Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30 years prison in Cork cocaine trial!!

• 23-07-2008 12:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭

30 years each for Perry Wharrie and Martin Wanden and 25 years for Joe Daly. Just reported on RTE News a few mins ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Good im delighted.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

If they were rapists 'twould have been less than ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

is_that_so wrote: »
    30 years each for Perry Wharrie and Martin Wanden and 25 years for Joe Daly. Just reported on RTE News a few mins ago.

Wow, fcuken hell. :eek:
    Atleast they'll be safe from the pi$$ed off Colombian drug lords for a few years.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Literally a drop in the ocean to the Columbians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Yeah a lot of Irish sentencing seems to make little sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

beertons wrote: »
    Literally a drop in the ocean to the Columbians

Boom boom!

Delighted they got such a lenghty sentence, might teach others not to put diesel into a petrol engine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

At least one of those boys was facing a life sentence back home anyway, so had zero to lose by pleading not guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The potential to destroy lives is far greater here, but yes: it does seem a bit weird.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

They probably would have got less if they pleaded guilty.
    Seriously like, they're pretty much found bobbing in the Irish Sea with €440 million worth of Cocaine and they plead not guilty! wtf!

Yeah I found this amazing. They all just accidently happened to be in the sea, using the bales as floatation devices. Hmmm.

10-15 years had they pleaded guilty, with a release time of 5-7 years.

Irish judicial system ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭bubthatub

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Boom boom!

Delighted they got such a lenghty sentence, might teach others not to put diesel into a petrol engine!

Thats the number one rule you have to remember when smuggling put the right fuel into the engine. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    The potential to destroy lives is far greater here, but yes: it does seem a bit weird.

I see your point but that notwithstanding, drug addicts are not victims. They choose to buy the drugs. Its a free-market capitalist society.
    If people want to buy drugs, other people will supply them! Of course it's wrong, but I just dont see it as squarely the fault of the distributor. Whereas with rape it is.

Wasn't one of them convicted of killing a police officer in england?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Once they're inside, they'll probably open their own drugstore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

10-15 years had they pleaded guilty, with a release time of 5-7 years.

Irish judicial system ftw!

Appeals system ftw!

Why the hell not try for a not guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Brendan777

Fantastic news! May they rot in prison. Did you see the 6kg of Methamphetamine was captured in Birr yesterday? A lithuanian gang was manufacturing it. That stuff is lethal, thats all we need in our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

You Suck! wrote: »
    Appeals system ftw!

Why the hell not try for a not guilty.

Funny thing is, it might work!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Brendan777 wrote: »
    Fantastic news! May they rot in prison. Did you see the 6kg of Methamphetamine was captured in Birr yesterday? A lithuanian gang was manufacturing it. That stuff is lethal, thats all we need in our country.
    bastardos.....bringing criminality into my country :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

tech77 wrote: »
    Wow, fcuken hell. :eek:
    Atleast they'll be safe from the pi$$ed off Colombian drug lords for a few years.

In truth they had already been paid off Id imagine. Couldnt care less if the fish ate the lot of it once they had their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Im all for harsh sentencing, but as has been mentioned in previous posts, when people here are commiting murder and manslaughter and only getting a few years in the slammer youd have to wonder! How many years will those ba****rds that murdered the two poles get!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Ridiculous sentence for a few guys who were just trying to spread a bit of happiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I giving an educated guess here but this case is not over yet. Within a month these three will probably lodge appeals to the severity of their sentences so it could be reduced in the future.

Didnt John Gilligan get 27yrs for importation of hash reduced to 20yrs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Im all for harsh sentencing, but as has been mentioned in previous posts, when people here are commiting murder and manslaughter and only getting a few years in the slammer youd have to wonder! How many years will those ba****rds that murdered the two poles get!?

The amount of coke they had would buy an AWFUL lot of contarct murders,weapons,turf wars and anti-social behaviour to say nothing of ruined lives and ****ed up people.They risked it all for huge profits and they came unstuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

This why I don't deal drugs! Anymore...

TheNog wrote: »
    Didnt John Gilligan get 27yrs for importation of hash reduced to 20yrs?

Yes.

And in truth he was sentenced for a murder they couldnt prove. I mean really, 27 years for hash? Tony Felloni got less for single handedly causing more problems with heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

they were saying the drugs were worth 1billion!

you think they got somebody who knows how to fuel a boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

In all fairness they were risking 30 years of their life for a payout of between 146 mill to 333 mill depending on the valuation you believe.

Personally have no sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Should have been 40, those cnunts know only one thing,admit to nothing and cost the irish taxpayer=me ,a fortune trying them, and keeping them in prison.

Fcuk them and the boat they came in on,may the rot in prison and get out in a wooden box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    might teach others not to put diesel into a petrol engine!

here here. and it wasnt red diesel so what is everyone giving out about:)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Brendan777 wrote: »

Wow, that's pretty much exactly the plot of chapter three on a book I... will now not be submitting for publication. Except it was in Laois. But the crystal meth and Lithuanians... I guess it was only a matter of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

bubthatub wrote: »
    Thats the number one rule you have to remember when smuggling put the right fuel into the engine. :D
    They should have also been fined e3000 each on top of their sentences for attempting to use using green diesel. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

Its sink or swim in prison although I'd say they'ill sail through it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Perry Wharrie, 48 was already sentenced for life in 1989 in the UK for the murder of a cop and was released early, he was still wanted by the UK authorities but did a bunk over here, He should be deported right back to the UK authorities instead of wasting Irish tax payers money for the next 30 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

I think the reason John Gilligan got 27 years for hash was they couldnt get him on other crimes so for the one crime they can get him on they give him a whopper of a sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I think they got too much IMO, theres lads inside who got less for murder and rape. I say leave the 2 boys out after 15 years and Perry Wharrie, let him rott since he killed a police man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Wasn't there a guy a while back who was given a suspended sentence for something similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭askU

DubArk wrote: »
    Good im delighted.

Why. the price of coke is costing ne a fortune!! Its apart of the scene now. its not on!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Perry Wharrie, 48 was already sentenced for life in 1989 in the UK for the murder of a cop and was released early, he was still wanted by the UK authorities but did a bunk over here, He should be deported right back to the UK authorities instead of wasting Irish tax payers money for the next 30 years.

Lesson there for the British authorities on the subject of early releases

Great to see one of the red tops with a screaming headline that the Colombians have a contract out as they are owed 20 million on tick.

Eh, yeah. The Colombians decided to hand over 1.5 tonnes of cocaine to some gentlemen from faraway England on a buy now pay later agreement.

They are taking the fcuking piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

My first thoughts this morning were actually of these guys waking up to find out how many of the next years of their lives would they spend sh!itting in a pot in the corner of their cell in front of some other jailed knobhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

These people are going to cost the tax payer a fortune over the next 40 years.
    Isn't there a case for deportation? Why should we pay for some other countries criminals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

They should be made take all their own drugs in one go. See if they want them then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

I suppose its some sort of positive result for the families of victims from the contaminated cocaine at Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Great to see one of the red tops with a screaming headline that the Colombians have a contract out as they are owed 20 million on tick.

Eh, yeah. The Colombians decided to hand over 1.5 tonnes of cocaine to some gentlemen from faraway England on a buy now pay later agreement.

1.5 tonnes costs more then twenty million, twenty million would of been a part of the overall bill.

20 million on tick is nothing in the grand scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

you think they paid up front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭silver haze

I suppose its some sort of positive result for the families of victims from the contaminated cocaine at Christmas.

you mean that coke that later proved to not be contaminated, well non more than usual so.

that was just people doin the dog on it, not any high purity or tabloid-esque "Killer Koke"

also the family of one of the lads who died knew about and allowded sessions to take place in the house, so i dont know what if any cpositive result that they may draw from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Great to see one of the red tops with a screaming headline that the Colombians have a contract out as they are owed
    20 million on tick.

Complete bollocks from the tabloid. They would have got this on credit (after having built up a relationship from previous deals.) I remember reading an article about a Liverpool cocaine trafficker who was assassinated by Colombians because he couldn't provide media reports about a missing shipment being found by customs. As long as you can show them newspaper cuttings etc. it's accepted as a part of the business and let go.

Here it is:
    'Smith was a trusted operator who built his fortune by keeping his word, not behaving like your normal gangster. At first the Colombians believed him,' said the source. But an informant, believed to be a close lieutenant of Smith in the Netherlands, told the Colombians a different story. Smith, it seemed, knew exactly where the mystery consignment was. A Dutch businessman with links to the Liverpool mafia said: 'Smith had no problem recovering the cocaine. It was in containers lined up on the docks like a row of new cars.' An established network of Liverpool gang members based in Amsterdam was secretly tasked with selling the drug. A meeting in Amsterdam was arranged between the Colombians and Smith's syndicate. The former demanded a 'yellow pedal' - a police charge sheet or newspaper cutting proving that the goods had been confiscated. Smith could not produce one. The Colombians warned him of dire repercussions if he did not hand over the money. A standoff between the two gangs developed, one that would presently claim a Colombian scalp.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/may/18/drugstrade.internationalcrime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

at least there is plenty more of the stuff out there, proper sailing course with good navigation etc. for the boys methinks. Disproportionate punishment for the crime imo no one is forced to take coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

growler wrote: »
    at least there is plenty more of the stuff out there, proper sailing course with good navigation etc. for the boys methinks. Disproportionate punishment for the crime imo no one is forced to take coke.

No one forced them to attempt to land 1.5 tonnes of it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

bigkev49 wrote: »
    No one forced them to attempt to land 1.5 tonnes of it either.
    and make a lot of money from an illegal activity!!

(though if you were to jail everyone in ireland who made a lot of money out of illegal activities then we'd need to be building new jails)