Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thread watch

• 20-06-2008 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭

I was thinking that maybe we could use a thread to give anyone interested a heads up, when there is a thread about Guards or other emergency services somewhere. Like this one here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055318704

I don't mean that we should step in and defend the honour or anything, but I like to know what people are saying. So if you see a thread which might be interesting for anyone involved with emergency services, why don't you post it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

The gards in the main do get a lot of critisicm, mainly on motors, from people who think they know whats going on, they were rushing for lunch or whatever, unless you are in the car, listening to the radio, you dont have a clue!!

So, i think this could be a good idea really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

ojewriej wrote: »
    I was thinking that maybe we could use a thread to give anyone interested a heads up, when there is a thread about Guards or other emergency services somewhere. I don't mean that we should step in and defend the honour or anything, but I like to know what people are saying. So if you see a thread which might be interesting for anyone involved with emergency services, why don't you post it here.

I couldn't really care less what people like the above are saying about the police.

Public forums like this are usually a way for those with a grudge to say what they wouldn't say to your face. In my experience the people who bad mouth the police are (1) those with criminal records (coincidence?) (2) left-wing types who do drugs but call their habit 'recreational' (3) motorists who think road traffic offences aren't really 'offences' (4) those who wanna be cops but can't make the grade, and (5) as*sholes in general.

I don't want to spend my free time reading the rubbish the above groups spout, so count me out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

metman wrote: »
    I couldn't really care less what people like the above are saying about the police.

I don't want to spend my free time reading the rubbish the above groups spout, so count me out.

Fair enough. I still like to see what people are saying. And it's not always bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Anyone who wants to have a proper discussion about Gardai will post it in this forum. If you want to get involved in a "debate" in After Hours about the Gardai fair play to you. Let all the **** stirrers with chips on their shoulders agree with each other in After Hours.

Ignore them and they go away!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I usually just get banned from after hours when I go there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Take it as a compliment

Paulzx wrote: »
    Take it as a compliment

I do, it means Im winning the arguement against these clowns. :D

metman wrote: »
    Public forums like this are usually a way for those with a grudge to say what they wouldn't say to your face. In my experience the people who bad mouth the police are (1) those with criminal records (coincidence?) (2) left-wing types who do drugs but call their habit 'recreational' (3) motorists who think road traffic offences aren't really 'offences' (4) those who wanna be cops but can't make the grade, and (5) as*sholes in general.

I had a little think about it, and came to the conclussion that I don't really agree with you.

I mean, sure there is a lot of people you described there, but there is also a lot of people who simply don't have an opinion. Or they have an opinion which is based solely on what the begrudgers say, because not often members would come and defend themselves.

Look at the thread in question - it was started as a genuine enquiry - OP was wondering why he can;t see any guards on the street. Initially usual garda bashers jumped out and tried to take over the thread, but they were put in place very quickly. Then a genuine discussion followed - members, particularly Karlito and Nog presented their point of view, supported by facts, and OP accepted this explanation.

And this is my point - these threads usually end up being police bashing ones, exactly because policemen won't get involved because they are police bashing threads. Catch 22.

I think it's important that we (police, wannabe police and wellwishers) present our point of view. PR should start on the street level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Alot of people post questions or something which needs attention and we shouldn't allow the begrudgers influence others opinions. While I agree that we have many problems we should try to educate people or at least give them some sort of insight into our jobs.

Unfortunately we don't have the shows on tv to do this.

Well personally educating people is secondary for me. I just like showing the begrudgers up for what they are.

see how some will just stick the same tired comments despite it being well and truly misproven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Your not going to change the majority of people who dont like the guards and i agree 100% with metmans description of them.

The majority of people have nothing but respect for the guards and all es personelle for that matter the thing is empty vesssels make the most noise as they say.

Doesnt matter karlitos is a bit of a terrier and will fight his corner till the end..............

Well until the thread is locked or he is banned :p

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Your not going to change the majority of people who dont like the guards and i agree 100% with metmans description of them.

The majority of people have nothing but respect for the guards and all es personelle for that matter the thing is empty vesssels make the most noise as they say.

You are right, we are not going to change the ones with the chip on their shoulder, but there is a lot of people with no opinion there as well.

If all they see and hear is people giving out about the Police, and no one defending it, they will start believing the begrudgers.

Yes i do agree there, they need to hear the real side of it too, then its up to themselfs, we're never going to please everyone but you can only do the best you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Ah,After Hours ... the one forum that induces even the calmest into a blind rage.Intelligence levels of some posters aren't the best!!

Doesnt matter karlitos is a bit of a terrier and will fight his corner till the end..............

Well until the thread is locked or he is banned :p

what did I do????? :p

Just being your same old charming self. Your just misunderstood lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Tbh,once most people come to their own judgements,it is pretty hard to change their ideals i.e. ''All Gardai are useless'' etc BS.There is only so much defending that can be done,because no matter how right you may be,you will always be wrong!! ;)

eroo wrote: »
    Tbh,once most people come to their own judgements,it is pretty hard to change their ideals i.e. ''All Gardai are useless'' etc BS.There is only so much defending that can be done,because no matter how right you may be,you will always be wrong!! ;)

There will be those that bash us but again there are those who have had a bad experience and when they have the situation explained may possibly change their minds.

Example of this is below:

OP post
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56312550&postcount=1

My response
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56359176&postcount=39

OP response
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56361329&postcount=42

Another one with a potential to turn ugly:

Lack of Gardai on Roads are they to blame ?

Good man yourself theNog.

It's interesting to see that once someone properly stands up to Garda bashers, there is always more people willing to defend guards.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

I belive it is important that any group/grouping/organisation that is getting a bashing be careful to not get so defensive that every comment is seen through the lense of criticism.

In respect of AGS there is a definite erosion of respect. What has to be determined is whether the original respect was earned or effectively out of fear. Anecdotally it seems to have been out of a knowledge that the local guard (him again) had a general finger on the pulse and was happy to point out to folk the errors of their ways and they would all live happily ever after.

Of course that was in the Ireland of Fiche Blian ag Fas and things have moved on.

The public need to appreciate that not every Guard was like the ones in Donegal. The Guards need to realise that not everyone was born in spitting distance of a cell.

Unfortunately this isn't happening - people are gaining the view that they only encounter guards in controlling situations - checkpoints etc and there is less of a siatuation whereby the Guards are a general benign presence (community policing ??). From the point of view of AGS some of their members appear to treat folk with disdain and lets face it human nature is to remember the bad and not the good. My predominant memory of interaction is with an ignorant Guard in my local barracks when we went to get a passport form signed. That memory comes to mind before the memory of subsequent visits where the desk officer made conversation with the kids.

The Guards are like the Church - they are on the defensive and being on the defensive causes extreme reactions - they need to sell themselves as being genuinely there for the citizens and not just an enforcement agency.

Apologies for the ramble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd just like to thank all of the Guards here that post in Motors.

I always value the knowledge and common sense you guys bring.

I think that in bashing threads, it's the only way to stop the pathetic moaners who haven't a clue how things work.
    It also lets people know that you're actually human beings as opposed to uniform stuffing - and that builds respect which, in this day and age, is sadly lacking in Ireland.

Keep it up guys - I wish you'd all visit more.:)

Another one, with a lovely title: Lying Bastards

Your like a Boards.ie cybernanny!

I posted in that thread so now the Nog can well and trully trash the thread again.

BTW, I would encourage people to report the original post. Theres no way we would get away with starting a thread like that about little boy racers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Here's one from motors about blues & twos

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055341499

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

And another, why would you want to do this to your car?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055343888

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Here's one that gives you a decent picture about the different experiences out there of people using the services of An Garda Siochana. What it basicly boils down to is that there's all sorts in it, thick ones, clever ones, obnoxious ones, sociable ones....Face it guys, an organisation of a couple of thousand people can't be anything else but a fair mix of all sorts, from the excellent to the useless and everything in between.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055255767&page=2

Your like a Boards.ie cybernanny!

What can I say, I have a lot of free time in my work. Especially now, when it's my last week here.
    Face it guys, an organisation of a couple of thousand people can't be anything else but a fair mix of all sorts, from the excellent to the useless and everything in between.

That's the point we are trying to make - but there is a few people out there who think that every Garda = asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Garda bashing is a catch all term and to be honest a defence that’s too easy for Gardai to use against any criticism.

Obviously there are twats who find it “fun” to portray the Gardai as breakfast roll munching slackers who’d prefer to issue a traffic ticket than do anything constructive. It’s easier to throw around meaningless insults than actually debate an issue.

However on the flip side it’s just as easy for Gardai to blame Garda bashing for anything offensive that’s said about them. While no Garda would think that all members give 100% at all times if someone who’s not a member mentions this it’s prone to be written off as meaningless spite on the part of the poster.

Unfortunately this is not always the case.

Most people will, hopefully, have very few dealings with the Gardai in their lifetime. However the Gardai will have many, many dealings with members of the public that range from the polite gentleman warning them about a drink driver to the scrote throwing bottles at them from a park. Some Gardai get coloured by this, it’s a fact of life, it’s inevitable.

However while a Garda might be responding to a burglary in a person’s house after seven hours on the beat getting hassle from scrotes or having been at the scene of a fatal crash there can be no allowances made for them by the person they are responding to. This is human nature.

You cannot expect someone whose privacy has been invaded or violated to understand or even really care about the trials that are a normal part of a member’s day. If the public was in daily contact with the Gardai and once got a bad apple their experience of better Gardai would annul it. However if you’ve only one experience of the Gardai and it’s bad on, let’s face it, a particularly traumatic night then you are bound to be coloured against the Gardai from that point on.

That’s why I think it’s important to highlight what members like TheNog and Karlitosway are doing when they take the time to answer somebody’s query on another thread. They can turn around and explain the actions of the member who, a poster might feel, gave them less than they feel their problem was worth.

Anyway that's my two cents.

Dinter wrote: »
    Garda bashing is a catch all term and to be honest a defence that’s too easy for Gardai to use against any criticism.

Obviously there are twats who find it “fun” to portray the Gardai as breakfast roll munching slackers who’d prefer to issue a traffic ticket than do anything constructive. It’s easier to throw around meaningless insults than actually debate an issue.

However on the flip side it’s just as easy for Gardai to blame Garda bashing for anything offensive that’s said about them. While no Garda would think that all members give 100% at all times if someone who’s not a member mentions this it’s prone to be written off as meaningless spite on the part of the poster.

I couldn't agree more. You can't assume that anyone who has a problem just hates the gardai. There are people with legitimate questions and grieviances, which should be addressed, otherwise they can easily change into dislike towards Garda Siochana as a whole. Karlito and TheNog are doing just that.

And it's quite easy to spot the bashers, as they will not change their tune no matter how many times you prove them wrong.

oh no I think I;ve killed another thread :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

TheNog wrote: »

Maybe so, and congrats if thats the case.

But deep down inside you do know its the gatso:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

TheNog wrote: »
    "...your fellow guards...". Woooooooo.......Chickenhawk is definitely Branch material.

i've just posted on there too, thos pics are really old, there used to be a site detailing speed traps and gatso locations and those photos were on it, im talking 4-5 years ago here, look at the quality or lack thereof of the pics, look like scans of photos taken using film.

The op in that topic is a chancer

i've just posted on there too, thos pics are really old, there used to be a site detailing speed traps and gatso locations and those photos were on it, im talking 4-5 years ago here, look at the quality or lack thereof of the pics, look like scans of photos taken using film.

The op in that topic is a chancer

How come you didn't say that sooner then...:confused:

I'll try and post here with any more motors threads that may be of interest.
    Thanks to The Nog for the input, appreciate it as always.

sorry only got round to it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

deadwood wrote: »
    "...your fellow guards...". Woooooooo.......Chickenhawk is definitely Branch material.

No thanks. I'd have to take a huge pay cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Too some people (can't read threw all that crap, usual rubbish). That would be the type of ****e that would turn them off joining the force.

Generalisation often revert too as the almighty brush ! You just got too read past it really.

Comes with every job I think. I get the odd slagging off the lads, "every little helps". Just see past it, they don't work in my job they don't know what's going on. So they should not comment.

But in all fairness, there are a few garda, that would be just out too get someone and be a prick and abuse there power, as was said, there is a commission set up for this and there dealing with the people as needs be.

Just off topic for a moment, something sprang into my head. Its a pet hate of mine people on phones while driving, but why do some member do this, I know that it is legal for them, but should you guys not be setting us an example and not using the phones? Or just pull in... Personally I would not feel safe anyone driving a car, while using a phone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

No thanks. I'd have to take a huge pay cut.
    And right you are too. It's a vacation, vocation for us.

CLADA wrote: »
    But deep down inside you do know its the gatso:D

Alright I will admit it, it probably is a Gatso

Could we start our own campaign to stop Gatso operators to prosecuting people just over the limit. :p

it is/was a gatso van, used to frequent the n4 around the dead mans in around liffey valley sc in lucan, had the aircon on the roof, wiper on the back window, cut out in the tints the whole shabang

Sweet zombie jesus Nog you truely and utterly crucified the gatso thread

Oh and in his mega post, steve i think u were just his seleced scape goat (dont worry its a sign he likes you...................wait do worry :P)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Sully wrote: »

wow you really added to the thread

Im very confident, as in in put money on it, that the guards didnt turn around and decide "Ah this music sucks, fecking dance people. Right lads, lets shut it down". /sully

I cant speak for every guard in the country but generally speaking no guard would shut down a gig just cos they didnt like the music. So long as the event is not posing a danger or that there is no complaints with loud music at parties.

Wed have no problem with it all. In fact I restrained myself from shutting down Planet Love a few weeks ago dispite the music not being my taste, was louder than the ear plugs could handle and the fact the muck was 6 inches deep.

Fancy meeting y'all (Nog and FF) over on the legal forum.... is there another threadwatch I don't know about? :D

yea its call boredom and the new posts button lol