Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - The Waiting Room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

srdb20 wrote: »
    Completely off topic but the Garda recruitment forum is like a bloody ghost town these days.....Probably start picking up again though!

Yeah, nothing is going on really. Only the apptitude test thread is fairly lively.

New people, same anxieties, ah the memories, I hope we won't have to go through it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

haha ye, i dont think i could go thorugh all this process and waiting again:cool:

it will all pick up once we get into more interviews and meds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

ojewriej wrote: »
    Very good Kaiser, great to hear that. Remind me, wat's the story with waiting another 2 weeks though, why is that?

Seeing as my medical was deferred on eyesight grounds, I got laser done, and HQ procedure is you must wait 6 weeks after surgery to contact them with an eyesight report, presumably to allow your vision to settle down to normal.

pvt.joker wrote: »

Seeing as my medical was deferred on eyesight grounds, I got laser done, and HQ procedure is you must wait 6 weeks after surgery to contact them with an eyesight report, presumably to allow your vision to settle down to normal.

That's fair enough I suppose. You should make it for August no problem anyway.

By the way lads - if that's ok, I'd like to get in on you wager.

My time was 2.51 and push pull 48 kgs. I might be 1-2 point off, but if it will be a close call, i can alwyas check the old thread, I posted exact times there somewhere.

ah thing is we need to sort something about if you get higher on one thing then the other.

As it stand i got 2.28 on the course and 43 kg on my push n pull. so leaves me and oje tied :confused:

i say you lot just call me the winner and leave it at that ye?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

Two seperate competitions

One for the Push Pull and one for the circuit.

Winner of each gets two pints from everybody involved, sound good? Or just buy me drink all night!!!

Winner of each gets two pints from everybody involved, sound good?

sounds good to me :D

Winner of each gets two pints from everybody involved, sound good? Or just buy me drink all night!!!

i'll go with that.

Yeah, I'm in.

Savage.. Roll on August so lads!!!!

Yeah, as long as this poxy "one outstanding check" will clear.

ojewriej wrote: »
    Yeah, as long as this poxy "one outstanding check" will clear.

ah that 'one outstanding check' brings me back :o

• Registered Users Posts: 9 bridie

Hi All,

It's been a while since I've wrote on this thread!

Anyway I passed my medical back in May and have date for PCT, in the next two weeks.

My question is, that if you do pass the PCT, how long do you have to wait for them so say you are defo in for August?

I know a lot of people are in the same situation regarding handing in notice at work etc...........................

There's an info day for the PCT in Templemore this saturday, heading down for a look!

bridie wrote: »
    Hi All,

It's been a while since I've wrote on this thread!

Anyway I passed my medical back in May and have date for PCT, in the next two weeks.

My question is, that if you do pass the PCT, how long do you have to wait for them so say you are defo in for August?

I know a lot of people are in the same situation regarding handing in notice at work etc...........................

There's an info day for the PCT in Templemore this saturday, heading down for a look!

Have your background checks been completed? If not then you wont get a letter of acceptance until they clear. It can take anything from 2 weeks to 8 months judging by experiences here.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Haz33

My God
    I take my eye off ye for a few weeks and the thread goes to S**t.
    When ye eventually stopped talking about drink it turns to gambling. What sort of a shower am I going to be with in august at all.

I had a great holiday. Have me PCT on 25th june so trying to lose the holiday belly. Did ye miss me???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭D22

Been two weeks since I dropped in. Still no word / letter. Holidays soon and work to be done in the meantime. Can't wait ( well i kinda have to ) to get stuck into college asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭missmorbeg

Its Oh so QUIET ! Whats Happening lads

PCT on the 26th june Starting to freak out a bit !

Bring on August !

Heads up Molly is hitting Templemore

missmorbeg wrote: »
    Its Oh so QUIET ! Whats Happening lads

PCT on the 26th june Starting to freak out a bit !

Bring on August !

Heads up Molly is hitting Templemore

Good luck on thursday Mol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭RichieM.08

good luck with PCT Haz and Molly.

just as i was starting to worry about what job i should get for the next few months..... got the letter this morning to say im starting in August!!

i feel like iv won the lotto. :D

RichieM.08 wrote: »
    just as i was starting to worry about what job i should get for the next few months..... got the letter this morning to say im starting in August!!

i feel like iv won the lotto. :D

Congrats ! When did you do your PCT?

pvt.joker wrote: »
    Congrats ! When did you do your PCT?

cheers mate, done it back on the 10th of january.

god knows iv been watching the mailbox for this letter!!

cheers mate, done it back on the 10th of january.

god knows iv been watching the mailbox for this letter!!

Congrats richie. Hopefully I'll see you there! :D

so what kinda times and push pull did ya set haz.

Haz33 wrote: »
    Congrats richie. Hopefully I'll see you there! :D

Thanks a mill mate.:)

so what is the story with ur PCT?

Dr_MaSoN wrote: »
    so what kinda times and push pull did ya set haz.
    I dont think I set any records anyway. Just glad to have passed. 2 mins 34 seconds on the course and 38 kg on push/pull. Looks like the drinks could be on me. Though if you subtract the 5 seconds per year of seniority and add on the 2 kg per year of seniority I'm looking pretty good!
    Thanks a mill mate.:)

so what is the story with ur PCT?

Pct done today. Should be hearing from HR next week . Hopefully!

Haz33 wrote: »
    Pct done today. Should be hearing from HR next week . Hopefully!

your checks are done arent they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Dub chick

Hey dudes!

First post!

I haven't heard anything really since i found out i passed my interview mid march......i'm reckoning there's no way i could be pushed through for August at this late stage!! so jealous of u guys who have made it! well done!:D

your checks are done arent they?

Yeah checks are all completed since May so I'm hoping for the 5th Aug.

Dub chick wrote: »
    Hey dudes!

First post!

I haven't heard anything really since i found out i passed my interview mid march......i'm reckoning there's no way i could be pushed through for August at this late stage!! so jealous of u guys who have made it! well done!:D

Hey Dub_chick,

Give them a call and find out where you are in the process....

I wouldn't think its too late, some people get medicals and PCT in the week before an intake!!!

P.s Dub_Chick is a cool name, just sounds cool