Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Psoriasis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭greenfrogs

brevity wrote: »
    I think this is the treatment that I'm going to be going on.

What's the name of this treatment?

I know that my psorasis isn't as bad as some people's here. However it drives me insane. Even with regular treatments of gels and shampoos my scalp is still itchy and flakey.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭brevity

Gar11 wrote: »
    If it is congratulations because it has totally changed his life. He's more confident and outgoing than he ever was.

I'm after losing so much weight (not in a good way) because of the psoriasis and I feel very frail. Its becoming quite debilitating recently. Hopefully this treatment will help now.

greenfrogs wrote: »
    What's the name of this treatment?

I know that my psorasis isn't as bad as some people's here. However it drives me insane. Even with regular treatments of gels and shampoos my scalp is still itchy and flakey.

What I'm going to be on is humira, there is another name for it but I can't think of it right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

That's great news. How would one go about getting it?

First I was on steroid creams and vitamin d creams, then UV treatment with Neotigasen for a good while.After all that, my dermatologist suggested humira as my legs are about 50% covered in psoriasis and my back about 20%. He seems confident that it will clean it right up anyway.

I'll be on it for the rest of my life and there are supposedly some side effects but Im willing to take the risk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭greenfrogs

brevity wrote: »
    First I was on steroid creams and vitamin d creams, then UV treatment with Neotigasen for a good while.After all that, my dermatologist suggested humira as my legs are about 50% covered in psoriasis and my back about 20%. He seems confident that it will clean it right up anyway.

I'll be on it for the rest of my life and there are supposedly some side effects but Im willing to take the risk!

Best of luck to you with the new treatment.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,094 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Finally got a finish date for my PUVA. Will be 30 treatments by the time I finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Feeling pretty miserable at the moment :(

I last posted after going on the sunbeds (and getting sunburnt :rolleyes:) and I still intend to do another one soon, but in the meantime I got really sick and ended up in hospital for 3 nights with a severe kidney infection. They thought it was meningitis at first and I spent 2 nights in a negative airflow isolation ward and it did absolute wonders for my PS. Everywhere I had it started clearing up, particularly the outbreak I had on my arms.

Roll forward to being out of hospital a couple of days and it was back with a vengeance :( And in the last 36 hours my face has just become horrific. It's completely dry and itchy. I have some heavy patches of PS (my forehead and throat, which had been there previously, but I've just developed a patch under one of my eyes) but mainly my whole face is just extremely dry. My makeup has all absorbed into the dry patches, I feel so gross in work. And the places where I always have PS (behind my ears) are as bad as ever. The flaking is rapid, I've spent most of the day brushing flakes off my shoulders and even having to take my glasses off and clean flakes off the inside of my lenses. My nostrils and eyebrows are particularly itchy. I've been putting steroid cream and E45 on and they're not doing anything. In fact anything I put on my face is stinging it :(

Has anything like this ever happened to anyone before? I feel really really desperate.

Actually it's just after dawning on me that I haven't been able to take Methotrexate or Humira for nearly 2 weeks as a result of being sick. I'll be back taking them both tomorrow. I'm really hoping that's a big part of the reason and that things clear up soon. I'm going away in 10 days and I'll be gutted if my skin is like this for my holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

Inspired by your post, I've started on the sunbeds myself. Going every second day.

Hard to tell if they're helping at all yet. I guess it feels good to know I'm doing something. Proper UVB therapy has worked for me in the past, however it's just not practical to doss off work three times a week ... never mind the cost!

My GP has suggested Methotrexate, but having had injections of it not long ago for an ectopic pregnancy, it actually seemed to make my skin much worse. So I'm reluctant to try it again. I've never tried Humira, I'll see how the sunbeds go for four weeks and then look at other options.

A gluten-free diet seems to work for a lot of people, so feckin difficult to stick to though, especially when it takes so long to see results.

Im not ready to go down the medication road yet, that depends on how long the UV therapy lasts. But from reading on the topic I wouldn't want to take methotrexate as I'm just too afraid of the side effects.
    I would really try to avoid the sunbeds, they are not safe and if you keep up turning to that in desperation you put yourself at risk of more serious and potentially not treatable problems. I understand fully that for a girl your appearance means a lot more but is it really worth risking your long term health for? We all get flare ups, its just about finding a method to control them. Also for me my no.1 trigger for one is stress which I can sense in a big way from your last few posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭z0oT

I think now the reason I'm gifted with P myself is likely a bacterial overgrowth, be it Candida or something else. It's the cause that would definitely fit my case the best.

Given I've never been able to find a trigger, that I had a diet high in processed sugar for a long time, and even when I cleaned up my diet I was still consuming lots of sugar in the form of dairy (a great food for pathogens) and fruit.

I was talking to a doctor yesterday, not my usual one, he's a specialist I was seeing for a different unrelated condition. Anyways the subject of my psoriasis came up, and he asked what I was using to treat it at the moment. I was a little embarrassed to mention the sunbeds, as I was expecting a lecture for it. However he was very positive about it. While it isn't his speciality, he has a personal interest in it as some friends and family members of his have it.

He said that of course the ideal treatment would be UVB therapy, but as that's too expensive and impractical for me at the moment, he said that 4-6 weeks of going on the sunbeds 3 times a week might get me very good results, however he wouldn't recommend doing it more than twice a year. Also that advice was given taking into account that I've only ever been on one or two sun holidays and amn't likely to be any time in the next few years, also I work indoors so have limited exposure to the sun.

As he said, I need to be very aware of the dangers of an increased risk of skin cancer - but he really doesn't think that it'll increase all that much if I limit it to only two bouts a year max (and I mightn't even need two every year, fingers crossed, if it works well enough.) And he said that taking that into consideration, I need to decide whether I'm willing to take the risk for an increased quality of life if it clears my psoriasis. As he put it, if a person decides to move to Australia for a year their risk of developing skin cancer will increase - same if someone goes on a couple of sun holidays a year - but very few people would let that put them off doing it just because of the increased risk.

Now he did say that, as a doctor, he couldn't officially recommend that I do it. But he said if he had psoriasis himself, it would be his first choice of treatment.

IBC any improvement with your skin at all yet? Sounds very similar to mine at the moment, although I'd say mine is worse. :( I can handle it most of the time as I'm used to buying clothes to hide it, but when it appears on my face and neck and the back of my hands it makes me SO self-conscious. And I know what you mean about the make-up flaking off. Which foundation are you using? I got a new one yesterday, link, along with the primer. While I don't think any foundation can stop/hide the flaking, at least this one has very good coverage, which makes a little bit of difference at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

IBC any improvement with your skin at all yet? Sounds very similar to mine at the moment, although I'd say mine is worse. :( I can handle it most of the time as I'm used to buying clothes to hide it, but when it appears on my face and neck and the back of my hands it makes me SO self-conscious. And I know what you mean about the make-up flaking off. Which foundation are you using? .

It's different every day!!! It's so bizarre. At the moment my "regular" bad patches of PS (forehead, scalp, behind ears) are actually not too bad at all, but the dry skin on my face is horrific. It dawned on me yesterday that what I do have on my face is probably candida. I was on 10 days of antibiotics and only finished a few days ago, and I often suffer from thrush after ABs, and it makes much more sense that what I have is facial thrush (especially because of the stinging when I put on any cream, and cracked corners of lips). I feel a bit gross cos I feel like I look like I'm unclean or unhygienic :o I'm going to the chemist today to get some acidophilus and between that, and the fact that it's been 5 days now since my ABs finished, I'm REALLY hoping it clears up in the next few days...I'm going on holidays on Saturday!

As for the "new" bad patches of PS, on my arms and throat, they're still as bad as ever :( I just moved house so I need to find somewhere nearby that does sunbeds so I can get back on them.

Thanks for the foundation recommendation. I use Revlon Colorstay and I find it great. I have naturally oily skin and used to use foundation for oily skin but since I started getting PS on my face, I've been using the one for dry skin and find it much better, and primer really helps as well.

Best of luck with the sunbeds, I'm not going to get to go back on them until at least next week so keep us updated with your progress, I'm really interested to hear how you get on with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Calmcookie84

This might seem like a very silly question but do sun beds help with scalp psoriasis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Are bleach baths recommend for psoriasis? I know they are for eczema and helping keep the bacteria count down. I use them when I have flare ups and I think they really help, especially if there is any broken skin or risk of infection. I use Milton in the bath combined with emulsifying ointment.

This might seem like a very silly question but do sun beds help with scalp psoriasis?

From when I had UVB treatment done before - the nurses said that it doesn't help a lot unfortunately, it's hard for the rays to get through your hair to the skin. I remember they mentioned that male patients often shave their hair while getting the UVB done. My own scalp psoriasis was never too bad, mostly just around the hairline, so I was able to scrape my hair back into a tight ponytail so as much as possible was exposed.

Now having said that, I imagine it might help a little bit. But if it's only on your scalp and no where else, I wouldn't think it would be worth going on the sunbeds just for that, personally.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Calmcookie84

From when I had UVB treatment done before - the nurses said that it doesn't help a lot unfortunately, it's hard for the rays to get through your hair to the skin. I remember they mentioned that male patients often shave their hair while getting the UVB done. My own scalp psoriasis was never too bad, mostly just around the hairline, so I was able to scrape my hair back into a tight ponytail so as much as possible was exposed.

Now having said that, I imagine it might help a little bit. But if it's only on your scalp and no where else, I wouldn't think it would be worth going on the sunbeds just for that, personally.

Yes I thought as much. Being in the sun for a few days usually clears up the small patches on my body but it never makes a dent on my scalp psoriasis. I've been washing my hair with Neem Oil shampoo for the last two weeks. It's making a small difference but the itch and flakes are still there :-(

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I had UV treatment for my psoriasis in the clinic in Hume St. That was for scalp and body plaques and it cleared it right up. I had my hair cut super tight at the time. It was a more intense version of a sunbed and you started off with just a few seconds exposure before building up to a couple of minutes by the end of the treatment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭wonga77

Did it work long term Ciaran?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I had the treatment back in the late 90's and it cleared it up totally and it stayed clear for 2 or 3 years. It came back slowly but never as bad (it never came back to my face for example) and it's still pretty manageable.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Trine

I found this thread linked in another thread, so apologies for not reading through, but I had a very positive experience using sunbeds and multi-vitamins for my psoriasis.

About 3 of 4 years ago I started getting psoriasis. Doctor linked it to my immune system, and I seemed to be getting outbreaks after any kind of cold, particularly streptococcal throat, which I seemed to be very susceptible to. I tried all the usual; tablets, creams, extreme changes to my diet. But I was never able to shake it; for about 2 years I had almost constant psoriasis, with particularly strong outbreaks in Spring (full body, head to toe, face, scalp, chest absolutely covered). This time two years ago I was sitting in work with flakes of skin falling off me, my office chair covered in a fine dust... :-/ Was very depressing, especially reading people's accounts of similar experiences and just accepting that for the rest of the life they'll have this condition.

2 years ago I decided to try 5 minutes of stand-up sunbed once a week, and also started taking multivitamins. Since then I've been practically psoriasis free. I find when I stop using sunbeds, I'll see my psoriasis coming back; for example, over last Christmas I stopped going. Within a few weeks I noticed some psoriasis starting on my forearm. Then a few spots on my chest, which is where it usually begins. Back to the sunbed once a week, and they cleared up after a few weeks. Spring was always my worst time for psoriasis, and right now I am absolutely 100% psoriasis free, and am confident at this stage it will stay that way.

Not saying sunbeds are 100% what did the job for me, I think the multi-vitamins are important too in my case. Not saying sunbeds are healthy either! But I genuinely feel they make a huge difference to me.

Seeing as I've been through the "proper" UVB therapy (both publicly and privately) and have basically been recommending sunbeds here, there are a couple of things I feel I should mention from when I was getting the treatment in hospital.

UV goggles are a must. I'm attending two different salons at the moment for the sunbeds (one is convenient for work and the other for home), in one place they always give me the goggles, I've never been given them in the other place. In hospital they always made sure I was wearing them before switching the machine on. I'm not sure if it's to protect the skin on your eyelids, or to protect your eyes, but either way ... if you decide to try sunbeds, and you aren't given the goggles, ask for them.

Bit of a personal one, but both times I was getting UVB therapy in hospital, they made me put Factor 50 sunscreen on my nips. Again, I'm not sure why, but I'm doing it now on the sunbeds. And it's never been suggested by the people working in the salons. Not sure if that just applies to women or if men should do it too, but look, no point taking unnecessary risks.

Your face will be the first area to clear. In hospital, once my face cleared up, they basically gave me a big creepy looking mask/helmet thing to wear to avoid unnecessary exposure. I can see myself that the psoriasis on my face is starting to clear, and once it's gone, I'll be using a high factor sunscreen on my face to protect it. Again, why take the risk. I don't want a tan - I want my psoriasis gone!

In the hospital UV booths, the strongest rays are in the middle of the machine (height-wise). So, after a couple of weeks, they get you to stand on a stool in the machine to clear up any patches on your legs, as they aren't exposed enough to the UV otherwise. Something to consider if you're using the sunbeds and your legs aren't clearing up.

If you have any moles/large freckles, use those tiny little round plasters on them to protect them. Yet again, reduce risk of doing damage.

You should not burn on the sunbeds. Last time I got private treatment, the first session, they used a portable UV lamp on my back and basically put a sticker-sheet on my back, and peeled off one sticker at a time, at timed intervals. I had to go back the next day, and the way they decided the length I'd stay in the machine was based on the last "patch" on my back before I started to show a hint of redness. Sunburn will probably actually make your psoriasis worse.

It will take time and perseverance. Both times I got hospital UV treatment for my psoriasis (which is widespread and severe), I didn't see results until towards the end of the second month. Don't expect instant results. The good news is that, while my skin has basically looked like I'm covered in severe burns, it HAS cleared completely in the past, with zero scarring. I'm hopeful that it will again now. The funny thing about psoriasis is that your skin is basically being too efficient, replacing itself when it doesn't need to be replaced. The good thing about this is that it actually heals really well, too, when it has to.

The phototherapy nurses told me last week that I should wash my face in the morning after the Protopic has been on all night which I didn't know. My GP at the time I went on it didn't tell me that.

Another update from me:

Lots of Fermented Vegetables definitely seem to be helping me. My newly developed Psoratic Arthitis (have it since February) is in remission, as in it's about 90-95% better now.

There's no noticable change to any of the plaque P I have as of yet, but on the other hand the acne on my chest is almost gone now, and the stuff on my back is much better than it used to be. The skin that I have that isn't effected does look a lot clearer and brighter too, and I also seem to be sleeping much more soundly too.

I noticed a bigger improvement when I started adding antifungal foods in addition to fermented foods to my diet too - Coconut Oil, Raw or Fermented Garlic/Onion, Root Ginger Tea etc. so I think the reason I've P amoung other things is a bacterial overgrowth, probably Candida, with a heavy round of antibiotics for H.Pylori 7-8 years ago (I had suspected stomach ulcers at the time), probably being the reason.

Trouble is, if it's a bacterial overgrowth, it'll take time to clear it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

UV goggles are a must. I'm attending two different salons at the moment for the sunbeds (one is convenient for work and the other for home), in one place they always give me the goggles, I've never been given them in the other place. In hospital they always made sure I was wearing them before switching the machine on. I'm not sure if it's to protect the skin on your eyelids, or to protect your eyes, but either way ... if you decide to try sunbeds, and you aren't given the goggles, ask for them.

I'm actually shocked to hear that, what sort of mickey mouse place doesn't have the goggles?

If anybody is going to try the sunbeds, make sure to wear the goggles!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

z0oT wrote: »

so I think the reason I've P amoung other things is a bacterial overgrowth, probably Candida, with a heavy round of antibiotics for H.Pylori 7-8 years ago (I had suspected stomach ulcers at the time), probably being the reason.

Trouble is, if it's a bacterial overgrowth, it'll take time to clear it out.

It probably is Candida dude, it definitely is for me. You can get tested to be sure (see my other posts in this thread)

I stumbled on the same thing after 8 years. Sugar is a major trigger for me, as soon as I stop eating sugar my P dies down within a 5 days.

Keep on the Candida track, try a one day a week water fast (Intermittent Fast)
    and you should see really good results.

Feelgood wrote: »
    It probably is Candida dude, it definitely is for me. You can get tested to be sure (see my other posts in this thread)

I stumbled on the same thing after 8 years. Sugar is a major trigger for me, as soon as I stop eating sugar my P dies down within a 5 days.

Keep on the Candida track, try a one day a week water fast (Intermittent Fast)
    and you should see really good results.

Your Candida overgrowth can't have been too bad if it only takes a mere 5 days without sugar to clear up the P. I suspect mine (if that's what it is) isn't going to clear very soon since I was consuming huge amounts of dairy for protein for the gym for years and years.

My theory with myself is that I developed leaky gut when I was in my early to mid teens through eating lots of dairy and grains (I particularly loved bread), which is around the time I got P in the 1st place. Then come my early twenties, it was suspected I had a stomach ulcer, so I was put on a round of heavy antibiotics for H.Pylori bacteria. Couple that with a pretty terrible diet up until that point and I suspect that's what gave me a Candida overgrowth.

A thing that happened to me when I started on a Paleo diet and cut out all dairy is that I developed Psoratic arthitis in my kunckles and one heel which I never had before. Apparently if you starve a big Candida overgrowth of sugar, it can travel up your intestines and burrow through the lining at a higher point. I suspect that's the reason why I got the joint pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Omarscoming

I have Guttate Psoriasis all over my body. I have had scalp P for 15 years but never had any on my body before. I had tonsilitis in January and the lesions starting appearing in February and then another bout of tonsilitis in April and now the little red patches are showing up everywhere, from toe nails to face. My GP says the guttate P will start to fade after a few months. Has anybody else had Guttate P after tonsilitis and how long did it take for the lesions to disappear?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,845 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I have Guttate Psoriasis all over my body. I have had scalp P for 15 years but never had any on my body before. I had tonsilitis in January and the lesions starting appearing in February and then another bout of tonsilitis in April and now the little red patches are showing up everywhere, from toe nails to face. My GP says the guttate P will start to fade after a few months. Has anybody else had Guttate P after tonsilitis and how long did it take for the lesions to disappear?

I had similar with a bout of strep throat last year. It took about 3-4 months to clear (not completely I'm afraid, there always seems to be a few blobs sneaking about). It seems as though once it's kicked off by something, usually a virus, any little thing can kick it off - Stress is a biggy for me.

Have been managing it with Bio Oil and silcocks base, among a few herbal/natural creams from a herbalist. It's after kicking off again a bit. It always starts in a new spot it seems. Last time my stomach and chest were in ribbons, this time round it's my shoulders and collar bone. High neck jumpers for a while I guess :P

• Registered Users Posts: 24 akaalias

I was going to write a really long post about the state of my skin at the moment and it's effect on my mental health but I won't, I'll get right to the point.

Based on what I've been reading I need to try UVB and, for myself, I need to try it as soon as possible.

What is the quickest way for me to start receiving this treatment? If it's any help, I have no private health insurance and have psoriasis on my....scalp, ears, groin, dick, ass-crack, belly-button, some spots on my legs, back, chest and stomach.

I'd like to say it's driving me crazy but it's not, it's depressing me.