Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your experiences of the Ring of Kerry cycle?

• 20-05-2008 9:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭

I am contemplating doing the ring of kerry cycle....its on the 5th of july.
    Im from kerry myself (living in dublin now) so I am very familiar with the route itself.....but...ive only just started to get into cycling and am really starting to like it. i was training for the last 8 weeks for a 20km cycle (took part in a relay team for a triathlon event last weekend, it was amazing) so now thats over i really want to keep it up and need my next goal!....its a serious distance to train for, 112 miles...but its not a race and you go at your own pace, plenty of stops allowed etc.. is the Ring of Kerry too much too soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

there's a few of us here planning it.
    get out on longer distances as soon as you can, you need to be comfortable doing around 5 or 6 hours at a time. The saturday spins are a good way to get into it. You have about 6 weeks or 7 weeks, it might be pushing it a bit, but if you can get your weekly milage up soon you should be ok. it's not a very hilly course, which is in your favour over the W200 for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I'll be doing it also. Kenmc's advice is good. If you join up with the boards spins, then you'll be flying in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

If you are living in Dublin I'd see if you can get an entry for the Wicklow 100 on 8 June. Entry is now closed but there are always people who can't do it and pass their entries on- ask on the forums (www.wicklow200.ie). The 100km (62 miles) is a relatively flat course and would be a good intro to a group ride for preparing for the Ring of Kerry.

thats a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

So who's planning on doin the Ring of Kerry from here, and how're you getting down from the big smoke, and can I get a lift :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭sooty11

hi folks

thanks for the replies. feck it that wicklow one would have been great but im away that weekend...
    where do i find out about the saturday spins? is it just boards members that attend these? id be worried i would not be able to keep up though! hence why i havent joined a club yet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

So who's planning on doin the Ring of Kerry from here, and how're you getting down from the big smoke, and can I get a lift :cool:

Myself and a friend are planning to go down this year - what we usually do is head down on Friday afternoon by train from Hueston and leave our cars in car park at the train station and then come back up on sunday.

I'm heading down with the girlf too, but she probably won't be doing the ROK. Dunno what space I'll have, there'll be 2 bikes to bring.

sooty11 wrote: »
    hi folks

thanks for the replies. feck it that wicklow one would have been great but im away that weekend...
    where do i find out about the saturday spins? is it just boards members that attend these? id be worried i would not be able to keep up though! hence why i havent joined a club yet....

For the Saturday spins, keep an eye on here... I usually post about one on a Thursday. Everyone and anyone is welcome, regardless of ability -we (and by we, I mean the others) wait for anyone who's a little slower (and by anyone I mean me :)) so you should be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Beached

Just starting getting the miles into your legs. Not that many challenges in the RoK, headwind after Glenbeigh as you cycle near the coast, Coomnakista after Waterville is testing, its long but no serious gradients, Molls Gap is not much at all. Just be prepared to do it at your own pace, and you will be fine.

just start paying some attention to what you eat and drink on the bike too, so that you don't end up in calorie debt.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm thinking of doing it with a friend but will have to see closer to the date if we can make it down. I think someone from here did it last year, daymobrew perhaps? If you do a search you'll probably find his posts on it. I remember reading an 'after action' report.

and the best part: it's a saturday, so we get to do a cycle-boards beers! :D
    2 pints and I'm on the floor after that sort of exercise!

kenmc wrote: »
    and the best part: it's a saturday, so we get to do a cycle-boards beers! :D
    2 pints and I'm on the floor after that sort of exercise!

...and pints are cheap in the counrty!

thanks for advice folks. thats exactly the kind of stuff im looking for!

what kind of food do you bring with you on long training cycles? i cant imagine too many energy bars will be good for you!....is water a better option than an energy drink?

Also for those of you who said you were doing the Ring, have you sent of for the sponsor cards yet?

im going to get started tonight. If i could cover 30 miles at a relaxed pace, would 2 hours sound about right?

i use tescos' finest craberry/almond/blueberry bars, and also tend to make my own flapjack things from honey, peanut butter, oats, raisins, molasses. a banana or 2 also. 1 bottle of water, 1 bottle of energy drink.
    30 miles in 2 hours would be about right - 25kmh - depends on the terrain of course, it's not great if it's all downhill :D. The saturday spins average out at 23 or so including climbs like sally gap/wicklow gap.
    I just sent off for my card today as it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bikki

those flapjacks sound yum!!

im living out in balbriggan so plenty of hills and bumpy roads!
    my usual training cycle is from balbriggan to lusk....but i need a change of scenery i think. although i do love cycling along the coast.

If you are only starting training now 25 km/h would be doing very well, I wouldn't feel bad at all if it was a good bit lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭ventoux

Wont make it this year but have done for the last 6 and its a great day.
    Lots of grub and good friendly banter.Usually we dont gather sponsorship,so on the morning we sign in and put 50 in the kitty and we never had a problem.They give you a stamped card to show at the feed stops.Enjoy

Also for those of you who said you were doing the Ring, have you sent of for the sponsor cards yet?

If you dont want the hassle of selling a sponsorship card you can always make a decent contribution on the morning of the cycle - thats what we always do

well i did my 30 miles last night....took 2.5 hours....
    did it at a fairly relaxed pace. but found it tough for the last 10 miles. took a long time to recover when i got home cause i got a bad chill in my hands, arms and feet. i am very stiff today. definetly over did it.
    gonna rest tonight and do a shorter spin tomorrow evening. (and remember to wear warm clothes!)

fair play, that's a decent spin. what route did you take? i.e. was it hilly, flat, rolling?
    what sort of bike/gear are you using? toestraps/clipless? dropped h-bars or flat?
    It was quite chilly last nite, I was cycling in a jacket and shorts, didn't experience chills though.

the exact route was.....
    balbriggan-balrothery-donabate-lusk-rush-skerries-balbriggan ...phew
    id say there was about 10-12 climbs varying in difficulty. and there was plenty of flat and downhill to recover on. the cold definetly affected me last night. at one point i could not use my thumb to change gear it was so numb! i had to use my hand. im only on a cheapo mountain bike this week...getting my new road bike the week after next. icon12.gif

I was out on a short spin myself yesterday evening and it has certainly got a lot colder, I too was feeling quite cold at the end.

Resting is important all right, don't overdo it and build up gradually.

2.5 hours for 30 miles is not at all bad for a beginner (albeit probably too long a distance as you suggest.)

well you'll find that makes a hell of a difference in terms of speed and comfort. you should probably consider clipless pedals if you don't already have them.

like i left the house at 730 and it was quiet warm, didnt expect it to get so cold so didnt wear anything warm.

being so used to training on a borrowed road bike also for the last 8 weeks..and then getting on the mountain bike last night didnt help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

i did the ROK last year in 8 hours - I really did nothing until about 6 weeks beforehand and managed it ok.

its a great day out - you'll meet some really nice folk.

pity the finish was a bit of a let down last year - but there is more to the whole event than praise for crossing the line !

I look forward to it this year. - might see you guys there !

Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭erizo

Is there any link about the ROK somewhere?
    Is it free to join or is it organized by a club, or how does it work.

Any information would be much appreciated.
    thanks

http://www.ringofkerrycycle.net/
    charity cycle, open to all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭erizo

Thanks for the info, will need to check as it is my birthday on the 5th, but it would be a nice way to celebrate it.

Maybe I should convince the gf and rent a tandem and cycle together!!! yuju!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Where is everyone staying for this?

penexpers wrote: »

Did a google search of Killarney B&B and it gave me a whole list of them in and around Killarney - no bother booking one online.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I've a load of relatives down there, but they're all in North Kerry. Was thinking of just finding a nice hotel, but I've just realised that its the height of the tourist season and Killarney will be full of gringos admiring the lakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 booshman

If you dont want the hassle of selling a sponsorship card you can always make a decent contribution on the morning of the cycle - thats what we always do
    what is a decent donation ,there is a few rides id like to do this year but the sponsorship thing puts me off, cant keep asking the same people for donations all summer

booshman wrote: »
    what is a decent donation ,there is a few rides id like to do this year but the sponsorship thing puts me off, cant keep asking the same people for donations all summer

We would usually put 50 euro into the bucket at the start, dont know if that is enough or not but we always get a big thank you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

penexpers wrote: »
    In-laws live in Beaufort, a few miles along the route. I'll start there and obviously come back to there.

You could look for B&Bs a little outside of town where there might be more availability. Maybe try the Killarney Youth Hostel (wow, 48 euro for a 2 bed room).

just booked a b&B a minute ago, the rates are very reasonable on loads of the B&Bs, circa 40 per person per night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

You're going well so far with your training so I think you'll be okay once you have someone there with you who will cycle at the same pace as yourself ... Their will be people who will be finished in 2hours like last year but once you have someone there who'll stay with once you both keep each other motivated i don't think you'll encounter many/any problems ... Their are feeding stations set up along the route anyways should you need them to stop for a snack or mineral ...

Have fun and hope you enjoy it :) Let s know how you get on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

bikki wrote: »

im living out in balbriggan so plenty of hills and bumpy roads!
    my usual training cycle is from balbriggan to lusk....but i need a change of scenery i think.

Do you go through rush or do you go straight to lusk from skerries? How many kilometers is it? I'm in lusk and have been doing the tour de lusk (going around lusk on the ring road) to get me warmed up because I haven't really exercised in 2-3 years since I quit football. Lusk to Balbriggan would be interesting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

Is there anybody here that's cycled both the Ring of Kerry and the Croi around the Corrib Cycle?
    I did the Corrib cycle the weekend before last and got on fine but am wondering if it's too much of a jump up to the Ring of Kerry.

Is anybody going camping in or around Killarney or is that a completely crazy idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

You will be grand if you are any bit fit. I only started training for it the week before when I did it last year. Managed it in 7.5 hours including breaks. Just got out for a few short spins. I was fit from running and that helped me on the climbs.

Just make sure you eat plenty and dont just wait untill your starving to eat. Get plenty of food into you at the stops and stick in with a group that you think are doind a similar pace to you.

Best of luck. Getting a few more spins in the legs this time for it due to the fact that I dont run anymore.

Enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I really enjoyed it last year except for my back ache - but I only started trainging for it 6 weeks in advance ( from smoking 20 a day ) and finished in 8 hrs including a very leisurely lunch and a long stop with some ladies who were handing out water from there own well.

As said before - start nice and handy - take up with a group your comfortable with and enjoy. ( drink lots of water btw ), I found there to be a very good atmosphere and its a very friendly bunch doing it, in all states of fitness.

folks, my bother is now actually going to do the ROK with me. So im delighted i have someone who will be at the same pace as me.
    i am originally from killarney so i can recomend B&B's or hotels for anyone who is unsure of the town. just pm me.
    erizo. its also my birthday that weekend! im the 6th. but i think ill be in agony in bed all day for it!!!
    ill be getting the train down the friday. no way will i be able for the drive back to dublin sunday night.
    im heading down there this weekend and plan on cycling killarney to valentia island. stay the night at my grannys and cycle back up sunday. weather dependent of course!

Myself and my mate Paul will definitely be doing it. Getting the train down on Friday evening. Just got to find ourselves a nice hotel now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

RobAMerc wrote: »
    Ia long stop with some ladies who were handing out water from there own well.
    Was this the lady and her elderly mother, on the stretch before Kenmare? If so, I stopped there too and it was nice chilled water.

Sounds like there'll be a good gang of boardsies so
    trek_climber
    raam
    El Tonto
    Sooty
    Daymobrew
    penexpers?
    RobAMerc?
    TinyExplosions?
    Kenmc + my girlfriend (but she's not doing the cycle - maybe photographer :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

trek_climber
    raam
    El Tonto
    Sooty
    Daymobrew
    penexpers?
    RobAMerc?
    TinyExplosions?

I'm out, have something else on that day unfortunately.

TinyExplosions?

Afraid I have to go to the mainland to see Iron Maiden that weekend, though I've not booked flights yet, so it depends how much they are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

trek_climber
    raam
    El Tonto
    Sooty
    Daymobrew
    penexpers?
    RobAMerc?
    TinyExplosions?

Hey I'm 99.99% certain to be there.

Afraid I have to go to the mainland to see Iron Maiden that weekend, though I've not booked flights yet, so it depends how much they are!
    Ahem, use of that term is not allowed in these parts, unless you are on the Aran islands and Maiden are playing in Galway on 5 July. Which I know they are not!