Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gym no-no's...

• 10-06-2008 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭

I'm a wee bit bored at work, so just thought I'd throw this out there- what is acceptable gym attire?

Obviously, you've gotta be comfortable, and equally, it is not a catwalk (despite prevailing practice in many large gyms), but there remains a large number of grey areas, where controversy remains:

Are sleeveless tops allowed on guys?
    Are bicycle shorts permitted (NOT under regular shorts- I thought this was a no-brainer, but it's happening...)
    Flip-flops/ sandals?
    Wife beaters?
    SCT rugby socks- pulled to the knee, obviously...?

etc etc

Key in the gym is to work hard, do your thing and get out, and I know most posters are prob too focussed on this to notice those around them, but it's Tuesday, and laughter is the best remedy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Are sleeveless tops allowed on guys? No
    Are bicycle shorts permitted (NOT under regular shorts- I thought this was a no-brainer, but it's happening...) No
    Flip-flops/ sandals? No
    Wife beaters?No
    SCT rugby socks- pulled to the knee, obviously...?....maybe...if you really wanted to when deadlifting..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

I saw a guy wearing a hoody (with hood pulled up) working in the free weights section yesterday.

Obviously had just watched Rocky before hitting the gym !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Are sleeveless tops allowed on guys? YES including vests
    Are bicycle shorts permitted YES
    Flip-flops/ sandals? No
    Wife beaters? how can ye tell?
    SCT rugby socks- YES when deadlifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

EDIT - Read this again, attire ... right. Well i'm leaving my rant up anyway.

People on phones. I've really started to notice it recently and it drives me bloody mad. People on treadmills barely moving and shouting down the phone "I'm in the gym, what ? I cant hear you ... I'M IN THE GYM".

Fair enough if your expecting an emergency call or something. My phones go into my locker as soon as I get there and don't come out again until I leave.

Another one is people relaxing on pieces of equipment. Now, i'm not talking about resting between stets either. Last week I saw a guy finished his workout lying on a bench drinking his PWO shake staring into space. Theres a seating area in the gym for that - why not use it ?

As for the ones you listed, none of them bother me really. Except for the flip flops/sandals - I'm at a loss as to how someone could do anything wearing those ?

As long as there isnt a bang of the unwashed off them then I dont really care. I dont come to the place to judge the latest styles anyway :D

agree on the phone thing...but im on call every 3rd week...now i at least have the decency to keep it on vibrate and leave the gym when answering....

nothing worse that sicking up for a squat and some fella in a wife beater in front of you going" ah story bud did ya see your one last night" down the phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

justdoit wrote: »
    Are sleeveless tops allowed on guys?
    Are bicycle shorts permitted (NOT under regular shorts- I thought this was a no-brainer, but it's happening...)
    Flip-flops/ sandals?
    Wife beaters?
    SCT rugby socks- pulled to the knee, obviously...?
    I take it you're just talking about fashion faux pas's rather than actual clothes that aren't allowed in the gym?

If so, non of the above would bother me but I'd imagine wearing Flip-flops would be quite dangerous while doing weights although I did see a guy once wearing some when doing Squats, it just looked like he was going to kill himself.

On the subject of no-no's, one definite no-no would be to change the Male & Female dressing rooms around without telling you when entering the gym. Happened last night in the gym that I've been going to for the last 5 years. Embarrassed is not the word! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Frankieboy

pvt.joker wrote: »
    I saw a guy wearing a hoody (with hood pulled up) working in the free weights section yesterday.

Obviously had just watched Rocky before hitting the gym !

Ya there was a guy in my gym few months back that did this. Everytime you'd see him hood up, but the worst thing he'd have the cords pulled so the hood was tight.

No other bad offenders really, well apart from one guy that must never wash his gym clothes, stink, I had to leave free weights area.

Oh and there was a guy that wore a stripy jumper, similar to something you would see on a chav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Curvy Vixen

Flip flops fine in the changing rooms though....you know they wee in the showers :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

Guy in my gym used to wear jeans regularly while working out. Used to really piss me off. Ok he was hurting anyone but come on! Am usually a pretty unconfrontational guy but was really tempted to say something to him. thing was the staff there didn't seem to care even when i mentioned it to him.

Also another couple used to practically maul each other in the gym the whole time. Guy would be on a machine. His gf would come over and sit on his new between sets. He'd also be constantly patting her on the ass. She had a fine ass though. Pretty crap face. Think something may have been said to them because havent seem them there for over 6 months.

Not trying to stir anything up but don't think it a coincidence that both sets of offenders were eastern european.

though we defo have our fair share of scumbags in gym as well. Oh and the guy who used to wear some kind of lycra hotpants where you could actually see what religon he was. pointed it out to a mate who joined me once and he was convinced he had forgotten to just put on his training shorts over the lycra hot pants. he hadnt. he used to wear the same thing the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Not trying to stir anything up but don't think it a coincidence that both sets of offenders were eastern european.
    Nonsense really as I've seen Irish people do both in my gym

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

A friend of mine was with me in the gym and he forget all his gear...but he said hell with it, I'm going for a work out anyway. Imagine a guy benching on a busy weekday evening in tight jeans and a shirt :D

Couldn't care less what anyone else wears to be honest, if they're happy then great. Actually...what does annoy me, and I don't know why, is the guys that come in wearing full GAA kits....socks and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Also another couple used to practically maul each other in the gym the whole time. Guy would be on a machine. His gf would come over and sit on his new between sets. He'd also be constantly patting her on the ass. She had a fine ass though. Pretty crap face. Think something may have been said to them because havent seem them there for over 6 months.

I've read this a couple of times and I'm still trying to figure out what you mean. Are you saying that most Eastern European couples that you've seen are constantly all over each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I look like Say Hello Its Tom at the gym. And I'm the unusual one because pretty much everyone else is there is their little matching "outfit" or skimpy shorts and vest combo (guys and gals). I wonder if anyone there is bothered by my attire?

This is probably a bit OT but I find my gym to be stiflingly hot. I suspect they keep it too hot on purpose, so that people will sweat more and feel as though they're getting a better workout, even though it's more benefical to exercise in colder temperatures. I could be wrong, though, it could be hot because of all the sweaty bodies. It's much cooler on a weekend morning and in the weights areas.

Back on topic, I caught a glimpse of a girl at the gym wearing a strappy little bra-top. Guess she found it a bit too hot too(!) :pac: It's like a dance music video at the gym I go to. Makes me wanna sing "Call on me, on me..." Unfortunately there are no guys that look like the bloke in that vid :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Nowt wrong with wearing a wifebeater to the gym..i have the sam eone over a year and i bung it in the washing machine evey six months or so.The Gym isnt a fashion parade which is why it amazes me that women wear full make up before working out..why?Another thing that bugs me are horribly overweight old men with varicose veins standing around in the nude for extended periods in the changing rooms.I DONT want to see your shrivelled wedding tackle whilst you discuss cattle feed with some bloated,red-faced porker of a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Degsy wrote: »
    Nowt wrong with wearing a wifebeater to the gym..i have the sam eone over a year and i bung it in the washing machine evey six months or so.The Gym isnt a fashion parade which is why it amazes me that women wear full make up before working out..why?Another thing that bugs me are horribly overweight old men with varicose veins standing around in the nude for extended periods in the changing rooms.I DONT want to see your shrivelled wedding tackle whilst you discuss cattle feed with some bloated,red-faced porker of a man.

If you think that's bad there's an old guy in my gym that dries his entire body after a shower under the hand drier....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Back on topic, I caught a glimpse of a girl at the gym wearing a strappy little bra-top. Guess she found it a bit too hot too(!) :pac: It's like a dance music video at the gym I go to. Makes me wanna sing "Call on me, on me..."

Found my new gym:p

Anyway, in my local one day a woman came in and I can only assume it was her 1st time there. She was being shown around and told how to use all the machines by a staff member but certainly wasnt dressed for a workout, that didnt stop her though:rolleyes:. She was in some kind of smart trousers and little black shoes with a bit of a heel on them, on top she had on a polo neck on under a woolly jumper, with, wait for it ....a little decorative glittery SCARF of all things.:eek: Needless to say she didnt last long, it was funny at the time though.

As for faux pa's, hmm, cant think of much that hasnt been mentioned already, its not a fashion show after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

If you think that's bad there's an old guy in my gym that dries his entire body after a shower under the hand drier....

As much as I dont want to see this, Im curious as to how its done, he must be fair flexable:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

malice_ wrote: »
    I've read this a couple of times and I'm still trying to figure out what you mean. Are you saying that most Eastern European couples that you've seen are constantly all over each other?

Both sets of offenders as in the couple and the guy wearing the jeans. As in a significant proportion of the eastern European members in my gym imo lack basic gym etiquette, examples include; hogging machines, 3 to a bench and having a chat between the 3 of them between a set instead of rotating the bench and weights, leaving bench but not leaving an indication (towel etc on bench) that bench is in use and then screaming at you when you from another machine/other end of gym when you go to use it, not bringing towel or wiping machine after , not leaving weights back etc. Of course not all Eastern European members are guilty of this and in turn members not from eastern Europe are also guilty of this but in my opinion the eastern Europeans are proportionally by far the worst offender. Only my opinion. Of course may be different in other gyms and I am not saying anything derogatory about them outside the gym. Perhaps this is totally normal in the gyms in Eastern Europe. I do believe also that a significant proportion of the blame must lie with the gym staff for not enforcing the rules. Probably going to get a barrage of abuse for what I have said but its the way I see it in my gym.

I agree with this.A LOT of them behave like a gym mafia whereby the money they paid entitles them to exclusive rights to the equipment.Many of the guys leave chalk everywhere,dump weights on the ground,hog equipment,hang around in knots talking between sets and talking on ethe phone,often loudly.I think the problem is purely cultural,they often come from a macho society where politeness is considered weakness and swaggering around is a means of overcompensating.There are blokes who WILL let your work in if you ask,but asking them might not occur to everybody as the deliberatly exude an aura of "keep the fcuck away".I know my gym has several eastern europen satff so maybe they should go on a course of gym ettiqute,with a view to passing it on to thier countrymen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

Happens all the time in mine too , but then again the staff at mine havent got a clue about much between them. There worse than woodies staff if you need to find them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

I was just about to post the same thing.

I asked an eastern euorpean guy if a could fall in with him on a few sets one day. No word of a lie, he took nearly a 5 minute "rest" between sets, standing there looking at himself in the mirror and prancing around. I eventually got sick of it and just moved off to another bench as soon as one freed up to finish my sets!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I can't believe there's a thread complaining about what people wear in the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Lola87

Wear gym gear to the gym, simple as. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Hanley wrote: »

It's why they call it the silly season Hanley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Please excuse my ignorance.. but what are 'Wife Beaters'???

:confused::confused:

52397477_31b787839d_o.jpg

This^^

Or this
    http://upload.tastyspoon.com/uploads/200610/Wife_Beater.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

These:

450px-Ashirtexample.jpg

Edit: Degsy beat me to it...

Hanley wrote: »

here i rembember you giving out to me about wearing a black t shirt with navy fat man pants....:p:p:p

Your sarcasm meter must have been broken that day. You should see me in the gym... wrecked cons with the laces open, baggy basketball shorts and whatever tshirt that makes it out of my drawer first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If i had the body to wear a wife beater, then i'd wear a wife beater... Although not one of those cotton type ones, more of a sporty type, it is the gym after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Funnily enough, if you substitute "Irish" for "Eastern European" in your post you'll get my experience in the last gym I was a member in :). Gangs of four or five lads standing around, blocking access to three machines at a time, talking away to each other. Occasionally one of them would do a few reps of something. I assume they were part of a team or something but it used to annoy the hell out of me when I wanted to just get in and get my workout done without having to ask people to move. In that same gym I used to work out with a couple of Czech guys and one guy from Lithuania who was small but built like a tank.

Anyway, I think you get insensitive and ignorant people from all over the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

Another thing that bugs me are horribly overweight old men with varicose veins standing around in the nude for extended periods in the changing rooms.

Agreed what is it with that???

Used to be a member of total fitness in Castleknock about 10 years ago and there was a guy in is late 40's who used to wear his towel after his shower like a woman hitched up under his armpits!. Very scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

There is a guy in my gym that wears those canterbury leggings under shorts, and a canterbury longsleeve thermal under a sleevless hoodie with the hood up. He is only there very late in the evening, I'm starting to think it is someone famous that doesn't want the attention. That or he just feels the cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

malice_ wrote: »
    Gangs of four or five lads standing around, blocking access to three machines at a time, talking away to each other. Occasionally one of them would do a few reps of something. I assume they were part of a team or something but it used to annoy the hell out of me when I wanted to just get in and get my workout done without having to ask people to move.

I think there's a group like that in every gym. We're unfortunate in our gym to have two. How they think that 5 - 8 people are going to be able to work the same body part on the same machine I'll never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

The free weights section of my gym is usually quiet enough so don't have to wait to use equipment.

The most annoying thing for me, is in the changing rooms seeing guys use the hair-dryer to blow dry their whole body. F*cking freaks me out for some reason, I just don't want to have to see that...

Malteaser! wrote: »
    I think there's a group like that in every gym. We're unfortunate in our gym to have two. How they think that 5 - 8 people are going to be able to work the same body part on the same machine I'll never know!

Dont forget the accompanying shouting and raucous laughter..bloody headwreckers.

Haha oh how could I forget?? There's one particularly bad group and I genuinely believe that they're responsible for some of the DBs getting broken what with the way they just fuck them on the ground when they're done with them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

yeah. THE most annoying thing.

4/5 lads come in and take over either the squat rack, smith, or free weights section.

fcuk off lads

that or people not putting back the plates, dumbells or banging them on the ground - ffs

Malteaser! wrote: »
    Haha oh how could I forget?? There's one particularly bad group and I genuinely believe that they're responsible for some of the DBs getting broken what with the way they just fuck them on the ground when they're done with them!!

Is one of them always on the phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭PCB

My pet hates:

1. Eastern Euopeans on mobile phones (do they think the pope is gonna call while they are working out)

2.Eastern Europeans with laminated pages from flex reading them while they are trying to do some ridiculous workout for their forearms or some other body part that doesnt matter a fcuck

3. People in disgustingly smelly gear. their is one guy in Pinnacle who is without doubt the most disgusting smelling human being i have ever come across. i dont think he ever washes his gear

4. wearing jeans in the gym

5. wearing wooly jumpers in the gym

6. eating while in the gym

7. those pathetic c*nts who will wear a towel in the changing rooms and have to show off their wrinkly little nipper to the world

8. Fat eastern europeans who think they are huge benching 90kg and grunting like they are moving massive weights

9. old men that wont stop trying to talk to you

10. boggers in their full club gaa kit with number 24 on the back just to voice to the world what a useless c*nt they are

11. people who bring their girlfriend to the gym and then get them to spot for them. quick lesson: if your girlfriend is able to spot for you, its unlikely you actually need a spotter you fcucking tool

12. people sitting on machines and bopping their head to their music

13. tight pants, shorts and anything shorter than rugby shorts men

14. eastern europeans trying to curl 50kilos with their back and not their arms

15. eastern europeans who think they are massive and walk around like they can barely fit in the gym. newsflash, you wiegh 85 kilos and you bench less,probably a sign that your not exactly big

16. people who come to the gym and just wander from machine to machine in their tracksuit

17. tracksuit

18. weight lifting gloves......usually worn by people who think they make them look cool. gloves are pretty much useless you gimp

19. people in sandals

20. people reading books (yes ive seen it)

21. those bullsh*t programs ''fitness instructors'' give out to people when they join the gym

22. fat and underdeveloped people trying to give you advice onn training

23. people who say '' ohh im not lifting that i dont want to get too big''. fcuckin idiots

24. completely concocted tales about a feind of theirs that is ''absolutely huge''

25. eastern europeans in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

PCB wrote: »
    My pet hates:

1. Eastern Euopeans on mobile phones (do they think the pope is gonna call while they are working out)

2.Eastern Europeans with laminated pages from flex reading them while they are trying to do some ridiculous workout for their forearms or some other body part that doesnt matter a fcuck

3. People in disgustingly smelly gear. their is one guy in Pinnacle who is without doubt the most disgusting smelling human being i have ever come across. i dont think he ever washes his gear

7. those pathetic c*nts who will wear a towel in the changing rooms and have to show off their wrinkly little nipper to the world

8. Fat eastern europeans who think they are huge benching 90kg and grunting like they are moving massive weights

10. boggers in their full club gaa kit with number 24 on the back just to voice to the world what a useless c*nt they are

11. people who bring their girlfriend to the gym and then get them to spot for them. quick lesson: if your girlfriend is able to spot for you, its unlikely you actually need a spotter you fcucking tool

15. eastern europeans who think they are massive and walk around like they can barely fit in the gym. newsflash, you wiegh 85 kilos and you bench less,probably a sign that your not exactly big

16. people who come to the gym and just wander from machine to machine in their tracksuit

17. tracksuit

18. weight lifting gloves......usually worn by people who think they make them look cool. gloves are pretty much useless you gimp

19. people in sandals

21. those bullsh*t programs ''fitness instructors'' give out to people when they join the gym

23. people who say '' ohh im not lifting that i dont want to get too big''. fcuckin idiots

24. completely concocted tales about a feind of theirs that is ''absolutely huge''

So to sum it up into one point you just hate Eastern Europeans ? Becuase you never see Irish people do any of the above ...

My pet hates:

17. tracksuit

19. people in sandals

God that's alot of hate. Ever hear that saying that if everyone and everything p!sses you off then maybe the problem isn't with them...?

As for number 11.... I won't even bother commenting.

hanley i have no probelm with eastern europeans outside of the gym forum but to be honest they are the scourge of my trainng life. the new gym ive joined appears to be relativley free of them however:D:D:D

My pet hates:

:eek: I thought I was the only girlfriend who did that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Since everyone has covered most of this issues already, what's your problem with people wearing shorts?

look before this gets out of hand im not saying all girlfriends but the majority of girlfreinds, mine included, do not possess the physical ability to spot a grown man while he is working out.

lol, I was only kidding tbh!! I'm glad to be one of the few though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

I think that one of those problems is caused by the other. The amount of people I see in the gym wandering up to a machine, sitting down, not knowing how to use it and then getting up and leaving becasue the "!fitness instructor" didn't show them properly how in the first place. I saw a guy the other day doing seated calf raises with the lock on and no weight!

I'd go help them out but unfortunately i would then fall into PCB's list under number 22
    22. Fat and underdeveloped people trying to give you advice on training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭jakeypooh

I hate the eastern european guys in my gym whose ****ing jaws drop when they see me coming into the "male weights area" - its not a "male weights area" is just a free weights area, then when they see me lifting heavier weights than the ****e pink air weights normally associated with women they start a whole conversation in their own language and take the piss outta me.
    It was hilarious a few weeks ago my husband was there too - he never normally trains with me and came over and was messing around lifting lighter than me for the crack and says to them jesus shes strong isn't she and they proceeded to take the piss outta me
    Tossers
    Couldn't lift a proper weight with perfect form if they tried
    They just hang around in their **** clothes smelling of high sweat and looking at their ugly mushes in the mirror

the reason i put in no.22 is because i wouldnt give a mechanic advice on how to fix his car. i have every right to go to the garage, have a look around and do what i want with my own car but i have no right to tell someone who knows what they are doing what to do!!:D