Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Clothes Collection" leaflets

• 30-05-2008 11:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭

You know the ones, always on ****ty A4 printing papper, has a ****ty graphic and a fake chairty name. Also has an 085 number that is there for show always rings out.

I get about three of these a week in the door, there was a break in down the road and apparently it was by a gang operating as one of these. You always get a bag to leave on your doorstop on your collection day, the chaps call to to collect the bag and suss it if it's worth robbing go off and tell other chaps to rob the gaff.

Always knew they weren't making their money out of selling on your old skanky clothes you thought were going to chairty so never took part. The house that got robbed donated once or twice must of known they were all at work on the day they broke in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Lot of assumtions there.

I never give anything to these guys - everyone knows they're fake.

Free bin bags FTW.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

I know the neighbour and that's what he said, no reason to think he would lie tbh.

Some of them are legit and not everyone knows or else it wouldn't of happened to him, some people really are that stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have 5 of them in my basement, leaflets I mean

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

get loads of these every week even though there are bring centrs for old cloths at local shopping centre

obviously there is no deterent to doing this so the penalties or enforcement must go up until its stamped out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

I doubt they were involved with the burgalaries. None of them are genuinely legitimate. Some claim to donate to charity but they only give a few pence from each pound they make to a charity. They collect the old clothes which can be sold for something like 500pound per ton. The clothes get shipped to asia and recycled. There was a good piece about these outfits on BBC northern Ireland where they seem to come from.

Trust me they cased the gaff and robbed it under the mask of clothes collectors, there may be money in tons of clothes but there's quicker money inside peoples houses.

keen wrote: »
    Trust me they cased the gaff and robbed it under the mask of clothes collectors, there may be money in tons of clothes but there's quicker money inside peoples houses.

Can you post evidence of any of these clothes collectors being convicted of burgalry? They would'nt last long if they were robbing the people they were collecting from, especially when they post their mobile numbers on leaflets. A person seeking to rob a house could knock into house to see if it is unoccupied under any pretence, it's a bit ellaborate to collect clothes and post leaflets. Thieves don't need to do something like this. I have seen several people delivering these leaflets and they more mostly women and didnt "look " dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Can you post evidence of any of these clothes collectors being convicted of burgalry? They would'nt last long if they were robbing the people they were collecting from, especially when they post their mobile numbers on leaflets. A person seeking to rob a house could knock into house to see if it is unoccupied under any pretence, it's a bit ellaborate to collect clothes and post leaflets. Thieves don't need to do something like this. I have seen several people delivering these leaflets and they more mostly women and didnt "look " dodgy.

So there for all of them are legit because the ones you have seen didn't look dodgey?

What evidence could I possibly post you? Stop asking silly questions that you know have no answer.

There not in it for the clothes, they don't return to the same area twice. There's orgainsed crime aswell as opportunistic and this is one of the scams that was sussed when they were caught. Why would I lie about such a trivial thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

i get these too, didnt know they were a criminal enterprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

My understanding was that it was simply a commercial enterprise were the only scam element was the invocation of some charitable cause to elicit the clothes. I honestly can't see how it might be part of a more sinister plot - what part of the process helps the would be robbers decide you are worth robbing? Are you inviting them into your house to collect the bags? Are they going through the clothes you leave out and basing it on that? If instead you are suggesting that they are looking through the window as they pass by then there must be many other, less convoluted, ways to do that...

C

Phibsboro wrote: »
    My understanding was that it was simply a commercial enterprise were the only scam element was the invocation of some charitable cause to elicit the clothes. I honestly can't see how it might be part of a more sinister plot - what part of the process helps the would be robbers decide you are worth robbing? Are you inviting them into your house to collect the bags? Are they going through the clothes you leave out and basing it on that? If instead you are suggesting that they are looking through the window as they pass by then there must be many other, less convoluted, ways to do that...

C

I'm sure there is less convoluted ways to do it doesn't mean it never happens.

They call to the houses to "collect the clothes" or get their bag back and find out if the house is worth hitting rather then walking up randomly and smashing the back window, can't you see how it would work better? Most of them are commerical scams.

The Guards caught the people that done it as they had done a few houses in the surrounding areas.

What I don't understand is people read a topic and say "no that doesn't happen" because it never happened to you, why would I lie? If people don't take stuff on face value what's the point in reading anything on a forum. Your understanding is based on your experience not everyones.

I ain't saying no one does'nt do it just if anyone does it's very rare. I'd say vast majority are just after the clothes. They can get a few euro for every full bag they collect, and collect a few hundred bags a week across Dublin, so make decent money for little work and no risk of jail. People who break into houses are either junkies or experienced burgulars. Neither would be walking around putting hundreds of bags and letters(containing contact mobile number that could be traced) into hundreds of houses. If any of these people putting the bags and leaflets into doors are also involved in burgalry they would be easily caught and prosecuted and it wouldbe all over Liveline and in court reports in paper. Post a link to one of these collectors caught doing such illegal activities. What likely happened is these people were collecting in an area at same time as burgalries occured and ignorant people put two and two together and got ten. No evidence then don't bother posting with unsubstantiated rumour and hersay.
    Good afternoon.

I ain't saying no one does'nt do it just if anyone does it's very rare. I'd say vast majority are just after the clothes. They can get a few euro for every full bag they collect, and collect a few hundred bags a week across Dublin, so make decent money for little work and no risk of jail. People who break into houses are either junkies or experienced burgulars. Neither would be walking around putting hundreds of bags and letters(containing contact mobile number that could be traced) into hundreds of houses. If any of these people putting the bags and leaflets into doors are also involved in burgalry they would be easily caught and prosecuted and it wouldbe all over Liveline and in court reports in paper. Post a link to one of these collectors caught doing such illegal activities. What likely happened is these people were collecting in an area at same time as burgalries occured and ignorant people put two and two together and got ten. No evidence then don't bother posting with unsubstantiated rumour and hersay.
    Good afternoon.

What evidence would you like? What do you want be to provide you with?

The Guards told the victim of the robbery that this is what they thought was going on and I'd say they knowmore then you seeing as they investigated the matter, and there's no way the mobile number could be traced. You can a buy sim card for 15 euro and give no details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I saw the cops pull one of the vans at the end of my road last week.
    The back of the van was filled with the yellow clothes bags, similar to the van I saw a couple of months back.

There is no doubt in my mind that they are scammers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Never used to give anything to these guys. Free bags was about it. Scam scam scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Robertttt

oh yes i've heard of these "charity" clothes collectors.
    actually read it on the sunday indepedent.....they are like eastern european gangs that do it! they compete for the bags with actual charities.....i mean getting there before them and everything! then they send to clothes to poland or somewhere like that and actually sell them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Robertttt wrote: »
    oh yes i've heard of these "charity" clothes collectors.
    actually read it on the sunday indepedent.....they are like eastern european gangs that do it! they compete for the bags with actual charities.....i mean getting there before them and everything! then they send to clothes to poland or somewhere like that and actually sell them!

You'll get the shock of your life when you find out that Poland is not in Eastern Europe :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Robertttt

KTRIC wrote: »
    You'll get the shock of your life when you find out that Poland is not in Eastern Europe :rolleyes:
    ah yes it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Hahaha what? my mam always sends out the bags of clothes, more cos it just forces everyone to clear out the clothes that no one wears anymore on a semi-regular basis.

Suuuurely this plot is the exact same as just randomly walking up and down streets to decide who to rob. I mean, I wouldn't be as concerned about who to rob, so much as when to rob. Why not go out to some random country house in the middle of nowhere every week and take everything, not too many cameras or neighbours or guards, I mean that's much simpler than organising a clothing collection, giving out all the bags, going out and getting back all the bags etc etc.

I just can't see the benefit of it..

doonothing wrote: »
    Hahaha what? my mam always sends out the bags of clothes, more cos it just forces everyone to clear out the clothes that no one wears anymore on a semi-regular basis.

Suuuurely this plot is the exact same as just randomly walking up and down streets to decide who to rob. I mean, I wouldn't be as concerned about who to rob, so much as when to rob. Why not go out to some random country house in the middle of nowhere every week and take everything, not too many cameras or neighbours or guards, I mean that's much simpler than organising a clothing collection, giving out all the bags, going out and getting back all the bags etc etc.

I just can't see the benefit of it..

Yore mas a mong.

I think you'd spot a robber quicker if he was randomly walking up and down drive ways with no purpose. They don't put a lot of time into the whole clothes lark not the thieving ones anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Yore mas a mong.

I think you'd spot a robber quicker if he was randomly walking up and down drive ways with no purpose. They don't put a lot of time into the whole clothes lark not the thieving ones anyway.

A yore ma joke! LOOOOOL!!!!!

A robber literally needs to walk up and down a driveway to decide which house to rob? Couldn't judge by area/seeing the inhabitants of the house/make of car/multitude of other reasons no?

If you're going to rob a house, it would be a hell of a lot easier to judge on a whole load of factors which house to rob, rather than starting an elaborate clothes collecting scheme. I'm just not buying that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Scam, Yes. Something more sinister like a front for robbery, No!

The clothes do not go to charity. They get sold on - mainly for recycling.

The poster who thinks it is a front for a house robbing ring is a little bit gulible methinks. They should consider a story they have heard fully and examine it before they go off repeating it. Just because they heard it from a friend does not mean it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

they seem to be going to extreme lengths to avoid being seen by householders lately- last night, at exactly 4.30am, I was woken by a noise in the hall and raced downstairs to see what was happening. Bloody "collector" going round dropping the bags in through letterboxes at 4.30am on a sunday night/bank holiday monday morning to avoid confrontation/detection from householders - if I had time enough to throw some clothes on before he left the cul de sac, I would have gone out and tore strips off him for disturbing the entire household at such an hour - our dogs were going nuts. Dread to think how many young children/babies the git woke up on his rounds.

Seems they're doing it at this hour to avoid people like me running out with the bag and telling them not to drop them in our lettbox again/or to avoid detection whereby people could ring to notify guards of bogus collectors currently operating in a certain estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭MrsJohnMurphy

echosound wrote: »
    they seem to be going to extreme lengths to avoid being seen by householders lately- last night, at exactly 4.30am, I was woken by a noise in the hall and raced downstairs to see what was happening. Bloody "collector" going round dropping the bags in through letterboxes at 4.30am on a sunday night/bank holiday monday morning to avoid confrontation/detection from householders - if I had time enough to throw some clothes on before he left the cul de sac, I would have gone out and tore strips off him for disturbing the entire household at such an hour - our dogs were going nuts. Dread to think how many young children/babies the git woke up on his rounds.

This seems to be their modus operandi. One night I was awake at half four and heard the letter box clanging. Jumped up outta the bed and looked out the window and just barely caught a glimpse of them going out the gate.

A law should be brought in making it illegal to be delivering leaflets during the night!

MJM

Enii wrote: »
    Scam, Yes. Something more sinister like a front for robbery, No!

The clothes do not go to charity. They get sold on - mainly for recycling.

The poster who thinks it is a front for a house robbing ring is a little bit gulible methinks. They should consider a story they have heard fully and examine it before they go off repeating it. Just because they heard it from a friend does not mean it's true.

Suppose I should of told the neighbour his house wasn't robbed and he dreamt the guards explanation, I'm not gullible just wouldn't call him a liar as I know no better. I'm thinking of giving it a go myself seems a fair few people wouldn't bat an eye lid if I was to walk up and down their drive ways at mad hourse of the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/0903/mike65/001.jpg

I reckon I get one every 48 hours on average, how many items of old clothing etc do these people think we have?

Mike.

mike65 wrote: »
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/0903/mike65/001.jpg

I reckon I get one every 48 hours on average, how many items of old clothing etc do these people think we have?

Mike.

Jaysus they look fairly decent compared to the one I got, was plain A4 paper with a black text on it, looked like a clip art job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭hairymolly

These people would not be in business if people supported thier local charity shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

i have not had to buy any bin bags for the last 2 years :D its been quality i dont give any clothes to these folk i take them down the local charity shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Yeah these are a piss take at this stage. We get one every 3 days or so. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

What evidence would you like? What do you want be to provide you with?

The Guards told the victim of the robbery that this is what they thought was going on and I'd say they knowmore then you seeing as they investigated the matter, and there's no way the mobile number could be traced. You can a buy sim card for 15 euro and give no details.

Ha Ha the rumour is..

Evidence might be a witness who saw these collectors enter or leave a premises that a burgalary was reported in.
    Circumstancial Evidence would be stolen items been sold by the collectors or stolen items on the collectors.
    CCTV of collectors acting unusually or witness, ( such as peering into windows or looking around houses) or connections with some crime gang.
    The gardai might have a some compelling statistical data that shows most burgalaries are happening in the same neighbourhood the collectors are working.

pirelli wrote: »
    Ha Ha the rumour is..

Evidence might be a witness who saw these collectors enter or leave a premises that a burgalary was reported in.
    Circumstancial Evidence would be stolen items been sold by the collectors or stolen items on the collectors.
    CCTV of collectors acting unusually or witness, ( such as peering into windows or looking around houses) or connections with some crime gang.
    The gardai might have a some compelling statistical data that shows most burgalaries are happening in the same neighbourhood the collectors are working.

It's a thread in AH, not a court case.

I'm sure the guards have something on them I they wouldn't of mentioned them as being involved in the theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

I have received countless fakes this past few weeks. It would be easier if a thread was started listing the genuine ones they receive.:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

Not arguing with you here, just wondering.

They have to walk up my driveway to drop in the leaflet. If I leave out a bag they have to walk the exact same distance. How does leaving a bag of clothes out target you for burglary? Unless you're leaving a bag of gucci and designer stuff out.

I've left bags out for the ones in my estate. I've seen them too. The guy hopped out of his van and ran (not sauntered) up to the bag, grabbed it and went off. He didn't know I was there, I was upstairs at my desk.

I get a pile of junk mail every couple of days. There are always people walking up to the house. These guys could be casing the place too.
    Then I get the guys trying to sell me paintings or services the odd evening. 10 times out of 10 they get told "No thanks".

Actually after reading over that I think I need to get a gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Very easy way to test how true your theory is.

Fill a bag of clothes you don't wear. Put it at your neighbours door and wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

"Buyer Beware" on RTE on Thursday @ 830pm is covering this very topic.

Watch out for the eastern european lads get stung Prime Time style :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

There not in it for the clothes, they don't return to the same area twice.

Holy shit! If that's true there must be literally thousands of these scammers in operation. It wouldn't be unusual to get 7 or 8 of these things a week through my door. Probably about 3 or 4 on average. We'll be overrun before long. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I know someone who claims they were woken up by the sounds of voices outside their door, they went down, and saw a group of travellers stealing everything in their porch (not much, some plastic bags and some flowerpots). They shouted at them and the travellers said; "sorry, we thought they were out for the collection" and went off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Does anyone know 1 or 2 legit ones? I know I could bring them to a charity shop or bring bank, but tbh very rarely have the time. I have a rake of clothes, but due to the amount of scammers dropping bags in the door, I'm never sure if any of them are real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Oral Slang wrote: »
    Does anyone know 1 or 2 legit ones? I know I could bring them to a charity shop or bring bank, but tbh very rarely have the time. I have a rake of clothes, but due to the amount of scammers dropping bags in the door, I'm never sure if any of them are real.

yes i happen to run a collection for deaf-blind paralyzed orphans!

my number is 085-373-5765 :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 dtwhaler

Bunch of criminals ! I got broken into ... well nearly. I woke up ... heard a noise. They legged when I put the light on. I then heard the van driving round the estate as bold as brass. They drove round slowly and even went up and tried a couple of doors. I aint brave enough to go confront them so I phoned the guards with the van reg.

The guard came back a couple of days later to say they tracked down the van and yer man's alibi was that he was collecting these feckin charity bags. There was nowt the guard could do even though his all happened at about ten to four in the morning !! True dedication to their charity ... NOT !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Got leaflets from these two charities *cough* in recent weeks :rolleyes:

This lad has gone all high tech and will even let you donate your hard earned cash by SMS..

http://www.secondhandrose.ie/v2/

This site has just been updated actually admitting its fake !

http://www.donotdelay.org/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Oral Slang wrote: »
    any charity you haven't of is fake

Do Bernardos do them ?

Might be easier to list all the legit charities who collect bags this way,
    it would be a very short list.

RTE 1 has a programme about this tonight 8.30. The presenter was on Pat Kennys radio prog just now talking about it, sounds like a pretty big operation.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You can find out where the clothes go by stitching a few razor-blades into your old jeans, then watch for unusual world-news items about people being castrated in mysterious circumstances. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Out of interest would people have a problem giving if the leaflet explicitly said "This is not a charity. We recycle your clothes for profit."? I usually drop my clothes in a bring bank or occasionally directly to a charity shop but sometimes when it's just one pair of jeans, I couldn't be arsed. If they were open about the fact that they were just recycling your clothes for money, I wouldn't mind giving them the odd thing.

I should add these guys empty clothes banks intended for Rehab etc. So they are pretty low.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭KilOit

I get these in the door every 2nd or 3rd day, i seen the guys dropping them off sometimes they seem to be foreign and come arround very early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I remember I delivered these to houses about 10 years ago. Its was a great job. Me and a friend picked up a thousand bags from the charity shop and dropped them off in a certain area. Then the van drivers collected them and we got a pound for every bag and 2 pound for TVs. Took about 2-3 hours but we came out with about 100-150pound. Not bad for 3 hours work.
    I get these leaflets through the door every morning and I know none of my neighbours leave anything out. Its a big scam now but it must be working if they keep doing it. Best thing to do is drop your clothes to the local charity shop or recycle bank.