Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CIT inferiority complex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Shinji Ikari

Ah this thread is too serious.....

What do you get when you walk through the CIT campus?....anyone?

Feces on the soles of your shoes.Lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 owenbjj

The simple fact that a ucc student started this thread confirms that its ucc students who have the issue no? I dont know, Im just a simple student from cit now, so one of ye ucc people better explain this whole situation to me.... i just cannot understand all these bigs words..

*Notice how all the replys to this comment will be from ucc students who are going to tell me how ucc is better and cit is'nt any good and blah de blah de blah....

It gets boring after a while u know, so resist the temptation to reply!

If one person replys to this comment it proves that its ucc people who have these issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

owenbjj wrote: »
    If one person replys to this comment it proves that its ucc people who have these issues
    You posted in the UCC forum. It's kind of expected that the majority of people who post here are in, or planning on going to, UCC. What brings you here, by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Did you search for this thread? Was the thought of a rivalry niggling at you so much that you looked for past threads? Or do you always dig up threads from months and months ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,150 ✭✭✭✭bnt

This isn't all - owenbjj had some kind of meltdown last night, and got himself banned after posting this to the UCD forum. Not a happy bunny. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

I was a student at ucc and i find alot of people to be nice. Especially the people in my course. Very nice down to earth people. BUT

Is this not a superiority complex?
    So what if they say these things. Is it not being fuelled by the countless CIT jokes. Everyone has a right to an education and if some people dont get enough points in a few tests, that I consider to be an unfair assesment of a tennagers inteligence, at least they are still striving on to try and recieve a third level education.
    There are a kind out there who really look down on the IT crowd ( generalisation here and not taking a dig at the boardsies ) just because they hold that ucc student card.
    What is everyones opinion on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

People seem to think that just because points is higher - they getting a better education or that the course is more difficult.

I've just completed Software Dev/Networking degree in CIT and I know a lot of people from UCC courses, and we go into a lot more detail especially in telecommunications/networking sides of things yet you only need 260 points to get into it. Obviously they probably cover things we don't either - it goes both ways

Both colleges are good, depends what you doing. Some better off in CIT some better of in UCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Came across this thread from perusing the UCD forum after the thread started by that owen chap. Really what matters is how useful is your degree abroad and how well known is your university/college etc... CIT has weaknesses and so does UCC, however what matters is status abroad given the current economic situation. Personally, I would rather a degree from UCC, because it's a university, CIT probably has a better teaching environment etc... but try explaining this in an interview with a recruitment firm in Canada, New Zealand etc... that you have degree but it's not from a university per se. I think, if you go to an IT, great, fair play (without trying to sound too condescending), but to back up your qualifications, a postgrad of sorts might be useful from one of the universities, and the same applies vice versa (i.e. I remember reading about a poster discussing the quality of his DIT Masters was on a much higher par than the MA he/she did in UCD regarding taught element and the level of complexity it entailed). So really, it's not a question of which is better UCC or CIT, but really, we're on a small island, we have a load of third level institutions, we should be collaborating more than competing with one another because at the end of the day we're all going to end up working abroad and Kiwis and Canucks don't really care about our third level education system but more of; do we have comparable university standard degrees and can we do the job. On a further note, I must say the Quad in UCC is a really nice example of elegant Victorian landscaping unapparent in good ole Belfield, bravo folks, bravo!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

Cork wrote: »

The site is too small for UCC.

Buying up houses and grayhound tracks etc for expansion makes the whole campus haphazard.

The airconditioning in the boole is crap. I used alwys dooze off during lectures there. Don't even get me started on the Keane Building.

UCC is ok. Did a post grad there.

No experience of CIT. But If I am doing further post grad work - I'll probably go with the Institutes of Technology option as they seem less knotted up in academia.

:confused: and acamedia is a bad thing? wow. you are the fussiest person in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭CommieBaz

Academia isn't for everyone, ya know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Guys, guys can't you all just get along? And prepare for a life of servitude to TCD alumni!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

CommieBaz wrote: »
    Academia isn't for everyone, ya know.

i didnt say it was. just said it wasnt a bad thing. there is a diffference.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

I was in CIT for awhile on block release (so even CIT students looked down on us :( ). Nice enough place, lecturers were sound. Grub was sh1te.

Been in UCC a bit just for a wander about, looks alot nicer but i mean isnt a class room a class room at the end of the day? The lecturers are what makes the college/University.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

The grub isn't that bad - apparently it better than UCCs (Coming from UCC friends that come playing poker :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭diego ribas

UCC is full of Pres and Christians, Dubarry clogged, MacWilliams bagged meat heads who have watched one too many episodes of Skins sadribery-1.gif

CIT is full of tracksuit wearing, FAS headed greasy monkeys who drive ****ty boy racer cars that stink up the canteen at breakfast.

Take your pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭deisedude

UCC is full of Pres and Christians, Dubarry clogged, MacWilliams bagged meat heads who have watched one too many episodes of Skins sadribery-1.gif

CIT is full of tracksuit wearing, FAS headed greasy monkeys who drive ****ty boy racer cars that stink up the canteen at breakfast.

Take your pick.

Ah seriously why do people keep dragging this old topic up. Let sleeping dogs lie FFS

deisedude wrote: »
    Ah seriously why do people keep dragging this old topic up. Let sleeping dogs lie FFS

Maybe because it of interest to them perhaps?

If it really grates you then maybe you could stay out of the thread if that isn't too difficult. Christ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

but i mean isnt a class room a class room at the end of the day? The lecturers are what makes the college/University

I like this. Quite true.

Take your pick.

Wtf? I'm in UCC. I don't wear 'Dubarrys' or have ever watch 'Skins'. I've no idea what you're talking about either. There's two wide sweeping general statements that don't cover every student in either insitution.
    deisedude wrote: »

Agreed. But I had to get my two cents in. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Soulja boy

I've always been of the opinion that if you were to do the friends/seinfeld thing with CIT and UCC

UCC would be seinfeld and CIT would be HBOs Oz

I like this. Quite true.

Wtf? I'm in UCC. I don't wear 'Dubarrys' or have ever watch 'Skins'. I've no idea what you're talking about either. There's two wide sweeping general statements that don't cover every student in either insitution.

Agreed. But I had to get my two cents in. ;)

If i was to cover every student I would be here all day, thats why sweeping generalizations work for meblink2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

If i was to cover every student I would be here all day, thats why sweeping generalizations work for meblink2.gif

How mature. Whatever floats your boat in that case so. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

I think he was taking the piss!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

I remember being in Fás on block release and fighting with the CIT students for taking up tables in our canteen, cheap ****ers! And the amount of traffic they cause by driving in when it un-neccasary just to show off their ****ty boy racer mobile.
    I also remember fighting with UCC students because I used to do the gardens there and they're filthy ****ers dropping litter down in front of ya.
    And they'd barely engage you in conversation.
    I have a friend in CIT and he has an inferiority complex; "UCC students drive in everyday in the Mercedes that their daddy bought them and all their accomadation is paid for, rich snobby pricks"
    Despite that you can go to any college in the country regardless of your financial situation.
    In short, students are a silly bunch, some have inferiority complexes other superiority complexes, I however, look down my nose at all of you smelly ****ers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

I have an inferiority complex of blond hair girls with fat man pants , and cut their words like knackers, i am very scared of those type of girls in society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Same As

D.R cowboy wrote: »
    I have an inferiority complex of blond hair girls with fat man pants , and cut their words like knackers, i am very scared of those type of girls in society

Space Cadet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

So you've decided you don't like them, is it? Glad to see you've cleared that up...

yerayeah wrote: »
    So you've decided you don't like them, is it? Glad to see you've cleared that up...

he secretly lusts for em. :pac:
    its like when we where young and "didnt" like girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

he secretly lusts for em. :pac:
    its like when we where young and "didnt" like girls.

What an obscure statement to make sunny boy, I quietly stated I don't like them under any circumstance's so why make such a delirious and deranged comment I say I say its better to speak rightly that to speak at all boy

and you called my post obscure :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Soulja boy

The stuff that really stands out as distinctions between the places are 1) that cit girls on a whole are definitely a lot rougher around the edges, but not without its lookers.
    And 2) That the pastime of choice for the academic staff of ucc is musical beds. I guess that because CIT is smaller the lecturers have to be more descrite about which other members of staff they are seeing because news should theoretically travel faster around the place.