Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In the Well - BigCityBanker

• 08-05-2008 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

it would make for better reading that sombody looking to steak 12 ppl into a freeroll. Id be guessing that Hali is out of the equation so can we pop somebody down?

maybe KP Nuts or somebody similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

OK BCB, you are down the well. Will we use this one or create another?

My questions:

1. Have you ever been called belligerent?
    2. If there are 5000 players in the country, where do you rate yourself in that?
    3. Do you think LL is a better player than you
    4. How is the job at PPP going? any nice chicks in the office?
    5. What are your poker ambitions?
    6. Where there any learnings from this years IO at your post mortem...YOu do have post mortems?
    7. Who is the most overrated player you know
    8. Say something controversial about boards
    9 what do you really think of ipoker in comparison to other skins
    10. Is there another half?
    They say male pattern baldness is a sign of virility , would you like to have your flowing ginger locks back and be less virile ?

Mods please change the title to BCB in the well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Are Paddy Power a good company to work for?
    Have you ever thought of opening your own betting shop?
    Winner or loser in poker this year?
    Biggest win on the horses?
    Biggest loss?
    If you could swap your PLO skills with halibut, and nobody would ever know - would you do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

How Nervous where you doing the TV thing at the Open?
    What happened your blog?
    Are you not allowed play on an ipoker skin now that you work for one?
    Biggest revelation or 'ah-ha!' moment in poker?
    I imagine when Willie and Glynn get together at the tables they spend the night giggling like schoolgirls, is this correct? ;)
    How is your PLO game coming on? Do you feel it is the next 'boom' game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

eh, this isnt sposed to be how it happens.

i hadnt really intended that id be in the well. but seeing as how its started il run with it. Im mad busy today and Im flying to Madrid in the morning for 2 days so my answers until Sunday are likely to be scarce (apart from a few hours in the hotel lobby tomorrow morning).

kinda looking forward to it now - fire away with questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Who do you reckon would win in a fight - spem or ppp-pitboss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 spem4392

You are now one of the best known and loved players on the circuit in Irish Poker (after Lloyd of course) - have you any advice that you can give "Pub Players" on how to achieve such heights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Why don't you like people from Fermanagh.....

How much money have you lost to Liam Flood playing kalooki....

How do you rate Mickste's poker Stare...

Where did it all go wrong with yourself and lloyd

Will you be going back to vegas this year

do you think you can have your "cake" and eat it.

The irish open questions

What did you think if it this year, from an insiders point of view.

Did Paddy power buy you the suit....

Was there anybody in particular you would have loved to deck over the weekend.

You came across very well the telly, was the clipboard your own.

Did you suffer from Post "Irish Open" blues...

Seriously though, well done in the Irish Open, you never seemed too stressed and Mr. Baker as MC went down a treat..

thanks so much for doing this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

This should be fun...
    I'll edit in some proper questions later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

Your thoughts on QQ facing a 3bet? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hi Noel, I wish you well in your well.

1) Where to now for Irish poker (live scene)
    2) Irish Open next year? Bigger and better? Buy-in? Location?
    3) Your improvement as a poker player, any defininitive reason? ie reading boards, talking hands over with friends, trial and error?
    4)Cash or tourney?
    5) Ideal festival game (buy-in + structure)
    6) Favourite Irish poker players?
    7) Players you dont like at your table
    8) Irish prospects as WSOP? Are you going?

That'll do for now. I'll probably be back with more :)

Connie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

You can slowroll anyone on the Irish poker scene-who?

Ever decided to give up poker/gambling?

Favourite/least dealer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

I think this will be a good well but if it was not censored by the fact that your employer reads it and people tend to use your comments against you and paddy power in later threads it would be a great well.

1. About 9 months ago I thought you were in a sweet spot of playing well and managing your bankroll pretty well. Do you still think you are in that spot or have you ratcheted up the variance under the guise of playing for the job or just chasing the buzz of playing much bigger cash games and tournies?

2. You spend an awful lot of time working on your game (a lot more then people give you credit for). Do you think you will still have the hunger to be reading and studying the game in a years time?

3. Given the choice of going successfully pro online and earning €150k tax-free a year or working in a decent paying finance job (lets say €100k a year gross but with good promotional bonus prospects but no room for anything other than very occasional poker playing) which would you choose and why?

4. Recommend an album I should listen to.

5. Favorite meal and place to visit.

I'll have more later.....

As for nominating yourself for a well :rolleyes::rolleyes: Typical. I guess we have to expect the Biffos to be getting even more full of themselves now that they have the office of Taoiseach. :D:D

Willie your obv to blame for this, i was trying to throw KP down the well and along you came and pushed me down when i had my back turned.
    YULETIRED wrote: »
    1. Have you ever been called belligerent?

Dictionary says 2: inclined to or exhibiting assertiveness, hostility, or combativeness

alwaqys assertive, i dont consider myself hostile, but i do fight my corner. yes regularly been called a beligerent little fcker.
    2. If there are 5000 players in the country, where do you rate yourself in that?

this is a difficult Q to answer without more defined parameters. top 750 somewhere.
    3. Do you think LL is a better player than you

He is clearly a better tourney player and his results show that but id have off him for sport in a live cash game over any meaningful sample of hours.
    4. How is the job at PPP going? any nice chicks in the office?

job is going grand im really enjoying it and find it a good challenge. its a big change from the bank and ive spent alot of my time learning new things. yeah there are some hotties here but not any disproportionate amount.
    5. What are your poker ambitions?

I really want to get better, I spend alot of time thinking about my game and picking holes in what I do. Sometimes I play a session and im smiling from ear to ear with delight knowing that ive done my best. Other times I finish and kick myself for running a stupid non credible bluff or for firing the 3rd barrell against a station. I think my better sessions come from making a more conscious effort to get a grip of the players at my table from early doors and picking up on how I can exploit them, something i dont always do, esp if Im playing tired.

As far as ambitions go, I want to improve my omaha game. I want to get a touch in a major tournament and by that I mean something like the GUKPT or similar. Obv throw in a cash in the wsop or similar. I would also like to play one of those televised 6 handed shootout games like the poker million or whatever.

Im not sure if my motivation for wanting to play one of these is ego on my part or if its because I want to play against the guys ive seen on TV for the past number of years or if its cos i just want to see myself on TV.
    6. Where there any learnings from this years IO at your post mortem...YOu do have post mortems?

yes we have postmortems and yes we learn from them. I think its safe to say that the buyin for next year will be reduced to that of 2007 (3,500)
    7. Who is the most overrated player you know

lol, i might tell you personally some time
    8. Say something controversial about boards

something controversial about boards. i dont like the way boards has evolved over my time here. also, where has fuzzbox gone?
    9 what do you really think of ipoker in comparison to other skins

When you compare it to Stars/Tilt/Party its clear that something is lacking. I know the roadmap for development will have it where it needs to be at some point in time but id worry that this dev is taking too long. The latest release includes a betting slider which is a step in the right direction. Things like resizeable tables are all down the line.
    10. Is there another half?

not presently, id be too nice of a chap to go inflicting myself upon others.
    11.They say male pattern baldness is a sign of virility , would you like to have your flowing ginger locks back and be less virile ?

nah, ive been folicly challenged for some time so im pretty much used to it. Im only 26 and ive been losing the locks for a number of years so its not something i miss or think about, its almost like i never had it to start with. So i guess Il just have to keep the virility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭murph01

eh, this isnt sposed to be how it happens.

Im flying to Madrid in the morning for 2 days so my answers until Sunday are likely to be scarce

see you in madrid,take it your there for the ecpt :confused:

murph01 wrote: »
    see you in madrid,take it your there for the ecpt :confused:

yep indeed, catch up with you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭murph01

yep indeed, catch up with you there.

looking forward to it :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

What advice can you give a young gun starting out with a limited roll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

What makes you uncomfortable at the poker table? Another player having position on you? stack sizes etc?

Who is the most overrated live cash game player in Dublin?

Which live player (other than Mick The Lip) has the biggest lack of self awareness as to their limitations as a poker player?

what aspect of your game would you like to improve?

Does anything compare to the gut wrenching feeling of exiting a big tourney like say, the IO this year?

One hand that sticks in your mind under each of the following headings (please choose different hands than those detailed earlier)
    - one which you played well/badly and won
    - one which you played well/badly and lost
    - one which you were at the table, didnt play and another dublin reg won/lost having played well/badly.

If it takes 2 men 3 days to walk backwards into eternity then how long does it take 2 men to shovel light into a dark room?

Name a boards poster, other then HJ/Fuzz/Pillow/valor, whose posts you make an effort to read.

Who posts the most tripe despite constantly thinking they are knowledgeable?

I'll think of a few more originals later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Im only 26

level?

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    level?

seriously....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

1. How did you feel being on tv during the Irish Open?
    2. Is it true that they kicked you off because of complaints about your ugliness?
    3. Do you now move around and make room at a table after the infamous thread which found you guilty of unsportsmanlike conduct?
    4. Which do you prefer, omaha h/l or nl holdem?
    5. Were you responsible for hiring that idiot commentator at the irish open from cork or kerry or somewhere?
    6. Who is the best Omaha player you have played against?
    7. Who is the worst Omaha player you have played against?
    8. What is the best piece of advice you have ever been given on Poker?
    9. What would you say are your biggest weaknesses and biggest strengths in Poker?

Best of luck in the well BCB.

level?

Lol afaik bcb is almost 40.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

jbravado wrote: »

waist size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

lol, i sometimes feel bad for BCB because no one believes his age. He really is 26.

level?
    DeadParrot wrote: »
    seriously....
    jbravado wrote: »

not quite, i was 26 last December.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

get the fook there is no way you are 4 years younger than me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

1. Do you think you have damaged your life earning potential by discovering poker? Would you now be earning more per annum if you had never got interested in poker?

2. How many posters have you got on ignore on boards?

3. Favourite 2+2 Poster?

4. How far will Getaway win the Arc by this year?

5. Who was a better Derby winner, Motivator or Authorised? Or were they both two Yaks who won a race that is now obselete in discussing the champion 3yo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

lol, i sometimes feel bad for BCB because no one believes his age. He really is 36.

QFT

You are alone on a desert island, you were fkd overboard from a poker cruise by some old codgers who got fed up with your slowrolling accusations. So you are 3 years alone on the island, sporting the merest bumfluffy red hint of a beard, one moonlight night you stroll on the beach whimpering in lonely sadness when suddenly in the distance you see a guy swimming towards you, you grow excited to see a person again, the man staggers onto the beach and collapses .......You rush over to him gasping air and hoping almost fretting that he is okay, so you can at least hear a human voice again you turn him on his back............. it's LUCKY LLOYD. He has swallowed much water and he needs the kiss of life or he will die.

Question is : how long do you think it will take the wildlife to pick his dead carcass to the bone ?

Like the way that Martins fellow off Newcastle claims to be a 23 or something ridiculous like that. Nigerianfootballerliesaboutagesyndromeaments.

ocallagh wrote: »
    Are Paddy Power a good company to work for??

yeah excellent, the avg of of the workforce in here is pretty young so this obv makes it pretty good. in general the company is up for some pretty off the wall stuff, like the strip poker tourney a few years back, so that kind of mentality feeds back into the staff and the ethos of the workforce and all in all in makes it an excellent place to work. The poker team are all great craic also and we work really well together.
    Have you ever thought of opening your own betting shop??

never, waste of time, how could an independent compete with PP, Laddies, Boyles etc on the high street
    Winner or loser in poker this year??

small marginal loser. I havnt been able to play as much as id like in the early months of the year due the pressure of the IO and when I did play I was generally too tired etc. losing sessions never really got to me before cos id normally just go straight back in and grind away at live cash. Like a few weeks back i decided I wanted to win 5k in 8 days of live cash or something, i was winning 3100 after 5 days and cruising then i took a particularly sick night in the SE where getting it in good in 1600 and 2300 pots in succession was no help to me. (these are still v big pots by the SE std). Then i tilted the following night and was down to winning just 700 over that period of time, the following night I went and was second in the tourney. This used not to be my my normal habit, win, lose, tilt, tourney to settle. It used to be win, lose, fck it, grind back again to normality. I havnt had the time to get into that groove as much lately.
    Biggest win on the horses??

Spiralbound in Thurles a few years back, he was owned by my old man and my uncle.

War Of Attrition in the Gold Cup, i backed him in dribs and drabs all year long from 33/1 down to 7/1. I remember having an G+T with conor o'dwyer in the pavillion in Punchestown after he had won the swordlestown as a novice and I told conor that he would win a gold cup. Conor wasnt as enthusiastic as I was. His sectional time from the 2nd last to the line was amazing for a horse by presenting that looked to be crying out for 3miles+. Add to that the fact that most ppl thought that Watson lake stopped in front that day and ppl played down WOA's ability cos of this. He was doing things over 2miles that suggested he had to be an amazing horse once he stepped up in trip.
    Biggest loss??

Probably a horse I sold named Shanahan in newton abbot over the summer.
    If you could swap your PLO skills with halibut, and nobody would ever know - would you do it?

Im pretty sure Hali would notice as his win rate would drop to near 0. but yeah srsly, hali is obv one of the top PLO players around. Id settle for just 25% of his ability as I reckon that would be enough to make me a very solid winning player. I dont think I could ever be as good as him but then I dont think many ppl could ever be as good as him. So yes, swap ability and not be able to tell anyone would be great. I suppose when i win the 10k plo at the wsop people would start to take notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

You are alone on a desert island, you were fkd overboard from a poker cruise by some old codgers who got fed up with your slowrolling accusations. So you are 3 years alone on the island, sporting the merest bumfluffy red hint of a beard, one moonlight night you stroll on the beach whimpering in lonely sadness when suddenly in the distance you see a guy swimming towards you, you grow excited to see a person again, the man staggers onto the beach and collapses .......You rush over to him gasping air and hoping almost fretting that he is okay, so you can at least hear a human voice again you turn him on his back............. it's LUCKY LLOYD. He has swallowed much water and he needs the kiss of life or he will die.

Question is : how long do you think it will take the wildlife to pick his dead carcass to the bone ?

Willie, where do you work ??? cos you must have loads of frigging time on yer hands to think this sh1t up man

touche

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

Whats the funniest moment you've had a poker table?

Where do you enjoy playing the most and why?

Who do yo consider the best players on the Dublin Poker scene both cash and tourney both Holdem and Omaha?

What advice would you give to any youger players?

Have you made any real friends from poker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

The poker team are all great craic also and we work really well together.

We held a rusty knife to his throat to make him write this...we're all evil bastids really :)

The Al Lad wrote: »
    Willie, where do you work ??? cos you must have loads of frigging time on yer hands to think this sh1t up man

touche

stop derailing the well.......Im a fast typer plus it doesn't take a milisecond to rehash an old joke, now go back into the pub you pub player you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Don't you think that 4 quid for a soggy baked potato in the canteen is extortionate?

How Nervous where you doing the TV thing at the Open?

I wasnt really, ive done plenty of radio in the past so it wasnt really that new to me. Just prepare what you want to say and say it with confidence. We did 2 takes, and when we finished the 2nd one i said to myself ah yeah thats grand, il have it nailed on the 3rd attempt as i felt Laura butted in a bit too much. Then the producer said it was a wrap so the 2nd take was used.

I was more nervous of being caught staring at laura woods chest on tv.
    What happened your blog?

ive wrote 2 blog reports and not put them up. I had an IO from the other side that i lost and another one i just never put up. Im sure il write one over the weekend somewhere detailing last weekend poker adventures.

Basically ive just not had the time to update it
    Are you not allowed play on an ipoker skin now that you work for one?

I am not actually 100% certain on the exact rule from ipoker on this one. I know they dont want you playing on your own skin other than for testing purposes. Im not in the habit of playing on ipoker other than for the very occasional satellite to some live event and when I do play one I do so on my GJP account where i play under my real name. Ive an agreement with Mike whereby if I happen to be lucky to qualify for a live event on GJP he wont enforce the rule of me wearing their gear whilst playing.
    Biggest revelation or 'ah-ha!' moment in poker?

learning how to value bet the river. or learning how to get value from my hands overall. Also learning how to betsize in general.
    I imagine when Willie and Glynn get together at the tables they spend the night giggling like schoolgirls, is this correct? ;)

I dont recall playing with both of them at the same table. They are both great characters and very pleasent to play with at the table
    How is your PLO game coming on? Do you feel it is the next 'boom' game?

coming on fine. Im a fish in full ring live omaha but i feel im just ok but learning at 6max. I hope to improve on this though. For some reason I always feel I run bad in full ring live omaha.

Who do you reckon would win in a fight - spem or ppp-pitboss?

pitboss and it wouldnt even be close.
    spem4392 wrote: »
    You are now one of the best known and loved players on the circuit in Irish Poker (after Lloyd of course) - have you any advice that you can give "Pub Players" on how to achieve such heights?

they should just follow lloyds advice.

smurph wrote: »
    Why don't you like people from Fermanagh...

I have no prejudice towards people from Fermanagh, its just that the ones I have encountered at the poker table in drogheda were not good eggs.
    How much money have you lost to Liam Flood playing kalooki....

I have lost money playing mythical tho.
    How do you rate Mickste's poker Stare...

It doesnt worry me, it just means he is more likely to fold.
    Where did it all go wrong with yourself and lloyd

When he was in the well he took offence to some questions I asked. I wasnt trying to be a prick but it obviously came across like that. At that time he was using the UNluckyLloyd name and I just felt it was a bit rich of somebody who had recently had a massive score to be moaning about running bad. The questions I asked were ones which were suppsoed to help him realise that he had his fair share of luck and that perhaps now it was just levelling a little bit. I found it funny that Marq pretty much reitterated my points later in the thread but as he put a sweeter slant on it there didnt seem to be any problem with it.

Obv when i busted him in the KJ v KQ hand it didnt help relations.
    Will you be going back to vegas this year

Im not sure yet, hopefully.
    do you think you can have your "cake" and eat it.

isnt that the way its supposed to be?

The irish open questions
    What did you think if it this year, from an insiders point of view.

I rate the event as a success. Other than taking a 200k bath with the overlay the whole event went smoothly, everybody was fullsome of praise and finding genuine critics was difficult. I think the event was testament to the efforts of the team who had worked very hard to ensure it was a success. I did not speak to anybody who was not in awe at the visual impact of the room when they walked through the doors.
    Did Paddy power buy you the suit....

lol, no, its one from my own personal collection
    Was there anybody in particular you would have loved to deck over the weekend.

no not really. overall I had a good time, there were moments where I wanted to tell one lad or another to fck off but nothing more than usual.
    You came across very well the telly, was the clipboard your own.

It certainly was, it was in the boot of my car from when i finished in AIB. I used to use that clipboard when meeting with clients there. Was funny opening the folder and throwing out a whole load of sensitite stuff relating to MBNA who were my biggest customer when I was in the Bank. I remember thinking, jaysus, thank god im not dealing with them everyday now.
    Did you suffer from Post "Irish Open" blues...

oh yeah, I was genuinely shatterd, I was back in the office on the Tuesday about 11.30am. I had worked til 6am some of the nights and had been up no later than 10am any morning and often earlier. I got really sick with some sort of virus afterwards and was running under the weather for a number of weeks.
    Seriously though, well done in the Irish Open, you never seemed too stressed and Mr. Baker as MC went down a treat..

thanks so much for doing this

Thanks Smurph, yeah Phil was very good, he is a good guy. I rarely unduly stress over anything.

RedJoker wrote: »
    Your thoughts on QQ facing a 3bet? :D

sometimes felt it other times fold quicker than superman on laundry day. Its really dependent on the dynamic and on how my patented Kenny Tran soul reader is working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

1. Best poker tip you ever heard.

2. Biggest buy in to a live/online tourney, were you rolled for it.

3. Whats you favorite book.

4. How to you plat small pocket pairs.

5. Why do they call Orange Jam, Marmalade.

6. Any Soul reading tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

Hi

nice well so far.

I'm far from an expert when it comes to bookies/prices etc. I was wondering what is your opinion of the prices offered by bookmakers on poker tournaments. i.e. It seems to me that some of the prices on boardsies and name pros are ridic given the nature of poker tournaments (luck required) and the large fields.

Also, have the poker tournamet markets been successful for PP or are they purely a novelty to try and get more traffic through the sportsbook?

These are legit questions btw. I'm not trying to have a go.

thanks

Good well so far BCB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

1. what did you do with your IO score last year? re-invest in pokah?

2. just how much did Neil Channing take off PPP through betting on himself in the IO? i've heard varying reports, including 1k on himself to cash at 28-1, and a sizeable bet on himself to win from the final table at 11-8.

3. do you have any thoughts on developing the spectical of the io/poker in general. This basically comes from a comment from neil channing at the IO tv table along the lines of "at the end of the day poker is like a sport that the tv has to find a way to work around the players playing the game, as opposed to the current situation of players playing the game around the needs of tv" i.e. less hands/players at tv table. Is there an argument of not screening the IO highlights the same evening, rather delaying it by a few months and increase production quality. for example,the espn/wsop highlights can go to an outer table and if the hand goes to showdown they dont need under table camaras or anything, they can just record the data and add graphics informing the viewer of hole cards later on which is obviously more production work than is allowed for in the current format, but might make for better viewing a few months later, and more repeats/syndication of the programme and ultimately a better marketing tool for ppp? (that question kinda went on a bit... apologies)

4. have you/will you be playing any hilarious office prank on ionapaul? may i suggest... http://borkweb.com/story/office-prank-post-it-notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Is all your betting done on betfair? Do you ever walk into a bookies and fill out a docket like us normies?

If you were handed 3 free €100 bets today what 3 bets would you do?

Name 5 Irish players you have respect for and why?

Who, in your opinion, is the best player in the world today?

Is Phil Ivey worth a punt to make the WSOP final table at 100/1 on PP?

How bad a result was Neil Channing winning the IO for the bookies? And similarly Chub winning best boardsie and top young gun and then Pascal in the Omaha?

You have been doing a lot of travelling lately. The Norwegian Champs last week and Madrid this week. Do you enjoy this or would you rather just ramble down the SE on a Saturday?

Do you prefer Hold'em or Omaha? Which are you better at?

Your fave 5 films/Music artists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

ditpoker wrote: »

3. do you have any thoughts on developing the spectical of the io/poker in general. This basically comes from a comment from neil channing at the IO tv table along the lines of "at the end of the day poker is like a sport that the tv has to find a way to work around the players playing the game, as opposed to the current situation of players playing the game around the needs of tv" i.e. less hands/players at tv table. Is there an argument of not screening the IO highlights the same evening, rather delaying it by a few months and increase production quality. for example,the espn/wsop highlights can go to an outer table and if the hand goes to showdown they dont need under table camaras or anything, they can just record the data and add graphics informing the viewer of hole cards later on which is obviously more production work than is allowed for in the current format, but might make for better viewing a few months later, and more repeats/syndication of the programme and ultimately a better marketing tool for ppp? (that question kinda went on a bit... apologies)
    [/url]

The IO TV table`s a pain in the ass. The glass makes it hard to pick up your cards and if you hold them just above it there can be a reflection. Imo the tv table should be as similar to a normal table as possible. ie the wsop tables like you said. Anyway im sure Paddy power have thought of this and this is what they think works best.

Anyway Noelly

1. Running a dirty bluff or making a hero call ? Fav of each?

2. IO winner or equivalent prize money in WSOP ME, ie bout 7th.

3. are you from Fermanagh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

nice one BCB, hopefully you have kickstarted a trend of people self-nominating themselves for the well....:pac:

now for some questions:

1. Madrid eh? Funky. What are your thoughts on bullfighting? Also tapas - pointless bar clutter or food revolution?

2. Ever get bored with poker? It's a pretty pointless activity at the end of the day - discuss.

3. Galway. Details please. You know what I'm talkin' about. ;)

4. Ideal table of Sporting Aquarium regulars?

5. BIFFO. How do you see things going for your fellow Offalyman?

6. Tilt. How easily do you get tilted these days?

7. "I'm the most misunderstood player in Dublin." "I'm playing my usual super-tight game."
    Two apparently tongue-in-cheek comments which you make a lot - I believe both actually have a good basis in truth. Care to expand on these?

8. Vietnamese or Thai? Important question, think carefully before answering.

Good luck in the well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

ditpoker wrote: »

2. just how much did Neil Channing take off PPP through betting on himself in the IO? i've heard varying reports, including 1k on himself to cash at 28-1, and a sizeable bet on himself to win from the final table at 11-8.

Channing said he had £500 on himself at 100/1 to win and several other bets on different players.. john kabbaj and sorel mizzi among some.. he placed the bets on the third day of the tourney i think.. he also won a last longest bet with different players from the Vic i think it was..it was a big pool

edit: sorry for hijacking your answers bcb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

everybody was fullsome of praise

That word always annoys me. I won't say any more. Lloyd might give out again, cos everyone knows he's reading this thread with a fine toothcomb.

Questions

1) I've played with you live a couple of times, but it was very brief. You seemed to play back at me in paticular a lot. Was this intentional and why?

2) How hard is it to work in poker and not get to play 24/7????

3) From the brief times I've had you at my table, or when I was watching the 2/5 game, you've had quite a spewy image. You seem to have reinforced that through numerous HHs. Is this a conscious effort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

cuterob wrote: »
    Channing said he had £500 on himself at 100/1 to win and several other bets on different players.. john kabbaj and sorel mizzi among some.. he placed the bets on the third day of the tourney i think.. he also won a last longest bet with different players from the Vic i think it was..it was a big pool

edit: sorry for hijacking your answers bcb

hmm, i had heard that with himself and john kabbaj still in he bought himself out of that bet as john kabbaj had a huge chip stack at the time.