Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New drinking laws

• 23-04-2008 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭

Minister for justice is introducing new drinking laws
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0423/alcohol.html

I welcome them for the most part but I find this part hilarious

"The gardaí will also be able to test pubs and other outlets by sending in underage people to try to buy drink to expose breaches of the law."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

token56 wrote: »

"The gardaí will also be able to test pubs and other outlets by sending in underage people to try to buy drink to expose breaches of the law."

They do it with cigarettes, makes complete sense with drink too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

token56 wrote: »
    Minister for justice is introducing new drinking laws
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0423/alcohol.html

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

10pm off license closing time? Would they ever just fúck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 makotest

Off licenses closed by 10!! thats the most stupid thing I ever heard. why should the government decide when I can buy alcohol, I should get it at 5 in the morning if I want, like every other normal country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

Bear in mind, this is just the Heads of the bill. It'll be a while before anything is enacted and changes might happen between now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Sangre wrote: »

+ 1 million. wtf does the closing time have to do with underage drinking?

how about they enforce the current laws re ID first before introducnig new ones that don't combat f*ck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Supermarkets also have to keep alcohol in a special area which is structurally separated from the rest of the premises. More Bullsh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭froosh69

i think its actually fair enogh, to be honest...especially the CCTV becoming a requirement.

makotest wrote: »
    Off licenses closed by 10!! thats the most stupid thing I ever heard. why should the government decide when I can buy alcohol, I should get it at 5 in the morning if I want, like every other normal country

If you want to buy alcohol to drink at home after 10pm you'll have to go to the pub to buy it first :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I just have an image of the Guards sending some teenager into a night club, teenager gets drink and knocks it back and runs off.

I suppose I wasn't laughing at the premise behind it, anything which can help limit underage drinking is helpful. I should have made my reasons for finding it funny better understood sorry.

article wrote:
    He said some prompting by the Government may assist but the general attitude to alcohol needed to change, in order to progress the situation.
    who says? does Mr McHugh think he's my mother or something?

i'm an adult and i'll drink what i want when i want

Supermarkets also have to keep alcohol in a special area which is structurally separated from the rest of the premises. More Bullsh*t

oh no that makes perfect sense. didn't you know until their 18th birthday, teenagers are incapable of finding lane 7 in a supermarket :rolleyes:

and in the blanchardstown centre, the dunnes off licence is in a separate part just to the left of the entrance. people under 18 are much like derek zoolander. they can't turn left and therefore will not be tempted by the alcohol

A lame attempt to get people to go back to the pubs.

Right time to hit the streets in protest. The farmers are out every time a bird sh!ts on their land so I reckon its time us drinking folk to REBEL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

CCTV in clubs = good.

The rest = bollox.

If the 10pm thing did happen I'd just stockpile a good amount of drink in my house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wow, wtf at closing offlicences at 10pm?

I like the CCTV idea, the part about supermarkets having to have the alcohol in a structurally separate area is just retarded though.

It's so sick that people pay huge amounts of their income in tax to pay these guys when they're doing such a f*cking shít job of it. What a waste of money. A f*cking 3rd year could come up with easier and more effective ideas than this f*cking waster.

Right time to hit the streets in protest. The farmers are out every time a bird sh!ts on their land so I reckon its time us drinking folk to REBEL!

Lol I can see that going well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Holsten wrote: »
    CCTV in clubs = good.

The rest = bollox.

What he said. I find these changes to be hillarious.

I can see no way in that it will help prevent underage drinking. Heavy fines for the people who sell the drink to youngsters would be more effective. And seeing as buying alcohol under the age of 18 is against the law why not punish those caught buying or consuming it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

CCTV and Underage spot checks I agree with.

The special areas for alcohol in supermarkets and off-license closing at 10 = nanny state.

I do understand that CCTV could be deemed as nanny state, but I'd view that as added protection/a deterrent for crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    + 1 million. wtf does the closing time have to do with underage drinking?

how about they enforce the current laws re ID first before introducnig new ones that don't combat f*ck all

They want to appear that they are doing something, and it's much cheaper to make stricter laws that to enforce existing ones. That's the simple truth.

Naos wrote: »
    I do understand that CCTV could be deemed as nanny state, but I'd view that as added protection/a deterrent for crime.

i don't see cctv as nanny state tbh. big brother maybe, but not nanny state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 makotest

it is just stupid way to get people back into pubs, I fckin hate this government, I cant wait when it goes broke

ojewriej wrote: »
    They want to appear that they are doing something, and it's much cheaper to make stricter laws that to enforce existing ones. That's the simple truth.

its cheaper to do nothing than spend all the time, effort and money on new laws that won't actually do anything. it's not like they're fooling anyone

CCTV is acceptable I think, it can help with alot more than underage drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

its cheaper to do nothing than spend all the time, effort and money on new laws that won't actually do anything. it's not like they're fooling anyone

I think they are fooling a lot of people to be honest with you. Drinking laws is not the only issue they approach this way after all, and yet they are back in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Ah sure it's only drink, not like it's anything important. The 10pm thing seems fair enough. You should all be at home then, it's nearly your bed time. =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

This is madness...

CCTV.. Grand, thats entirely reasonable.
    What the hell is with the rest of it tho?

What exactly are they trying to achieve with all this?

Reduced underage drinking?
    Social disorder?
    People drinking cans on the side of the road, getting wasted, messing up the place, picking fights with each other then urinating on bus stops?

These new laws don't actually help with any of these FFS..
    Just another example of this country's mentality that, to combat a problem and look like your doing something, you remove more of the general populations liberties in an attempt to babysit the few and the bold into doing what you want.

Really annoys the piss out of me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

i don't see cctv as nanny state tbh. big brother maybe, but not nanny state.

I agree, bad choice of wording on my behalf.

ojewriej wrote: »
    I think they are fooling a lot of people to be honest with you. Drinking laws is not the only issue they approach this way after all, and yet they are back in power.

yeah. i thought about putting in the qualifier "except the most stupid people in our society, ie fianna fail voters" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

froosh69 wrote: »
    i think its actually fair enogh, to be honest...especially the CCTV becoming a requirement.

yeah - cctv good idea... but , i mean - nothing is gonna stop the youngsters bar we enslave the hoooo - ers!!! hahahah evil plan comes toghether nicel :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

and in the blanchardstown centre, the dunnes off licence is in a separate part just to the left of the entrance. people under 18 are much like derek zoolander. they can't turn left and therefore will not be tempted by the alcohol

I presume you are local, so here goes.

Do you know why it isnt open after 9-ish any more? It used to be open as late as the rest of the place. I was asked for ID there about a month ago (by a lad visibly younger than me), didnt have it as I was straight out of work, even my work photo ID didnt get me off the hook (ffs how many 17 year olds work in a place that has photo IDs for employees :rolleyes: And most people guess my age as about 23) He said the cops had put them under extra pressure that day for some mad reason. Where they fined/had their hours curbed for selling to underagers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭seaner

yes I will also be now stock piling drink in my house.

Quite a few times recently (about 4 or 5 since a 24 hour tesco opened in my locality) i've left the pub at closing, gone to get more drink and opted for a mini party in my house rather than going to the local sh*thole of a nite club.

For me, it meant I knew my friends were all in a safe place, and probably alot more likely to get into trouble (random or intended) if they'd gone to the niteclub.

So the government aren't thinking about people like me when they think up these stupid new rules.

Won't be able to do that anymore...I guess I'll have to plan any future 'spontaneous' late night drinks at home.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Davidius wrote: »
    Ah sure it's only drink, not like it's anything important. The 10pm thing seems fair enough. You should all be at home then, it's nearly your bed time. =D

true - next they will close the pubs sunday - friday evening as "people just cant stop themselves drinking and its affecting their performance as employees and well, taxes have to be paid. we must stop the hangovers!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

shane86 wrote: »

Do you know why it isnt open after 9-ish any more? It used to be open as late as the rest of the place. I was asked for ID there about a month ago (by a lad visibly younger than me), didnt have it as I was straight out of work, even my work photo ID didnt get me off the hook (ffs how many 17 year olds work in a place that has photo IDs for employees :rolleyes: And most people guess my age as about 23) He said the cops had put them under extra pressure that day for some mad reason. Where they fined/had their hours curbed for selling to underagers?

I know it must seem annoying to you, but the lad was only doing his job. If you don't have valid ID he cannot ascertain for certain whether you're of legal age.

The whole closing at nine thing now is annoying as the only offo you can go to now in the area is the Greyhound one or Molloys near Clonsilla.

i didn't even know it wasn't open after 9. and only 18 year olds are allowed work in the offo so if it was completely obvious he was younger than you he was just being stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Wazdakka wrote: »
    This is madness...

Madness ? THIS IS ÉIRE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

As an underage drinker myself, I can categorically say I have NEVER bought drink after 10pm, so what are they playing at? You know what would discourage me from trying to buy drink? Fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

c - 13 wrote: »
    Madness ? THIS IS ÉIRE

I Lol'd
    People looked
    Damn you..

I know it must seem annoying to you, but the lad was only doing his job. If you don't have valid ID he cannot ascertain for certain whether you're of legal age.

The whole closing at nine thing now is annoying as the only offo you can go to now in the area is the Greyhound one or Molloys near Clonsilla.

Ah yeah Ive nothing personally against him but I thought not accepting a work ID from me when nobody would think Im 17 was a bit far.

Oh, and lucky you :( Ive a choice between Corduff offy (where cans of Bud are something mad like 2.20 last time I went) or Ladyswell offy (they have decent prices, but Im sure Im not the only person who walks up that direction after dark with a fist clenched waiting for trouble)
    i didn't even know it wasn't open after 9. and only 18 year olds are allowed work in the offo so if it was completely obvious he was younger than you he was just being stupid

Only the last month or so.

Do they bother enforcing the underage bar/offy workers rules? I knew at least three people back when I was 16/17 who worked in pubs/nightclubs. And some of the Dunnes workers look 17.

And oh yeah, the tanned one who works there with the shoulder length black hair......:eek: :eek: :eek: :)

Some night in Heaven, our paths will cross :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Na, i have to say that this was the one thing that never annoyed me when i was underage or now if i forget my i.d. I wouldn't risk my job/business just so someone can get some booze. I know its a small work and you say you look older but its still not worth it for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Do they bother enforcing the underage bar/offy workers rules? I knew at least three people back when I was 16/17 who worked in pubs/nightclubs. And some of the Dunnes workers look 17.

I know Tesco does. In Artane they'd have a sign on their checkout if their underage and can't sell booze to you. I loved those queues when i was just grabbing a bit of food. They were always short and quick :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Ah yeah Ive nothing personally against him but I thought not accepting a work ID from me when nobody would think Im 17 was a bit far.

Oh, and lucky you :( Ive a choice between Corduff offy (where cans of Bud are something mad like 2.20 last time I went) or Ladyswell offy (they have decent prices, but Im sure Im not the only person who walks up that direction after dark with a fist clenched waiting for trouble)

Whoops, I forgot about Salmons in Hartstown/Mountview and Spar in Mulhuddart!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I f ucking love when our elected officals come out with this sort of crap when there's an issue to be dealt with. Talk about burying your head in the sand.

I remember living in Budapest and popping in the 24 hour shop near my flat at 5 in the morning for some beer. Did I see any trouble, there, absolutely ever? In a big capital city like that? I did in me bollox.

The issue here is that Ireland produces more dangerous, anti-social scumbags than any other country in the world, even England. Why? **** knows. Probably as a result of mis-planned housing schemes in the 60s and 70s, as well as the vicious circle effect - They come from scumbag parents who themselves came from scumbag parents. Cycle will go on and on.

How to stop it? **** knows. But the Government will have to stop this mind boggingly stupid s hit of penalising 99% of us on account of these scumbags.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

As an underage drinker myself, I can categorically say I have NEVER bought drink after 10pm, so what are they playing at? You know what would discourage me from trying to buy drink? Fines.

I like it Jack, shooting from the hip.
    Straight to the point mate.

Whoops, I forgot about Salmons in Hartstown/Mountview......

Heh :) Lovely spot around there.

Blanch is a cnut of a place for anything opening really. The Spar at the centre (beside Heaven and the apartments) is the worst, it ****ing closes at 8pm or thereabouts. Worked with a Pakistani lad in the centre who couldnt believe it, back home most shops are open 24/7, not too impressed that he had to leg it down to the Mulhuddart petrol station for smokes when were workin til around 11 once.

Ive no car, hence the choice between walking into gangland for expensive beer or walking into gangland for cheaper beer (Im reg`d with Ladyswell delivery but meh its something like 4 euro added on. Ill take my chances tbh)
    jayteecork wrote: »
    I remember living in Budapest and popping in the 24 hour shop near my flat at 5 in the morning for some beer. Did I see any trouble, there, absolutely ever? In a big capital city like that? I did in me bollox.

In truth it is very rare to see drink related violence in Dublin (well, maybe not rare, but minimal considering the amt of people out drinking)

On an average night out in Dublin, of all the tens of thousands of people on the streets you might see one or two fights.

Down the country despite less eople you might see 4 fights.

The reason being, everyone in Dublin knows that if they have more than six drinks in one session before going to a nightclub there is a good chance they wont get in. So they limit themselves to the six.

Down the country, you have people who have been in the pub since midday watching the prem. 13 pints and a few vodkas, and they can still hug the wall as they navigate their way into the club. Ive seen people on their arse in clubs down thee and every time think to myself if it was Dublin theyd be thrown out. Country nightcubs let you in as long as you can walk reasonably straight. You can be nearly passed out, yet they only throw people out for fighting. Dublin and Limerick may have the shootings, stabbings and muggings, but Cavan-Monaghan have the highest levels of assault cases in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

These new steps will tackle two problems:
    1. The diminishing bank accounts of the Vintners. We'll all have to pay over the odds for a pint more often when we forget to go to the off license before 10.
    2. The decline in the building trade. There'll be a lot of 'structural' work needed to help the supermarkets continue selling us alcohol.

Not that it'll make any noticeable difference to those factors either because

a) We're Irish. We're the cute hoors of the world.

and

b) Nothing's saving the builders from the hole they've dug for themselves.

Banana Republic how are ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    And seeing as buying alcohol under the age of 18 is against the law why not punish those caught buying or consuming it.

Ah come off it man the would be stupid, the amount of time, resources and paper work it would take to prosecute rebellious teens for drinking would be huge.

CCTV in clubs seems like a good move the rest is bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Myth wrote: »
    A lame attempt to get people to go back to the pubs.

very true,

Does it effect off sales from behind the bar after 10pm?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

OK this is a stupid thing, they really think closing the offie by 10 will stop people from drinking more? Erm people will just buy more before 10 and possibly get more locked as a result! I know thats what I'd do :P Also I think that age card thing should be free and easily available (I.e: can be gotten on the spot for free), if there going to make people have to use it (And im guessing by this they are), well shouldnt it be free and not need a months or more delay to get it? I still aint bothered with it..

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

yoyo wrote: »
    OK this is a stupid thing, they really think closing the offie by 10 will stop people from drinking more?
    Nick

Who know, but they think they need to be seen to be doing something about it now, Unfortunately such cultural changes take decades to occur. Also the publicans are a very powerful lobby group and a numbers of TD's are publican or their family members are.

Its an easy fix solution is to hit off license because they sell "bad alcohol" and leave publicans who sever "good alcohol". But then again i have seem many many more brutal fight in pubs and fast food out lets because publican failed to stop severing people who had to much.

I suspect the are very few people who get trolled on cans from the off off license and get a taxi into Dublin cite just to have a fight out side burger king or Mcdonald's