Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What accent do you love listening to ??

• 20-08-2008 9:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭

Just wondering what accent could you listen to forever.. I must say I love the scottish accent..Just thought I would ask to see what accent seem to be people favourite :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Swedish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭dubsgirl

Northern Ireland yum

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Yeah, Scottish accent is cool.

But it's second to Russian. I love Russian accents on girls.

Mostly because scoring a chick with a Russian accent makes me feel like James Bond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Lilym wrote: »
    Just wondering what accent could you listen to forever.. I must say I love the scottish accent..Just thought I would ask to see what accent seem to be people favourite :)

A young Sean Connery with Pussy Galore !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Donegal... Waay north donegal.... waiting for my lovely DOnegal OH to ring me after CSI! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I love the Northern Irish accent. I met a guy from Derry last year and as soon as he started speaking I was melting! AND he was good looking! Yeah, I hit that :p

I quite like the London accent too, although not on girls. It grates on me a bit, but I like the boys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Scandanavian.....

and I've a soft spot for a nice cork accent, not too strong tho.

Daithi O Se makes the Kerry accent sexy

And of course, Galway accents are great!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

+1 on the scottish accent, i could listen to it all day (and night....).

There's also something about Scottish men, a sort of something that makes one think that they'd be filthy good in bed. For instance, Jamie Oliver with his accent makes me think he'd be a happy puppy in bed, and it'd be fun and stuff....but Ewan MacGregor's accent leads me to believe that it'd be durty. ;)

Derry accents just make me melt.
    So soft.

I love the way the people from home place go on, it isn't really an accent thing. More of a use of language.

But drawly Southern accents from the states, are utterly irresistable.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Everyone (myself included) likes a Scottish accent... I know a guy from Glasgow, he's not that good looking really (in fact I thought he was a bit of a knacker when I first saw him, he has a horrible tattoo) but everyone thinks he's really hot because of his accent. In fact, he uses his accent to great effect with the ladies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Most Irish accents are crap. I prefer them to be neutral accents as opposed to too strong a la Dublin, Donegal, Cork etc. I love hearing a German or Scandinavian speak english. The accent is divine *swoon* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Raemie

I love posh english accents, like on the bbc. Anyone ive ever said that to thinks im a freak :)

And i hate irish accents, even though i have one!

Raemie wrote: »
    I love posh english accents, like on the bbc. Anyone ive ever said that to thinks im a freak :)

And i hate irish accents, even though i have one!

:eek: Traitorous guttersnipe!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Scouse accents for me..

I can happily listen to its lilt...while trying to gather together the evidence of what the person is actually saying..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Disco Stu

I do enjoy having a Scottish accent in Dublin.... it does help with the ladies I will admit..!

But from my point of view I like some dublin accents on girls... nothing too strong, but some of them are very sexy..! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Swedish
    well hello SuperSean ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭smilingeyerish

northern ireland is the hottest by far! it just makes me melt....mmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Welsh, some Scottish, some Cockney...that's about it. I hate more accents than I like, can't bear any kind of Northern accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

Love: Liverpool, Newcastle, Northern Irish & soft Irish Accents.

Hate: Birmingham & Scottish accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Anyone speaking Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

it def has to be the accent from manchester. oh my god i could listen to it all day long. and the real cork accent is well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

I love the kentucky accent.... and the drogheda accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

Northern irish accent!! :D so so so sexy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

akamossy wrote: »
    Northern irish accent!! :D so so so sexy

no no no , sounds like a drill going through yur skull (same with scottish)

Like waaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrr waaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrr waaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

For me its the french accent

son si sexy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

LOVE Finnish and Norwegian
    HATE bogger Irish, Manchester (actually most of Northern England) and yank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Cork accent... mmm.
    I also love a good Dublin accent. It sounds so..... warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Oooh Scottish, Donegal, Northern Irish, Australian and New Zealand.

God they're all so delicious....... *drool*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Derry accent is sexy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

Like the Scottish accent and Australian too, but not a very strong one.
    Hate all accents from northern counties of Ireland, or anything strong, be it culchie, Dublin or anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Fifilefleure

Love the Derry or Donegal accent especially with it's soft lilt!! Also have a soft spot for the Italian or Carribbean accents!! hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Another vote for the Scottish accent, but it has to be a soft one, not from the rough end of Glasgow. I like Scandinavian, Dutch and Australian accents too.

Absolutely despise Cockney, Newcastle and Welsh accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

Southern states of America........phwwwooooooaaarrr!!!! :p (think Sawyer from Lost)

Im getting hot and bothered thinkin about it !!! ha ha :D

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Disco Stu wrote: »
    I do enjoy having a Scottish accent in Dublin.... it does help with the ladies

so how you doing?? :cool: lol

my favourites would be Northern Irish, Scottish, Australian. hhhhmmmm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

Love: Liverpool, Newcastle, Northern Irish & soft Irish Accents.

Hate: Birmingham & Scottish accents.

^
    Some people have no taste:P

Being Scottish and living in Ireland I can tell you the irish lads love a Scottish accent, but the lads back home love the ladies with an Irish accent!! I love a nice Dub accent, and Donegal but my absolute fav has to be Welsh, he could be a total minger but have a Welsh accent and I'd be in like Flynn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

Top of the list has to be the Scottish accent. Soft r's and clipped words....och!
    I also love the cheeky sound of the Kerry accent.....to me, Kerry people always sound like they'd buy and sell you before you even got the chance to say 'What the fu....' : ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

buckieburd wrote: »
    ^
    Some people have no taste:P

Och aye they dinnae!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

Och aye they dinnae!

See you Jimmy!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭KateF

Scottish accent, but not the rough kind! (seriously, have you heard the Dundee accent?! It ain't pretty)
    And sometimes the cork accent, its just so damn catchy and contagious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Cazlou

I'm such a sucker for a welsh or scottish accent, or most west of Ireland accents, *melts*, oh and the northern english accent- went out with a guy from Humberside and just hearing him speak did funny things to me... god I should give him a call again!.....:pac:

It's weird people saying Scandinavian... I know a Swedish girl and I didn't even realise she wasn't Irish until she told me. Their accents are very subtle in many cases.

It's only really on words like 'love' (luf) and 'good' (gúd) that I can instantly tell.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I knew a Swedish girl once who had what could only be described as a proper Swedish accent. A lot of Scandinavians have such good English that it's nearly accent free, but her's wasn't quite so good which might be why she had the stronger accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭SarahJ

A big doirty Dub accent haha. Just kidding. Maybe American, but like really deep and smooth........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

fonpokno wrote: »
    Oooh Scottish, Donegal, Northern Irish, Australian and New Zealand.

God they're all so delicious....... *drool*

Yussssss Fcukporno thinks i speak delicious :pac:

Gotta say, I love all the irish accents, I love that you guys have managed to fit so many different ones into such a small area!!!

........Being a kiwi in dub definitely comes with its advantages too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Cmol wrote: »
    Yussssss Fcukporno thinks i speak delicious :pac:

Gotta say, I love all the irish accents, I love that you guys have managed to fit so many different ones into such a small area!!!

........Being a kiwi in dub definitely comes with its advantages too :D

yes you do have a lovely accent Cmol

Zaph wrote: »
    I knew a Swedish girl once who had what could only be described as a proper Swedish accent. A lot of Scandinavians have such good English that it's nearly accent free, but her's wasn't quite so good which might be why she had the stronger accent.

I'd like to hear it, actually. See if they sound like the Swedish chef on the Muppet Show :pac: 'Hurdy gurdy gurdy'

'Duktig flicka' is the only thing I can say in Swedish. I'm told it means 'good girl'.

Only phrase you need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

yes you do have a lovely accent Cmol

Jaysus I cant be keeping up with these name changes!!!*

*I know who you areeee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 sarahbrennan

has to be the ozzys! although i was talking to a guy from devon england which i was quite impressed with!!

I was shopping in the North today.
    And OMG Polish Nordie is the worst accent ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Scots accent is lovely on a girl,

Spanish accent does it for me too when it's not too loud. Love the rolled r's....

Also, worked with a hot Lithuanian girl whose accent made me want to hop on her every time she opened her mouth.