New drinking laws

• 23-04-2008 03:42PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭

Minister for justice is introducing new drinking laws
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0423/alcohol.html

I welcome them for the most part but I find this part hilarious

"The gardaí will also be able to test pubs and other outlets by sending in underage people to try to buy drink to expose breaches of the law."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

token56 wrote: »

"The gardaí will also be able to test pubs and other outlets by sending in underage people to try to buy drink to expose breaches of the law."

They do it with cigarettes, makes complete sense with drink too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

token56 wrote: »
    Minister for justice is introducing new drinking laws
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0423/alcohol.html

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

10pm off license closing time? Would they ever just fúck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 makotest

Off licenses closed by 10!! thats the most stupid thing I ever heard. why should the government decide when I can buy alcohol, I should get it at 5 in the morning if I want, like every other normal country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

Bear in mind, this is just the Heads of the bill. It'll be a while before anything is enacted and changes might happen between now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Sangre wrote: »

+ 1 million. wtf does the closing time have to do with underage drinking?

how about they enforce the current laws re ID first before introducnig new ones that don't combat f*ck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Supermarkets also have to keep alcohol in a special area which is structurally separated from the rest of the premises. More Bullsh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭froosh69

i think its actually fair enogh, to be honest...especially the CCTV becoming a requirement.

makotest wrote: »
    Off licenses closed by 10!! thats the most stupid thing I ever heard. why should the government decide when I can buy alcohol, I should get it at 5 in the morning if I want, like every other normal country

If you want to buy alcohol to drink at home after 10pm you'll have to go to the pub to buy it first :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭token56

I just have an image of the Guards sending some teenager into a night club, teenager gets drink and knocks it back and runs off.

I suppose I wasn't laughing at the premise behind it, anything which can help limit underage drinking is helpful. I should have made my reasons for finding it funny better understood sorry.

article wrote:
    He said some prompting by the Government may assist but the general attitude to alcohol needed to change, in order to progress the situation.
    who says? does Mr McHugh think he's my mother or something?

i'm an adult and i'll drink what i want when i want

Supermarkets also have to keep alcohol in a special area which is structurally separated from the rest of the premises. More Bullsh*t

oh no that makes perfect sense. didn't you know until their 18th birthday, teenagers are incapable of finding lane 7 in a supermarket :rolleyes:

and in the blanchardstown centre, the dunnes off licence is in a separate part just to the left of the entrance. people under 18 are much like derek zoolander. they can't turn left and therefore will not be tempted by the alcohol

A lame attempt to get people to go back to the pubs.

Right time to hit the streets in protest. The farmers are out every time a bird sh!ts on their land so I reckon its time us drinking folk to REBEL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

CCTV in clubs = good.

The rest = bollox.

If the 10pm thing did happen I'd just stockpile a good amount of drink in my house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wow, wtf at closing offlicences at 10pm?

I like the CCTV idea, the part about supermarkets having to have the alcohol in a structurally separate area is just retarded though.

It's so sick that people pay huge amounts of their income in tax to pay these guys when they're doing such a f*cking shít job of it. What a waste of money. A f*cking 3rd year could come up with easier and more effective ideas than this f*cking waster.

Right time to hit the streets in protest. The farmers are out every time a bird sh!ts on their land so I reckon its time us drinking folk to REBEL!

Lol I can see that going well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Holsten wrote: »
    CCTV in clubs = good.

The rest = bollox.

What he said. I find these changes to be hillarious.

I can see no way in that it will help prevent underage drinking. Heavy fines for the people who sell the drink to youngsters would be more effective. And seeing as buying alcohol under the age of 18 is against the law why not punish those caught buying or consuming it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

CCTV and Underage spot checks I agree with.

The special areas for alcohol in supermarkets and off-license closing at 10 = nanny state.

I do understand that CCTV could be deemed as nanny state, but I'd view that as added protection/a deterrent for crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    + 1 million. wtf does the closing time have to do with underage drinking?

how about they enforce the current laws re ID first before introducnig new ones that don't combat f*ck all

They want to appear that they are doing something, and it's much cheaper to make stricter laws that to enforce existing ones. That's the simple truth.

Naos wrote: »
    I do understand that CCTV could be deemed as nanny state, but I'd view that as added protection/a deterrent for crime.

i don't see cctv as nanny state tbh. big brother maybe, but not nanny state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 makotest

it is just stupid way to get people back into pubs, I fckin hate this government, I cant wait when it goes broke

ojewriej wrote: »
    They want to appear that they are doing something, and it's much cheaper to make stricter laws that to enforce existing ones. That's the simple truth.

its cheaper to do nothing than spend all the time, effort and money on new laws that won't actually do anything. it's not like they're fooling anyone

CCTV is acceptable I think, it can help with alot more than underage drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

its cheaper to do nothing than spend all the time, effort and money on new laws that won't actually do anything. it's not like they're fooling anyone

I think they are fooling a lot of people to be honest with you. Drinking laws is not the only issue they approach this way after all, and yet they are back in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Ah sure it's only drink, not like it's anything important. The 10pm thing seems fair enough. You should all be at home then, it's nearly your bed time. =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

This is madness...

CCTV.. Grand, thats entirely reasonable.
    What the hell is with the rest of it tho?

What exactly are they trying to achieve with all this?

Reduced underage drinking?
    Social disorder?
    People drinking cans on the side of the road, getting wasted, messing up the place, picking fights with each other then urinating on bus stops?

These new laws don't actually help with any of these FFS..
    Just another example of this country's mentality that, to combat a problem and look like your doing something, you remove more of the general populations liberties in an attempt to babysit the few and the bold into doing what you want.

Really annoys the piss out of me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

i don't see cctv as nanny state tbh. big brother maybe, but not nanny state.

I agree, bad choice of wording on my behalf.

ojewriej wrote: »
    I think they are fooling a lot of people to be honest with you. Drinking laws is not the only issue they approach this way after all, and yet they are back in power.

yeah. i thought about putting in the qualifier "except the most stupid people in our society, ie fianna fail voters" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

froosh69 wrote: »
    i think its actually fair enogh, to be honest...especially the CCTV becoming a requirement.

yeah - cctv good idea... but , i mean - nothing is gonna stop the youngsters bar we enslave the hoooo - ers!!! hahahah evil plan comes toghether nicel :D;)