Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gladiators are back!

• 11-05-2008 10:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭

Ok, they're back. Who tuned in? What did you think?

And which ones have bodies that you lust after? Who do you think that with the right work, you could look like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

i think the male gladiators need to improve on their stamina and running. i laughed at them during the event were they have to stop the contenders from putting the balls in the holes. they just seemed to run out of steam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

The only things I noticed were:

-Kirsty doesn't look as pretty as she used to.
    -The girls today aren't half as hot as the ones back in the day.
    -That "Oblivion" chap is trying to hard to be the "wolfman".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭figs86

defo agreed that Oblivion is emulating wolf and being some sort of bad guy - and john anderson doing a bit of acting as well, giving him a telling off

nobody else find it funny the way they kept calling him...ahem....the BIG 'O' ;)

yeh the male gladiators didnt do too well at powerball, think it was their acceleration and agility - they were left in the dust by the quicker, lighter contenders - looking at their weights their pretty heavy with a couple of them under 6 foot and in or around 17 stone - only relatively light one is duaine ladejo - olympic relay medallist - who should rule at that game with his speed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭KERPAL

fatal wrote: »
    The only things I noticed were:

-Kirsty doesn't look as pretty as she used to.

i think shes looking far better!

it was crap i thought, really dull, never will be the same buzz as wen i was a 8 year old worshipping the Gladiators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Sheedy

Yea i noticed this comeback actually, why is it back??:confused: it's not just one channel either, and sky one did a big documentary on it! Not that i'm complaining, cleary it is one of the best tv shows ever made. Lightening is my hero:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye I think the male gladiators need a lot more practice, also is it just me or do they just not look as big as the old Gladiators did. Other then that it was good for a laugh

*goes to look for an application form to take part as a contestant*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

jsb wrote: »
    ye I think the male gladiators need a lot more practice, also is it just me or do they just not look as big as the old Gladiators did. Other then that it was good for a laugh

*goes to look for an application form to take part as a contestant*

Ye know, I was actually thinking to myself the other day - why don't we "cajole" a boardsie fitness dude or dudette (g'em? Hanley? Dragan?) into entering for the laugh??

At least we'd all get a good weekend on the p*ss in London out of it!! :pac: :cool:

Ooooh, I feel a campaign a-brewin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I went for a look to see what the entry criteria was out of curiosity and found the following -

In the UK you have to be able to doing the following.

Run 800m on a Treadmill
    Women to complete in 3 minutes, men have 2 mins 30 secs.

2 minute rest then....

Pull-Ups on the Rig
    With underhand grip, palms facing body, hang on straight arms. then pull up so that your chin is above the bar. Return to hanging with arms straight and hold for 5 seconds before repeating
    Women to repeat 5 times, men 10 times

1 minute rest then....

Overhead Monkey Ladder: 4.5m long, rope at end to climb.
    1 minute is given to complete this task.
    Women to climb the rope once, men twice.

Rest as required....

Pugil Sticks
    Face off against an opponent in a Pugil Stick fight main aim is to test for agression.

That was the entry criteria back in '97 but i'm sure its probably still similar enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

c - 13 wrote: »
    I went for a look to see what the entry criteria was out of curiosity and found the following -

In the UK you have to be able to doing the following.

Run 800m on a Treadmill
    Women to complete in 3 minutes, men have 2 mins 30 secs.

2 minute rest then....

Pull-Ups on the Rig
    With underhand grip, palms facing body, hang on straight arms. then pull up so that your chin is above the bar. Return to hanging with arms straight and hold for 5 seconds before repeating
    Women to repeat 5 times, men 10 times

1 minute rest then....

Overhead Monkey Ladder: 4.5m long, rope at end to climb.
    1 minute is given to complete this task.
    Women to climb the rope once, men twice.

Rest as required....

Pugil Sticks
    Face off against an opponent in a Pugil Stick fight main aim is to test for agression.

That was the entry criteria back in '97 but i'm sure its probably still similar enough

So that's effectively 10 arm-length chin-ups with five second pauses between each rep?? Pretty tough!

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Ye know, I was actually thinking to myself the other day - why don't we "cajole" a boardsie fitness dude or dudette (g'em? Hanley? Dragan?)

AmazingEmmet FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

http://sports.espn.go.com/espnmag/story?id=3264219

I know the manager of this guy and he is slated for the next American Gladiators. If you are disappointed with the standard of the UK entrants, Breaux would fit the bill of what you might expect. Still competing at the top level in the Javelin and he should be in Beijing challenging for a medal in the event regarded by many track and field folk as their one event that combines all the components of fitness the best.

but how could you take anyone seriously with a haircut like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

I thought it was terrible. A very shabby copy of the orginal.

Firstly, Ian Wright isn't fit to lace John "Awooga" Fashanu's boots. Watching him was about as cringeworthy as seeing your granny pole-dance.

The male gladiators definitely looked smaller. Do they drug-test them now or something? Either way Boo-urns!

I didn't like the way they changed the eliminator either. Swimming is a neddy no no as far as I'm concerned. And what happened to swinging though the paper at the end? Don't like that block business one bit.

Oh and them constant ads bigging up Sky's new Sunday night only served to add fuel to my angry fire.

All in all - the show was a travesty. Thank God Indiana Jones was on after to dampen my rage. /rant

On a side note I know this guy who got pretty far in the Gladiators trials and they would have let him on the show but he wasn't heavy enough. I think he was around 65-ish kgs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

but how could you take anyone seriously with a haircut like that

I don't think anyone does, especially himself - until he hits the javelin runway that is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

I didn't bother watching it. I thought the original was boring back in the day - it's wreeks of american wrestling nonsense with crowds of slack jawed yokuls shaking their mulletts and fists.:rolleyes:

Besides, Ian Wright is probably the worst presenter/pundit that English television has ever seen, and is likely ever to see.

If you've seen two guys/gals hit each other with Pugel sticks, you don't really feel the need to see it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

-Kirsty doesn't look as pretty as she used to

I thought Kirsty looks amazing !!

Thought it was good , it was only the first one give it a change !! Bring back Eunice the overall winner back in the day !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I thought it was pretty good myself. Sure, it's not as good as it was in the 90's, but then I'm not 14 anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Ended up getting into this, having only come across it during an ad break from something else.. Sunday tv - what can I say! But it was actually pretty good - amazing how the Eliminator really told the difference between the women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭justdoit

Al_Fernz wrote: »
    I thought it was terrible. A very shabby copy of the orginal.

Firstly, Ian Wright isn't fit to lace John "Awooga" Fashanu's boots. Watching him was about as cringeworthy as seeing your granny pole-dance.

The male gladiators definitely looked smaller. Do they drug-test them now or something? Either way Boo-urns!

I didn't like the way they changed the eliminator either. Swimming is a neddy no no as far as I'm concerned. And what happened to swinging though the paper at the end? Don't like that block business one bit.

Oh and them constant ads bigging up Sky's new Sunday night only served to add fuel to my angry fire.

All in all - the show was a travesty. Thank God Indiana Jones was on after to dampen my rage. /rant

On a side note I know this guy who got pretty far in the Gladiators trials and they would have let him on the show but he wasn't heavy enough. I think he was around 65-ish kgs.

Presume they DO still drug test. I know Shadow was booted off the old show for testing positive to some form of steroid.

I thought the show was great for what it is- good family fun. As another poster said, just give it a chance, and I'm sure the characters will develop and become more convincing.

That said, it's meant to be a family show, primarly aimed at kids, so while many of us may not be convinced, I'm sure most of the target audience will be...

lindak wrote: »
    I thought Kirsty looks amazing !!

Thought it was good , it was only the first one give it a change !! Bring back Eunice the overall winner back in the day !!

She used to look alot hotter on kirsty's home videos.She's changed her hair or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

She used to look alot hotter on kirsty's home videos.She's changed her hair or something

She has cut it short ! She only had a baby a couple of months ago !

justdoit wrote: »
    Presume they DO still drug test. I know Shadow was booted off the old show for testing positive to some form of steroid

AFAIK when the originally started gladiators basically they were lookign for pretty much bodybuilderesque people to be the gladiators, so of course some of them may have been using them. However as it became bigger with kids the producers got scared and started testing them for drugs and shadow got busted. His argument was that they weren't being hired as atheletes as it was only a TV programme and I would be inclined to agree with him. However sponsors generally run a mine when drugs are involved.

However from the onset of this one Sky had made it clear that all the gladiators would be tested continually so AFAIK they all come from a natural background

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Drug testing... yeah, that works. Just ask Marion.... :D

justdoit wrote: »
    Presume they DO still drug test. I know Shadow was booted off the old show for testing positive to some form of steroid.

I thought the show was great for what it is- good family fun. As another poster said, just give it a chance, and I'm sure the characters will develop and become more convincing.

That said, it's meant to be a family show, primarly aimed at kids, so while many of us may not be convinced, I'm sure most of the target audience will be...

Oh God I can vaugely remember a documentary from about 10 years ago where they "busted" all the Gladiators as steroid users. Could've been the Cook report?

I remember them trying to interview the Wolfman and he was having none of it. He told them to F off and walked away. Then the programme made out that the outburst was a roid rage. Pretty funny stuff.

I actually met the Wolfman. I was in Alton Towers when I was about 8. He was handing out signed pics. I didn't want to go up to meet him because I was scared sh1tless. In the end my Da made me go up and after and Wolfman himself convinced me the whole anger thing was just acting. What a legend.

However from the onset of this one Sky had made it clear that all the gladiators would be tested continually so AFAIK they all come from a natural background

Sky wouldn't want to promote a show that condones the use of anabolic steroids.........like WWE wrestling :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

the smaller arena made the last event to cramped looking. and the swimming is stoopid. looked much more edited than the original as well. wasnt overly impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭dublinmadyoke

In fairness it was good TV for a Sunday night! I loved watching it... Will tune in every week ..... I loved the games though - I wish they would bring that back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

:mad: Forgot about it.

will have a look this sunday and maybe catch a repeat if there is one?

I'd love to get my hands on one of those big blue hands thats everyone in the crowd seemes to have.I wanted one as a kid and I want one now......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Couple of observations...
    • Liked the fact that people are now knocked into water instead of onto mats, just something more fun about it
    • I think the male gladiators will have a hard time on any non-strength based tasks, they're built for being strong not for agility and speed...
    • The female gladiators lack something in the looks department, definitely no stunners like lightning was, they all look too angry!
    • Will be surprised if a female contestant makes it to the top of the pyramid game this season, the female gladiators seem to have the tactics spot on for that game - let the contestant get a step up then use their combined bodyweight to throw the contest back down the steps.
    • The eliminator was very cramped, and the swimming aspect was crap - so what if someone can hold their breath underwater for 5 metres
    • Bring back the old swing into the nets at the end, the new wall thing is crap as was shown by the male contestants both stepping through a 3 block gap instead of knocking the whole wall down

All-in-all it was a good family show and real easy watching for a Sunday evening. Not too sure about Kirsty and Ian, although I think the interview segments were short enough that they won't bother me too much. Will I watch again? If I've nothing better to do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

I thought it was pretty good.

All the gladiators seem to be "evil" now alla Wolfman, obviously with your man Oblivion trying his hardest to make a name for himself. Didn't really work though. I'll be tuning in next week anyway, good craic.

Girls are no scratch on Jet/Lightning etc... but I still can't wait for the first game of Hang Time :D.

Oh, and that was some hit your one got on the bridge.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Yeah Hated the water in the eliminator, hated the blocks, plus the new outfits are weird.
    The gladitors seem to take it all a bit too serious as well.
    I wonder if we'll be getting a new Vs old Gladitors tournament?
    And was that Sacaren in the ads for the Wii?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

GinnyJo wrote: »
    hated the blocks

Yep.
    The gladitors seem to take it all a bit too serious as well.

Yep.
    I wonder if we'll be getting a new Vs old Gladitors tournament?

Yep. (Already recorded AFAIK)
    And was that Sacaren in the ads for the Wii?

Yep. (Saracen ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

haha sorry but how gay was the Oblivion??

I found the show hilariously pathetic !!:D

Oblivion annoys me a great deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭theboytaylor

Gladiators were all too serious.

New eliminator wasn't too impressive.
    What was the rolling pillar thing, by the way?

But worst of all, they got rid of Queen!
    Only to be replaced by Britney Spears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Kirsty is savage.

And booouurns to drug testing the guys or whatever it is, bigger gladiators needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

My list of random thoughts:

- Needs to be in a bigger arena.

- Too much water.

- Gladiators trying too hard and failing miserably at cutting bad guy promos.

- There's no "Jet" level female Gladiator out of the bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭sobriquet

I've not seen it, but check out the youtube page for it.

Why is 'Tornado' wearing a sports bra? Steroid boobs? Maybe it was a 'dodgeball' styles mixup and some bondage club somewhere is missing their cheap looking kinky clothes.

However, some of those Youtube vids are presented by Jet from back in the day. I endorse her inclusion.

tribulus wrote: »
    Kirsty is savage.

And booouurns to drug testing the guys or whatever it is, bigger gladiators needed.

Yeah. I wanna see the FREAKS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Was repeated on sky 2 a few hours ago. Oblivion looks like harry potter! dunno why they picked him to be the "baddie" looks harmless and just doesn't work because of it.

If they are going to ban the roids, then ban the fake boobs too! they look ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Im sad i missed it, but from looking at that clip the women all look like trannies

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

We need to organise a boards.ie gladiator game. Imagine the satisfaction of bashing the heads off each other with oversize earbuds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

EileenG wrote: »
    And which ones have bodies that you lust after? Who do you think that with the right work, you could look like?

Dont know if anyone answered this, but I would kill for Spartans body.

Just had a look on the official site, some contender married Vogue, jammy git.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I was entertained by oblivion hamming it up. The show as a whole was a bit dull. Was surprised when the scottish woman made a vague threat about boxing one of the gladiators lol. Ian Wright is a pain in the ass and too full of himself to be part of anything else. Saw him on Jonathan Ross recently promoting the show and he was snotty and aggressive on that too. (Like trying to physically dominate or intimidate Jonathan Ross is going to prove anything else apart from that you're a spa.) Think it's better to have natural athletes as the gladiators if at all possible; especially when it is a show that appeals to kids. The gladiators generally seemed not too have much personality though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Haven't seen this but checked out a couple of those youtube vids and it all looks rather cheesy!

But, the main question is, do they still have the same ref as back in the day?

Gladiators! Are yew readde!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Haven't seen this but checked out a couple of those youtube vids and it all looks rather cheesy!

But, the main question is, do they still have the same ref as back in the day?

Gladiators! Are yew readde!!!

Yep, John Anderson is still there and as loud and Scottish as ever...

You will go on my first whistle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

I just watched the gladiator introduction clip of the gladiators on youtube and would probably do filthy things to the women...apart from Panther (Who at first I thought was a man), Enigma (Shiver...), and Battleaxe (Absolute Helga of a woman).

Was surprised how much smaller the gladiators are compared to the earlier series, although they do look a lot more athletic.