Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do you sit in a taxi?

• 17-04-2008 9:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

So where do you sit?
    I find the person in the front seat might be the person paying, so can't have that :pac:

Even if I get a taxi on my own, I always seat in the back and in the left.
    Dunno why, force of habit.

Where do you go and any reason why?

Edit: Thread needs a poll but I think it's too late to add one
    I fcuked up :(

Where do you sit? 83 votes

Front.
    0%
    Back.
    48%
    SupercellCreatureChad ghostalFlukeyStargalthe whole year inntommycahirJIZZLORDThe Real B-manNotMesyklopsRedorDeadjigglywooWibbsDudessDave!tolosenctakolaRed Handbaztard 40 votes
    The boot. I like to be different.
    51%
    PHBVictorZascarMossy MonkTuskyRuu_OldDempseyFaithGuy:IncognitomonkeyfudgeHolstenRbelekidfunk-youmikemacSparkyLinkudogg_r_69jenny retroantor 43 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Since I'm a nice guy and my friends are full of money with great jobs... I sit in the front and pay because they're tight gits!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

in the front if i'm on my own or with people and i intend to pay. in the back and i'm with people and don't want to pay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭[WoW]

If i know the taxi man ill sit in the front but otherwise i also sit back left..weird. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Back, left hand side though sod all room in Dublin taxis,back right hand side is even worse, don't want to sit in front as find better chance of avoiding conversation if you sit in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

in the back all the time.

the ignorance of many taxi drivers mean they normally have the front passenger riddled with their hearld,coffee,breakfast roll and cigs.

they'd probably run the meter whilst they are clearing this stuff just so you can sit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I used to sit in the front. Now I sit in the back and I love talking to them. I hate a grumpy quiet taxi driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

When I'm in Cork, always in the back on the left, if I'm at home for the weekend always in the front because I know the taxi driver, I'm always slaughtered when I'm in the taxi, and he's asked me to sit in the front because otherwise I always lean forward to have conversations with him and I disract him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

In the back at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Back.
    I try to get the front seat all the time and chat away with the driver. They normally have plenty to say but you get the odd one or two who only open their mouths to ask for the fare.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

micmclo wrote: »
    Edit: Thread needs a poll but I think it's too late to add one
    I fcuked up :(

I've added a poll, let me know if you want any other options added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Back.
    Me and my mates split the fair, it works out only a few euro then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

In the front if I'm on my own, in the back if I'm with someone else.

Does it annoy anyone if they're with someone and that person gets in the front while you're in the back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Death or Glory

Front if I'm on my own, back if with company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Back.
    Always in the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

In the back so that I can make a quick getaway without paying it also helps if the driver is old or overweight he won't be able to run after you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

In the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

In the back.

I've learned to just shut up around certain taxi drivers I know. One night about a week after me and my ex broke up, I was ranting and raving with my friend about everything he did. I was really upset and totally let everything out!

Taxi driver dropped me off, drove back into town and told my ex everything!! :mad:

Back.
    What a rotten ba*tard. That was a pretty mean thing to do.

Did you give him a tip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

On my own I'd sit in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've added a poll, let me know if you want any other options added.

Many thanks! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Back.
    in the front always even when im with a group of people

I cant even remember. I was so distressed over the break up at the time (like literally mental, lol) I can only vaguely remember the stuff I was saying. I remember the driver looking back and telling me that my ex will get what he deserves eventually and saying that he'll end up married to some cheating b*tch if Karma has anything to do with it.

I didn't think for a second he'd go back and tell him. It so embarrassing because his sister and his mam were with my ex when the driver was telling him what I'd said!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Back.
    Should sit in the middle of the back for the laugh sometim.

Sit in the front if I'm on my tod, in the back with the gf or when I'm with the lads whoever is out of the house first gets the front seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

in the front, or in the back if with some one special

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Right hand front:pac:

People who sit in the front want a chat.

Single people who sit in the back dont want a chat.

-VB-

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Back.
    MizzLolly wrote: »
    I cant even remember. I was so distressed over the break up at the time (like literally mental, lol) I can only vaguely remember the stuff I was saying. I remember the driver looking back and telling me that my ex will get what he deserves eventually and saying that he'll end up married to some cheating b*tch if Karma has anything to do with it.

I didn't think for a second he'd go back and tell him. It so embarrassing because his sister and his mam were with my ex when the driver was telling him what I'd said!! :o

Life Story.. Where do you sit?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Right hand front:pac:

You sit on his lap. I suppose it's an interesting way to pay for the fare. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I sat in the front once. On the way home the taxi man put his hand on my leg and tried it on. I sat in the back left against the door from then on, until I could save up the money for my own car.

Needless to say, after that, when they internally lock you in - it left my nerves shot for the rest of the journey.

Back.
    Life Story.. Where do you sit?

In the back. It's in her first post.

Thrill wrote: »
    In the back. It's in her first post.

Thank you.

I wasn't telling the story for the craic of it. I was answering Thrill's question Thrill... opps... lol, I forgot to quote you so I guess it did look pretty random. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Joanne87

Back.
    Abigayle wrote: »
    I sat in the front once. On the way home the taxi man put his hand on my leg and tried it on. I sat in the back left against the door from then on, until I could save up the money for my own car.

Needless to say, after that, when they internally lock you in - it left my nerves shot for the rest of the journey.

+ 1
    Similar thing happened to me! Well he didn't actually touch me though. It was a few weeks ago, I was on my way to work.
    I always sit in the front and for the first ten mins or so we chatted about work and that sort of thing. Then we stopped talking for a minute or two (it wasn't an uncomfortable silence or anything, at least I didn't think so! It's a 20 min journey so in fairness we couldn't talk non-stop about the weather for the whole time :rolleyes: )
    Then he kinda turned a little towards me WHILE DRIVING and asked if he had done something wrong?!!! Because the conversation had dried up! I just said I had been thinking about work, but I was really freaked out by the whole thing. Then he started randomly asking if I have a dog and if I'm married.. I'm only 20 and I look way younger than that so it was veeeeery strange. I couldn't wait to get to work :pac: Needless to say I shall be taking the back seat from now on!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Joanne87 wrote: »
    Then he kinda turned a little towards me WHILE DRIVING and asked if he had done something wrong?!!! Because the conversation had dried up!

That was odd as hell! :eek: If I wasnt driving now, Id prob stick to public transport, when there are loads of people about.

But if you have to do it, stick to the door on the back left :/

You sit on his lap. I suppose it's an interesting way to pay for the fare. :D

Sexist pig, there are wimmen taxi drivers too;)

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

I lie down in the boot. I just can't stand talking to these people.

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Sexist pig, there are wimmen taxi drivers too;)

-VB-
    What? Wimmen can't drive.

:pac:LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Back.
    i always sit in the front, unless if i'm with a crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Back.
    In the front if I'm on my own.

If with a crowd, in the back. Messers down the back :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Back left whenever possible.

Usually has the most leg room. If I'm in a foul mood or something and really want to avoid talking to the driver I'll sit in the back right and just look out the window.

Though, if I'm by myself I generally enjoy a chat with the driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

In the back, always.

That way I can imagine i'm in a chauffeur driven Limousine and I can have more of a master/servant type relationship with the cabby. More bang for my buck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Back.
    Always the front. I like to chat to the driver (unless he's a really ignorant prick, which is rare) and that's easier in the passenger seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Dudess wrote: »
    Always the front. I like to chat to the driver (unless he's a really ignorant prick, which is rare) and that's easier in the passenger seat.
    And of course the thigh stroking doesn't hurt either, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Front if on my own, back if with the missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

With mates: in the back - shotgun pays so theres always a race for the back.

On my own: in the front unless it's an airport run and I want to snooze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

In a large unfamiliar city I sit in the back seat on the opposite side to the driver. At home usually the front as all my friends usually take the back seat first.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

By myself, in the front. With a ladyfriend or amongst a group of people, probably back.

I went to a gay nightclub in Belfast recently cos it served late on a Sunday and the driver said, "I used to be gay, but these days I can't be arsed". I loled.

PS I am not gay. Great fan of the quim.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,656 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Next to whomever is paying?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Back.
    if im on my own i always sit in the passenger seat. if in company i sit wherever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

If i'm on my own, front or back depending on the look of the driver. :D

In the back when i'm with herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Back.
    If on my own - I'll sit in the front
    If I'm with someone/friends I'll sit in the back