kids have families who have been negatively impacted. Also what about the child porn he was previously convicted of owning? By getting his hands on that he fed the market that makes it and thus negatively impacted on the lives of the kids that were filmed and photographed while being abused.

Also, his reticence to return to Britain has nothing to do with fear of the British Media imo, it's more to do with the fact that he'll be monitored constantly by the police and will likely not be allowed internet access or have restricted access. IMO, he hasn't learned any lessons and was intent on committing such crimes again in any country that would let him in.

So as much as I despise British Media and paparazzi, I'm delighted he's back in Britain where he can be closely watched. You can be sure that the cops will be watching him like a hawk, he's so high profile that if he is caught at it again heads will roll in the Police service for letting it happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

So there we are, papers worse then child rapists.

Anyway as this After Hours, all together now....
    Hello, Hello. It's good to be back, it's good to
    be back.
    Hello, Hello. It's good to be back, it's
    good to be back.

Did you miss me, Yeah, while I
    was away, did you hang my picture on your wall?

Did you kiss me, Yeah, every single day, although you
    couldn't kiss me at all.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

In general, I'd agree with you Jigsaw, but where GG is concerned, he wasn't arrested the only time he commited a crime. He's been at it for years. He deserves to be dragged across the coals until he's paid his dues for each and every child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

Well said JigSaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭Homer

Apparently he has said that he wants to have a go at resurrecting his musical career!! Delusional much?

Yup... I can just see it now :D

mike65 wrote: »
    So there we are, papers worse then child rapists.

Anyway as this After Hours, all together now....

Mike.

Mike don't be silly. No-one is saying papers are worse than child rapists. It's you that's being sensationalist now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

However bad Gary Glitter is, the British press is far worse imo.
    British press far worse than a paedophile apparently, is this the same for all paedophiles or just famous ones?

The Press are also whipping up the dumb masses with all this Glitter stuff. Glitter committed a criminal act, for which he was tried in a court of law, convicted then sentenced.
    Paedophilia is a life sentence for the victims, should be a life sentence for the perpetrators, unfortunately it wasn't, up to the media to make his life miserable.

He has served his sentence and now should be left alone and live the rest of his life with the appropriate British authorities overseeing him to make sure he is not reoffending etc.
    I'm sure if any one close to you had been a victim of ANY paedophile you'd be saying this. "oh yeah, 3 years? sure that's grand so, leave him off!"

If anyone is familiar with the Brasseye Paedophile episode, it basically sums up my views well. Paedophilia is an awful crime, Glitter committed a wicked deed, but for that deed he received punishment and served his punishment.
    Unsuitable punishment for the crime tbh. OH I know I know 'that's not for me to decide' etc etc, doesn't take away from the fact it wasn't suitable for what he did.

Though, all that said, aren't you the person who thinks that rape is too severely punished?
    You probably think there's nothing wrong with paedophilia sure.

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Though, all that said, aren't you the person who thinks that rape is too severely punished?

Where oh where do you see that in Jigsaws post? An extreme case of silly posting on your behalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Where oh where do you see that in Jigsaws post? An extreme case of silly posting on your behalf.

Didn't see it anywhere, just making an assumption considering his attitude. :)

Assumption is the mother of all F*ck-Ups.

However bad Gary Glitter is, the British press is far worse imo.
    Mike don't be silly. No-one is saying papers are worse than child rapists. It's you that's being sensationalist now.
    Of course the gutter press are contemptible jackals, but they aren't worse than paedophiles.

Agamemnon wrote: »
    Of course the gutter press are contemptible jackals, but they aren't worse than paedophiles.

No-one said they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Although they are known to have page 3 stunners dressed as school girls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Glitter has negatively impacted on two peoples' lives.

That's not correct; it just the only time he has been done for it.

He is a habitual criminal, and I've no doubt that given half a chance, he will do the same again. He doesn't deserve a minute of peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Blowing a little flute perhaps?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

eoin_s wrote: »

He is a habitual criminal, and I've no doubt that given half a chance, he will do the same again. He doesn't deserve a minute of peace.
    Correct.
    Peadophiles can never be trusted again,they have a compulsion towards children that they'll never be able to,or perhaps never want to curb.
    The problem is that these people dont think they're doing anything wrong.There was a docu a while back on a police operation to round up known british peados.
    During the course of the various interviews they all seemed to hold the view that society was to blame for "sexualising" children and also that most children were themselves,sexually active.Disgusting and deluded.
    Paedos see themselves the way homsosexuals would have seen themsleves in the 1950's,its not thier fault its society's and they'll eventually be recognised as legitimate people.
    Did glitter make any attempt to hide his face on his way to court?
    No.He was grinning and smirking.
    Several high-profile Irish peados have behaved exactly the same way,includingone whose family was granted access to the media in order to defend him.
    This problem is going to get worse and the punishments are becoming less and less.

Well as it happens I don't think rape is too severely punished, but I will say that it suffers from the same type of overly emotive sensationalist reporting that paedophilia does, with the use of terms such as beast, monster, predator etc.

Of course I think there is much wrong with paedophilia and rape. In a sense I am pulling this thread off topic as I am discussing the media coverage of the act, not the act per se.

And btw, the way if you are referring to my post in the "Post your most controversial thoughts" thread, well then yes, I was being controversial. Doesn't necessarily mean I was being genuine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

not sure how you can control this guy, okay so his inbound flight to the UK is probably the last international one he'll ever take, he'll probably never be allowed to have a internet connection of of own, have to register as a sex ofender, etc, etc, but unless he is locked up, you'll never be able to monitor him constantly

he is a threat to young people, not sure he has learnt his leason, hence his scams to avoid coming back to the UK, good job to the alledged 19 countries who have already refused him entry

ideally, at his arrival to the UK this morning, his passport should have been destroyed, and him imeidatly brought into detention, my understanding now is that he is too face questioning and expected to sign the sex offenders register, not the first time he has been on it, with his movements monitored, and expected to tell police of his movements and where abouts, and travel plans

unfortunalty, beacuse he has not been convected of anything or any suspision of anything in the UK in the last 6 months, the authotities have less powers, he'll probably live out his days in his mansion with round the clock protection for his own safety, funded by the british tax payer

:mad::mad:

eoin_s wrote: »

I don't know enough about the recidivism rates in paedophilia or the effectiveness of rehabilitative measures to speak on this with any great authority, so you may be right. I would however say that in general terms, if a person commits a crime and then carries out their sentence, on completion of that sentence, the slate should be wiped clean. Although there are of course arguments against this in the case of paedophilia. Certainly Glitter should be monitored by the relevant authorities but we shouldn't require a daily commentary on it courteousy of the gutter press, and I predict we will receive such commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

He should be thrown into the sea with concrete boots

gglitterhv9.jpg

Mairt wrote: »
    Blowing a little flute perhaps?.

Or perhaps the pink oboe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I was just wondering do people in general think paedophilia is something you're born with and not psychological. IMO it is psychological and I am thinking of how that relates to being gay. Has it been proven scientifically that the gayness is genetic?

I understand how certain hormones can be more prevelant in people causing them to feel more like the opposite sex but what about the gay people who are hormonally/physiologically as they should be, yet they are still gay. Is that not psychological?

Sorry in advance for the ignorance - genuine questions.

I don't know enough about the recidivism rates in paedophilia or the effectiveness of rehabilitative measures to speak on this with any great authority, so you may be right. I would however say that in general terms, if a person commits a crime and then carries out their sentence, on completion of that sentence, the slate should be wiped clean. Although there are of course arguments against this in the case of paedophilia. Certainly Glitter should be monitored by the relevant authorities but we shouldn't require a daily commentary on it courteousy of the gutter press, and I predict we will receive such commentary.

Beleive it or not the "gutter press" are actually performing a semi-usefull service here.
    If they constantly report on his comings and goins there's less chance of him being able to slip into some rural town anonamously and resume his sordid activities.
    British people are far more paranoid about paedos living beside them and thier children than irish people.
    FFS,Tim Allen wasnt burnt out of Ballymaloe,his wife continued her televison programme and people(with children) continue to visit the cookeryt school.This is somewhat akin to people hiring Gary Glitter to sing at parties.

Degsy wrote: »
    Beleive it or not the "gutter press" are actually performing a semi-usefull service here.
    If they constantly report on his comings and goins there's less chance of him being able to slip into some rural town anonamously and resume his sordid activities.
    British people are far more paranoid about paedos living beside them and thier children than irish people.
    FFS,Tim Allen wasnt burnt out of Ballymaloe,his wife continued her televison programme and people(with children) continue to visit the cookeryt school.This is somewhat akin to people hiring Gary Glitter to sing at parties.

Fair enough they may be performing a 'useful' service in relation to Glitter but what about all the other people they harass and annoy? Is it OK because they are keeping us informed of his whereabouts?

Degsy wrote: »

I hear what you say man, I would just prefer the relevant authorities carry out the monitoring of released paedophiles and not some tabloid rag with a "Save our Streets" anti paedo campaign. It is just rabble rousing and is a dangerous method whereby thick ignorant people are instructed as to what and how to think by tabloids because they don't have the intelligence to assimilate the facts before them and arrive at their own considered point of view. I hope, through effective monitoring of Glitter by the relevant authorities, he never harms another child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Or perhaps the pink oboe?

Rusty trombone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

BBC news wrote:
    Laws tighten on paedophile travel
    Child prostitutes in Thailand
    The measures aim to prevent child sex offenders travelling abroad

Tighter controls on the movements of paedophiles have been announced by Home Secretary Jacqui Smith.

Measures include increasing the length of time child sex offenders can be banned from travelling abroad from six months to up to five years.

Ms Smith said the changes would bolster the UK's already "rigorous system" for managing sex offenders, which is "among the toughest in the world".

It comes as paedophile and ex-pop star Gary Glitter left a Vietnamese jail.

He was released on Tuesday after serving 27 months in prison for child molestation.

Restrict travel

The 64-year-old, whose real name is Paul Francis Gadd, was convicted in 2006 for molesting two Vietnamese girls aged 11 and 12.

The home secretary announced that the length of Foreign Travel Orders (FTO) for paedophiles would be increased from six months to up to five years.

FTOs are civil orders developed to restrict travel by UK-registered sex offenders.

I want to see anyone who poses a threat to our children dealt with as firmly as possible
    Jacqui Smith
    Home secretary

And she said the requirement on police seeking sexual offences prevention orders to provide evidence from the last six months will also be removed.

Under the changes, those subject to blanket travel bans will also have their passports automatically confiscated.

And there will be a consultation on further restrictions on paedophiles' passports.

'Not enough'

It also emerged that FTOs may also be available where children under 18, rather than under 16 at present, are in danger.

The home secretary said: "I want to see anyone who poses a threat to our children dealt with as firmly as possible.

"I've spoken to child protection experts and the police and they have told me that these changes will further restrict the ability of child sex offenders to harm children both here and overseas."

FROM THE TODAY PROGRAMME

More from Today programme

Only five foreign travel bans for sex offenders have been issued under the current system, compared with 3,000 for football hooligans.

Asked on BBC Breakfast if enough foreign travel orders were being issued, Ms Smith said: "I don't think there are enough issued at the moment - I think there is more that we can do to prevent people from travelling abroad.

"What police and others say to me is that one of the reasons that they don't apply for them is because they only last for six months. I think we can extend that time period."

The Home Office revealed that legislation will shortly be brought forward to introduce new powers where necessary.

'Crucial step'

Meanwhile, children's campaigners have welcomed the measures.

NSPCC policy advisor Zoe Hilton said these measures "are a crucial step forward and should help clamp down on sex tourism".

She said: "We have been consistently saying that when there is clear evidence a sex offender poses a risk, the authorities must have effective powers to stop them from going abroad.

The announcement comes just days after children's charity Ecpat UK published a report calling for an overhaul of the way Britain deals with nationals convicted of sex offences abroad.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/politics/7571451.stm
    Wow. Great timing on that law.
    How many paedophiles travelled abroad while the MPs were waiting for Glitter to be released.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

What about those paedophile swimming coaches like O'Rourke and Gibney - they seemingly were able to reoffend with little difficulty. Glitter/Gadd should be placed under electronic surveillance at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

this has been going around in an email last few days. i have more if its ok to post em!!

Gaz gets down (sfw)

Fair enough they may be performing a 'useful' service in relation to Glitter but what about all the other people they harass and annoy? Is it OK because they are keeping us informed of his whereabouts?

Like who?
    Amy poxy Winehouse?
    Half the assholes who are "Annoyed" by the press are dependent on them for thier "career".Look at that scumbag Pete Doherty,never went anywhere without the hat on and a fag hanging out of his mouth just in case the press were hanging around.What about idiots like jodi marsh who'd ring up papparazzi and tell them where she was gonna be so she could get her ugly mug in the paper?
    Its very much two way traffic and you're showing astounding ignorance by pretending otherwise.