Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Universe Ireland

• 08-06-2008 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭

Is it wrong that I (a laydee) just got really excited when I saw that Miss Universe, Ireland, is on tv tonight?

It's just so......sparkly.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

not at all! i forgot it was on actually but i think i shall watch it! just for the pretty dresses... no doubt some insane feminist is gonna pop up shouting about the anti-feminism of it all but you're right. it is so sparkly! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭lemon_of_old

I've never watched one before - do they do the whole prancing around in swimsuits, and then interview them about bunny rabbits and stuff??

It's gonna be class!

And it beats soccer on every friggin channel. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

LOL
    Digiguide wrote:
    The judging panel will consist of the following high profile celebrities: Rosanna Davison, Brendan O'Connor,Synan O'Mahony, Bianca Gascoigne, Duncan James, Michelle Heaton and Ayden Callaghan.

Wow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

shudder at michelle heaton

do they ask for world peace? cos ye know thats the best part

And for harsher punishment for parole violators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Shudder at Brendan O'Connor. I will never understand why RTE think this guy should have a deciding opinion on anything.

And for harsher punishment for parole violators.

:D love that film!

and who the hell is michelle heaton? i'd say they do but im not sure! when's it starting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

She was in Liberty X, she was on the panel in you're a star, I really dont like the girl, met her at a charity event and heard her in the bathroom giving out about having to do these things, muppet.

noooo not her.... i can't stand her! her eyebrows and fake tan really really annoy me! also the fact that she never ever smiles...

I hate those people that'll do anything to cling onto any bit of fame, and then bitch about having to do it! Jesus, she should be glad she's asked to do these things, she's a total z-list celeb.

I'm the queen of distraction by sparkles.....I've lost 4 years of my life due to bloody sparkles.

Miss Irish Universe does nothing but make me cringe though.

LMAO! It just started and the opening sequence involves some lady dancers in body suits covered in.......yes......you guesed it...........SPARKLES!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

LMAO! It just started and the opening sequence involves some lady dancers in body suits covered in.......yes......you guesed it...........SPARKLES!! :D
    that's it, we've lost the girl's attention for the night guys.

I lost my will to resist after the gold all sparkle dress.....I feel ashamed. :(

damn i'm missing it cos i'm too lazy to stand up and find a tv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Oh great the bikini's are out! All the lads are glued no doubt!!:D

Boys! Bikinis!

38" inseam? That is like 6ft 5....yeah right...

I'm so worried they're gonna fall over. They all look so wobbly, stomping around the place.

Yeah they don't seem to know what they're doing/where they're going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭aoife161

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Yeah they don't seem to know what they're doing/where they're going!

hee hee, i thought the same!!

Some wannabe choreographer had them walking around looking like they were playing musical chairs!!

And one girl kept looking at her mates in the audience and bursting out laughing!

Theres only one girl there who isn't plastered in fake tan. I hope she wins, purely because I'm white as a sheet too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

evening wear seckshun coming up \o/

when you see the stark contrast between the girl with the pale skin and the others, it just makes the rest of the girls dirty!!

there are a few girls there that could do with a sandwich or three!

hot pink dresses need to be banned!

Theres only one girl there who isn't plastered in fake tan. I hope she wins, purely because I'm white as a sheet too.
    Didn't like her dress at all tho..

Oh and there was a royal blue dress in there...open down the centre..sparkles..was very tacky imo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Uompa Loumpa Land.

Mike

Aye, some definite skinnies there alright. And their hobbies are all "going to the gym". Bah. Damn hot wimmins :(

i hope one of the well fed or not insanely tanned girls win!

Whitey's out. Only the oompa loompas left.

would someone tell Caprice to stop making a c*ck up of the English language...

And the next lucky contestant goes to.....................

Huh?

Wow, I won the 'next lucky contestant'....i'm so honoured!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Load of shit tbh

yes terrible english between the pair of them. "the next girl going through are..." nightmare. it's just a fake tan convention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

aoife161 wrote: »
    would someone tell Caprice to stop making a c*ck up of the English language...

And the next lucky contestant goes to.....................

Huh?

Wow, I won the 'next lucky contestant'....i'm so honoured!!

I know, that was driving me crazy too. Every time she said it I cringed for her.

fonpokno wrote: »
    yes terrible english between the pair of them. "the next girl going through are..." nightmare. it's just a fake tan convention.

It's fun to bitch! :pac:

It releases endorphins, so we are only thinking of our health :D

isn't it though?? ah the simply pleasures in life... these things make me laugh cos a girl i used to be in school with now goes in for all this sorta thing - trinity's next top model and miss spin 103.8 and all that crap. it's strange, before she hit puberty she was a nice person and then she became a giggling ditsy annoying mess! [squeaky] "heeheeheeheehee that's hot!" [/squeaky]
    *dies*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Oh Lord they are all made up within an inch of their lives! And the green lighting isn't doing anybody any favours.

I dunno, I reckon no matter how nice or sound you are, when you start getting involved in these things where it's all about how you look, the hair, the tan etc, and you're surrounded by people that only want to know you cos of your looks, it's fairly likely you're going to change. All of these girls are in college or have degrees and are pretty accomplished, so it's not like they're stupid. They're just dumb for the sake of being dumb. I think anyway.

some of them yeah but this girl used to be lovely like! she went all ditsy and paris hilton-esque when she discovered boys. i mean she's stunning, pale skin and a natural blonde but she lashes on the tan and the make up now and its just too much.

Anyone watching Pageant Mums?

Jaysus, those kids should be taken away from them. They are treating them like play dolls, not their children. Awful.

i'm getting embarrassed just watching this.......poorly produced programme.

Jesus, the girl who won is a baby. She looks about 15!

Ah well, that's my fill of sparkles for the evening.

It was such a load of ****, I'm embarrassed I watched it. Well. Not really.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Quick question... there is a newspaper article about a girl who is apparently in this. Her name is Niamh Cronin and they had her down as Miss WIT. She was supposed to be on tonight. When I flicked on, another Waterford girl by the name of Samantha was on? Plus it seems to be a different judging panel?

I am very confused...

http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/wit-student-in-running-to-become-miss-universe-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

fonpokno wrote: »
    some of them yeah but this girl used to be lovely like! she went all ditsy and paris hilton-esque when she discovered boys.

Yup, unfortunately sometimes that'll do it, they get so set on playing the ditsy blonde for the lads they actually become the ditsy blonde. :(

Sully wrote: »

That article and these programmes just scream "look at me, look at me, aren't I great" (i.e. everyone attentionwhore needing a fix) IMO. But sure suppose at least they all enjoy themselves and no-one gets hurt so leave them to it.
    Came across the programme last night while channelsurfing and stopped just long enough to assess that it was a Rose of Tralee type thing before moving on, was however left with the thought:
    Do they count this as a life achievement? I mean do these women go into future job interviews with it on their CV or intentionally working it in the conversation? Certainly there has been one former miss Ireland I'm aware of having tried to use it in job interviews as I know the interviewer for one of the jobs she tried for. If it were a job dealing with the public I could maybe understand how it'd help, but for a desk job like the interview was for...:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭hairymolly

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Shudder at Brendan O'Connor. I will never understand why RTE think this guy should have a deciding opinion on anything.

+1 x millions:mad: dont get me started

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I seen the start of this, where the judges were intoduced, but the music was so annoying I had to turn it off. Caprice looked like she didn't have a clue what she was doing, she looked so awkward. I switched back over after the Sunday Game when there was five girls left, none of them would stand a chance at Miss Universe. The whole thing looked so unprofessional. Nice prize though - 5 weeks in Vietnam, clothes, car and apartment, even if it is only for a year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭hairymolly

Totally agree with you Pigletlover, to me it seemed Caprice had an overdose of botox, her mouth just wasnt moving. She certainly lacked professionalism. Ya wouldnt say no to 5 weeks in vietnam :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

Sully wrote: »
    Quick question... there is a newspaper article about a girl who is apparently in this. Her name is Niamh Cronin and they had her down as Miss WIT. She was supposed to be on tonight. When I flicked on, another Waterford girl by the name of Samantha was on? Plus it seems to be a different judging panel?

I am very confused...

http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/wit-student-in-running-to-become-miss-universe-ireland/

There were two girls from waterford in that, both Samantha and Niamh, AFAIK. picked at Harvey's miss waterford night to go through to the finals in Dublin.

Watched it for all of about 3 minutes then couldn't bear to watch anymore. Fr Ted's lovely girls pageant had more intelligent (and better looking) wimmin in it. How can girls demean themselves like that? parading round in fake tan and pink bikinis and spouting guff about helping the childern and being an ambassador etc. etc. Gah [/cliched rant]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

While I've no doubt there were some girls in the final that were all the above, I don't think it's fair to judge all the girls or assume they are degrading themselves. Some of them didn't take the whole thing like their lives depended on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Big Balls wrote: »
    While I've no doubt there were some girls in the final that were all the above, I don't think it's fair to judge all the girls or assume they are degrading themselves. .

Its degrading to women as a whole,that they even allow something like this to be shown on national tv. I watched it last night and really felt like crying at some parts, well mainly at the part where chauvanist pig Brendan O'Conner was salivating over the 'girls' in their little pink bikinis.
    These women are really intelligent and im sure wonderful human beings and its degrading for them and all Irish women to strip themsleves down to the tacky low levels of what I saw on TV last night.
    No wonder women have to struggle twice as hard as men to get to the same levels as men in a society where women are encouraged to be treated like cattle at a mart for cheap entertainmennt and to make lots and lots of Moolah for Donald Trumps Miss universe corporation.

I had a good laugh at the question section though.I think we can expel the myth that these competitons are about 'personality' and 'intelligence' when there very evidently not.

Im quite suprsied that women here enjoyed watching the show. what exactly from a womens perspective was enjoyable about it?