Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OMG - The Factory!!!!

• 29-04-2008 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭

DUN DUN DUUUUUUUN!

So, you will have seen the new advertisement at the top of the page i assume?

Who wants to guess what it is? Personally i am hedging my bets on a new magazine ala Flex or something!!!

At first i was thinking a gym but then i thought who the hell would call their gym "The Factory"?

Whoever ends up being the closest gets a nice sense of well being!!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye saw it earlier, once it's not the gay gym one that did the rounds before. seriously accidently clicking on that while someone was watching your screen was not good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thecola

Dragan wrote: »

At first i was thinking a gym but then i thought who the hell would call their gym "The Factory"?

I would call my gym The Factory.
    It's anyhow better that The Farm or The Pusher (which could be some other naming alternatives).
    I thought it's some kind of TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭hunter164

Where's it going to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Someplace selling supplements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

No idea what it is but that piece of burnt chicken doesn't make me want to buy anything :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I was thinking something along the line of what JSB mentioned, but I can't see that been advertised here it's a bit of a niche market.

I'm guessing it's something like Jackie Skelly or Crunch pushing a "specialist" gym dedicated to body building.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Deleted by Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Deity

Irish version of.....http://www.gay-factory.de/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Hanley wrote: »
    comment deleted by Mod

:eek:Wash your mouth out with soap and water young man.

I'm gonna say a powerlifter/bber dedicated gym - kind of like a posher newer more modern Hercs.

Am I right poster of the ad?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Gabbo Gabbo Gabbo is coming.

I'm thinking it's a steel mill like the one in the Simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

'So there I was, lying in bed, wondering whether to get up or not, when I got a call from Patricia and Bunny. Patricia's an actual native of The Village and works in theatre down in San Fancisco, and Bun's...well, she's just Bun.

They're fun and I told them call over, but first they had to pick up coffee, pretzels and bagels, so then I was just forced to get up. But I didn't want to get up fully, if you know what I mean so I just slipped into my burgundy coloured dressing gown and smoked cigarette after cigarette until the girls came up.

I was in a Burgundy mood.

We talked and talked, for hours...about The Factory of course and my plans for the next six months.

Then Patricia said out of the blue (or out of the burgundy, if you like),

"Andy," she said, "Andy, when are you going to send some work my way?"

"Well, I'll send some work your way, dear, when I slip out of this burgundy mood, and back into a silver jive."

"And when might that be?", asked Bun.

"Oh, it could be years!" and I gave my cigarette a flick, and the girls cracked up....'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Al_Fernz

Who remembers the Fun Factory on Sky? Or the DJ Kat (spelt wrong how Krazy is that???) show?

Maybe there both making a return to Sky to coincide with Gladiators??? That isn't a man in the pic - its DJ Kat. He's back and he's jacked!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

The hands in the pic look like they're gripping something...

And Hanley, if there's something I love about you, it's your subtlety :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Internet love just got a whole lot scarier!!!! :D

The hands in the pic look like they're gripping something...

I'm glad somebody got to read it and had a laugh before the PC brigade complained about it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'm glad somebody got to read it and had a laugh before the PC brigade complained about it!!

Brigade? Now firemen are involved?! :eek:

Maybe it's gonna be a fireman training school???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Maybe it's going to be a factory where they produce people like Van Damme in Universal Soldier. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Wood

I hope i'm very wrong....

http://www.tangolondon.com/gym.html

This is going to be horrible, sweet suffering jesus i hope i'm wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Tony Quinns latest project. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Wood wrote: »
    I hope i'm very wrong....

http://www.tangolondon.com/gym.html

This is going to be horrible, sweet suffering jesus i hope i'm wrong

What the hell is wrong with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Wood

Do you want to go to a gym where you can see land whales pole dancing while you're deadlifting?

A gym should not be offering f*ckin dancing classes, infra-red treatment, sunbeds and tanning, it's a gym, not a social club/chartbusters.

But it'd make a fortune in D4, with the ugg boot and dube crowd

dube
    Nyom.....oh.......sorry!

Do you want to go to a gym where you can see land whales pole dancing while you're deadlifting?

A gym should not be offering f*ckin dancing classes, infra-red treatment, sunbeds and tanning, it's a gym, not a social club/chartbusters.

But it'd make a fortune in D4, with the ugg boot and dube crowd

But that's the way business is going...

And it's where Crunch Dun Laoghaire have got it wrong...there only going half way...

What they need is a large room for weights...proper weights...not dumbells up to 18kg...they need up to 50/60kg

They have this one small room with dumbells up to 40's I think but that's it...and when there are 3 people in the room, it's considered full...not joking.

If they could get the right balance where the local gym could offer everything the people want then they can get the best of every market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

cheesedude wrote: »
    But that's the way business is going...

And it's where Crunch Dun Laoghaire have got it wrong...there only going half way...

What they need is a large room for weights...proper weights...not dumbells up to 18kg...they need up to 50/60kg

They have this one small room with dumbells up to 40's I think but that's it...and when there are 3 people in the room, it's considered full...not joking.

If they could get the right balance where the local gym could offer everything the people want then they can get the best of every market.

Not to get completely off topic, but crunch will never do that. Looking at the surrounding concrete substructure its clearly in bits, mainly from shoddy workman-ship and badly laid out plumbing. They seem to have embedded everything in concrete rather then creating access panels and channels. For that reason you will only see them moving further and further away from anything that could create a high impact(heavy weights).

I'm going to go with a male version of Curves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

OH MY GOD! There's a chance that someone is opening a business that doesn't tally with my philosophy on life! Woe is me!

I mean, it's a bit of craic guessing what the yoke is gonna be and all but if it is going to be a dance/aerobics studio, why would it bother you so much?

Personally, I hope it's a man-mannequin factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's a male version of Curves owned by Tony Quinn with an in-gym chemist selling Lipotrim.

Had to happen sooner or later.

OOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH....

I think I know what this is about. I just read an interview with a very prominent Irish trainer/fitness writer who hopes to have his own training centre opened by September '08.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

I think I know what this is about. I just read an interview with a very prominent Irish trainer/fitness writer who hopes to have his own training centre opened by September '08.

You can bet he's been lurking on here!!

celestial wrote: »
    You can bet he's been lurking on here!!

Well if he is, and I'm right then please get in contact with me, I want to talk to you about a certain measurement technique for dieting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

It's actually gonna be a place where men can go and get surgery and end up being as ripped as that pic through implants!!!!!

Then my good friends this forum will be no more:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Wrongo...Unless it's a new supplement store/brand he's launching instead....

Yeah... I got that.

The supplement industry will never be the same again?

What a load of over hyped bollox. I'm already writing this ad off as nothing more than bull****.

All the supplement industry consists of are the essential basics i.e. amino acids, protein powder, glutamine and creatine and vitamins and oils. That's it pretty much. Everything else is just hyped to **** and marketed.

What a load of over hyped bollox. I'm already writing this ad off as nothing more than bull****.

All the supplement industry consists of are the essential basics i.e. amino acids, protein powder, glutamine and creatine and vitamins and oils. That's it pretty much. Everything else is just hyped to **** and marketed.

It's probably ANOTHER beta alanine product that's gonna revolutionise the industry :rolleyes:

FTR, I read an interview with Damien Maher on the Charles Poliquin website recently where he was talking about hoping to have his own training studio up and running by september '08. That's what I thoguht it was, seemed like a likely candidate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

What's the significance of the GEARS in the advert?

Mikel wrote: »

Steroids aka Juice aka GEAR.... perhaps??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

It's probably ANOTHER beta alanine product that's gonna revolutionise the industry :rolleyes:

FTR, I read an interview with Damien Maher on the Charles Poliquin website recently where he was talking about hoping to have his own training studio up and running by september '08. That's what I thoguht it was, seemed like a likely candidate!

Yea Damien is opening a place alright, in balinteer I think? Trust me he would not call it the factory, have you seen him on the irish version of the swan on tv3? His typical clients would not go for a factory image...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

Mikel wrote: »

They custom build biomechanical body parts.

It's nothing of substance anyway...

The only way the supplement industry will never be the same again is if they banned them completely out of this country...

I actually have another idea on what this might be that I heard thru the grapevine a while ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

It's nothing of substance anyway...

The only way the supplement industry will never be the same again is if they banned them completely out of this country...

Aren't they doing that at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

something similar to myprotein?

joepenguin wrote: »
    something similar to myprotein?

If I'm right in what I'm thinking, it may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I can't believe their little advertising scheme has worked and yous are all still talking about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

Wes was talking about this a while ago I think but I really don't think it would work, Ireland just isn't a big enough market to sustain such a niche market with the margins needed to compete with the uk and average sale value it would be a very very tough business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

So, its offering 500g Creatine for a tenner, and 10lbs of Mass gainer for 35, and 5lbs of whey for 35... According to the ads on the top of the page. What is it?

My guess is a wholesale supplement store...

Looks like I was right.

jsb wrote: »
    I can't believe their little advertising scheme has worked and yous are all still talking about this

Eh, advertising schemes invariably work.

They are largely the reason why you buy the things you buy.

Any reports around product quality or anything like that?

We should hit them up, challenge them, say "give us stuff" and then be dissapointed when whey doesn't add 20 kilos to our bench!

Actually, the have a price point ad but no address.

Fail?