Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

good places to go on a date!

• 28-05-2008 10:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

okay ladies,

have you any ideas? already done the cinema/nightclub thing..im fed up of always sayin "i dont mind,what do you wanna do??" i feel like i have no mind of my own!

basically kissin this boy for the past 3/4 weeks and we hav been out almost each week to cinema or club but now like i think we want to spend time together like without noise and stuff. he(21) is just finished his final exams so hasnt been workin so not sure what disposable income is like, im ok cause have been working part time with college so i have funds.

the area is dublin/louh/meath

any fun ideas would be appreciated!

thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

A walk along dun laoghaire pier and a picnic at the end of it.

Might even have the oul lad who plays the banjo there to serenade u :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

newgrange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Rent bicycles and go for a spin somewhere nice. Then have somewhere nice for refreshments planned for when you work up an appetite or bring a picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

A trip to the zoo! That was one of my favourite dates I had with my bf when we first started to go out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

iveagh gardens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

bowling, picnic, quasar, rollerblading, beach walk, zoo, park etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

depending on the weather you could go on a open top bus ride around dublin and be tourists for a day

I want to be brought rollerblading!!!!!
    Please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

I remember the first time I put on a pair of roller skates. Sat down to do them up, stood up, and quickly sat down again! But I persevered and now I can even skate backwards! Not sure about rollerblading though, I can't ice skate so probably do the sitting/falling dow thing a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

tallaght01 wrote: »
    A walk along dun laoghaire pier and a picnic at the end of it.

Might even have the oul lad who plays the banjo there to serenade u :p

yeah i've done that. only problem is its over too quick!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Could take a drive up to The Blue Light past Stepaside, gorgeous views of Dublin from the Beer garden, or get a taxi up if you fancy a pint.. Or if it's during the day you could park at Hell Fire Wood carpark and walk up to the Hell Fire Club, again, amazing views of Dublin and if it's a nice day you could bring up a picnic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Dunno if there is anywhere that does it now, but back in December, brought my lady ice skating! I can't ice skate, she can, so was nice skating round together, then funny when I ended up on my arse/face, and when she would go round by herself, and see how long it took her to lap me :D Was such a good laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Theres a big comedy day out happening in Iveagh gardens soon http://www.aikenpromotions.com/component/option,com_gigcal/task,details/gigcal_bands_id,148/Itemid,68/
    I think that would be great to go on a date too!

Am I the only one who thinks a picnic is the corniest thing one can do?! Unless its an electric one!! :cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Neil, they are fierce corny, but they work!!! and thats all that matters!!

Hmmmmmmm, if I ever go on a picnic as a date Id like you to quote this post back to me to remind me how Ive changed!!

Time to whip out the Collins dictionary....

Whipped: (1) adj - situation whereupon a male is undeniably at the mercy of his high-maintinence girlfriend & answers to her every beck and call, usually followed by the reprioritizing of girlfriend over friends, family, school, food, water, and air.

:D:pac::pac:

Whipped_Magazine_for_Men.jpg

OP as odd as this sounds, an interesting date, if you're in Dublin, is to go into town and do something like the Ghost Bus tour or an open roof tour. Being a tourist in your own city isnt a bad idea, you'd enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

+1 for the zoo!

Picnic's nice but have a plan B for if (when) it starts raining.

Go for a random drive some place, park the car and get out and walk around. Preferably some place near a river that you could sit beside and just enjoy it. Don't even need a date for this! Bring a book and go solo! :D My geography's crap so I've no idea if there is a river near your location :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭mel(",)

thanks ladies & lads for all your help
    i had actually thought of the zoo myself but was afraid might be a little bit childish..though im only 19! thanks for all the ideas! i wont be stuck for an answer next time x

mel(",) wrote: »
    thanks ladies & lads for all your help
    i had actually thought of the zoo myself but was afraid might be a little bit childish..though im only 19! thanks for all the ideas! i wont be stuck for an answer next time x

I know a few people who've done the zoo. Apparently its good craic, give it a go. Seriously though, Ghost Bus...

And it gives u an excuse to get a cheap group cos you're "scared" and he gets to feel manly for being your protector!! :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I really wanna go to the zoo again soon :)

I'm 28... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

I'd hate to be brought on a picnic, not my thing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

dunno when i was last at dublin zoo, i do remember being unimpressed but i've heard that they done it up or something since i was there last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

The zoo! So much fun and you can doss around as long as you like. Bowlings a good one too, always fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

whats the Ghost Bus tour?!?! Never heard of it before!

Jemmy wrote: »
    whats the Ghost Bus tour?!?! Never heard of it before!

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

I was on a picnic with the boy about a week ago and I have to say it was amazing. Especially if you get good weather, it's corny but totally class.

The zoo is also a good idea, something different/fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I did the Ghost Bus tour about 2 years ago and it was such a laugh. Mainly due to the mad tour guide and the americans he kept scaring to death! hehe

Also, there's an ice rink up in Dundalk... for anyone wanting to go iceskating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

i wanna go to the zoo now with all this talk about it!

i'll grab the little brother as my excuse to go :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

aye wrote: »
    i wanna go to the zoo now with all this talk about it!

i'll grab the little brother as my excuse to go :p

It's great I went last weekend, I brought my nephew. It was packed last Sunday The queues to get in were unreal (about a twenty minute wait), so arrive early. Theres a new baby elephant soooooo cute!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

-1 for the Zoo.. Fcuking hate the place, it's a big spread out load of nothing, animals were all asleep last 2 times I went.. Overpriced and overrated IMHO..

What's wrong with a picnic? Hot sunny day, blanket in Marley park, mountains, beach, whatever... Bottle of wine, some nice hummus dip, fruit salad etc.. and just lie there talking to each other till the sun starts to cool.. How is that not romantic??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Ruby Soho

Go on a nice long hike in the Dublin / Wicklow mountains. Great to get out into the fresh air, bring the dog (or someone else's dog) for some more craic and finish it off with a nice cool pint in the local pub! Tiring but good fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

How about going bowling OP? It's great craic for a date -isn't weather dependant, dont have to teeter around in high shoes, not too expensive -plus gives a good talking point so no awkward silences and plenty of opportunities for a bit of "show me again how to do it" body contact ;)

Have a great time whatever you choose -and let us know how ya get on! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

jsb wrote: »
    depending on the weather you could go on a open top bus ride around dublin and be tourists for a day

There's a new one on the green - an eco friendly one!!!

It's a double decker open top carriage drawn by 2 horses

Looks very rose mantic ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Orlee wrote: »
    There's a new one on the green - an eco friendly one!!!

It's a double decker open top carriage drawn by 2 horses

Looks very rose mantic ;)

http://www.victoriancarriagecompany.com/home/index.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

-1 for the zoo, I hate the place, I'd pick no date at all over a date at the zoo!

+1 for picnics though, they're relaxing and cheap and you can just hang out and chat or play frisbee or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Yep went to the zoo the other day and it was great. We tried on a sunday and the que was about 1.5 - 2 hours long. Tried again on a weekday and walked straight in. Oh and bring your own food with you. Save you money and queing for crappy food.

And the baby elephant rocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

Things like ice skating, art exhibitions, IFI isn't bad, christmas market in the IFSC isn't bad (hmm to mulled wine :))...

got to love when the guy puts some effort into the dates and it's not just a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

51471_1.jpg

Bring a picnic.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Big date coming up Rigger?

A Rigger never tells....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The-Rigger wrote: »
    A Rigger never tells....

Would have thought you'd pick more along the lines of a horse farm... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Would have thought you'd pick more along the lines of a horse farm... :pac:

His date would get no attention if they went there!

Both reported for personal abusivenessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Both reported for personal abusivenessness.

Reported for Animal(horse) abusivenessness? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Aw, cheer up Riggermarole! *hands you a pony

OT: I like breakfast dates. Some McDonald's pancakes at 7am ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭runningman

The International Comedy club on Wicklow St is a great spot for a date - its only a tenner in and the show last 2 - 2 and a half hours. Some new and veteran comedians there every week.

+ 1 million for the zoo - savage place to go on a date!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Any ideas in Galway? Set up another thread but was locked...don't want to do the whole dinner & drinks thing, we'll need lots of chatting time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭tinkletoes

xzanti wrote: »
    -1 for the Zoo.. Fcuking hate the place, it's a big spread out load of nothing, animals were all asleep last 2 times I went.. Overpriced and overrated IMHO..

Went two months ago and I was so bored and so was the guy we left and went to Howth and had a better time. I would say Howth or concert:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I say go for the zoo, I'd went there on a date and it was class, defo something different :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Any ideas in Galway? Set up another thread but was locked...don't want to do the whole dinner & drinks thing, we'll need lots of chatting time!

Late(ish) nite hot chocolate/coffee and muffins in Javas

Or Cocktails in the G!!!