If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Your experiences of the Ring of Kerry cycle?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,287 ✭✭✭kenmc

Think you'll get down for saturday morning? :pac:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

kenmc wrote: »
    Think you'll get down for saturday morning? :pac:

Think we'll be quicker cycling down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

I reckon I'll be on the train at 1:00pm or 3:00pm.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

So are we all going out on the lash on Friday night?

el tonto wrote: »
    So are we all going out on the lash on Friday night?
    Of course, it's important that we prehydrate and carboload...
    And on saturday we'll be rehydrating and carboreloading. With some protein in the chippie on the way home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭rogerb

Sounds like there'll be a good gang of boardsies so

I'll be there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 worx

hi is there anyone out there that is tryin to complete the ring between 5 an half and 6 hour on bike time?

sooty11 wrote: »
    I am contemplating doing the ring of kerry cycle....its on the 5th of july.
    Im from kerry myself (living in dublin now) so I am very familiar with the route itself.....but...ive only just started to get into cycling and am really starting to like it. i was training for the last 8 weeks for a 20km cycle (took part in a relay team for a triathlon event last weekend, it was amazing) so now thats over i really want to keep it up and need my next goal!....its a serious distance to train for, 112 miles...but its not a race and you go at your own pace, plenty of stops allowed etc.. is the Ring of Kerry too much too soon?

you bring up a year old thread when there's a perfectly fine current one? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

you bring up a year old thread when there's a perfectly fine current one? :confused:

KenMc, Internet Police

worx wrote: »
    hi is there anyone out there that is tryin to complete the ring between 5 an half and 6 hour on bike time?

About 35 of us all told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 worx

cool what time yet going to leave at and where ye meeting up. thanks

worx wrote: »
    cool what time yet going to leave at and where ye meeting up. thanks

trying to organise boardsies is like rounding up sheep with a bored cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Raam wrote: »
    trying to organise boardsies is like rounding up sheep with a bored cat.

Or a piss-up in a bar...there is another thread attempting to actually do this, let's see how it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

considering how badly we managed the whole meeting up before the W200 when most of us were local, meeting up in killarney is going to be a bit of a challange...

It should be easy enough. Just name a time to meet at the start line?

Least Blorg won't be there to delay it all, and then proclaim that there was no need to wait for him. :)

He's probably off delaying the Marmotte lads now instead ;)

Yeah but they're most likely flying ryanair, so his portion of the delay will be negligible....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Yeah but they're most likely flying ryanair, so his portion of the delay will be negligible....
    Jeez you really have it in for Ryanair don't you. We are flying Aer Lingus over and Ryanair back- Aer Lingus being the airline that has a 15kg limit on a bike box, Ryanair being the airline that has no limit on bike boxes.

blorg wrote: »
    Jeez you really have it in for Ryanair don't you. We are flying Aer Lingus over and Ryanair back- Aer Lingus being the airline that has a 15kg limit on a bike box, Ryanair being the airline that has no limit on bike boxes.

That 15kg limit is insane. When are you flying out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Raam wrote: »
    That 15kg limit is insane. When are you flying out?
    Flying out tomorrow. The 15kg is indeed insane, the empty box is something like 12kg. Packed up (with clothes etc as well as bike) it is generally 25-30. Our only hope is that they don't enforce it, otherwise we will be paying a fair whack in excess baggage. It is a new regulation on AL's part but they are quite clear on it in their T&Cs:
    Aer Lingus wrote:
    Pay online prior to day of departure: Sports equipment, such as golf bags or skis, will be charged at a rate of €30.00 or equivalent per item each way.

Pay at the airport on day of departure: Sports equipment, such as golf bags or skis, will be charged at a rate of €40.00 or equivalent per item each way.

Passengers can travel with a maximum of 1 item per passenger excluding infants.

The maximum weight allowable for carriage of such equipment is 15kgs/33lbs.

If the weight exceeds this limit, passengers will be charged excess baggage fees in addition to the flat rate charge.

Bicycles must be pre-booked by contacting your local reservations office. A maximum of six bicycles may be carried on each aircraft. Bicycles departing Amsterdam airport must be boxed or bagged. These can be purchased at the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭flatface

el tonto wrote: »
    Just name a time to meet at the start line?

Gonna heading to the start line from Tralee in the morning.
    With the friday night piss up thread going strong I guess there will not be a lot wanting to start real early - why dont we meet 7.45 at the start line and push off with the main start? I'll be the one in the lycra.

Nobody will miss me.

blorg wrote: »
    Flying out tomorrow. The 15kg is indeed insane, the empty box is something like 12kg. Packed up (with clothes etc as well as bike) it is generally 25-30. Our only hope is that they don't enforce it, otherwise we will be paying a fair whack in excess baggage. It is a new regulation on AL's part but they are quite clear on it in their T&Cs:

I wasn't checked on the way out, but I was on the way back. That was in Munich. Creative packing got me off the hook. Be ready to pay a fair whack if they weigh you :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

i ran into that in jan with snowboarding stuff, i just argued away that 15kg wasn't even possible... eventually i got some sort of "we'll let you off this time but defo charge you if you do it again.." was at 29kg....