If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Religious Symbols - Time to take them down?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

more like

religion, time to take it down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

TheNog wrote: »

Im sure you still get my point though about the christmas tree, yeah?

Wouldnt have anything to do with the blue flashing lights you decorate it with by any chance lol
    Hate that show. Him and that other fella are pure stupid.
    Me too it was a jibe at the caliber of the callers, "now im not racist or anything but its them [racial slur ommitted] or "see them garda adrian, harrassin me they are"

*slaps Fyr.Fytr for knowing that Joe is on holliers and then slaps himself cos he knows it too*

Ouch

Sorry for being unemployed and it being on in the car while i go job hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

We should take all the crosses down, soak them in petrol, plant them in 'selected' front gardens, then set them on fire - just to show we don't favour any particular religion! :eek:

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Individual Gardai should not be allowed wear or express religious, sexist or political opinions. Were a police force, a uniformed united organisation with 1 purpose. Were not considered individuals nor are we recuiters for whatever organisation or faith you believe in. We also took an oath to enforce the law without fear, favour or malice which means we treat people equally.

As for the Christmas tree, thats a symbol connected with a national holiday and is not a symbol of Jesus or God, etc.

I dont believe officers should wear or show their opinions but I dont see anything wrong with showing a small item in general display that refers to the holiday and not the religion. Mind you I dont pay attention to such things anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I think we're reading from the same hymn sheet.