Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crack Cocaine

• 13-05-2008 1:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭

Crack is becoming readily available in cork area, i haven't come across it personally, but colleagues have.

Whats the craic (no pun intended) with it in the rest of the country ? is it really getting wide spread?

(i suppose it was only a matter of time with the lack of hash and proliferation of coke)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Moved from ES.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Haven't heard of it in Dublin tbh. Hope it doesn't spread as it's an absolutely awful drug that destroys so many lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

"Hello Father. Did you hear about the whistle being stolen? I never thought I'd see the like. What next? Somebody'll be murdered, and then where are we? Drive-by shootings in the night: it'll be like 'Boyz N The Hood'. And then we'll have whores selling their wares in the street. And the pimps'll be using crack to keep the whores under control. I'm going home now Father to lock myself in the basement 'til they catch that fella. Goodbye to ya Father."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

hear about crack around here a fair bit, but even here people say heroin is far worse.

surprised to hear about it being widespread in cork though because ive never heard of any seizres of it in ireland before/

and if its in cork its almost certainly going to be in dublin and limerick aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

haven't heard of any of it around meself but i'm sure its just being kept quiet because the judicial system will most definately make an example of the 1st person caught with it.

Who said 'yeah we need crack in ireland' ...madness!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Crack? Who's looking? 3 fidy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

rb_ie wrote: »
    Haven't heard of it in Dublin tbh. Hope it doesn't spread as it's an absolutely awful drug that destroys so many lives.

and you base this profoundinsight on??

what you will find with Crack/Heroin/Meth any of these 'life destroying' Drugs is that the peoples lives werent in that great a shape before they started taking them.

how about the many people that go on to lead perfectly normal fruitful lives and also use Drugs.

tis generally the lowest of the low that fall into the downward spiral of drug addiction, those people who never had a chance to begin with.

in this respect I feel that the Drugdealers are doing a social service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

tis generally the lowest of the low that fall into the downward spiral of drug addiction, those people who never had a chance to begin with.

Alcohol is a drug.
    I know politicians, Doctors, Teachers who are addicts to the drug alcohol.
    Thanks for YOUR profound insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

pa990 wrote: »
    Crack is becoming readily available in cork area
    Jesus, a bit slow lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Flashback to the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Would you like a biscuit .... its got cocaine in it......
    No not cocaine ..... Raisins".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

is it cool by association due to amy winehouse? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

and you base this profoundinsight on??

what you will find with Crack/Heroin/Meth any of these 'life destroying' Drugs is that the peoples lives werent in that great a shape before they started taking them.

how about the many people that go on to lead perfectly normal fruitful lives and also use Drugs.

in this respect I feel that the Drugdealers are doing a social service

thats one of the most ridiculous comments i have ever heard. and it just goes to show you know absolutely nothing about the subject.

plenty of people from normal backgrounds end up addicted to crack and heroin. you see the mistake they make is that they under estimate how addictive these drugs actually are. they think they can use them recreationally or that they can try them just to see what they are like. but they are a lot more addictive than they could ever think. it might take a while for the physical addiction to take effect but the mental addiction can start from the first time they use them. they could go from being a normal person living a decent life to losing everything in the space of a few months. do you really think all these drug addicts you see on the streets were born like that? some of them did grow up in a community that meant they would inevitably end up on drugs, but others come from a very different background. you would be quite surprised. then there are people who have crippling addictions but manage to keep a normal front up so you could know them, but never know what is going on in their lives.

regarding crack in Dublin, yes it is readily available. but only if you know where to look. you wouldnt get offered it on the street, but it is defineitly there. the gardai do not tolerate crack dealers in any way at all. they know if they are caught selling crack that the gardai will really cause problems for them, and they also know that if it goes to court they will be looking at a heavy sentence. so they tend to sell over the phones rather than on the side of the street. it is sold to the same market as heroin so you wouldnt really come across it unless you were activelty looking. but the scary part is no matter how much crack they make, they can sell it. there is a huge demand for it. they could actually sell any amount of it they wanted to and they are make a killing off it.

so, it is out there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

<3 the free market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

why would you want to smoke a drug thats named after a part of your ass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

tis readily available in south county dublin.

didnt you know smoking crack is cool???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Crack Cocaine is on the rise in Dublin over the last two years or so which is worrying considering it is sometimes considered to be worse than heroin.

It seems to be particularily popular among African gangs in Dublin. Most operations seem to be against them although Irish dealers are getting in on the act now. There has been quite a few seizures of it.

I havn't heard of Crystal Meth being here yet. Some powder methamphetamine but not the stronger version. Anyone know the story with this in Ireland?

dsmythy wrote: »
    I havn't heard of Crystal Meth being here yet. Some powder methamphetamine but not the stronger version. Anyone know the story with this in Ireland?

Methamphetamine is pretty much still just the US, Canada, and Australia. ireland has always had amphetamine but never really methamphetamine. now saying that i have come across it once or twice in Dublin but it was always brought from the US in small amounts, so maybe a few ounzes. nothing major. what people always confuse is that they are both referred to as speed, but they are 2 very different products.

the speed (amphetamine) we get here is basically anything from ephedrine to proper amphetamines which is basically a prescription drug used to treat some mental disorders. it can be made illegally as well but usually it would be a cut down version of the prescription drug. it comes as powder or sometimes in a lumpy texture and is snorted or swallowed.

the speed (methamphetamines) you get in the US, canada, and Australia is a different kettle of fish. it is made up some pretty dodgey ingredients that i wont mention here and it comes in a complete chrystal form, hence the names chrystal meth and ice, because it is literaly like glass. you can snort it but not recomended so they smoke it in glass pipes or swallow it. funnily enough some of the ingrediaent are found in over the counter medicines that you get in Ireland but that would be banned in the US because there is such a serious problem with it there.

i dont think we will be having a problem with meth anytime soon. there just isnt a market for it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

board om wrote: »
    i dont think we will be having a problem with meth anytime soon. there just isnt a market for it here.
    I'm surprised by that seeing as it would be so easy to make in thios country.

I've never come across or been offered crack, I've heard one or two stories about people being spiked or given it thinking it was something else but I'd take all those stories with a pinch of salt.

As far as I know crack has to be fairly pure which you won't get in Ireland. there's more profit out of selling mixed down coke to noobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Is Crack Cocaine a big thing in Ireland?? Cant say I know of anybody who has even dabbled in it and I would know a far few people who dabble in pills and charlie occasionly. I often get asked if I want to buy gear a lot of the time when I walking down Wood Quay on the way home from work(I must look the druggie type :) ) but never Crack.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'm surprised by that seeing as it would be so easy to make in thios country.

i was thinking this myself but for some reason nobody ever does. tbh i think it is because a lot of the recipes you get on the internet are just BS, and your average meth addict wouldnt really be on a holiday in ireland to teach peope how to make it. you see a chrystal meth addict is the equivalant of a heroin addict in ireland. in the US heroin isnt really considered a scumbag drug like it is here, but chrystal meth is the lowest of the low. the people who take it are really consdidered the scum of the earth.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    I've never come across or been offered crack, I've heard one or two stories about people being spiked or given it thinking it was something else but I'd take all those stories with a pinch of salt.

As far as I know crack has to be fairly pure which you won't get in Ireland. there's more profit out of selling mixed down coke to noobs.

i would definetly take any stories about people taking crack by mistake with a pinch of salt. unless someone put a pipe in their mouth without them knowing it i would seriously doubt it. you couldnt roll it in a spliff or anything like that so they would definitly know they smoked it.

you can make crack out of any coke really, it is just how much you will get back out of it. in other words if you had a gram of coke that was only 5% coke and you tried to cook it up, there would be nothing left of it to smoke. so you need good quality to begin with. nowadays what some dealers will do is have 2 batches of coke, they will have the standard stuff they sell to Job Bloggs to snort, and then they will have uncut quality stuff that they sell to people who are going to turn it into crack. they would obviously charge a lot more for the uncut stuff. most of the crack that is on sale in ireland originated here as coke, so it wasnt shipped here as crack, it was made here in ireland. when coke comes to ireland first it is a lot higher quality than by the time it hits the streets. everytime it passes through someones hands it gets cut down another bit. to give you an example, some dealers will tell you if the coke they have can be cooked up. its the first thing they say when they are offering it. they know what a lot of people want it for nowadays. at the moment there are dealers who have young guys out on the street with mobile phone selling crack 24 / 7 . they will get calls at all hours of the day and night with people looking for it. as i said before, no matter how much they make, there are plenty of customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Welcome to West Baltimore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

I know of weekend-long parties ending up with a trip to the chemist for a bottle of ammonia, but never come across it for sale on it's own... Going on stories, crack is more something that gets washed-up by heavy coke users once they can't get high anymore, rather than being readily available.

Speculation, but I reckon that's where the genesis of much of the crack in the country lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm on craic right now

beans wrote: »
    I know of weekend-long parties ending up with a trip to the chemist for a bottle of ammonia, but never come across it for sale on it's own... Going on stories, crack is more something that gets washed-up by heavy coke users once they can't get high anymore, rather than being readily available.

Speculation, but I reckon that's where the genesis of much of the crack in the country lies.

tbh you cant beat cooking it up yourself becuase you know exactly what you are getting then. but its definetly available on its own, i guarantee you that. its just that the dealers know who their market is so you wouldnt be offered it on the street. also a lot of the dealers know if they are caught selling crack the gardai will make their life a misery so they wont risk being caught. it is all done via mobile phone. in fact unless you were regularly looking for heroin you wouldnt come across it. but its there alright. if you were in city centre now you could score crack in half an hour. you just have to know where to look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

drugs are bad mmmkay

what is diffrerent about the high between cocaine and crack?? Is it just more intense or a different type of high all together. Does it last longer than Coke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Shorter AFAIK, but more intense.

It's still cocaine, just in freebase form, which is much more readily vapourised and therefore easier to smoke. Smoking it means it's absorbed much more quickly and more of it is absorbed, resulting in a short intense high rather than a longer less intense one from snorting coke.

gazzer wrote: »
    what is diffrerent about the high between cocaine and crack?? Is it just more intense or a different type of high all together. Does it last longer than Coke?

crack is very intense but the buzz only last a few minutes. when you smoke it you get a serious whack off it. in fact if you arent used to it you will probably barf your ring. the buzz from coke lasts a lot longer but isnt as intense. the problem with crack is that the high is so intense and it is over so quickly, that it leaves you wanting more instantly. it makes you completely irrational. even if you think you will just try one pipe of it, you are up so high and down so quickly that you either crave another high straight away and will do anything to get it, or you need something to soften the downer, and that where heroin comes in. you really cant do one without the other. they go hand in hand. if you have a crack binge without gear to help you come down, you are going to have an almighty crash downwards that is just hell. if you think what a heavy comedown from coke is like and multiply it by 1000 you will get an idea of what the comedown from crack is like, and it will give you an idea why when people start using it they cant stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Green tea ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

rb_ie wrote: »

Had a party in mine about 4 or 5 years ago, walked in to one of my bedrooms to find two guys smoking crack. Threw em out on their faces.

It about the place for a while now sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Dragan wrote: »
    Had a party in mine about 4 or 5 years ago, walked in to one of my bedrooms to find two guys smoking crack. Threw em out on their faces.

It about the place for a while now sadly.

Would you have tolerated someone smoking hashish in your house during that party? Or was it just the fact that they were in an off-limits area?

comedown from coke is like and multiply it by 1000

That sounds horrific.. Think I will leave that off my things to do list before I die :)

I was walking along the quays at lunchtime (near Fitzsimons) and once again I got asked was 'I Looking'. Im starting to get paranoid now.. Do I look like a junkie? So much for going to the gym 4 times a week :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

comedown from coke is like and multiply it by 1000

That sounds horrific.. Think I will leave that off my things to do list before I die :)

I was walking along the quays at lunchtime (near Fitzsimons) and once again I got asked was 'I Looking'. Im starting to get paranoid now.. Do I look like a junkie? So much for going to the gym 4 times a week :)

I sit in traffic along that strip every evening and I'm sickened by what I see, yesterday I saw a girl with a massive baby bump, mangled off her mouldy little head.. Scummer... Do wtf you want, but not with a baby in your belly ffs.. But sure that's a whole nother thread I suppose..

Sounds like a crack-whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I know two people that have had crack addictions, and they were from two seperate groups of friends. Its just something people should never ever try. I cant think why people would want to try for the first time. Dont get me wrong, i have experiance with drugs, but i think people must be insane to use heroin or crack.

Police in America put out some shocking photos a while back showing how much crack can ruin people. It basically makes you age terribly in a short space of time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

that was meth, not crack wasn;'t it?

well, all of them i suppose.

and how short does crack last if a coke high seems 'long' by comparison, milliseconds?

yeah, that was a anti-chrystal meth campaign they did. it really has really caused serious problems in the US.

http://www.methmadness.com/facesofmeth.html

http://mhough.com/photos/2006/time-lapse-effects-of-crystal-methscary/

Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Funnily enough, I saw a guy today with a bag of crack worth €500.
    The other side of the room had a guy trying to crap out a bag of heroin he had hidden up his arse.

Yes, I was in a cell and I'm glad I got out before they started smoking it with the crude pipe they were fashioning out of the stuff our lunch came in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Terry wrote: »
    Funnily enough, I saw a guy today with a bag of crack worth €500.
    The other side of the room had a guy trying to crap out a bag of heroin he had hidden up his arse.

Yes, I was in a cell and I'm glad I got out before they started smoking it with the crude pipe they were fashioning out of the stuff our lunch came in.
    I have to ask - wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I have to ask - wtf?

I concur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

and how short does crack last if a coke high seems 'long' by comparison, milliseconds?

A line of good(80-90%) coke will keep you up for an hour or more i mean super confidence energy chatty and generally mad. i mean a tiny scrape of it. And unless you've been to another country or are getting it at source here you will not have tried good coke. I'd say average quality here in ireland is about 10% if not worse.

To answer your question around 15 mins.

DanGerMus wrote: »
    A line of good(80-90%) coke will keep you up for an hour or more. i mean a tiny scrape of it. And unless you've been to another country or are getting it at source here you will not have tried good coke. I'd say average quality here in ireland is about 10% if not worse.

To answer your question around 15 mins.

it depends who you know and where you get it. if you know people at the source then you will get quality. but once it has been passed down the line to a few people you are going to get muck. if you are only getting 10% then i would seriously start shopping elsewhere becuase that is really bad.

regarding a hit of crack, it wouldnt be 15 minute buzz. you would be talking an initial intense hit of about 2-3 minutes and then you level out for about 5 minutes, then you start coming down like a ton of bricks. the problem is the stronger the crack, the better the inital hit, but the come down is that much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

board om wrote: »
    it depends who you know and where you get it. if you know people at the source then you will get quality. but once it has been passed down the line to a few people you are going to get muck. if you are only getting 10% then i would seriously start shopping elsewhere becuase that is really bad.

regarding a hit of crack, it wouldnt be 15 minute buzz. you would be talking an initial intense hit of about 2-3 minutes and then you level out for about 5 minutes, then you start coming down like a ton of bricks. the problem is the stronger the crack, the better the inital hit, but the come down is that much worse.

I'm not getting 10% i'm not getting anything, but i do know that thats what is being sold to most people and it's being cut with speed and codeine amongst other things. Thanks for repeating my point back to me though about getting it from source.

As for the crack that was just what i heard no personal experience of it, don't fancy he whole adddicted after one go thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

One time I was in Fibbers attempting to use the bathroom sink, some guy in a suit was telling some kid that coke was easy enough to get once you could spot the dealers. On saying that he turned to me and asked if I was selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Uncle Sam ran a scare campaign called "the faces of meth": mugshots of people before and after they started using. It's not crack but the principle's the same.

Pretty gruesome stuff.

http://www.drugfree.org/Portal/DrugIssue/MethResources/faces/index.html

One of the best comments I heard about this site:
    ""Surprisingly, these are actually more attractive than the Faces of Math."