Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas it can make or break you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 sneakyaces

nicnicnic wrote: »
    6. is bad advice, you only live once make the most of it, what kinda of degenerate doesn't blow the loot on coke and hookers; ffs you sound old like me
    wat a comment.. just sit at the table till ya get a low pocket pair n push ur whole bankroll get a caller n hope to spike trips on the turn.. take ur winnings n get a big mala pudar n a big set of melons lol, n tell her about the bad beat ya gave ur man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

If anyone thinks they are gonna go to Vegas to be the next Brian Townsend your mad. Maybe after trying that they can go to the masters and become the next Tiger Woods. Its a dream. Too many guys think there gonna become rich from poker...why not be happy to make a good taxfree living from it and forget the millions, you gotta make thousands first .... One step at a time.....

Its a long way up and a long way down..!!!

While its true talk of millions or riches is daft, the games over there are so soft anyone going over to spend 3 months there properly rolled with a head on his shoulders about br management and discipline and even a bit of ability will come back with more money than they left with even after a summer of excess spending.

The drawback is I think after a week in Vegas I'd wanna kill myself. So you have to deduct that from your potential profits to get your overall ev for the trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Slash/ED wrote: »
    While its true talk of millions or riches is daft, the games over there are so soft anyone going over to spend 3 months there properly rolled with a head on his shoulders about br management and discipline and even a bit of ability will come back with more money than they left with even after a summer of excess spending.

The drawback is I think after a week in Vegas I'd wanna kill myself. So you have to deduct that from your potential profits to get your overall ev for the trip.

If you can crush the game to that degree theres more money to be made online/ as much money to be made in Ireland without having to incur all those extra costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

sneakyaces wrote: »
    wat a comment.. just sit at the table till ya get a low pocket pair n push ur whole bankroll get a caller n hope to spike trips on the turn.. take ur winnings n get a big mala pudar n a big set of melons lol, n tell her about the bad beat ya gave ur man

i think you got the wrong forum, this is the only place where someone might understand what your saying
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=910

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

6. robbing bitches!

bohsman wrote: »
    If you can crush the game to that degree theres more money to be made online/ as much money to be made in Ireland without having to incur all those extra costs.

The strenght of the dollar/euro has to be taken into account however, in your average day to day life you're spending alot less. And I think the difference between beating 1/2 1/3 or 2/5 over in vegas and anything approaching those stakes online is absolutly mammoth. There is simply no comparison.

If someone can beat those games in Vegas at the toughest time of the year to play to the tune of $200 a day or so for 3 months they can adapt to winning online at 200NL.

Yeah but their win-rate would be alot smaller as they're playing much, muxh, much tougher opposition and facing the crapness that is converting dollar to euro. Also, I heard wsop time is the softest time to play low stakes cash in vegas...Not sure how true that is I was only there the once but it'd make sense, alot of people playing in it by sat or just by being rich enough from outside poker who are going to be sitting in the low limit games without a clue. The top players are hardly going to be trying to make their big score in vegas playing 1/2. For every seasoned pro who comes to town for the wsop and wsop only there's gotten be at least 15 absolute fish.

I think you're overestimating the softness in games in Vegas. June/July is the quietest time of year in Vegas. The majority of people coming for the WSOP are going to have good basic knowledge of poker at the very least, yes the 1/2 games will be soft in most places, the 1/3 and 2/5 will be much tougher, tourists will for the most part play the 1/2. I would say breaking even multitabling online would earn you more in rakeback than your expected winrate in Vegas.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

stop trying to justify your decision to stay at home you nit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

dagunman wrote: »
    6. Coke and Whores
    Vegas is famous for coke and whores. My advice would be to stay away from both. They are to things Irish lads seemed to get addicted to and both are very expensive habits to fuel. You will be on top of the world when you get big touchs, theres better things to spend your money on. There are ppl who have blown there rolls on the above and ppl going on like there some sort of legends. What a pack of fckin idoits, doin there whole life savings on whores and coke.

Reminds me of the Journalist interviewing George Best while he was lying in bed with 2 Miss Worlds, bottles of Champange and mountains of coke everywhere.

"George, where did it all go wrong"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

Also, I heard wsop time is the softest time to play low stakes cash in vegas...Not sure how true that is I was only there the once but it'd make sense, alot of people playing in it by sat or just by being rich enough from outside poker who are going to be sitting in the low limit games without a clue. The top players are hardly going to be trying to make their big score in vegas playing 1/2. For every seasoned pro who comes to town for the wsop and wsop only there's gotten be at least 15 absolute fish.

Wow, didnt think of this. I would have thought the standard would be higher due to players knowing what they were doing rather than casual tourists.

Marq wrote: »
    stop trying to justify your decision to stay at home you nit.

My reason for not going is that I cant stand Vegas.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I don't see the logic in going to Vegas to play low stakes cash at all....Fair enough the standard might me $50nl online-ish, but you can play 8 tables of $50nl for a much higher rate than sitting there bored to tears for hours. The euro-dollar thing is sort of irrelvant too...go to India or Thailand or somewhere for the summer and play online there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

LOL @ the online nerds who "can't justify" going to Vegas for the summer when they could make just as much money 8-tableing online.

Yes; except in option 1 you're passing your summer by holidaying in vegas. Whereas in option 2 you're passing your summer spending 12+ hours a day on the laptop in your Mum's boxroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

your summer spending 12+ hours a day on the laptop in your Mum's boxroom.

as opposed to beside a 25 stone sweaty mouthy Texan...choose your poison I guess.

LOL @ the online nerds who "can't justify" going to Vegas for the summer when they could make just as much money 8-tableing online.

Yes; except in option 1 you're passing your summer by holidaying in vegas. Whereas in option 2 you're passing your summer spending 12+ hours a day on the laptop in your Mum's boxroom.

If you're talking about me Ive spent 3 months there in the last 3 years paying rent in Dublin and Vegas. Theres better places to spend a summer playing poker.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

grinding it out live in vegas doesn't sound like much of a holiday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

the way i see it is if you plan on playing the main event, whether by satting in or buying in, you should go. If not, as oscar says, there are plenty of better holidays out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I think every poker player should see vegas at least once. All of my best poker stories come from crazy happenings there. Dont make the mistake I did though, 10 days is plenty.

I dont see myself going back for a few years though.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I think you're overestimating the softness in games in Vegas. June/July is the quietest time of year in Vegas. The majority of people coming for the WSOP are going to have good basic knowledge of poker at the very least, yes the 1/2 games will be soft in most places, the 1/3 and 2/5 will be much tougher, tourists will for the most part play the 1/2. I would say breaking even multitabling online would earn you more in rakeback than your expected winrate in Vegas.

There is a body of argument that around the WSOP is the worst time to head to Vegas if you are looking for 'soft' games.As Oscar said most people there at this time will have some kind of a clue.Outside of WSOP time you get a lot of the convention crowed who are on a junket and just want to play a bit of cards like they see on the TV.

NickyOD wrote: »
    If a woman who is way out of your league offers to buy you a drink, she is almost certainly a hooker but unless you’re at a known hooker bar like in the Rio don’t label her immediately without absolute certainty. There are a lot of lonely single beautiful women in Vegas. Tread carefully but be sure you’re not passing up the opportunity for some free sex, because if you’re single that would make you an idiot. (Talking from experience this time)

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Jaysus.....I was looking forward to going....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 bizwhizkid

ye doing the same as mr. minraise, going to cali for the summer but will be going to vegas for a few weeks but will only be 20 and looking for either a good "novelty" ID or some good places to play trouble free

There's some casino on that street with the roof tv thing (Possibly called vegas street? It's where the bus dropped me off from cali anyway) that has written on the front "The loosest definition of the word "21" in vegas" or something like that. I'd assume that'd be a good place to start...A mate of mine was 19 and had a fake ID, got no hassle at all in any casino we went too, they aren't very strict on it at all.

Well its the time of year again and ppl are starting to make there vegas plans. Last year it was a disaster for the Irish in terms of ppl blowing big bank rolls, ppl turning up drunk to play the wsop main event etc. You can make a lot of money if you have your head screwed on, but it can also wipe out bank rolls.
    Heres some helpful pointers for first timers goin to vegas.

1. Boozin
    Drink is free at the tables and they will pump you full of it. Drinkin at the table is ok if you set urself a limit of time to play e.g you know your goin clubbing so you might play for 2 hrs and get some cheap beer then leave. Never just keep getting drink and playing away, it will cost you a lot of money. Avoid drinking the night before any tournament. If you were serious at football you wont drink the night before a match.

2.Your Bank Roll
    You will be keeping your money in cash while in vegas, you wont have a bank account to lodge it in. So therefore all your money will be eithier in your room or the casino cage. Therefore you will have 24 hour access to it. When you go on the piss you will prob wanna play after the club. You should try make your money as hard to get at when your drunk. Suggestions, get someone who isnt out that night to mind it/ give them the safe key.

3. Where to stay
    If you are playing wsop event the gold coast is the best place to stay for ppl with limited bank rolls. Ppl tend to get a bit carried away and like to splash several 100 on a room per nite, this means you have to be making $300 a day to cover ur basics, this puts pressure on. The gold coast is no palace but the rooms are grand and its a 2 mins walk from the rio. It cheap and you can fit up to 4 in a room. All so the games there are small but very soft.

4. Where to play
    I like the Venitan, which has a real nice poker room. It also runs a festival along side the wsop which is much better value for ppl with a limited bank roll. Instead of playing one wsop $1500 crap shoot you can play 3 quality $500 tournies. All so if you win a ticket your better playen a tourney here as a warm up. The cash games are wrost in the Rio and I would avoid playing there if you are looking for value. Any where on the strip is good for soft games.

5. The stress of Vegas
    Most normal ppl stay in vegas for 3 days. Vegas will really take its toll on you. If your stayen for more than a week you will understand what i mean. Were goin for a month of the wsop but were goin get out vegas 4 a week in the middle. Theres so much to do in cali and a week out 2 refresh and re energise yourself is a good idea.

6. Coke and Whores
    Vegas is famous for coke and whores. My advice would be to stay away from both. They are to things Irish lads seemed to get addicted to and both are very expensive habits to fuel. You will be on top of the world when you get big touchs, theres better things to spend your money on. There are ppl who have blown there rolls on the above and ppl going on like there some sort of legends. What a pack of fckin idoits, doin there whole life savings on whores and coke.

7. Table games
    You cant go anywhere in vegas with out walkin around a balck jack table or roulette wheel. Your better off stayen away from them full stop.

8.Rember why your there
    Your there to make money. Dont be lazy and sittin around the pool all day and shoot pool and boozen all night, sit down and play. I always hear I wish I played more when I was there the games are so soft........... Look to average at least 4 or 5 hrs a day.

Vegas is the best education a young player can get. Brian Townsend was 23 when he went there with a 5k roll and grinded it for the summer. 3 years later he returned with millions and was playing the biggest game in the Bellagio. He said the summer he spent in vegas was the making of him.
    Vegas is a great place but once you win there a ppl around lookin for a slice of the action. For most ppl you will only get one or 2 shots at a wsop, dont look back on it as a miss oppourtunity.
    I would encourage ppl to go but be aware vegas can make or break you.

If anybody wants advice on where to stay etc dont be afraid to pm me.

lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

explain to an old man with a bad back what your lol means Oscar. seriously.

how are you getting on with your cash league degeneracy?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

explain to an old man with a bad back what your lol means Oscar. seriously.

I was wondering the same,did he get charlied up to the eyeballs and get robbed/gangraped by a team of HIV ridden hookers?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Well its the time of year again and ppl are starting to make there vegas plans. Last year it was a disaster for the Irish in terms of ppl blowing big bank rolls, ppl turning up drunk to play the wsop main event etc. You can make a lot of money if you have your head screwed on, but it can also wipe out bank rolls.
    Heres some helpful pointers for first timers goin to vegas.

1. Boozin
    Drink is free at the tables and they will pump you full of it. Drinkin at the table is ok if you set urself a limit of time to play e.g you know your goin clubbing so you might play for 2 hrs and get some cheap beer then leave. Never just keep getting drink and playing away, it will cost you a lot of money. Avoid drinking the night before any tournament. If you were serious at football you wont drink the night before a match.

2.Your Bank Roll
    You will be keeping your money in cash while in vegas, you wont have a bank account to lodge it in. So therefore all your money will be eithier in your room or the casino cage. Therefore you will have 24 hour access to it. When you go on the piss you will prob wanna play after the club. You should try make your money as hard to get at when your drunk. Suggestions, get someone who isnt out that night to mind it/ give them the safe key.

3. Where to stay
    If you are playing wsop event the gold coast is the best place to stay for ppl with limited bank rolls. Ppl tend to get a bit carried away and like to splash several 100 on a room per nite, this means you have to be making $300 a day to cover ur basics, this puts pressure on. The gold coast is no palace but the rooms are grand and its a 2 mins walk from the rio. It cheap and you can fit up to 4 in a room. All so the games there are small but very soft.

4. Where to play
    I like the Venitan, which has a real nice poker room. It also runs a festival along side the wsop which is much better value for ppl with a limited bank roll. Instead of playing one wsop $1500 crap shoot you can play 3 quality $500 tournies. All so if you win a ticket your better playen a tourney here as a warm up. The cash games are wrost in the Rio and I would avoid playing there if you are looking for value. Any where on the strip is good for soft games.

5. The stress of Vegas
    Most normal ppl stay in vegas for 3 days. Vegas will really take its toll on you. If your stayen for more than a week you will understand what i mean. Were goin for a month of the wsop but were goin get out vegas 4 a week in the middle. Theres so much to do in cali and a week out 2 refresh and re energise yourself is a good idea.

6. Coke and Whores

7. Table games
    You cant go anywhere in vegas with out walkin around a balck jack table or roulette wheel. Your better off stayen away from them full stop.

8.Rember why your there
    Your there to make money. Dont be lazy and sittin around the pool all day and shoot pool and boozen all night, sit down and play. I always hear I wish I played more when I was there the games are so soft........... Look to average at least 4 or 5 hrs a day.

Vegas is the best education a young player can get. Brian Townsend was 23 when he went there with a 5k roll and grinded it for the summer. 3 years later he returned with millions and was playing the biggest game in the Bellagio. He said the summer he spent in vegas was the making of him.
    Vegas is a great place but once you win there a ppl around lookin for a slice of the action. For most ppl you will only get one or 2 shots at a wsop, dont look back on it as a miss oppourtunity.
    I would encourage ppl to go but be aware vegas can make or break you.

If anybody wants advice on where to stay etc dont be afraid to pm me.

1 - boozin is free at the table so 30 hour sessions are to be availed off :) Ive been serious bout football and often ive drank before a match !! (and got sick on d sideline) u win some u lose some ;):mad:

2- ah lets be fair i never abused d bankroll in vegas i stuck ta $1-2 and 2-5 in vegas like glue :) go me :)

3- Anywhere in vegas ok !! Stayed in monte carlo nice i must say could recommend to any one :)

4- If we talking cash let there be no worry same every where :) Tournaments play the venetian or caesars tournaments :)

5- Let dere be no stress :) 10 days in vegas should do any 1, Advice try universal studios LA nice spot IMO !!!

6- Cali is full a irish women willing ta find irish lads !!! Ad 4 d coke part well if they put Gaa matches on at dem hours how do they expect us ta keep goin all day ???? IMO:p

7 - I AGREE and DONT go near :)

8 - lets be honest d average irish lad wont be able to bear the heat anywhere near a vegas pool :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭maloney333

great thread bump lol points 1-8 have to be done in vegas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭ShipIt

Decent post Dagunman...m heading over for the first time for (hopefully) the rest of the summer...GL over there and hope it goes well...