Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cool facilities at your place of work.

• 18-07-2008 12:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭

I started a new job at the beginning of June in a library and only found out that they have a shower in the lower level for employees. My supervisor said if people come to work on a bike in the warm weather or go for a run at lunch that they can take a quick shower. Never heard of this before but thought it was a good idea. I'm still waiting to find out if there is an employee game room. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

In my work there are not only showers etc but also a gym, although the gym is a bit sh1te to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

We have a beer/Wine fridge every Friday :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Ruu wrote: »
    I started a new job at the beginning of June in a library and only found out that they have a shower in the lower level for employees. My supervisor said if people come to work on a bike in the warm weather or go for a run at lunch that they can take a quick shower. Never heard of this before but thought it was a good idea. I'm still waiting to find out if there is an employee game room. :D

Library, ya big nerd. :D

Ah no, just don't be a prick. I don't want to generalize, but having spent 5 years in two different colleges, I always found the library staff to be pompus ****.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

hussey wrote: »
    We have a beer/Wine fridge every Friday :cool:

damm, all we get is free tea and coffee

Oh also have a BBQ area on our roof ...
    attached is image of my view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

Oh also have a BBQ area on our roof ...
    attached is image of my view
    class man......:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Library, ya big nerd. :D

Ah no, just don't be a prick. I don't want to generalize, but having spent 5 years in two different colleges, I always found the library staff to be pompus ****.

:)Nah, it is a public library. Great place to work too, brand new building. Still figuring out all the new rooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

In my old job we had a pool table, tv and dvd player in the staff room. Sometimes the lads took in a playstation. 'twas kinda cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Traq

We have a beer/Wine fridge every Friday

As soon as I read this I knew you were in Australia. A regular occurrence in my office too!

Edit: I could also just have looked at your location of course, would have figured it out there too!

Traq wrote: »
    As soon as I read this I knew you were in Australia. A regular occurrence in my office too!

Sucks to be them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

We also have a shower and a BBQ downstairs for a good ol' sausage sizzle.

Also have a good few hotties about the place which is a handy facility in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Now I def wanna move to Oz to work after college:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

absoloutley no facilites worth mentioning really.

because half the business is printing, we just have a really high quality printer worth about 50k that i can use whenever i want. thats about it for me really. there's feck all facilities but i love the job...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

We have an xbox 360 in the staff canteen. It's mainly used for playing dvds though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

two laptops, 8mb wireless connection, my n95, huge pizza oven, deep fryer etc with pizza on demand (lol :p)
    free coke, diet coke etc as much as you want.
    Huge Colour laser printer in office.

Only thing missing is a bed and im right at home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭The Roach

Hmm, facilities in work... well there's a gym, library, bank, 2 coffee huts (that I know of!), free tea, coffee and soft drinks, 26Mb/sec broadband (according to Speedtest.net:D), showers, and I've been told there's a dry-cleaners tucked away in here somewhere. I'm sure there's other stuff that I don't know about, but that's enough I reckon!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

we get a beer fridge every fri. I think it's an aussie thing. The shower in the office thing is normal these days, can't believe OP never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Traq wrote: »

Edit: I could also just have looked at your location of course, would have figured it out there too!

Must be a standard office thing in Oz, my office has it too. I'll cracking open my first Coopers Vintage in about 2hrs 43mins. Not that I'm clock watching or anything!

Damn Victorians and your finishing work before me

/shakes fist

Yeah but when we're queing for a taxi home your night is just getting under way!

I don't think so Melbourne is party city Perth is dead at 3 or 4!!!!

Not dead by any means. Plenty of spots still pumpin at 5am

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Plenty of spots still pumpin at 5am

there's definately scope for a sister or mother joke to be inserted here...

Lol yeah that one sat up nicely for a volley alright!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Not dead by any means. Plenty of spots still pumpin at 5am
    there's definitely scope for a sister or mother joke to be inserted here...
    I'll be still pumpin yore sister @ 5am

:p

I don't have a sister to pump :(

See THIS is exactly why we need an Australia forum. Four Aussie residents completely derailing a perfectly good AH thread!

(And there's not a single mod around to stop us! /evil laugh)

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I don't have a sister to pump :(

Well I hate to break it to you ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

A shower at work sounds like an awesome idea. Goodbye sweaty armpits :)

Employees at Samuel Adams Brewery in USA get beer while they work and beer to take home... :( I think im in the wrong field.

I'll be still pumpin yore sister @ 5am

:p

Oh yeah! I would never have thought of that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ruu wrote: »
    I always found the library staff to be pompus ****.

That's Ruu in a nutshell tbh. :rolleyes::p

Overheal wrote: »
    Employees at Samuel Adams Brewery in USA get beer while they work and beer to take home... :( I think im in the wrong field.

So they're all half cut while making it? No wonder it tastes like sh1t...

They'd have to pay me to drink Samuel Adams, it's piss. But I suppose the employees are being paid anyway so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Traq

Must be a standard office thing in Oz, my office has it too. I'll cracking open my first Coopers Vintage in about 2hrs 43mins. Not that I'm clock watching or anything!

Just saw a few cartons being dropped down to the kitchen area there now so I'll let them chill a little bit and then make my way down there. Still recovering from all the beers after the team meeting yesterday evening though!

Hair of the dog! You'll be flying in an hour! Come on weekend...

Damn right. Only 1hr and 45mins left for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭deadfingers

Yes I am also working in Sydney and I will be raiding the beer fridge in about 20 mins and having as much cheeso's as I can eat!!!!

We also have a fussball table, table tennis, tv's but no BBQ!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

...we have a water dispenser:)..... water dispenser is broked now though....i miss water dispenser......:(

Just literally found out that theres this "breakfast thing" going on out on the work floor...FREE DRINKS, i is happy now....i haz my fanta :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

last place i was in had a shower and then had a TV in the canteen, another place had a pool table and TV in the canteen, but with only 30 minutes for your break you didn't get much time.

the place I'm in now has........... fruit every week they get a load of fruit in. Oh and we're up stairs from a magazine publishers so the models come in every now and again and suddenly theres a mass exodus from our office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

The-Rigger wrote: »
    That's Ruu in a nutshell tbh. :rolleyes::p
    Ruu is a Watcher. Like Giles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

We have a shower here, it can be very handy :) I'd like some of those pods i've seen in google offices, they look cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

i work in Dublin and we have the beer fridge thing, have to wait hours yet though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Free beer on a Friday, A gym, Games room which has an xbox, wii, ps2, ps3 and a drum kit. Pool tables as well. Massage Room.

I'm sure there is more but i can't think of anything else at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

As many mobile phones as I can carry. Getting a bit sick of them at this stage. I only want one that works.:D

Thats a lot to ask in here though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Prendy, what time do they open the fridge / it's acceptable to start beering?

We have a gym in my place with showers obviously. Can't think of anything else too cool, bar lots of free drink whenever we go out on staff parties.

Edit: Those with free beer in Dublin, I trust ye work for G****e? Never heard of any other companies doing this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

When I was about 18 (long time ago) I worked in Virgin Megastore in Dub. They has a class canteen with pool table, games machine and all the coke(a-cola) you could drink. Very little work got done.
    Once worked for Citibank in Dub too. They had all that you'd expect form big US bank, gym, Starbucks, big canteen, all that jazz. Used the gym once I think. Was very weird working out in front of the boss. Reckon all the info from gym was fed into central computer to see how fit the staff were! And no, I'm not paranoid. Is it was all an effort to keep people at work longer?

Free fruit on Mondays, all the tea/coffee I can drink, and almost completely unblocked internet (bar youtube).

There's a big plasma screen in the canteen but it's for work messages and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Only about 40 people working in my place, so these are individual luxuries :)
    The girls in the canteen will cook whatever you ask, The lunch menu is emailed to everybody at 11.

Showers, the people in the canteen will take phone orders and drop food up to your desk, theres a 150 acre well maintained garden, with forests, neat grass, etc outside, which is great to read a book during lunch(and take a 2 hours lunch if its sunny!).

I know its not a facility, but theres a beach down the road which is great for lunchin too.

Few plasma screens for watching the networks, but also play dvds

Rest room with a bed, and even an extra heavy curtains if the light is hurting your eyes >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

prendy wrote: »
    i work in Dublin and we have the beer fridge thing, have to wait hours yet though!
    Where do I send my CV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Naos wrote: »
    Prendy, what time do they open the fridge / it's acceptable to start beering?

We have a gym in my place with showers obviously. Can't think of anything else too cool, bar lots of free drink whenever we go out on staff parties.

Edit: Those with free beer in Dublin, I trust ye work for G****e? Never heard of any other companies doing this...

its not google, dont wanna name them coz i should be working!

its acceptable after half 4 but on Fridays if theres not much to do it could be earlier. We also have all the soft drinks we want all the time but thats about it. would love if we had a gym!