Thread watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Dinter wrote: »
    Garda bashing is a catch all term and to be honest a defence that’s too easy for Gardai to use against any criticism.

Obviously there are twats who find it “fun” to portray the Gardai as breakfast roll munching slackers who’d prefer to issue a traffic ticket than do anything constructive. It’s easier to throw around meaningless insults than actually debate an issue.

However on the flip side it’s just as easy for Gardai to blame Garda bashing for anything offensive that’s said about them. While no Garda would think that all members give 100% at all times if someone who’s not a member mentions this it’s prone to be written off as meaningless spite on the part of the poster.

I couldn't agree more. You can't assume that anyone who has a problem just hates the gardai. There are people with legitimate questions and grieviances, which should be addressed, otherwise they can easily change into dislike towards Garda Siochana as a whole. Karlito and TheNog are doing just that.

And it's quite easy to spot the bashers, as they will not change their tune no matter how many times you prove them wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

ojewriej wrote: »
    Another one, with a lovely title: Lying Bastards

oh no I think I;ve killed another thread :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

TheNog wrote: »

Maybe so, and congrats if thats the case.

But deep down inside you do know its the gatso:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

"...your fellow guards...". Woooooooo.......Chickenhawk is definitely Branch material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

i've just posted on there too, thos pics are really old, there used to be a site detailing speed traps and gatso locations and those photos were on it, im talking 4-5 years ago here, look at the quality or lack thereof of the pics, look like scans of photos taken using film.

The op in that topic is a chancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    i've just posted on there too, thos pics are really old, there used to be a site detailing speed traps and gatso locations and those photos were on it, im talking 4-5 years ago here, look at the quality or lack thereof of the pics, look like scans of photos taken using film.

The op in that topic is a chancer

How come you didn't say that sooner then...:confused:

I'll try and post here with any more motors threads that may be of interest.
    Thanks to The Nog for the input, appreciate it as always.

sorry only got round to it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

deadwood wrote: »
    "...your fellow guards...". Woooooooo.......Chickenhawk is definitely Branch material.

No thanks. I'd have to take a huge pay cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

ojewriej wrote: »

Too some people (can't read threw all that crap, usual rubbish). That would be the type of ****e that would turn them off joining the force.

Generalisation often revert too as the almighty brush ! You just got too read past it really.

Comes with every job I think. I get the odd slagging off the lads, "every little helps". Just see past it, they don't work in my job they don't know what's going on. So they should not comment.

But in all fairness, there are a few garda, that would be just out too get someone and be a prick and abuse there power, as was said, there is a commission set up for this and there dealing with the people as needs be.

Just off topic for a moment, something sprang into my head. Its a pet hate of mine people on phones while driving, but why do some member do this, I know that it is legal for them, but should you guys not be setting us an example and not using the phones? Or just pull in... Personally I would not feel safe anyone driving a car, while using a phone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

No thanks. I'd have to take a huge pay cut.
    And right you are too. It's a vacation, vocation for us.

CLADA wrote: »
    But deep down inside you do know its the gatso:D

Alright I will admit it, it probably is a Gatso

Could we start our own campaign to stop Gatso operators to prosecuting people just over the limit. :p

it is/was a gatso van, used to frequent the n4 around the dead mans in around liffey valley sc in lucan, had the aircon on the roof, wiper on the back window, cut out in the tints the whole shabang

Sweet zombie jesus Nog you truely and utterly crucified the gatso thread

Oh and in his mega post, steve i think u were just his seleced scape goat (dont worry its a sign he likes you...................wait do worry :P)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Sully wrote: »

wow you really added to the thread

Im very confident, as in in put money on it, that the guards didnt turn around and decide "Ah this music sucks, fecking dance people. Right lads, lets shut it down". /sully

I cant speak for every guard in the country but generally speaking no guard would shut down a gig just cos they didnt like the music. So long as the event is not posing a danger or that there is no complaints with loud music at parties.

Wed have no problem with it all. In fact I restrained myself from shutting down Planet Love a few weeks ago dispite the music not being my taste, was louder than the ear plugs could handle and the fact the muck was 6 inches deep.

Fancy meeting y'all (Nog and FF) over on the legal forum.... is there another threadwatch I don't know about? :D

yea its call boredom and the new posts button lol

SteveC wrote: »
    Fancy meeting y'all (Nog and FF) over on the legal forum.... is there another threadwatch I don't know about? :D

nay i just spend my time swatting garda bashers. I also have an interest in educating people about policing.

jeez i need to get a life!!!!:D:D
    the new posts button lol

for gods sake I on boards 2 yrs now and only discovered the new posts button. disgraceful. :pac:

nay i just spend my time swatting garda bashers. I also have an interest in educating people about policing.

jeez i need to get a life!!!!:D:D

Tell us something we dont know lol :p
    for gods sake I on boards 2 yrs now and only discovered the new posts button. disgraceful. :pac:

Ah see your getting old the oul eye sight isnt what it used to be lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,162 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Any comments on this?

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

unkel wrote: »
    Any comments on this?

indeed but most comments are on the side of Gardai except the idiot from Clare

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56915675

Heres' one for yez - apparently the guards can issue tickets to someone 'about to park' in a disabled spot without first speaking to them or checking have they a permit...:rolleyes:

SteveC wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56915675

Heres' one for yez - apparently the guards can issue tickets to someone 'about to park' in a disabled spot without first speaking to them or checking have they a permit...:rolleyes:

Ah god bless em, another one even claims a victory after producing documents in court. The fact that he could have simple produced in the first place and avoided a summons goes over his head. the fact that he had too take time off work to go to court whereas the Garda had a nice handy day while being paid also doesnt seem like a victory :D

Well im sure they're happy in their own little minds as they havnt aclue how thick they are lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Ah god bless em, another one even claims a victory after producing documents in court. The fact that he could have simple produced in the first place and avoided a summons goes over his head. the fact that he had too take time off work to go to court whereas the Garda had a nice handy day while being paid also doesnt seem like a victory :D

Surely the guard would of prefered to do something more productvie with is day rather then getting a handy waste of day in court, no?

keen wrote: »
    Surely the guard would of prefered to do something more productvie with is day rather then getting a handy waste of day in court, no?

Maybe yes maybe no, who knows? Fact is he is being paid too be there compared to the guy that could have avoided the entire event in the first place. The Garda may have been on a day off and getting overtime which he may or may not have enjoyed but either way the guy in court (who is lying through his teeth BTW) was out of pocket whereas the Garda was up.

I just got an infraction from the Motors section :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

I just got an infraction from the Motors section :(

Serves you right, don't be posting in the twilight zone:D