Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you find attractive?

• 25-04-2008 11:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Just curious here. I know at the end of the day most people don't have a 'type' as such. I know I don't, there's a whole range of different factors that attract me to people.

I was just wondering what is attractive to you guys?! Do you like long hair, short hair, tanned skin, tall, short, foreign, Irish, rich etc...??

What is good looking??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

To me someone who can make me laugh, keep conversation up and give me butterflies is a keeper. I dont have a 'type' and think it's all a lot of codswallop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Just curious here. I know at the end of the day most people don't have a 'type' as such. I know I don't, there's a whole range of different factors that attract me to people.

I was just wondering what is attractive to you guys?! Do you like long hair, short hair, tanned skin, tall, short, foreign, Irish, rich etc...??

What is good looking??

Pour moi, blonde plus fairly big boobies (C+).

But thats just a general rule, I wouldn't rule out anyone else who I could have a decent conversation with. Its the one thing that I absolutely hate about being in college in Limerick - its very, very hard to find a genuine girl there. Most seem intent on persuing this "fakeness" for want of a better word. Basically, I haven't found someone I can genuinely talk to and have some fun with. But you have to hang onto the hope that maybe there is someone there. Somewhere. :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Fun to be with, physically fit, creative, and sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

/ Waits excitedly for someone to say "Must love monkeys"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

Helina christensen will do grand thank you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Theres certainly somethings Im drawn to. But definitely not into long hair, beards, mustaches. Im sure I will have to come back here and edit on a few more there, but its what Ive got for now.

I do have a tendancy to steer away from 'rugged' good looks and what would be commonly regarded has hot/good looking.

Boyish looks is good for me. I would prefer taller than me, but it definitely would not be the be all and end all. Personality wise, I've two sides and prefer someone on the same wave-length. Im a bit of a messer and love having a laugh. Im the only girl amongst a bunch of 6 lads at the bar and we are probably the loudest there with all the messing going on.

Then theres the other side. Im quite ambitious, and love a challenge and that requires dropping the clown act and getting serious for a patch. Till I get the job done anyway :pac:

Loyalty and respect are huge on my agenda, and what Im given goes
    back x 3.

cson wrote: »
    Pour moi, blonde plus fairly big boobies (C+).

But thats just a general rule, I wouldn't rule out anyone else who I could have a decent conversation with. Its the one thing that I absolutely hate about being in college in Limerick - its very, very hard to find a genuine girl there. Most seem intent on persuing this "fakeness" for want of a better word. Basically, I haven't found someone I can genuinely talk to and have some fun with. But you have to hang onto the hope that maybe there is someone there. Somewhere. :o

Maybe you should broaden your scope before you accuse the bottle blonds of being "fake".
    Limerick is crawling with genuine people.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Someone who finds themselves attractive. Has interests and intelligence and wants to learn more. A bit loopy I can deal with. Batshít crazy with "issues" need not apply.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

If I had to have an ideal 'type' it would be blondes with kind of sallow skin e.g. Steve McQueen look but there are not too many of them floating around Dublin :(

I have tended to date tall, dark haired guys (maybe cos there are more of those around). Personality wise I like openness, humour, no ego, confidence and an interest in learning / travelling. I also like nice teeth and hands.... Personally am not into long hair/ grungy looking men and dont find big tattoo's at all attractive....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Moonbaby wrote: »

Yeah, genuinely scary!

two-fingers.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Kelly O'Malley

Receding hairlines.Dunno why but there it is.Defo no facial hair,mega turn off.Bright eyes and a ready wit.Kindness.A passion for something,anything!Strong work ethic.(Workaholics welcome)A good sensible driver-don't laugh,it's important!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

A nice, warm smile. :)

Oh, and Kelly, i'm with you on the sensible driver. It is very important - if someone doesn't value themselves (and others) enough to drive safely then i'm not interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I find an air of mystery very attractive.Im always drawn to those who look like they have a bit more to them then what initially meets the eye.
    Also I like confidence even arrogance to a certain extent.I want someone who is very comfortable in their own skin.
    As for physically,all my ex's have been tall,dark and handsome,its not a 'type' but just what im physically attracted to.

I also like manners..... Good manners that it :D

Was on a date the other night and the guy was good fun, no saint I am sure but he also had good manners - its a big turn on for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

This is my latest eye candy: 220px-JonDavisNY2007.jpg
    3214_193bfaf3725af9bd0bd6446a4a4bb0dd.jpg
    I like pierced, tattooed rocker types. My boyf is all beardy and long haired. To me, sexiness comes in the form of a talent like being a musician or artist... Confidence, sense of humour and intelligence are mandatory too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Tall dark and handsome, and musclely, I dont know why but I have always been atracted to this type,

Never had a blonde boyfriend..

My friends would always say, i am attracted to sleezy looking fellas...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Kelly O'Malley

I hope you all know the three things a lady's hand should never touch in the presence of a gentleman?

A door handle

A cigarette lighter

Her wallet!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:

I once dated a guy who I'd thought was a right oily git - he was in fact a right oily git but he got me with his immaculate manners.It was him who told me that little gem.And he lived by it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

cson wrote: »
    Its the one thing that I absolutely hate about being in college in Limerick - its very, very hard to find a genuine girl there. Most seem intent on persuing this "fakeness" for want of a better word. Basically, I haven't found someone I can genuinely talk to and have some fun with. But you have to hang onto the hope that maybe there is someone there. Somewhere. :o

Have to say from experience that UL has the most genuine people I've met. They're a lot more friendly and open to chatting to anyone than people I've met from other colleges who are a lot more cliquey.
    Abigayle wrote: »
    I do have a tendancy to steer away from 'rugged' good looks and what would be commonly regarded has hot/good looking.
    +1... I can appreciate that a guy is good looking, but I am not attracted to the "Phwoar! He's hot!" type guys.

For me:
    Physically, I like average build, and especially arms can't be too skinny!! I'm also attracted to eyes and, weird I know, but I like nice hands :o Don't mind about hair as long as it's not too long (that meaning that wavy is acceptable but anything that could be tied up is a no-no); like shaved heads as well... For some reason I'm subconsciously attracted to gingers as well - the blondey-red ones, not seriously dark red... But I like generally like dark haired. And they *have* to be taller than me. I'm not attracted to guys the same height as me - even if they're good looking, I'm just not attracted at all!! I'm not that picky physically really...

Personality - I'm a lot more complicated. Confident (borderline arrogance) is a must; funny; easy-going; into things or at least accepting of the fact that I am and willing to understand how I can be 'into' my hobbies; flirty (yes, even with other girls! makes me appreciative:)); modest but not self deprecating in the least; relatively intelligent and ability to spell (yes I'm turned off by guys who can't spell - I'm not talking about complicated words, but simple things like 'sympathy' is not 'simpity' as I got recently in a text); open to new things; understanding that I have a busy lifestyle and I devote myself wholeheartedly to things...

I'm sure there's more... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Cathooo wrote: »
    To me someone who can make me laugh, keep conversation up and give me butterflies is a keeper. I dont have a 'type' and think it's all a lot of codswallop!

Same here, every guy ive gone out with has been different to the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I hope you all know the three things a lady's hand should never touch in the presence of a gentleman?

A door handle

A cigarette lighter

Her wallet!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:

I once dated a guy who I'd thought was a right oily git - he was in fact a right oily git but he got me with his immaculate manners.It was him who told me that little gem.And he lived by it!

Sod that for a game of soldiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Just for the record I don't believ in having 'types' myself. Some people can be drop dead gorgeous and still be a dimwit so I'm not one to worry too much about types. I'm just curious as to what other ladies like in a man?!

Some of you mentioned nice teeth... I can't agree more. Bad teeth send me running and bad personal hygeine. The reason I started this thread was to help me make up my mind about something, there's a guy who's been trying it on and while he's nice to talk to and nice looking aswell (well potentially), he just doesn't take care of himself. I was just wondering if I was being a little harsh about him but from reading some replies I know I'm not the only girl who feels this way. I never thought I'd be so shallow because he is a nice fella but his personal hygeine is a joke and it makes my skin crawl. He could be an absolute stunner but he just doesn't try. Would that annoy anyone else or do you think I'm being a cow? I don't mean to be, I just really can't stand unbrushed teeth, unwashed hair, unwashed clothes, badly chapped lips etc. Usually I love the grunger look but this isn't even like that. It's just a case of not taking any care of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

if you dont like they guy, make that clear. but for the love of god dont take him on as some sort of 'super makeover' project. if they guy's hair, teeth and clothes are unwashed and dirty then thats a problem. there is the crusty 'look'...and then there is just being crusty.

does he smell like an unwashed bottom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Well MizzLolly how much respect can you expect from someone who does not respect themselves enough to look after personal hygiene ?

if you dont like they guy, make that clear. but for the love of god dont take him on as some sort of 'super makeover' project. if they guy's hair, teeth and clothes are unwashed and dirty then thats a problem. there is the crusty 'look'...and then there is just being crusty.

does he smell like an unwashed bottom?

Erm... I've never sniffed him. Crusty is a good way of describing him. I haven't been leading him on at all. It's just that my friend noticed all the attention he's been giving me recently and she asked me what I thought of him. I just didn't know how to phrase it. I know I can be pretty fussy but I think personal hygeine is not a lot to ask for.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Well MizzLolly how much respect can you expect from someone who does not respect themselves enough to look after personal hygiene ?

Exactly, said it better than I could myself. I just didn't know how to say it to my friend when she asked me. I felt kind of lousy saying he was messy looking so I just said I'd rather a guy look after himself than expect me to do it.

Oooh I feel so mean though... :o but I'm just not attracted to guys who are scruffy! Like looking scruffy and being scruffy are two different things.

yes but the contrived trendy scruffy look with the 'messy' hair that takes 15minutes to get right is almost as bad in my books....these people are posers...at least the scruff balls are honest/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Long haired menz ftw! ;) Dark preferably!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

obviously personality matters more then anything else but physicall im attracted to tall,built,and usually dark lads.I dont usually feel comfortable around thin lads as i feel fat and dumpy.
    that being said the only person i was head over heels for was a skinny ginger.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Tall, dark, lean. Generally anyway. I go weak at the knees for musicians (especially if they can sing too) and anyone who can make me laugh hard. I prefer brunettes to blondes, but I have been attracted to a few blondes before. Never dated one though. Oh, and guys who wear black. I'm not sure why, but a guy in all black is just irresistable to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭ozchick

Not that it's relevant to me, but I wouldn't date someone who smoked or got drunk

ozchick wrote: »
    Not that it's relevant to me, but I wouldn't date someone who smoked or got drunk

I find drunks really unappealing too, and worse are people who think their most fascinating accomplishment is their boring drinking habit.

I have a soft spot for kind, thoughtful types.
    Men who look out for others out of a sense of common decency.
    I really like when men listen to what you say too.

Johnathon Rhys Meyers look is probably my physical ideal, minus the scarecrow legs.

I think chemistry is more important than personality and looks though.

I find drunks really unappealing too, and worse are people who think their most fascinating accomplishment is their boring drinking habit..

Absolutely, there is nothing cool about getting off your brain drunk or being able to drink 15 pints.
    Johnathon Rhys Meyers look is probably my physical ideal, minus the scarecrow legs. .

I nearly fell off the chair laughing.... Scarecrow legs :D

someone intelligent, happy enough with themselves, curious about life in general and wanting to learn more always ^^ and funny of course
    throw in some musical ability* and i'm in heaven

*classical

p.s. no smoking and preferably minimal drinking as well, yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

My type is long hair, taller then me (I'm 5.6), but not to tall. Crystal blue eyes, tanned (I'm a milk bottle..) and I guess his to be a nerd :D The most important thing though is the first huge! Strong tight huge win :D As for personality, just needs to make me feel safe :)

Female - my height my figure but jet black hair and a great smile. As for personality same as for male, but very out going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Im with Ozchick, a guy that smokes is a massive turn-off for me. I drink myself, but never to get drunk. If I saw a guy that was good looking and saw him falling round the place later - Id lose all respect for him completely.

I dont mean to insult any posters, but smoking is filthy. I wretch at the smell of it or the sight of an ashtray. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Lurvely

Somebody who can make me laugh and who i can chat to about anything and everything :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Smoker defiantly a huge turn off. Don't mind if a guy drinks or gets tipsy, just please don't get totally wasted. What girl wants to have to look after her guy for the night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Dinkie

according to friends I have really wierd taste. I like my man to be tall enough for me to wear heals with, and I looovvvveee curly hair (preferable red). I also don't like them too skinny.

I don't date smokers either....

Not that i'm fussy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Umbrella Corp

He has to be well endowed other than that anything at all! Im not fussy!

Maybe you should broaden your scope before you accuse the bottle blonds of being "fake".

Ah now, have another read of my post! Blondes are my type!

The point I'm trying to make, is that in a year of going out and generally being around the college in UL, I've found that a lot of the girls seem very fake, very hard to approach and even if you do, they'll usually dismiss you. They're far too caught up in themselves I think. Its sad really. Then again, if I did manage to find someone amongst them all, it'd make me value them even more!

ehh I think you missed my point.
    And in my 3 years of expierence in UL I haven't meet a single person I would label fake.

Irish women suffer from drunk arsehole fatigue (not saying that you are), most all will ignore and give you f off signals if we aren't interested, are in a relationship or are sick of being hassled.

because irish women never get drunk?

Thats not attractive either :rolleyes:

ehh I think you missed my point.
    And in my 3 years of expierence in UL I haven't meet a single person I would label fake.

Irish women suffer from drunk arsehole fatigue (not saying that you are), most all will ignore and give you f off signals if we aren't interested, are in a relationship or are sick of being hassled.

Thats interesting, in my 1 year experience here I've met hundreds of people I'd label fake (trying to be someone they're not type of thing). And most of them suffer from drunk arsehole fatigue 24/7 - try and talk to someone in a lecture and its the same thing.

Course that could just be me! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Hockey Players. Especially the big young 'uns that beat the crap out of the other team. See: Guillaume Latendresse (of the Montreal Canadiens)

But that's just for eye candy + fun.

I like funny, witty, intelligent guys. A bit wacky, too. As I'm not much of a drinker I wouldn't last long with someone who's primary passtime is drinking - although every once in a while is totally fine :)

Smokers, jerks, arrogant douchebags, sexists, conservatives, and stupid people need not apply.

(not that anyone need apply anymore anyway - position filled)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭adelcrowsmel

I never thought I had a type til someone said it to me - so I looked back on my ex's and they all were blondish and fairly athlethic :confused:- but i don't think its a deliberate decision I make to go for a guy like that - but it defo seems to be who I'm attracted to, even be it on a subconscious level - but I'd never rule someone out just because they don't fit into a defined 'bracket'. Anyone i feel comfortable with and can have the craic with is really my type!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Babette08

I have a type that I’m definitely drawn to - dark, shaved headed, nice eyes, mysterious types..more likely to meet those on holidays than in Dublin unfortunately.

That’s just my general type though as I’m always surprised to find myself attracted to a ‘type’ I’d not normally go for. That’s part of the fun really. I like a guy to be a bit of a lad, up for a laugh, but to have a sensitive side too (that only I get to see of course;)) and knows when to quit the banter and be able to have a decent conversation. Confidence, a little cockiness / cheekiness is very attractive, while an overall decency, kindness and big heart is what makes me fall. Wentworth Miller for the looks, John Cusack for the whole package

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Gwenneh

+++
    Long hair. Well-kept, healthy long hair.
    Musical/artistic talent, or some combination of the two.
    Tattoos and piercings; I'm not talking one lame earring or a few tiny tattoos, I'm talking moderate to heavy metal with well executed, artistic inkwork that adds an accent.
    Broad shoulders. MUST look good shirtless!
    Flat abs, but not necessarily all muscles. A bit of squish is nice, and much more fun to cuddle...sloppy paunches are right out!
    Ambition and opinion. I want to know he has goals and that he has his own opinions, not "Whatever you like is fine."
    Geekiness to a certain degree.
    Also must NOT have a fear of going out and having a good time!

---
    Smoking. Hate it. It smells. I'm allergic.
    Poor personal hygiene. I can appreciate that you're a busy man, but if you don't wash, I'm not coming near!
    Laziness and a general lack of ambition.
    Clinginess. I have my own friends and still like to go out with them. I also like to do solitary things like play video games...without a man. Shocking, I know.

I'm sure I'll think of more as I hit the post button...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I have found everything I look for in my boy....tall, dark, handsome, funny, kind, sweet, affectionate, honest, upfront, no messing about, loving, protective, kind....and loves his Mammy, that's a biggie for me ha ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭raemie21

Manners are a priority - as in having the courtesy to thank the taxi-driver or look at the waiter when he comes to the table. Rudeness is the biggest turn off for me ever.

Interested in current affairs or some idea about what's happening in the world.

Have something to say for himself, similar to above.

Talent/Ambition for whatever he's interested in.

Sense of humour - He can make the jokes, I'll laugh!