Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda Restaurant Reviews

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Yes, it's a really good spot for food. Although I wouldn't have thought a burger wouldn't be a good choice in such a theme as Asian street food, I got the shack burger and it was top quality, really tasty. Those with me got sushi and said it was equally nice and fresh.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭kjbsrah1

Any suggestions of anywhere in Drogheda that does great dough balls?

Am just back from Edinburgh and have discovered the dough balls in Pizza Express and they were Devine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Whytes - nice relaxed setting, can just turn up without a booking. Plenty of options on menu, food yum, great Guinness.

I was there for the first time ever the other day. At €16.95 for a chicken wrap and a few chips I won't be returning any time soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭furiousox

New place open in Simona's old premises, "South Quay Fayre"

Looks good, anyone tried it?

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭enricoh

That's a bit steep alright. There's a nice cafe across the road from it that's cheap n cheerful.

Went to the pier in clogherhead last week fish n chips now E12 and a smaller portion to boot. A mate went to donegans n e48 for surf n turf- I didn't believe him but he had taken a photo of the menu!

Went to the burger place beside the cinema - nice burger, taco fries n a milkshake for a tenner. Only good value I've gotten recently

Everywhere is going to get dearer or close this winter methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭gipi

I was at Clogherhead pier last week, didn't think the portion sizes had changed? Himself got the full-size fish and chips and got 2 large fish pieces and plenty of chips. I had the half portion, plenty in it for me

The prices went up a few months ago, sign of the times, I'm afraid.

I thought the portion size was pretty small last time I was at the pier. Maybe it depends on how busy they are?

The wait times are far too long though, well over 20 minutes the last day I was there. Much better value (and much much quicker) popping into the fish mongers for a cup of chowder and some fresh bread.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Been to Wowburger a few times, and I'm genuinely impressed, especially with the €10 lunch special. The burgers are supplied by FXB and are top notch.

Compare and contrast with Eddie Rockets which IMHO has gone down the pan during covid. The last couple of times we went there the burgers were really poor quality and almost inedible.

Has anyone tried out the new-ish Mexican place? It has limited seating and always appears to be full.

Has anyone tried out the new Lebanese place across the river from Scotch Hall? Does it have any affiliation with Alisha's Bistro?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,136 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Maybe they meant Yeahburger at the back of the town centre?

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 29,136 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

"Has anyone tried out the new Lebanese place across the river from Scotch Hall? Does it have any affiliation with Alisha's Bistro?"

Tried it a few weeks ago, we thought it was average and that Aishas was better. Can't even remember what I ate so fairly forgettable!

Looking forward to trying the Mexican gaff

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Teapot30

Yeah burger is very nice and theyve good opening times too, it makes a change to have some where to go besides the pub past 5pm!

The last time I went to eddie rockets they served chips that were already salted but they were so salted they were completely inedible! Im surprised eddies has lasted as long as it has, its over priced, not very nice and very run down inside.

Got takeaway from Bella Venezia on Friday and it was awful! very over priced, took an hour and a half to arrive, the delivery man was extremely rude, food was freezing cold, portions were tiny and the pasta was swimming in a weird oily lump sauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭enricoh

Went to scholars recently, it's a notch or two above anywhere else I've been around Drogheda. If I had a company expenses card I'd live in the place!

Couple of takeaways from tamarind and that new Camille Thai. Once was enough for both, e13.50 for a 16oz cup of chicken massaman and rice in Camille. Tamarind no better.

Brekkie in Dave's diner, tenner for a full Irish n tasty, coffee is that American filter coffee stuff so I just go with tea.

Camile are on another level though. Used to eat there all the time when they had their one and only outlet in Phibsborough. Great to see them in Co.Louth.

err... Camile are nice but portions are smaller than most places and they're quite expensive.

I'm still impressed with Soi40 every time I order. My 'go to' takeaway now in Drogheda. The ribs are 10/10.

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭darklighter

Anyone hear about WestGate coffee shop closing? Not been open the last few mornings. Ill be a sad bunny if so, best coffee in town IMO

Yeah they were closed in Beechgrove there yesterday morning when I was over that way. They only took over that one a few weeks back, a month at most didn't they? I would have passed the one on Georges St. too but didn't notice if that one was open or not.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Ooooh, where is this New Mexican place? Love Mexican but very rarely get good stuff in Ireland.

Freddies Burritos on West St, right beside Penneys (haven't tried it yet myself)

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

Bryanstown social have upped their game I think, maybe they got a new chef. I haven't been in a while but the menu has gotten a much needed revamp, for example there are now 3 vegetarian options! And they all look savage. The dead animal options look good too ;-)

Agree with the person who mentioned scholars though, still the best grub in town

Also I tried the new Mexican place today, got a 5 bean burrito for around a tenner. Very feckin tasty and lovely and hot!

Post edited by WindmillWarrior on

Also, I think that Mexican wagon is still open in Malahide on weekends. They also sell Jarritos orange - the Fanta of Christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭kjbsrah1

Had lunch in The Hop in Southgate SC today. €23 fir 2 courses. Think it was €28 for 3. Had mushroom and Tarragon linguine and then a brownie with ice cream. Really lovely and nice portions. Not great selection of starters (soup, chicken wings or seafood chowder). Had hoped to see calimari, halloumi, beetroot/goats cheese, other options.

Portion side is fine is you are not too hungry. But can’t fault the taste/flavour.

staff were very nice and had just the right amount of attentiveness.

Nice ti have somewhere that central that you don’t need to go outside to get nice food. I’ll be back.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Teapot30

Ive noticed its not open anymore, they used to make lovely toasties and sandwiches, like they were so nice that people around town were hearing about them through word of mouth, got recommended by 5 different people to try them who all got recommended by other people but they suddenly stopped selling them, they never fully reopened the coffee shop after covid, like you couldnt go in and order, you had to stand outside on the street so couldnt put your own milk/sugar in your tea. It was a weird set up, they could have just had a tea/coffee van, there was no point in them having the entire shop just for the one or two staff members they employed.

"This one time...at band camp..."

CPL 593H

Went to the Trinity Quarter last night. My first time being there since it was the Star & Crescent. WOW! What an awesome job they did on it! The place looks great and the beer garden is fantastic.

Got a table for two in the restaurant on the mezzanine. The service was faultless. She had a Halloumi Salad and I had the Prawn Pil Pil for starters. Both portions were quite big for starters. Both were delicious.

She had the venison(€25) for main which came with a topping of onions and gravy and a side of potato mash done like a croquette. I had a 12oz Ribeye(€30) which I asked for rare and was cooked to perfection. It came with just a few onions on top and a choice of sauce. I had mash and sautéed mushroom and onion on the side which were €4.50 each. We didn't have desert.

We then sat down at the bar where a George Michael cover act came on and he was actually really good. Great atmosphere in the place.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The total for our food, two Guinness and three pornstar martini's was €118 which I thought was very very good value. Will definitely be returning very soon.

EDIT: I tell a lie, just came across the receipt. The sides were €4.00 and the mash was included with the Ribeye.

Post edited by Scotty # on