Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rant time

• 02-07-2008 12:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry for the boring thread but I can't sleep! Anyway just a general rant really....this happened a few days ago but it's been on my mind since and it's still bugging me. Was at a friend's BBQ on Saturday night. They're friends from college who I haven't seen in about 6 months and it was their first time meeting my boyfriend. Anyway night was good apart from a few "incidents". My boyfriend was standing near the fridge in the kitchen and one of the girls at the party (who I hadn't met before) while getting a beer out of the fridge pinched my his bum....I didn't see this, he told me, I just shrugged it off, saying she probably didn't mean to (then again how do you not mean to pinch someone's arse!) That was the first of many incidents throughout the night....rubbing off him, winking at him, trying to talk to him (he wasn't interested in talking to her, he was trying to get to know my friends)....whatever about all that if he was there on his own but he blatantly arrived with me, he didn't leave my side very often and it was obvious that I was his girlfriend yet this didn't matter to her. After many more flirting incidents, we were leaving at the end of the night and she slipped a piece of paper with her number in to his pocket. RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME!

Now I'm used to him getting attention but I know he loves me and I'm not the jealous kind usually, he's the first boyfriend I can honestly say I truly trust so no issues there but it just bugs the crap out of me that a girl could be so rude and obvious like this. To make matters worse she was absolutely stunning and I'm sure he was flattered by it even though obviously grew more and more uncomfortable by her attention as the night went on. He said not to worry about it and I'm not worried, I'll probably never see her again (I hope!) and I trust him anyway but it just angers me that she acted as if I was invisible and she was out to get him that night. She's a gorgeous girl, why did she need to chase and act so pathetic around an obviously taken guy?

If I wasn't the non confrontation type I probably would have thumped her. Any other girls here had similar experiences? Have to say it's the first time I've come across it really, well that was that obvious anyway. It's not rocket science to realise if a guy arrives at a party with his girlfriend he's off limits.

I know I should just get over it and not many things get me worked up but I'm still annoyed about it....feck me pink I hope Karma bites her in the arse!

And breathe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

That brazen hussy. She had some nerve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

And here's me a few days later posting on a message board when if I had any guts I should have said something to her but I didn't want to give her the satisfaction that it bothered me. Plus didn't want to be a big drama queen and ruin the night for anyone else.

I don't know, it just annoyed me, I'd never do that to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Get her number off your guy and pass it on to the male boardsies. She'll get about 500 texts from different numbers all saying "Hi, I'm the guy from the BBQ. Fancy meeting up?" That'll sort her out. :D

/only joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

She's an attention seeker with many many issues I'd imagine. She thinks she can get away with it because she's attractive. If she's stunning like you said she could go and get any guy she wants but instead went after someone she knew was unavailable and did it in a way designed to draw attention to herself.
    Just remember you're the one who's happy and without the baggage that girl clearly has.

Sad cow. You did exactly the right thing ignoring her, she would only love the drama.

You realise she was probably motivated in part by jealous of your A class looks and personality too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Sometimes it helps to rant... let off steam... then get back to your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Think it must just be the rather pitiful outlook of if she can steal him from you she must be a better "specimen", a rather sad way of self affirmation.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Sadly Clare when you end up with a looker that type of thing can happen. I imagine some of your boyfriends have had to put up with it as well.;)

In all seriousness, the best thing to do with people like that is simply to ignore them. If she wants to make an ass of herself chasing what she can't have then leave her off and chuckle about it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That happens. As a guy it's happened to me. I would say more with women than men too(I'll get a roasting for that :)). Most blokes will tell you that your attraction level as a guy goes way up when you're already with someone. Generally a woman with a guy in tow is less likely to get that level of attention or that obviously and in your face when they know they're attached, at least in my experience. As I said it's happened to me. I've had a friend of an ex, her "best" friend try it on. Tried to sit in my lap while I was standing up. :D I've had another "friend" with another ex tell me the ex wasn't good for me etc....

Chalk it up to experience. You're with him and she isn't and you can trust him.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Good on you for not thumping her. She would have got so much satisfaction from the attention. Instead she got no attention at all and thats the best way to deal with people like this. She might be stunning but she's got a black heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

some girls seem to think that because theyre good looking they can have any man they like. he probably just seemed like more of a challenge because he was with you. girls who go after other girls men drive me mental :mad: there was this girl who used to text my ex all the time & when id see her it would take all my selfcontrol not to go mental at her (& im usually a nice girl :p). she wasnt even goodlooking anyway, ugly cow.

but yeah, lately im believing karma will sort these people out. hoping so anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Trollop!

At least you know your boyf isn't interested so I'd just forget about it. She's pretty pathetic if she goes after a man she knows is taken. She probably likes the thrill or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Well done for keeping your restraint Clare! Sadly, there are people that actually enjoy trying to steal others partners, but they are sad, insecure people with serious issues.

If some girl tried to slip her number in my pocket where it was obvious that I was with someone, and especially right in front of my girlfriend, I'd take it out of my pocket, scrunch it up and toss it back at her. See how she likes that! ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

LOL, it used to happen to an ex boyfriend of mine all the time. girls would literally shove me out of the way to get to him.

There was/is a girl who is always trying it on my current bf, always hugging him and dragging him off to corners etc.

i just laugh at these pathetic girls, i would never get upset by it

and then there are the girls who assume your mad for their fella because you make an iota of conversation with them.
    I have few very wimmens to socialise with through my profession/interests and I have been treated rather unfairly by more than one girlfriend of a friend :(

Moonbaby wrote: »
    and then there are the girls who assume your made for their fella because you make an iota of conversation with them.
    I have very wimmens to socialise with through my profession/interests and I have been treated rather unfairly by more than one girlfriend of a friend :(
    I've seen that happen too Moonbaby. Had one ex (PSYCHO!!!) who used to constantly accuse me of cheating simply cuz I'd spend time chatting to my female buddies and socialising with them (in a group that also included lads and some of the girls bfs...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Get her number off your guy and pass it on to the male boardsies. She'll get about 500 texts from different numbers all saying "Hi, I'm the guy from the BBQ. Fancy meeting up?" That'll sort her out. :D

/only joking

Yea, send it my way if she's a stunner.

I'll be pretty tolerant of poor morals if she's hot :D

:pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Laurs_civic

she may do all that but at the end of the day he's your boyfriend , and she's a pathetic cow..

rant is good for you , now go spend time with ur boyriend and forget about her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

At the end of the night, dont really worry about it. He will always be going home with you anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Moonbaby wrote: »
    and then there are the girls who assume your mad for their fella because you make an iota of conversation with them.
    I have few very wimmens to socialise with through my profession/interests and I have been treated rather unfairly by more than one girlfriend of a friend :(

There's always the jealous types who think you're always after more than a chat.....one fella I know told me his girlfriend asked him not to speak to me anymore...really! And I really just like him as a friend, nothing more ever.:mad:

Daft! lol
    That said there do need to be limits, e.g. knew a girl who stuck her hand in the trouser pocket of a long term male friend of hers, in order to retrieve something, in front of his girlfriend and was surprised that his girlfriend was displeased with this. Unfortunately there were just that friendly and comfortable with one another that it never occured to them that it seemed a bit overly friendly to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Something similiar happened me on Sunday. My OH's brother was performing in a show so went along to see him. The girl running the show took a real shine to my OH. She totally blanked me when we were introduced and kissed him on the cheek, and practically drooled all over him saying she was delighted to meet him (What:confused: give me a bucket!!) She was a stunner too. Then she offered him a drink and not me... I mean we walked in holding hands so she knew we were together and he was in fact holding our daughter in his arms.

I was seething but just walked off and started talking to other people and he followed me. She came over 3 times during the show to talk to him then..

I just couldn't believe how blatant she was.. He was oblivious to it all...

I know exactly where your coming from Clare, its not nice but at least they didnt play along..

Thanks guys. I don't even think it's the fact that it happened to me....if I saw her do it to anyone else I'd be just as shocked. I don't know, Good looking girl, plenty of friends at the party, plenty of nice single guys there. Just baffles me really but suppose she must have issues/insecurities for the way she behaved. I'm not worried about it, just not impressed and wondered if anyone else had come across this type of "lady". Thanks for the replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Girls are just ridiculous sometimes. One of my friends is kinda like this. Not as bad that she'd do something like put her number in your boyfriend's pocket but jebus she is an incessant flirt. She will flirt with anything. Anything. Could be a fella I was going out with and she'd be all over them. By Jebus, it drives me demented sometimes.

I mean it's grand to flirt and all, but there have to be some limits right?! Also I've lost a boyfriend to one of these types of people so I'm eternally embittered! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's the taken man syndrome, you get approached by more women when you're not single. I believe it's the absence of the smell of desperation that attracts them like moths to a flame, or flies to $hite, depending on your outlook.

This is one you'll either get it or wonder what in the name of God Im talkin about but..........

What the hell does rant mean!!

This is one you'll either get it or wonder what in the name of God Im talkin about but..........

What the hell does rant mean!!

Give out about, let off some steam....

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Give out about, let off some steam....

Yep u missed it! I obviously (I hope!) know what rant means!! Its a line from Family Guy, I feel obligated to say it everytime I hear it!
    Family guy wrote:

Dennis Miller: I don't wanna go on a RANT here but America's foreign policy makes about as much sense as Beowolf having sex with Robert Fulton at the first Battle of Antetum. I mean when a neo-conservative defenstrates it's like Raskalnakov filibuster dioxymonohydrostinate.

Peter: What the hell does RANT mean?

gets coat!

Yep u missed it! I obviosuly (I hope!) know what rant means!! Its a line from Family Guy, I feel obligated to say it everytime I hear it!

gets coat!

Ah damnit! I love Family Guy, shame on me for missing that! Booooo! Get your coat anyway though :P

I missed it too. :( *flogs self for missing it*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

haha yes, self flagulate young Damo... :pac:

ClareBear, don't mind the other girl. be safe in the knowledge he is yours :D
    Either that or send me a picture of the girl and I will take care of her *cracks knuckles*

Wilburt wrote: »
    haha yes, self flagulate young Damo... :pac:

ClareBear, don't mind the other girl. be safe in the knowledge he is yours :D
    Either that or send me a picture of the girl and I will take care of her *cracks knuckles*

Can you break her leg? I hear you're good at that? :p;)

>_> sshhh, for you, a trolley and a broken leg ;)

My hero :D

Amateur... pft!
    What you do see, is take the trolley and fix blades to the wheels, then follow her shopping, while shopping make a quick dash from one side of her to the other while behind her and let the blades sever the tendons at the back of the ankles. You can do both your shopping and your exacting revenge at the same time :- multitasking FTW.:p
    The modified trolley will also undoubtedly come in handy in sales too, no one will dare oppose you.:D

...nnah was referring to me on my birthday, bombing it down abbey street at 4am in a trolley with my mates pushing me. You haven't lived til you've done that. ClareBear demanded I give her a trolley but well she can FO and get her own... but she was a bit down in the dumps so a trolley for the lady!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

And here's me a few days later posting on a message board when if I had any guts I should have said something to her but I didn't want to give her the satisfaction that it bothered me. Plus didn't want to be a big drama queen and ruin the night for anyone else.

I don't know, it just annoyed me, I'd never do that to anyone.

You did the right thing not saying anything to her. It just would have given her the satisfaction she wanted!
    Pherekydes wrote: »

/only joking

That is a brilliant idea!!! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Good looking girl, plenty of friends at the party, plenty of nice single guys there.

Gorgeous girls are never interested in the nice single guys, that's way too easy for them. They seem to enjoy the chase and challenge of the attached guys more.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Maybe to feed the ego. Some good looking women are very aware that they're whole social status is down to their looks and while sounding great, I would imagine is a lot of pressure to keep that up. They tend to be more self conscious about their physical appearance I've found. So being able to "steal" another woman's guy makes them feel better about themselves. Its no excuse for that guff though. Lots of very beautiful women don't do that.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Agree that it's an ego-feed. It's despicable behaviour from anyone, totally ignoring someones other half. There was a girl in college like that, completely flirting with guys, regardless of whether they were single or not. Am going to sound mean here, but she wasn't even that attractive, as in like drop-dead hot or anything. Fine rack, but that was about it.

To OP, maybe you could perfect The Evil Eye and a Sly Dead Arm (joke! Not inciting violence!). Never fails to bring those flirts into line though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

She is a bloody bitch and NOT defending her but she must be fairly messed up in the head to act like that.... Thank God the rest of us are sane :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 roxy81

My 1st post so be gentle ;)

I can totally see why you`d be annoyed clarebear.I had a similar situation a couple of months ago.Itwas my bf`s frends birthday party in town.This girl quite nice looking a frend of his frend spent the night chatting up my bf and it was obvious me and him were together, he was quite drunk and just laughing it off, the final straw was when I came back from the loo my jacket was on the floor and she was in my seat beside him!!
    I got totally jealous and stupidly took it out on him, next morning he found a phone number on a beer mat in his jacket and asked me who was it, I was like do you not remember?? He hadnt a clue but serioulsy if I saw her again I think I may need to be restrained!

Lol Im lovely really ;) but na cheeky cow!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 206 ✭✭Creachadóir

Was she really drunk? No excuse really, but maybe she really didn't cop he was attached? Either that or she's some slapper and it's no wonder she's single. Feel pity!

roxy81 wrote: »
    My 1st post so be gentle ;)

I can totally see why you`d be annoyed clarebear.I had a similar situation a couple of months ago.Itwas my bf`s frends birthday party in town.This girl quite nice looking a frend of his frend spent the night chatting up my bf and it was obvious me and him were together, he was quite drunk and just laughing it off, the final straw was when I came back from the loo my jacket was on the floor and she was in my seat beside him!!
    I got totally jealous and stupidly took it out on him, next morning he found a phone number on a beer mat in his jacket and asked me who was it, I was like do you not remember?? He hadnt a clue but serioulsy if I saw her again I think I may need to be restrained!

Lol Im lovely really ;) but na cheeky cow!

Yeah not exactly fun times is it. You shouldn't have taken it out on him though, was no fault of his but I suppose you had to direct your anger somewhere so I understand that. But just think like I do now, she's a silly cow and he's with you :)
    Was she really drunk? No excuse really, but maybe she really didn't cop he was attached? Either that or she's some slapper and it's no wonder she's single. Feel pity!

No she wasn't drunk at all, it all started very early on in the night when everyone had just arrived. If feeling pity means I think she's a muppet then I suppose I do feel pity for her :)

A trolley, its so easy, a trolley my dearest clare bear. All your worries will roll away as I push you down abbey street at 4am :pac:

You're full of promises Willy but I don't see no trolley! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭musicmonky

The "problem" is women should go with uglier men. Its better if the women is the better looking one.
    Dont flame me. Its science.

http://www.livescience.com/health/080410-couples-beauty.html

http://blogs.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-scientific-fundamentalist/200804/why-handsome-men-make-bad-husbands-ii

im vastly ugly, come and get it girls....

You're full of promises Willy but I don't see no trolley! :mad:

I think Wilburt is off his trolley TBH.:p

A trolley, a trolley, my kingdom for a trolley!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

musicmonky wrote: »
    The "problem" is women should go with uglier men. Its better if the women is the better looking one.
    Dont flame me. Its science.

http://www.livescience.com/health/080410-couples-beauty.html

http://blogs.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-scientific-fundamentalist/200804/why-handsome-men-make-bad-husbands-ii

im vastly ugly, come and get it girls....

ah now your wrong there hey, Clares stunning - you should see the amount of attention she gets even when shes out with the boyf! :)

And chick you never told me that happened! LET ME AT HER!!!!!!! Freaking cheek of it!!
    Don't you be thinking about it for one more second, that boys KER-AZZEEE about ya, and I bet she wasn't a patch on you either.