Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

''My Son Was Shot Because You Let Him Wear Make-Up, I'm Suing You!''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭forestfruits

typical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Rayven199

Ridiculous idiots! Dont ye just know that if they did enforce the rules of the school then the parents would probably sue for discrimination - boys should be allowed to wear skirts if the girls are!

Some Americans are such idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Did the son live in the school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Load of crap, why didn't the parents do something about him wearing it if they thought it was an issue, it is up to them not the school , no doubt had it been the school who said no and kicked him out they'd sue for discrimination...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Parents to blame...? Feck off!

Either it's a free country or it isn't.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Rayven199

Its a stupid country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

BrightEyes wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/mhqlmhqlojgb/

Understandable is the grief of the family but it must have been quite the optimistic lawyer who advised them they may have grounds to sue the school.

Where is the link between allowing a boy to wear make up leading to his being shot? It is not the school's fault but most likely the parents trying to blame everyone but themselves
    Not really the parent's fault either.

I'd blame the person behind the gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Huh, strange place to lay the blame.
    How did his classmate get a gun, and why was he so upset about the way someone dresses?
    Seriously missing the bigger picture here I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I didn't say they were to blame either I said if it was an issue of blame they can't blame the school as the school doesn't have responsibility for what he wears but they do as he is only 15 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Rayven199 wrote: »
    Ridiculous idiots! Dont ye just know that if they did enforce the rules of the school then the parents would probably sue for discrimination - boys should be allowed to wear skirts if the girls are!

Some Americans are such idiots

This already happened with some lad wearing a kilt. Don't know if he sued or not but definitly kicked up a discrimination case and the school had to allow him to wear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Did he take the shot in his mouth?

On topic: Parents to blame, rabble rabble rabble rabble rabble rabble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Terry wrote: »

I personally think that the shooter should take the majority of the blame here.

That's what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Yeah, that's what he said.

Shut up and add some tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I think the person who fired the shot is to blame

<_<

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Shoot the ****in parents.
    Instead of looking for justice,they start looking for money.
    Scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Sorry I should clarify, I meant the parents are to blame for letting him wear the make up if you could blame anyone for allowing such unnatural carry-on!
    Of course the gun man is directly to blame for the death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

You've hit the nail on the lad. That lad shouldn't have been shot had he been wearing a bloody ballerina dress, there's no excuse for murder and it's not something you can plan for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The thing is that they'll probably win the law suit because the school didn't in fact enforce the dress code of the school.

But surely they'd have to prove that the killer wouldn't have killed had the victim been wearing ''normal'' clothes for the whole school year. Plus even if the killer hadn't of killed in those circumstances, he probably still would have killed based on the fact the victim would have (most likely) continued to wear makeup. Because i doubt make up is against school policy, and they can hardly ask him not to wear it because he's not a girl.

Americans ftLOSE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Where's Overheal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

All 4 are to blame, shooter, fag, school and parental unit.

FX Meister wrote: »
    All 4 are to blame, shooter, fag, school and parental unit.
    Is this just you making a pityful attempt at humour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

Is there anymore to the story, it sounds like an incredibly simplified version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Maybe his murder had nothing to do with his dress sense or sexual orientation? Maybe he was just a little shit?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Seems he wasn't even living with them. He was a ward of the court and living in a shelter for abused, neglected and emotionally disturbed children at the time of the shooting.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Naos wrote: »
    This already happened with some lad wearing a kilt. Don't know if he sued or not but definitly kicked up a discrimination case and the school had to allow him to wear it.

That was something to do with the knife that he was wearing with the kilt as well that the school had a problem with I believe. They said he couldn't have the knife so he claimed he was being discriminated against for being Scottish or something.

Not really. I think they all have a part to play. If it was an attempt at humour I would have said something like this. "I thought the kid would have enjoyed it when some guy shot his load in his face"
    Is this just you making a pityful attempt at humour?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Not really. I think they all have a part to play. If it was an attempt at humour I would have said something like this. "I thought the kid would have enjoyed it when some guy shot his load in his face"
    How does the kid have a part to play based on the facts as reported? Is the fact he dressed up meant to imply he was being deliberately provocative and deserved it in some measure?

Please go on, i'm am curious as to how you think the kid played a part in his own death.

*sits on edge of seat*

I'm gonna sit this one one out I think.

Or maybe not. If he didn't dress the way he did it might never have happened. I'm not saying he shouldn't have been the person who he was. That guy shot by the cop recently in the US might never have been shot if he wasn't drunk and acting like a spa. That's not to say the cop was right to shoot him dead.
    The student who commited the crime didn't just shoot randomly into a crowd, he chose his target because of who he was. And the target deviated from what most people consider normal behaviour, drawing negative attention on himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 now i'm talkin'

LOL did anyone look at the tags for this thread? :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

fuck sake!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

They should sue Max Factor and Esteé Lauder. They have way more money than a school and if you think about it. It's their fault really for selling the makeup in the first place.

EDIT: I just realised it's being treated as a hate crime. Why isn't that just a normal murder where hate happens to be the motive? Should there be jealousy crimes and 'for the money' crimes as well with their own special sentences?

FX Meister, stop trolling.

seamus, you're damn right I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

seamus, you're damn right I am.

Using your modly powers to check tag authors I assume?

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The student who commited the crime didn't just shoot randomly into a crowd, he chose his target because of who he was. And the target deviated from what most people consider normal behaviour, drawing negative attention on himself.

So what you're effectively saying here is that, if you express your freedom in a harmless and perfectly legal manner, then you deserve to be beaten up/shot/persecuted...?

Dare I invoke Godwin's law? Again?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

All offending comments have been reported. Play nice.
    All you said there was "it was a hate crime" ... we already know that.

Suing the school for not enforcing the dress code. Fascinating. That can only go in 2 directions: either the school ammends the dress code to allow sexual ambiguity, or they keep it good christian and incur a reputation for intolerance. Either way, taking money away from an education system is the dumbest thing I have ever heard.

Instead why not focus more on why didn't they catch this issue with the shooter before he went and found a gun? Its not something you just do overnight. Its a failure on the school system to stay on top of the issues behind why these kids are beating each other up.

And the victim? Where were the parents at? Did you buy him the bra? I mean for fecks sake, you have some input in what he ought to be wearing. Truth of the matter is they washed their hands, told him to wear whatever he wanted, and only cry wolf when it got him shot.

A tragedy to be sure, but an avoidable one.

The legal term for Hate Crime I think arises because of public outcry about it. Ultimately the minorities in the said crime feel much more at ease about it because being charged for a hate crime obviously incurs a much harsher penalty than a regularly-charged equivalent. You can disprove the charges in court like anything else, but its just another charge to hold you under arrest. That's all.
    Seems he wasn't even living with them. He was a ward of the court and living in a shelter for abused, neglected and emotionally disturbed children at the time of the shooting.

Well that won't help their case much either. Like I said, they abandoned their child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

it'll be a disgrace if they win. loosing their son has to be hard but the school isnt to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

they should sue the person working on the bullet assembly line who put it together. Then maybe think about the company who made the car the killer drove, then the person who sold them fuel for the car. What about the killers parents? Or grandparents? Where does it stop? Then the killer can dig up the kids corpse and sue him back for making him kill him for looking the way he did. Idiots just looking for money to soften the blow of being so dumb.

I love how these discussions slow to a crawl as soon as I get involved :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Overheal wrote: »
    I love how these discussions slow to a crawl as soon as I get involved :)

It's because everyone loves you and they don't want to insult you. Yeah. That's it.

People (read: Americans) sue too readily these days.

Lies! I'll sue you for that remark.
    Quick to file for damages, it doesnt mean they always win.

Where would it say in a school's dress code that boys aren't allowed to wear make-up or feminine clothes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Where would it say in a school's dress code that boys aren't allowed to wear make-up or feminine clothes?

Most likely it would say that make up cannot be worn full stop, and clothing must not be too revealing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Where is the link between allowing a boy to wear make up leading to his being shot? It is not the school's fault but most likely the parents trying to blame everyone but themselves

It's called "Only in America".

Onlyinamerica would seem in odd term to coin for what they're going through - I'm pretty sure it's called grief. I mean have some hindsight, weren't we all just here the other week where I had to listen to you guys screaming for blood because that Irish lad got shot?

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055327321

But I guess people only demand recompense in America. Oh wait..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

This thread is irritating because it's generalizing Americans pretty harshly, but I'm going to prove the generalizations by responding to this. I'm from a smallish town in Pennsylvania, and a few years ago a woman was left to watch her two small grandchildren. She got distracted or was neglectful, or who really knows what, and the two children ended up drowning in a neighbor's pool. The family of the children then sued the NEIGHBOR for not having a fence around his pool.

I can't imagine what it's like to lose a child, and I can sort of understand wanting someone to blame, but lawsuits like these just don't help anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

PillyPen wrote: »
    This thread is irritating because it's generalizing Americans pretty harshly...

sorry, but you guys really do it to yourselves with the way american society has gone.

i'm not saying any one american is to blame as that would just be stupid but as a whole, US society is totallty fcukd.