Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish people and English people

• 17-05-2008 9:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭

It seems to me that the Irish and English are nothing like each other, despite the claims of some boards users. Being English, and coming into contact with English forum users also, the two nations are physically close but worlds apart mentally.

Discuss, if you feel like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nope.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

You are very interested in this Ireland/England thing, didn't you have a thread before on differences between living in Ireland and England?

Imo being in contact with lots of English people face to face, I can see very little difference between us if anything from my own experiences the English are possibly more polite in general particularly in London but that is only my own experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

We are taught completely different history in school. Ask any english person bout 1916,,they wont have a clue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

OPENROAD wrote: »
    You are very interested in this Ireland/England thing, didn't you have a thread before on differences between living in Ireland and England?

Imo being in contact with lots of English people face to face, I can see very little difference between us if anything from my own experiences the English are possibly more polite in general particularly in London but that is only my own experience.

Yeah, know its a little dull, but hey I'm bored.

Redpunto wrote: »
    We are taught completely different history in school. Ask any english person bout 1916,,they wont have a clue

ask any irish person and they will probably know very little about it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'm shocked by the OP. Didn't you see how well the North mixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

1916 already posted, its only a matter of time before the anti-english/british and the 800 years of oppression posts kick in.

I don't think we're worlds apart but there is differences. Saying that there is differences between english lads and scottish lads. Most noticeable difference for me was that english pubs suck and lack a good amount of taps.

You lived in Scotland and England?

I have too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I have scottish and english friends. Scottish seem different to the english lads. Especially their bloody IRN BRU obession

Oh that is on no doubt. South of England especially and Scotland are worlds apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

I'm English too (albeit with Irish parentage and passport) and I don't think there's much difference at all. If pushed I'll say the Irish are more easy-going and the English are more polite, but overall we're pretty much the same.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Paddy English Man Paddy Irish Man....

At least we aren't French.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Intothesea

This is an interesting topic I think OP.
    I would equate the English 'national character'
    or cultural one with ESTJ (using the MBTI system),
    while the Irish one is more INFP or INFJ. Definitely
    opposing on sensing/thinking and intuition/feeling
    anyway. America registers as ESTP for me.

/0.02 :)

Jebus Jung on After Hours! :eek:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'm hugely confused Ted.

I. Most noticeable difference for me was that english pubs suck and lack a good amount of taps.

Have to say I have had some great great nights out in London, certain pub in London,sadly not there anymore has moved streets, but was a great great pub, people allowed to dance on the tables, bar counters, people friendly. But down to personal opinion :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

I think we are similar enough in general terms, except that English people are more polite and reserved, wittier and have a greater sense of fair play. At least those that were reared in ye olde England or in urban areas away from the underclass. There is a reason why in Ireland we like the English but dislike the British. Subtle but profound difference.

I like the English psyche myself, maybe more than our own (a certain young Lady probably has me perceive things through rose tinted specs). One area where I see a real difference, is that over here we like to break or bend rules (too lax) where as in the UK, they are more rigid, less flexible, to much by the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Intothesea wrote: »
    This is an interesting topic I think OP.
    I would equate the English 'national character'
    or cultural one with ESTJ (using the MBTI system),
    while the Irish one is more INFP or INFJ. Definitely
    opposing on sensing/thinking and intuition/feeling
    anyway. America registers as ESTP for me.

/0.02 :)

Huh? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Intothesea

Huh? :confused:

Nothing a tussle with google wouldn't
    solve I'm sure. :pac:

Intothesea wrote: »
    Nothing a tussle with google wouldn't
    solve I'm sure. :pac:

Damn. I was hoping you'd throw up an idiots guide version for me.

Ah well, off to Google.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

irish tend to be a little bit more perochial, but other that, i dont really see any great differences that are not explained by localisation.

its easy to say there are vast differences between english and irish, but then again, there are vast differences between dubs and kerry people.

i think if you look at it from a higher view, youll find that general attitudes, social acceptances and overall cultures have tended to come closer together over the last 50 years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

ENTJ's ftw!... wait, does this mean i'm not irish? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Affable wrote: »
    It seems to me that the Irish and English are nothing like each other, despite the claims of some boards users. Being English, and coming into contact with English forum users also, the two nations are physically close but worlds apart mentally.

Discuss, if you feel like it.

Maybe you should discuss here:

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=904

Just so you're not using the oppressor's tongue. :)

Seriously though, I was born in Manchester, lived there 'til I was 13 and have a lot of family there. Have lived here since then. I think we are definitely more alike than other 'close proximity' countries in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Does the UK infrastructure and overall development in general make living in the UK better?

Or am I off topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

To a china man we are all the same.

There are local differences among people, but if you look at the vast differences between some of the different cltures all over the world, ourselves and the Queens subjects are essentially the same.

snyper wrote: »
    To a china man we are all the same.

Non-party members?

I would agree that there is very few differences between us and our pond sharing neighbours. I've enjoyed myself every time I've been over there. Nice folks, the English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Thrill wrote: »
    Non-party members?

I would agree that there is very few differences between us and our pond sharing neighbours. I've enjoyed myself every time I've been over there. Nice folks, the English.

Good to hear, I'm a Welsh man living in Ireland and always enjoy myself on trips to the uk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

There is a definate difference between the in accents, use of volcabuary, customs- we say St. Stephens day they say Boxing day etc etc, schools systems, History (in all its forms)

I wouldn't like to live in England as I knowpeople in real life and messageboards who can't wait to get out of the Nanny State. I know for a fact that you have to get planning permission to put up removable jumps in a field that is owned by that person. God forbid if Ireland gets to that stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I am moving to England soon. As a Northerner I have never felt at home here. England has always seemed much more sensible and straight-forward to me.

We didn't have RTE growing up so as a Northerner, I think I share much more with the English than those in the Republic possibly due to media influence.

In terms of history taught in schools, I think there appears to be a massive anti-British indoctrination process and a re-writing of history. I have a friend, who acknowledges that the history books say that there was no popular support for 1916 and says instead there was indifference!

People are much more conservative here but I think that it is because the people currently in power, in politics and industry etc, were developed in what amounted to a puppet state of the Catholic church. The younger generations will not have that hanging over their head and as a result I think future generations in Ireland will be much more similar to their English counterparts.

But I suppose, given globalisation, mass communication and corporatism; they will be more similar to the Americans, Australians and other nations with the same mother tongue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

TomMc wrote: »
    English people are more polite and reserved, wittier and have a greater sense of fair play.
    Sigh. Why would you ascribe individual characteristics to a huge group of people? Not that even the ones you have given them seem anyhere near reality.

But I suppose, given globalisation, mass communication and corporatism; they will be more similar to the Americans, Australians and other nations with the same mother tongue.

Sadly not the Aussies, who I like a lot. They have virtually zero influence.
    America will have huge impact.

It's amazing how similar many university age Dubliners sound to Americans. Maybe its due to all the tv shows from America that people are watching.

I never had to learn Irish at school but I think that it is important that it be taught here as it will be the only thing to differentiate young Irish people from Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

It's amazing how similar many university age Dubliners sound to Americans. Maybe its due to all the tv shows from America that people are watching.

I never had to learn Irish at school but I think that it is important that it be taught here as it will be the only thing to differentiate young Irish people from Americans.

Also many of the textbooks used in universities are written by americans which will only further americanise(americanize)
    But i would say its more part of a wider globalisation that is happening throughout the world speeded the very internet upon which this board is based and also to the wider media reach of the biger corporations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I am moving to England soon.

I don't recommend it. I'm English, and I'm moving to Scandinavia the second I finish university.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

In terms of history taught in schools, I think there appears to be a massive anti-British indoctrination process and a re-writing of history. I have a friend, who acknowledges that the history books say that there was no popular support for 1916 and says instead there was indifference!

As if they don't have any form of bias in the UK.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

no, its easy to differentiate. when you run into an american, its no secret. Trust an american on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Probably controversial this, but as an Aussie female I've found English women to be friendlier than Irish women, and vice versa for the men. In my own very limited experience of course.

As if they don't have any form of bias in the UK.....

Two wrongs don't make a right.

Are you saying Irish text books support this or ignore it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I really really like IRN BRU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭delos

Kold wrote: »
    I really really like IRN BRU.

Stop please you'll bring tears to my eyes and I'll start to crave a deep-fried pizza. Funnily enough, I've never seen a deep-fried pizza outside of Scotland. IRN BRU may be our badge of identity, but deep-fried pizza is our dirty little secrete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Deep fried pizza? Can I have dinner at your place sometime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I find a lot of differences between Irish people and English people and you only notice them more so when both of us are in a third party country. Having lived abroad and traveled for a number of years i met countless numbers of Irish and English people and from being out with both groups either together or seperately I find a good few differences. Some which come to mind are that the Irish are less offended at things, are more sarcastic, have wittier humor (particularily Dubs), can hold alcohol a lot more, stay awake longer, are more laid back, have a more relaxed attitude towards keeping time, we sing more, we're chatty in big groups, we mix more, less racist, more easily content with simple things, don't complain as much and foreign females prefer our accents.

That's just a few off the top of my head and obviously not true for all circumstances. Just the general consenses of the contrasts i noticed between the Irish and English i met in the States, Central and South America and in Asia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

This doesn't make any sense. So by the history books saying the truth (that the 1916 rising was not popular with the majority of people until the British shelled the feck outa the place and executed the rebels) Where's the re-writing? Seems simply talking about Irish history is viewed as "anti British" especially by the British, looking at the reception of "wind that shakes the barley" over there for one thing.

We don't need to make anything up about our history.

Back to topic:

I don't think the Irish are the same as the English, we are different. But the Irish and English get on great , we share common interests and so forth. The irish get english humour as well. Unlike some countries. I have found the some English don't really get the Irish fully though, especially when it comes to the issues with Norn Iron etc.

A lot of the English don't really have a clue or fully understand what went on between our two countries in the past. But all in all, 90% I think the Irish and English have good craic together.

There's still that odd rare element of racism towards the Irish from some English, the whole "stupid paddy" "no dogs no irish" thing is alive in some people I've encountered unfortunately. But I get the impression they are just a very tiny minority of small minded people in England, of which every country suffers from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sombody a few years ago ( a young irishman ) described living in england as being in- between two countries ,his heart was in his homeland to which he visited several times a year but he lived in uk and he went on to say that

'' being in-between was not a bad place to be at times .''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Redpunto wrote: »

I don't understand why 1916 should register on the average English person's scale of things to remember. They controlled half the world at different stages, so you can understand why 1916 would only really be important to Irish people. The majority of English people under the age of 25 would genuinely not understand the 'bad feeling' between us.

OT, I don't think we're worlds apart. We have our national traits, but thats about it.

connundrum wrote: »
    I don't understand why 1916 should register on the average English person's scale of things remember. They controlled half the world at different stages, so you can understand why 1916 would only really be important to Irish people. The majority of English people under the age of 25 would genuinely not understand the 'bad feeling' between us.

OT, I don't think we're worlds apart. We have our national traits, but thats about it.

Spot on we cannot expect them to know our history, Im not sure about the rest of ye but my limit of british history is limited only to the points were it crosses wiht our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

connundrum wrote: »
    I don't understand why 1916 should register on the average English person's scale of things remember. They controlled half the world at different stages
    If their history classes went through all the reasons various countries have problems with them, then there would be no time to teach them anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The british have being big part players in two major world wars and had a massive empire of which ireland was only a small part ( although an important part at that ) . English people have their diversitys to , geordies, mancs, scousers,cockneys etc all have their own lingo and expressions just like kerrymen,corkonians and dubliners do .They might all live on the island of england but equally will consider each other as alians with little in common (except love of football ) even if some live nearer than others too .The class system will also play a big part in the diversity of englishness to of course ,just as the irish class system does to ones sense of irishness .