Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first time you were drunk

• 01-06-2008 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

what age were you when you first got drunk?

what age were you when you first got drunk 288 votes

0% 0 votes
    14% 41 votes
    18% 54 votes
    19% 55 votes
    15% 46 votes
    19+
    11% 32 votes
    25+
    5% 15 votes
    12 or younger
    1% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

i) Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

about 20, i was a late starter, but had plenty of fun catching up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

17. On two pints of Bulmers no less. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭hunter164

14, 5 tuborg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Hasn't happened yet. I've seen friends go completely insane when drunk, not too keen on it happening to me.
    Although I suspect I'll have drink forced down my throat on my 21st, but that isn't for another 2 and a half years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

18 i think though it was only a few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭NukeD4

13 on two cans of bulmers bought by my friends gardai parents,i fell over quite a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

16, I can't remember which session it was though, they were all as equally thick at that age. I think it was when I bought the nagun of Hennessy, chugged it, waited 15 minutes, didn't feel drunk went and got another one chugged it. All gone within 25 minutes and I pretty much died. I remember getting sick around Swords Manor and seeing a lad that was a big scumbag at the time kicking some other lad up the road and trying to hide, he didn't see me!

Got home to my friends gaf and had to sleep in an old car out the back, I was there for about 10 minutes before they brought me in. It felt like four or five hours though

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

I was 16, and my Dad bought me the beer too...
    We were at the awards night of me winning the U16 league the previous year.
    He thought I had turned 17, lol, I was very drunk, and quite sick iirc...damn Budweiser!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

16. Bulmers. Classy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭scoot on

I was either 15 or 16. Can't remember which. My friends parents were away so we decided to raid the wine cabinet. First and last time i've ever drank wine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

my first time i got an eyebrow shaved off!!!

put me off for life ;)

I hear ya scoot on. I went on a wine drinking marathon Friday night and I still feel a bit off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭scoot on

I can't stand the taste of it and all my buddies warning my about the wine hangovers have made me stay well clear. I'll stick to the beer I think! It's weird as you get older though you feel like you should drink wine because that's what everybody drinks with dinner etc etc

Meh, I don't like it with a meal - it's quite a bloating, yeasty drink so when I'm full from food, wine is the last thing I want. It's lovely with nibbles and nachos though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

14, 4 cans of Bulmers. Quality night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

15. A sixpack of Dutch Gold in a field, Junior Cert results night. Classy times :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 newnewbie

irish-stew wrote: »
    about 20, i was a late starter, but had plenty of fun catching up

what put you off drinking until you were 20?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

16 at my friends going away party as he was going to Australia. Had 4 triple vodkas and red bulls. Was sick as a dog. Pucked me ring up. Quality night though. I won €30 on a game of poker.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

15 or 16. Linden Village, on a cold and windy night on some building site. Absolutely vile, put me off alcohol for about an entire year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Alter wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

newnewbie wrote: »
    what put you off drinking until you were 20?

nothing, didn't really appeal up until then, tried it a few times, just didn't like the taste, it was when i moved to ireland from london, you lot currupted me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Never. Haven't drank any of that junk in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

16, a lot of vodka straight in a very short space of time, blacked out. Put me off vodka for years, even the smell would make me wretch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

13, in a city centre bar that shall remain nameless. The girls made me up and put me in a pair of high heels for the first time in my life and I got plastered beyond belief on two pints of budweiser. It was awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

A flagen of Linden Village when I was about 13, We were staying on my dads boat on the Shannon for the weekend. Had met these cool 16 year old boys I wanted to impress...Vomited my guts up for about 3 hours....:( Not very Impressive...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 sickami

I was 15. and first time I was so drunk i fell down and broke my wrist and had to go to A&E, it was on easter sunday and my parents did't think i was drunk and anyway,,,when i was getting the x-ray taken they started asking loads of questions...and i was like 'i slipped' and then what they did was give my mam a leaflet on underage drinking.......it was the most uncomfortable drive home ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

14 in the south of France with a very cool bunch of Scots. Was a brilliant week.

On the wine front, love red wine, horrible horrible hangovers. I don't drink red wine to excess under any circumstances, consequences are just too severe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Never gotten meself drunk to the point of your stereotyped drunk behaviour.

Worst I've gotten meself was being a lil light headed and that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

16. Was in a friend's house before going to our first house party. I think we mixed whiskey, port and coke in a 500ml bottle and shared it.

It was a deadly night as it turns out. Didn't have a hangover or anything in the morning. Good times.

First time I got REALLY drunk was at 17. Downed a naggin, then some whiskey, and apparently a lot more whiskey as the night went on...

Oh the stories I've been told about that night......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Thirteen, drinking Old Somerset!

Only had about three cans and was twisted!

Moved up to Golden Scrumpy after that, but I drank very infrequently between thirteen and sixteen.

At sixteen my and my friends parents were all quite lenient.

They didn't mind us drinking as long as it was in someones house, so we all had a pretty decent attitude to drinking and didn't just get sloppy dunk in a field somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

17 after a do in work, opened taxi and fell onto footpath. Then puked in neighbours hedge. O the shame.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

14, accidentally, at a wedding.

15 intentionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

13, a few cans of Budweiser, uuuggh. Had a terrible hangover too lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

13. Whiskey. The last time I was drunk? This morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was very young, I'm not sure. My ol lad gave me half a magnum bottle of blue nun and told me to drink it all. He figured I'd get so sick I'd never touch drink again. To this day I can't drink white wine without getting the taste of vomit in my mouth. I didn't drink again until the school forced us to become pioneers. I found a can of Heiniken behind the priests house later that day and broke the pledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I had lots of vodka on new years when i was 17, was up for work at 8 in the morning...yes thats right new years day! Got triple pay...but it wasn't worth it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I can't remember when I first got drunk because I have be drunk a lot since.

Probably aged 17 at the Limelight in Belfast. Got pissed and got split up from friends. Fell asleep in a toilet and got found by a bouncer and get kicked out. Had to get a taxi home which cost £20 and I had to go back to my dad and ask him for cash at which point I had to confess. Pure bollocking in the morning. I am pissed now a little bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Never gotten meself drunk to the point of your stereotyped drunk behaviour.
    Yeah I'm much the same, I've never gotten drunk to the point where I vomited, fell over, couldn't walk in a reasonably straight line, didn't know where I was, got abusive, couldn't string together a coherent sentence, blacked out, or had no recollection of the nights events. (though sometimes I think I'm missing out :confused:)
    I just get tired, light headed and talk slightly more shíte than usual.

It's such a subtle scale for me that I find it hard to pinpoint a certain age, I never had that first memorable encounter where I got completely legless and puked all night... I more eased into it and discovered my limits gradually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

Was 13, Englands first Euro '96 game. Three cans of special vat cider.
    Never touched cider again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

16, It was my cousins 18th birthday party and there was a lot of jagermeister been handed my way.

Then this year at 17. Champions League final which then proceeded me getting sick at the toilet bowl. Fun times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

i was 13 drunk on the large carton of white wine while me parents were at work.
    i was so ashamed to find meself woken up in the police station cell where me father works.:o:o
    got grounded for a month i think!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

13 paddy's day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Halloween when I was 14, we went trick or treating, then went to a field and drank for the night, a lot of fun.

3 bulmers and a coors light, I was pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

17 while in Kilmuckridge, Co. Wexford. Bulmers and sambuca did the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Hmmm, not quite sure. 15/16 i'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

16, naggin of hennessy. Man, that was mingin. Good day. Another guy had two cans and was plastered and a girl who was with us had one bottle of miller and was completely out of it. Afterwards we went to see rocky. All I remember was sitting in the corner texting away, occasionally looking at the film and realising it was teh sjh!t.

Since then, Ive evolved to properly going out, Knacker drinking still rules though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Dudess wrote: »
    16. Bulmers. Classy.

Same. House party! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭celticwe

15 16 warm dutch gold 2 cans pissed
    hello