If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gardaí in red?

• 08-05-2008 07:55PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,819 ✭✭✭✭

I saw a garda car earlier with two gardaí in red vests (with white text) - I've never seen them before. What are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

did they have a gun in their hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

Detectives, the red bibs are normally worn when they do checkpoints with uniform branch, usually when they are "carrying"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Red tabards usually indicate Uzis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

as they all said, indeicates highly armed detectives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,819 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Shame they were driving a Fiat then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Thought these were phased out for the navy windbreakers, with GARDA in yellow on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Not all of them.

My van was searched coming back from a drop off in clondalkin by lads in red bibs. That was a year ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Any pics? I wanna know who to leggit from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,900 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Victor wrote: »
    Shame they were driving a Fiat then. :)

It just looks like a Fiat. It wouldn't be good for public relations if it got out that the Gardai were using the most sophisticated killing machine known to mankind on our streets now, would it? The XM-08b Urban pacification platform is the culmination of 30 years of research and development in a deep underground research facility under layers of protective rock in the Burren. I have to go now before this post is traced back to me..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

i always assumed that seeing as they were plainclothes officers that the vests were for hi-vis purposes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

DaveMcG wrote: »
    I wanna know who to leggit from!

Leggit from the guys with the guns :)

if ya look in last sundays independent, i think there wasa pic of a plain clothes garda with a red bib on and the gun holstered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

I remember coming home to a flat on Nth Gt Georges St a few years ago. There's a bunch of dodgy shops on Parnell St around there there. Rakes of Gardai were swarming around, the red-bibbed chaps were there with Uzi's. It was a bit scary seeing someone walk around with a gun actually.

shakin wrote: »
    i always assumed that seeing as they were plainclothes officers that the vests were for hi-vis purposes
    These two chaps were actually in uniform, in a liveried car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭fireplace1982

Eru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,358 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Eru
    Eru talkin' to me? :D

I'll get me coat.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I saw ERU detectives sitting in a jeep with the new Garda windbreaker..it looks good.
    Victor,where abouts did you see these Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Eru

ERU dont use the red vests or windbreakers in plain clothes. They are either covert or in full gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Bu they'd need something to identify themselves when it all goes down, be it baseball caps, red bibs or a 30ft flashing neon sign that says "Armed Garda operate in this area!"

eroo wrote: »
    Victor,where abouts did you see these Gardai?
    In their car, going over a bridge.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

ERU dont use the red vests or windbreakers in plain clothes. They are either covert or in full gear.

Well they were wearing the windbreakers when I saw them..that is,unless,DDU's have acquired black 4x4 Isuzu's..:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Maybe the wind was making them cold so threw the windbreakers on over thier gear :p

Think red bibs also identify themself to other guards so others think "oh hes one of us not one of the bad guys"

I know they used to give them to customs and stuff on raids etc for identification. My da told me its so guards dont shoot them lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

I thought the UZI would have been obsolete by now? surely something like the MP7 would be more suitable?

the eru use the mp7, but the ddu only have uzi's at the mo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

ddu?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

:p District Detective Unit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

eroo wrote: »
    Well they were wearing the windbreakers when I saw them..that is,unless,DDU's have acquired black 4x4 Isuzu's..:p

ERU aren't the only unit to use that sort of vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I would just like to use this thread as an example of how many people dont understand as much as they think they do!

Not pointing fingers or giving out, merely an observation.

When the ERU are in plain clothes they are discreet, when they want to be indentified they are in tactical gear. No middle ground and they identify themselves by shouting "Armed Gardai" and having a gun but lets also remember they dont operate solo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

I would just like to use this thread as an example of how many people dont understand as much as they think they do!

Not pointing fingers or giving out, merely an observation.

When the ERU are in plain clothes they are discreet, when they want to be indentified they are in tactical gear. No middle ground and they identify themselves by shouting "Armed Gardai" and having a gun but lets also remember they dont operate solo.

http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=47812&d=1208027319

Hope the above link works and clears things up.

HK MP7 + ERU member + Raid Jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

CLADA wrote: »
    http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=47812&d=1208027319

Hope the above link works and clears things up.

HK MP7 + ERU member + Raid Jacket.

whats special about these raid jackets?