Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

His ex wants back now he's confused

• 08-07-2008 1:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Long time reader first time poster ! Just so confused myself today.
    Have been seeing a really great guy for the past few months , he asked me out and we were getting on really well, and really at ease and cosy with each other. Not so long ago he even said he was falling hard for me and I never doubted his motivation for being with me.
    I knew when he met me first he had recently finished with his girlfriend of 3 years, it was mutal and he told me there was no feelings there at all. She had cheated on him and when they tried to patch things up it just didnt work out. I always had a hunch though that he was hiding some feelings he really had about it her. Im a level headed enough girl and I wouldnt get rattled too easily but things like a Valentines card kept in the car and a reluctance really to be seen out with me in her local area on nights he probably thought she could be around . Im so sorry Im rambling but I just need to paint the picture.

So the proverbial $%& hit the fan on a night out recently . . Long story short. He was due to meet me and my friends. in a pub later on in the night. Never showed up and was totally out of character. I texted him to say we were heading to the club. Seen him in the nightclub and he practically ignores me . most the night he is in a serious conversation with a friend. Im too stunned to brazen it out and tackle him there and then so I do nothing but watch on like a fool. I see the ex lurking about giving me daggers and put two and two together.
    As I turn to leave he follows me out and I ask whats the story ? He said he had met the ex earlier and she was in bits, crying and saying she wanted him back and didnt know what she had till it was gone and now his head was fried. He started some sentence about your a lovely girl but there is history there.... I snapped at that point and said how could he spend the night before with me and now he is saying this. I reacted badly I admit but drink involved too. He was really calm and said he isnt playing games just it upset him to see her so in bits.
    The next day I didnt know really what to think , I told him to go sort his head out and ask himself why was he so rattled. Is there something still brewing there ?what got me the most was how he handled it in the club. He basically hid away and left me standing like a royal eggit. his reasoning for that was he didnt want to rub it in her face.

Texting a little since and he has told me he has been happy to bits with me and knows the ex is only jealous to see him happy but and here is the crunch .....he still needs a few days to work out the confusion? Am I crazy to believe that ? Should I run now or take him at his word. I came into this with no baggage...we all have pasts but u leave them at the door. I feel hurt and let down will it just happen again.
    So sorry this is an essay any help really appreciated so I cant get perspective on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

he still needs a few days to work out the confusion?
    I'm guessing his brain hurts a lot at the moment, give him a few days, but no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

In fairness you sound like an amazingly cool chick and you played the whole situation really well if you ask me. I guess the main question I would be asking, is how long has this guy been out of the relationship?. Are we talking a few weeks here?. If so you are probably going to have to understand that he may still have some feelings for his ex. Now that doesn't mean that he wants to get back with her, just that he needs some time to get over it.

I would give him the benefit of the doubt for the moment until you hear a bit more. In fairness to him when you asked him what the story was he told you there and then, I'm not saying his actions were right.

Give it a fews days, talk with him. Tell him that your not going to be playing 2nd fiddle to anyone and that if he still is getting over his relationship, or still has feelings for his ex that he shouldn't be looking to get into a new relationship until his head is sorted.

Likewise for you!. I wouldn't be looking to get into something with someone who has just broken up with a girlfriend of 3 years. Play it cool like you have been, but don't be anyone's rebound....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

if he was into you this stuff would not be an issue. Seriously you can do better than all this drama. Jesus christ I'm glad I'm single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭SnowMonkey

its his ex gf of 3 year's there's a bit of a bond there. Does'nt mean hes going to run back to her.... It would be difficult for any man and if he remaind calm then it shows he was'nt doing anything that bad???
    granted he gave you a bit of a run around but it apears pretty inocent. Not saying it is.

I think you should give hima break, and let him get his noodle straight...

yep and you handeled it very cool.....Very Cool INdeed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    if he was into you this stuff would not be an issue. Seriously you can do better than all this drama. Jesus christ I'm glad I'm single.

Amen to this! Especially the happiness about being single part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Remind him that she cheated on him after being with him for three years and that if someone is willing to do that after such a long time, they're going to do it again in the future. All the ex seems to be doing is trying to destroy what you have out of jealousy and to satisfy her herself/her loneliness. Personally I think you should confront her about it and try to get her to back off.
    If he is to continue with you though, I'd ensure he cuts contact with her immediately and tell him it's over if you find out he's been texting/talking to her since it's so apparent there's still issues there and that he hasn't fully gotten over her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Actually, no, he's not over her so don't let yourself be messed around. Tell him that he's obviously not over her and to get back to you when he is, but you won't wait around forever and then let him go sort himself out. If he comes back, make sure he understands he can't be in touch with her anymore, if he doesn't then it's his loss and he'll probably end up being screwed over again by her.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

He started some sentence about your a lovely girl but there is history there.... I snapped at that point and said how could he spend the night before with me and now he is saying this. I reacted badly I admit but drink involved too. He was really calm and said he isnt playing games just it upset him to see her so in bits.

Ya right.
    The way I see it, you're the rebound girl.
    If it was totally over between them, then his head wouldn't be 'fried' over this. If he was mad into you, then she wouldn't matter to the extent she clearly does.
    Me, I'd just dump him and move on with my life. I'm nobodies second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Ya right.
    The way I see it, you're the rebound girl.
    If it was totally over between them, then his head wouldn't be 'fried' over this. If he was mad into you, then she wouldn't matter to the extent she clearly does.
    Me, I'd just dump him and move on with my life. I'm nobodies second.

Disagree, three years is a long time to spend with someone and obviously there's still going to be a connection there. That doesn't mean he doesn't care more about the OP. Ultimatums are best left to the side in personal relationships, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭DAWNRISER

Please Please Please do not fall for this!!!

If this guy had any respect for you he wouldnt do his "thinking" in a public nightclub.
    He could very easily have met the ex and talked to her..... found out how he felt then come to you with it.... he sounds like a child who is playing games......
    So unless he's 15 I would get him out of your life....
    This is a no brainer.... your not going to spend the rest of your life with this guy. He has been disshonest and untrustyworthy this far into the relationship... why waste your time on him....
    MOVE ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    There'll be tears.... but at least you will have made the choice... dont wait for him to come back and choose you only to spend forever more feeling like he has "her " on his mind.... She'll always be there..... you know that.

Ultimatums are best left to the side in personal relationships, imo.

You obviously didn't understand my comment.
    That wasn't an ultimatum, that was me stating that I would have no interest whatsoever in being in a relationship with someone who clearly wasn't over their ex. I would walk away from a situation like that.

DAWNRISER wrote: »
    If this guy had any respect for you he wouldnt do his "thinking" in a public nightclub.

That's rubbish, as a guy I've some of my deepest conversations with my best mates when drunk in a nightclub, not everyone communicates over a cup of coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Personally i would agree with B.

OP don't demonise the fella for it but do you really want to be in a relationship that can be shook so easily?

If your not looking for a long term investment i suppose there is no issue.

You obviously didn't understand my comment.
    That wasn't an ultimatum, that was me stating that I would have no interest whatsoever in being in a relationship with someone who clearly wasn't over their ex. I would walk away from a situation like that.

Perhaps, but it's rarely as clear cut as that. Maybe the OP shouldn't have gone for a guy just out of a relationship, maybe he shouldn't have gone with her, but what's done is done, she has feelings for him, he has feelings for her. To walk away could just leave everyone feeling as broken hearted as the ex. Whereas if she waits rather than walking away, the couple have a good chance of being together. Why not hear him out properly and then decide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I'm with Amazo here, even years after people have broken up, having one party come back into the picture with the kind of declarations she has made would shake up quite a few people. Maybe the majority of the people posting here are different but most of my friends in real life would agree with me. If you've gone out with someone, there was a bond, and there's always a wonder "what would have happened" if they had stayed together.

OP, i'd give the guy maybe a day or two, this has probably shaken him up a bit and released quite a few old memories an emotions that she KNOWS she can trigger.

RedXIV wrote: »
    I'm with Amazo here, even years after people have broken up, having one party come back into the picture with the kind of declarations she has made would shake up quite a few people.

See, I don't get why it woud shake you up. If the relationship is over and you have moved on then it may surprise you to have them come back later, but it certainly shouldn't even slightly make you wonder 'what if' if you have totally move on from them and understood why ye broke up in the first place.

That's the point I'm making here. He hasn't moved on. He still is wondering 'what if', that means he is on the rebound and telling the OP to hang on in there in the hope he can pick her means he actually has to decide. He shouldn't even have to think about that imo. If his head was together, he should know.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd have to agree with RedXIV. Of course if you've been with someone for that length of time, they are an important part of your life, or at least your past and those triggers can be powerful.

What adds weight to it is the small gap between her and you. That's where the rebound bit comes in. He wasn't over her, or at least he was dragging part of the past into your relationship. Now everyone drags something forward. That's even a good thing. Especially when it's realising that you need to be treated a certain way, so comparing old with new in that case is good. I suspect as he does that there is unfinished business there. Even if it's simple closure.

You did the right things though. Let him sort his mind out. Better he does that than make a snap decision to be with you that he regrets down the line, which ends up hurting you.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

That's the point I'm making here. He hasn't moved on. He still is wondering 'what if', that means he is on the rebound

Not necessarily, i'm 250% sure i'm not on a rebound, but my thoughts have fluttered back on occasion to "what ifs". Admittedly, it's never affected a relationship of mine but i can see where other people can come from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I agree with Beruthiel.

He stood her up, then ignored her in the club and afterwards told her about the ex's declaration.

IMO, he's not over her and the OP is the rebound.

Sometimes things have to be back and white - if he had any feelings for the OP then he wouldn't have acted like that - standing her up and ignoring her.
    If he was conflicted but had feelings for the OP he should have dealt with this situation without the dramatics.

I had a situation where this ex I used to be mad about contacted me out of the blue when I was seeing my current bf only about 3 months. It was still at that 'just seeing each other' stage. I never mentioned it to him, I just dealt with it and told the ex I wasn't interested, I'd moved on.

It's not really the idea that he is conflicted which is the problem. The problem is how he's handled the situation. It's all high dramatics and it's got the OP waiting. IMO, if the OP factored in his life at all he wouldn't have done this so the fact that he has speaks volumes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

First off OP, sorry to hear about this, your head must be fried. As for advice, I know it wont be what you want to hear, but if I were you I'd let this man go and no two ways about it. I wouldn’t give another second of my time to any man who'd actively ignore me in a nightclub or anywhere else just because his ex was skulking around.

He hasn’t been honest about his feelings from the start. He said there were no feelings left; well now come on! There were enough feelings left for him to publicly prioritise her feelings over yours, and for me personally, that'd be all I needed to know.

Dont forget that if you accept this you are setting a precident for what's acceptable; that is to say, you're communicating to him that second place is good enough for you. I'd say dont be in any hurry to communicte that unless you're willing to put up with more of the same, because more of the same is exactly what you'll get. So my advice would be - you can certainly do better, so get rid and make way for the man who's not about to put you in second place behind his ex, or anyone else.

See, I don't get why it woud shake you up. If the relationship is over and you have moved on then it may surprise you to have them come back later, but it certainly shouldn't even slightly make you wonder 'what if' if you have totally move on from them and understood why ye broke up in the first place.

That's the point I'm making here. He hasn't moved on. He still is wondering 'what if', that means he is on the rebound and telling the OP to hang on in there in the hope he can pick her means he actually has to decide. He shouldn't even have to think about that imo. If his head was together, he should know.

Do you know how men's minds work?

I'm pretty sure most people are susceptible to a case of the "what-if's", it's not a reason to leave a relationship.

Maybe not, but getting stood-up and publicly ignored sure is.

Nope. But I'm damn sure how mine works.

No it's not.
    But the below is:
    He was due to meet me and my friends. in a pub later on in the night. Never showed up and was totally out of character.
    Seen him in the nightclub and he practically ignores me
    He said he had met the ex earlier and she was in bits, crying and saying she wanted him back and didnt know what she had till it was gone and now his head was fried.
    He started some sentence about your a lovely girl but there is history there
    He basically hid away and left me standing like a royal eggit. his reasoning for that was he didnt want to rub it in her face.

Now that last comment is the cruncher as far as I'm concerned.
    He's willing to treat his present g/f like she's a piece of sh!t on his shoe in order that the ex isn't upset.
    The OP should hear the alarm bells ringing on that one from miles away.

seahorse wrote: »
    Maybe not, but getting stood-up and publicly ignored sure is.

Again, just speaking from personal experience, if I have a big issue to discuss with a close mate, it can be best done over pints in a pub/club. I can do it sober, but generally it's done drunk. I'm pretty sure it's the same for 90% of Irish men. It may have seemed that he was ignoring her, he wasn't, chances are he was discussing her with his best friend for several hours, perhaps even in detail. Ok, it's not the same as spending every second by her side, but don't let that fool you into thinking she wasn't a big part of his night.

Course in an ideal world, we'd be all modern and discuss these things in a more reasonable way, but just going by most Irishmen I know, we aren't there yet. It's painfully obvious most of the women on this thread have never been a drunk, confused Irishman...

Like I said earlier, walking away now only guarantees everyone leaves broken hearted, whereas hearing him out could easily lead to the OP and the boyfriend staying together.

I understand what you're saying, and I think you do have a good, optimistic point, but most of the women here (including myself) are worried about exactly what sort of a prize she'd get for hearing him out. The best case scenario is she'd be with a man who prioritizes his lying, cheating ex's feelings over hers, can't discuss emotions in a mature way, and has ditched her, only to embarrass her later. How is that something to hold out for?

PillyPen wrote: »
    I understand what you're saying, and I think you do have a good, optimistic point, but most of the women here (including myself) are worried about exactly what sort of a prize she'd get for hearing him out. The best case scenario is she'd be with a man who prioritizes his lying, cheating ex's feelings over hers, can't discuss emotions in a mature way, and has ditched her, only to embarrass her later. How is that something to hold out for?

We don't know the guy, we don't know how good the relationship is. It's up to her to determine whether it's worth it or not, I'm just pointing out thati t's not uncommon to still have feelings, respect etc for someone you spent three years with. These feelings aren't necessarily stronger than the ones he has for the OP, infact, considering how the b/f and his ex drifted apart it's more likely to be feelings for a friends more than anything romantic.

If we're talking about discussing emotions in mature way, both sexes are guilty of poor communication. He's not unique in that regard, and it's not a hanging offence imo.

Did he know she felt so bad in the club, or was the guy supposed to read her mind? He was having an in-depth discussion with a mate, happens on loads of nights out, doesn't mean he's ignoring her or aware he's making her feel bad. Again, she felt embarrassed, that doesn't mean he intended to embarrass her, or realised he had.

It's up to the OP to decide whether he's worth it, I'm trying to point out what she experienced, and what he was aware she was experiencing are two very different things, and if she walks away without hearing him out, she only guarantees it will end badly, whereas if she hears him out, it may work out.

I, like most men, am not a mind reader, we're hearing what she felt happened, why not let him explain what his take on it was before shutting the door on the relationship.

Fair enough that men aren't mind readers, but I think any reasonably sensitive person with respect for another would recognize that ignoring one's current gf, especially while the ex is lurking around, is a pretty hurtful thing to do. If he can't see that, it isn't because he's not a psychic, but because he's an insensitive clod.

And the OP really can only decide for herself what she should do, but she obviously has doubts or she wouldn't be searching for advice on boards.

We don't know enough here to label the guy an insensitive clod, and you have to remember, what may affect you ladies harshly, wouldn't even cross the mind of plenty of guys. I've kept the peace between all my ex's and only in one case did something like this happen, when an ex of mine came up to have a quick chat in a club, the girl i was seeing at the time got very jealous, very hands on, and was loud enough in her displeasure at my ex's presence. Now i still brought the girl i was seeing home, but at that instance, i was more sympathetic towards my ex who had done nothing wrong. And i probably came across as looking out for my ex instead of this new girl. With this info, though, am i still wrong to have ignored the other girl's attempt to disrupt the night?

While we're all only human, remember, there is a difference how men and women think. Would the OP prefer to be going out with a guy who's approach to a girl sobbing whom he had spent 3 years of his life with to scornfully turn her aside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Give him a little space... But put a time limit on how long you're prepared to wait around.

This way you will be giving him time but also putting a bit of self esteem in to the mix. As I suspect that your ego is a little bruised too.

Be understanding but firm. Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 katie08

I am sorry to hear about your situation, and in my opinion I think he is not dealing with his ex girlfriend problem cause it suits him not to at the moment.... he has you on one hand (your district nightclub) and the ex g/f on the other (her district nightclubs) so why would he need to choose?

The same way he is avoiding anywhere his ex g/f might hang out, he is avoiding the problem of finishing it with her.

I would find someone who adores you & is truly there for you... and believe me they are out there, ive found one :)

Lifes too short for cat & mouse games...

Again, just speaking from personal experience, if I have a big issue to discuss with a close mate, it can be best done over pints in a pub/club. I can do it sober, but generally it's done drunk. I'm pretty sure it's the same for 90% of Irish men. It may have seemed that he was ignoring her, he wasn't, chances are he was discussing her with his best friend for several hours, perhaps even in detail. Ok, it's not the same as spending every second by her side, but don't let that fool you into thinking she wasn't a big part of his night.

Course in an ideal world, we'd be all modern and discuss these things in a more reasonable way, but just going by most Irishmen I know, we aren't there yet. It's painfully obvious most of the women on this thread have never been a drunk, confused Irishman...

If he'd a big issue to discuss with a mate he should have had the decency to cancel the plans already made with his partner before he did so instead of what he did do, which was to stand her up and then blank her when she turned up at the club.

I'm happy to report nowhere near 90% of Irish men behave like this. As to excusing him on the grounds of his being "a drunk confused Irishman", if a partner of mine blanked me for the sake of his ex’s tender sensibilities I’d just walk, and if I thought he needed to prop himself up with drink in order to work through his issues, I’d scrap the walking – I’d run.

If he'd a big issue to discuss with a mate he should have had the decency to cancel the plans already made with his partner before he did so instead of what he did do, which was to stand her up and then blank her when she turned up at the club.

I'm happy to report nowhere near 90% of Irish men behave like this. As to excusing him on the grounds of his being "a drunk confused Irishman", if a partner of mine blanked me for the sake of his ex’s tender sensibilities I’d just walk, and if I thought he needed to prop himself up with drink in order to work through his issues, I’d scrap the walking – I’d run.

Sigh, you're misconstruing what I'm saying. Course, I could be wrong and maybe my set of friends are just unusually uncommunicative when sober, but I reckon if you started a poll in After Hours, a lot of the guys would concede that drunk talk can be the best to sort through some issues.

It's easy to post here and say "run away etc" but in real life leaving a relationship isn't that easy. People seem to forget that she actually likes this guy, and he likes her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 katie08

People seem to forget that she actually likes this guy, and he likes her.

he likes her so much he stood her up:eek:

katie08 wrote: »
    he likes her so much he stood her up:eek:

Yeah, where would she be if he REALLY liked her? Guess he'd start forgetting to call too...:rolleyes:

Sigh, you're misconstruing what I'm saying. Course, I could be wrong and maybe my set of friends are just unusually uncommunicative when sober, but I reckon if you started a poll in After Hours, a lot of the guys would concede that drunk talk can be the best to sort through some issues.

It's easy to post here and say "run away etc" but in real life leaving a relationship isn't that easy. People seem to forget that she actually likes this guy, and he likes her.

I'm not deliberately misconstruing what you're saying Amazo, maybe I'm missing something. Look, we all enjoy the odd drink-fuelled natter, but that's different to my mind than using drink to sort through an important issue. When I've an important issue to get sorted, regardless what it is, it gets sorted sober, cause that's when I've got my head together and can give it the calculated attention it deserves.

It seems to me you're missing some of the most important points here; why would he have been sorting this through with his friend to begin with? It didn’t concern his friend; it concerned his partner. Why would he have stood his gf up; why didn’t he have the decency to tell her the plans were cancelled? And when she did turn up, why blank her and then excuse himself by offering the insulting excuse that he didn’t want to offend his ex????? That's the nub of the issue for most of the women responding on the negative on his thread, including the OP as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Affairs of the heart are far from black and white. There is obviously a lot of history with his ex girlfriend and it is understandably very confusing for him for her to say she wants him back. Give him some time with no contact to sort his head out, a week or so maybe. After that if he still hadn't I think I’d be getting ready to walk away.

Hope things work out for you.

A.B.

I'm not deliberately misconstruing what you're saying Amazo, maybe I'm missing something. Look, we all enjoy the odd drink-fuelled natter, but that's different to my mind than using drink to sort through an important issue. When I've an important issue to get sorted, regardless what it is, it gets sorted sober, cause that's when I've got my head together and can give it the calculated attention it deserves.

It seems to me you're missing some of the most important points here; why would he have been sorting this through with his friend to begin with? It didn’t concern his friend; it concerned his partner. Why would he have stood his gf up; why didn’t he have the decency to tell her the plans were cancelled? And when she did turn up, why blank her and then excuse himself by offering the insulting excuse that he didn’t want to offend his ex????? That's the nub of the issue for most of the women responding on the negative on his thread, including the OP as far as I can see.

Is he not sorting out sober now?

I guess, like most people, he was discussing what had happened with his friend and how best to proceed. It seems he finished on good terms with the ex and oddly enough, after three years, mightn't enjoy the idea of losing her as a friend. I mean I can speculate as you can on this, but we don't know him. The OP does, it her to decide what's best, to suggest cutting and running without even hearing him out seem to me, to be verging on cruel.

As I already said, what he knew the OP felt, and what she actually felt are two different things. We know she felt ignored and embarrassed, but did or does he?

cutting and running without even hearing him out seem to me, to be verging on cruel.

Would you not see his standing her up and then ignoring her in public cruel then? (Remember that the ex was on the premises cutting daggers at the OP with her eyes while all this was going on.) - It was cruel and insulting in my book and I think the OP has reacted very well under the circumstances. He followed her out of the club if you remember from the original post; if I were seeing him that would have been the moment he'd have found himself single and free to pursue the ex or anyone else who took his fancy, because I'd have dumped him on the spot.
    As I already said, what he knew the OP felt, and what she actually felt are two different things. We know she felt ignored and embarrassed, but did or does he?

I don’t see how he couldn’t know, unless he was totally insensible with the booze (not that that'd score him any points with me!) How insensitive can a person be? Would you expect your partner to know you felt ignored and embarrassed in that situation? I know I would.

I’d be interested to know what way things have panned out or what decision you’ve come to, if you’re still reading GlitterySparkle.

Would you not see his standing her up and then ignoring her in public cruel then? (Remember that the ex was on the premises cutting daggers at the OP with her eyes while all this was going on.) - It was cruel and insulting in my book and I think the OP has reacted very well under the circumstances. He followed her out of the club if you remember from the original post; if I were seeing him that would have been the moment he'd have found himself single and free to pursue the ex or anyone else who took his fancy, because I'd have dumped him on the spot.

I don’t see how he couldn’t know, unless he was totally insensible with the booze (not that that'd score him any points with me!) How insensitive can a person be? Would you expect your partner to know you felt ignored and embarrassed in that situation? I know I would.

I’d be interested to know what way things have panned out or what decision you’ve come to, if you’re still reading GlitterySparkle.

I wouldn't call it cruel, I'd consider it poor form, but not cruel.

You just don't get the fact that men aren't mind readers and we're not necessarily looking around to see how our ex and our current girlfriends are interacting either. We just don't operate on that level and if women could accept that fact, the war of the sexes could be over by dinnertime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Tanks so much for all the kind advice and comments. I feel alot stronger now today and not as much in a muddle.
    Thinking about a few of the crunchers, when I felt that there was something up in the club my instinct was, and Im like this anyway was to pull back. So I let him chat to his friends, I didnt approach him and tried to natter away to other people and laugh and look like I was alright even though I wasnt. In a way I suppose he may not have even realised or sensed there was something wrong.
    I also didnt listen to him when he started to explain why he had not showed in the pub just when I heard the line.... ex in bits.... jumped right in and said I knew it and did he want to get back to her and ranted on about if he had something to say serve it straight up and dont be beating around the bush. He didnt loose it and I think he was trying to say listen there is history there etc etc. . .

So maybe in someways I didnt handle the situation as well as I wished and without drink Im usual alot more logical.

Anyways it still does not negate the fact that I do feel there is unfinished business there with the ex. I am leaving him be to sort out his feelings and have asked him to be 110% sure. I knew him around six months before we started seeing each other and from what I gather he had split up with your one about one month before we hooked up. He is a soft hearted guy and affectionate and I think it would get to him that she was devastated. Im not making excuses because it still leaves me in limbo. And you guys are right second fiddle is no place to be. Thanks again your comments help

just my humble opinion but i would just cut him out right now, not answer his texts or phone calls, what he did in the club i swear if he was my man i would have left him there, if he dosen't know what he wants from the ex at this stage with their history too bad. he is flattered by all this attention he is getting now, from the op and the ex, limit his options. send him text that your not hanging around while he scratches his crystal balls and decides what he wants. Time to decide now and then thats it dont text him again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Well in fairness there's not being a mind reader and then there's just not giving a toss.

OP it sounds like he was sorting himself out that night and was more than a bit inconsiderate of you and how you'd feel. And it sounds like he needs a few days to see how things pan out with this other girl. Cut him loose, you can do better for yourself. Obviously he's not here posting so we have to take your side of things as being exactly how it happened and not try to read his mind eh Amazo?:p

Amazo, we may agree to disagree here. You find that sort of behaviour acceptable; I dont.
    Anyways it still does not negate the fact that I do feel there is unfinished business there with the ex. I am leaving him be to sort out his feelings and have asked him to be 110% sure. I knew him around six months before we started seeing each other and from what I gather he had split up with your one about one month before we hooked up. He is a soft hearted guy and affectionate and I think it would get to him that she was devastated. Im not making excuses because it still leaves me in limbo. And you guys are right second fiddle is no place to be. Thanks again your comments help

Well I'm glad to hear you're getting something of a handle on the situation OP. I've already told you what I would do and since you're not of a mind to do that I'd advise you to get this wrapped up pretty fast. i.e. I wouldnt let him have me sitting around "while he scratches his crystal balls", as a pp said, (lol, that quote was so funny - was that last word a typo rosiemay? If not it was pure genuis!:D)

Karen_* wrote: »
    Well in fairness there's not being a mind reader and then there's just not giving a toss.

OP it sounds like he was sorting himself out that night and was more than a bit inconsiderate of you and how you'd feel. And it sounds like he needs a few days to see how things pan out with this other girl. Cut him loose, you can do better for yourself. Obviously he's not here posting so we have to take your side of things as being exactly how it happened and not try to read his mind eh Amazo?:p

I dunno, the guys sounds like the decent sort from the OP's last post. She points out she didn't approach him in the club either and that she lost it a bit when he mentioned the ex. Maybe he was inconsiderate, but that's hardly worth dumping a guy over.

So I let him chat to his friends, I didnt approach him and tried to natter away to other people and laugh and look like I was alright even though I wasnt. In a way I suppose he may not have even realised or sensed there was something wrong.

I also didnt listen to him when he started to explain why he had not showed in the pub just when I heard the line.... ex in bits.... jumped right in and said I knew it and did he want to get back to her and ranted on about if he had something to say serve it straight up and dont be beating around the bush. He didnt loose it and I think he was trying to say listen there is history there etc etc. . .

Ok, he sees you looking like you're having a great time in the club and you don't appraoch him, and he's supposed to guess there's something wrong? Does that actually sound like a good plan to women because I reckon most guys would think, "hey, she's having a good time" and not "she's masking her inner feelings but using mind-reading I have a greater insight into her inner turmoil"

then he tries to explain what happened and you lose it?

Is it possible, considering those two examples, the communication problem is on your side, and not your b/f's?

Sorry but she was just making excuses for him in the last post as we all would in this situation, trying to show a total bunch of strangers thats he is usually a nice guy, but really what he did was disgusting, if he is older than 12 there is no excuse for it.

your in limbo now as you said, so give him that push. Tell him you have better things to be doing that waiting around for him to sort himself out. then leave him see he thinks you will be there in the background waiting for him, so as things stand now whats stopping him going off and sleeping with her while he is thinking of his next move? sure your waiting there twiddiling your thumbs waiting for him sure he can have ye both why not, no point in making the ex cry if he can can sort her out by shagging her? give her a soother or stick something else in her mouth. since he obviously has no cohonas time for you to grow some and sort this out once and for all or she will always be lurking in the background

Crystal balls :) well thats the first good laugh Ive had in a few days !!! I love it. Totally agree. . I asked him yest to take a few days alone and work out his head no contact , texts nothing. . I felt it all was a bit raw and we both needed time to get some perspective. In my head two days would do that ? He said he wished the whole thing never happened, he would be glad to see his ex move on and he wished she would stop dwelling. He said he didnt want to risk losing our happiness over this and that he felt it was a small hurdle we would get over.
    The thing I suppose Im hoping he is not doing is considering the option of her? He knows she is a cheat whatever she said to him it pushed some buttons. that night. He told her on the night it was too late. Maybe he regrets that now seeing as I reacted a bit on the temper side and made it into a you cant go around hurting me scenario. . .And I did rave at him. The worst is the ex left the club by herself and seen us fighting and a friend of mine said she was smiling.

Like amazo said he is a sound guy. .
    Im kinda prepared anyways for the worst in some ways . The less hassle in life the easier it is.

But there was something wrong amazo....he went to ground.....was in a fry and couldnt talk with me about it but only his mate. I was left wondering so what I did was try and look ok and not cause a scene in a public place with eyes on me everywhere from his ex looking at my reaction to his friends. . When I turned to walk out , because I knew in my heart what was up , he followed and then I said whats up with you . He then explained my head is fried. . . This was the end of the night.... I was at melting point with all this cloak and dagger stuff and I just wanted a straight answer so I kinda was blunt enough about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭WilmaRidesAgain

"The worst is the ex left the club by herself and seen us fighting and a friend of mine said she was smiling. "

ARGH !!! what a complete evil c0w !

OP, how painful for you, she sounds like a right manipulative b***h !!!

Give him the 2 days I suppose for your own satisfaction and then red card him if he wibbles or wobbles at all .....

I know hun ! Like if she was all tears and emotion only a few hours back she made a quick recovery . Exactly like you say Red card all the way if there is any quivver.