Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you had to nuke an Irish town ...

• 23-07-2008 6:33pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

.... which would you pick? Off the map, raised to the ground, surplus to any requirement, gone, nothing to see here folks.

Id have to go with Navan. Horrible to look at and the women all look like Shrek,

Where would ya nukey nukey? 690 votes

Navan
    0% 1 vote
    Balbriggan
    6% 43 votes
    Bray
    3% 23 votes
    Dundalk
    7% 49 votes
    Athlone
    6% 47 votes
    Drogheda
    3% 22 votes
    Newcastle West
    5% 38 votes
    Enniskerry
    2% 16 votes
    Dublin (not a town but we'll allow it)
    0% 4 votes
    Mitchelstown
    22% 157 votes
    Athy
    2% 18 votes
    Kilkenny
    5% 38 votes
    Portarlington
    2% 15 votes
    Tuam
    2% 14 votes
    Anywhere in Limerick
    6% 45 votes
    Kilmallock
    16% 113 votes
    Sligo
    0% 2 votes
    Cavan
    1% 12 votes
    Ballyshannon
    3% 22 votes
    The Republic Of Jaguar
    1% 11 votes
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

athlone - worst few hours of my life when i was there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Id have to go with Navan.
    Ha, I was thinking the same thing as i was opening the thread. I know a couple of decent people from there though, so I'd ensure that they were far away before committing the act :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Muff in Donegal. It (the comedy) writes itself....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

*waits for someone to mention Bray*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Bray is more of a hole than a town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Newcastle West in with a shout for me.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Enniskerry or greystones! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Balbriggan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Youghal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Dundalk :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Dublin ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Mitchelstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Sherifu wrote: »
    Drogheda.

Theres nothing wrong with the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Abigayle wrote: »
    Theres nothing wrong right with the town.
    FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Dublin ..

That's a city, you lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Dublin ..

twice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Now with new added sexy poll-ness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭jcrowbar

Where i am right now, but i don't think it'd make much of a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Has to be Newcastle West. That place is so depressing. It's where they bottle Ballygowan which, coincedentally, has an open sewer running behind the building.

It also used to have the L&N supermarket, God I hated going there with my parents when we were visiting the grandparents. All the closed factories and stuff...so depressing....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Pity Galway isn't a town :rolleyes:

I picked Drogheda...the accent alone and the higher than average number of scobes puts me off the town unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Has to be the kip that is Athy. Horrible excuse for a town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Bandon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Whatever about Newcastle West, it's neighbouring town Abbeyfeale deserves to be burnt to the ground. God, my heart sinks a little every time i drive through it. Never found Newcastle all that bad, but I've never stopped for a look around. Don't know why Kilmallock is on the list, it's just a regular small village, hardly up there with the worst of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

I'd vote for Ardee but I think it's been nuked already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I think Tuam's been nuked already, strange people the survivors :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Navan.

And i live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,677 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Kiera wrote: »
    Balbriggan.

Where do you hai from? I find you can't truly hate the place until you've lived there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Longford TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

From that list, Athlone would be vastly improved by becoming a beautiful mushroom cloud. But Dungarvan, Co. Waterford needs it more, or at least a good chemical weapons attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

Mullingar :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭CPT. SURF

Ballyraggit, Co. Kilkenny. I dare anyone to go there.

Either that or Durrow, Co. Laois. Absolute kip of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

I know its not in Ireland but just back from blackpool and if ever a place had to be levelled then this is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Dublin, so that we can build the place properly this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Kilmallock or "Anythwere in Limerick". Tough choices.
    If we're talking a 'smart bomb', then I'd choose Dublin. Leave everything in tact, just remove the people. Bliss.
    Otherwise, Sligo. Goodbye Áine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

blackpool wtf?? great beach, world class theme park, similiar accommodation for 1/4 the price of dublin and fine nightlife, much cheaper beer than back home too

blackpool certainly ain't the best place i have ever been but its a great laugh for a weekend break in the middle of summer, too many auld ones on the pull though :(

Trippie whats your opinion of a decent town i would like to know :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Drawwda without a doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

athlone - worst few hours of my life when i was there

Indeed. The phrase town pride doesnt resonate there, every Athlone person Ive ever met hates it even more than people who have had the misfortune to pass through it. All I remember from the railway line is an extremely large abandoned building, a good few seemingly derelict old council houses and a halting site or two.

Recall once at a party a mate of mine crashing and burning trying to impress a lethal looking yoke from there (was the spit of Cheryl from Girls Aloud. :) x 20 jizzillion ). Went along the lines of

"Ah Athlone yeah, only passed through it. Looks a lovely spot, Ill hafta stall down sometime"
    "Lovely? Its a ****ing kip!"

Cue two minutes of ranting about the exact grade and calibre of kip the town is.

Am I alone in voting Galway? An overrated permanently wet windy tourist trap whos only purpose is to bleed out of towners of their dosh and to con European tourists into believing it is some sort of alternative bohemian cultural mecca full of artists, street performers, musicians and general beardy hipster troubadours who go where the winds take them. Cromwell was right, Id sooner go to hell.

And how many Supermacs does the town and area around have? I wouldnt be surprised to see one poking out the back of someones back garden.

And tbh the weather during a Galway nuclear winter is bound to be better than that during a normal Galway summer.
    LOTP wrote: »
    Bray is more of a hole than a town

Ah stop. Bray is great for an all day outdoor session if the weather is agreeable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Has to be Longford Town, for their inability to park.

Oh, and Kildare Town, for being total muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Also had the pleasure of visiting Manorhamilton Co Leitrim some years ago. On a wet day it looks like the set of Angelas Ashes. As does Loughrea outside Galway.

Granard Co Longford is another horror show.

Dundalk seems to be a small village that was suddenly surrounded by acres of pretty rough looking housing estates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Sorry but I'm gonna say Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭COH

Tralee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Not on the poll but Arklow. Lived there for 10 years. What a depressing town.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

shane86 wrote: »

And tbh the weather during a Galway nuclear winter is bound to be better than that during a normal Galway summer.

it was over 20 degrees today in galway and sunny, forecast 24 tomorrow and sunny, dublin is forecast rain ;) you were in galway once, it rained get over it :P if you think galway is wet and windy (it ain't) try bundoran in co donegal on for size :eek:
    shane86 wrote:

Indeed. The phrase town pride doesnt resonate there, every Athlone person Ive ever met hates it even more than people who have had the misfortune to pass through it. All I remember from the railway line is an extremely large abandoned building, a good few seemingly derelict old council houses and a halting site or two.

because no other town in ireland has a derelict housing estate or two, certainly not dublin :rolleyes: that housing estate is either battery heights or st mels, yes they both suck and they suck bad but seriously athlone on a saturday night is a fine town. two very good shopping centres in the middle of town and some lovely scenery close by, go boating on lough ree to see what i mean.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Cork "city" (yeah right), the whole country would breath a collective sigh of relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Has to be Cork - maybe it'll put an end to their 'rebellion'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

Athlone and its heroin addicts.....kaboom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Oh, and Kildare Town, for being total muck.

Jesus yes that is a serious nothing town. I forgot about there while nominating Athy earlier. Kildare town runs its very close.

Just realised both of my towns to avoid are in Kildare, i actually like that county. Naas & Newbridge are grand & i played for a football team in Castledermot for years. So nothing against Kildare in general, but Athy & Kildare town are horrible places.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 398 ✭✭Benny-c

Had the 'pleasure' to spend 1.5years in Castlebar, Co. Mayo.

Castlebar.................kaBOOM:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Bye Bye Fermoy - ye won't be such a "tidy town" anymore!

EDIT: Oh and Doneraile. Nice park and nice wildlife, but the people from there I've come across are either total scumbags or just irritating twats.