Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas it can make or break you

• 08-04-2008 3:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭

Well its the time of year again and ppl are starting to make there vegas plans. Last year it was a disaster for the Irish in terms of ppl blowing big bank rolls, ppl turning up drunk to play the wsop main event etc. You can make a lot of money if you have your head screwed on, but it can also wipe out bank rolls.
    Heres some helpful pointers for first timers goin to vegas.

1. Boozin
    Drink is free at the tables and they will pump you full of it. Drinkin at the table is ok if you set urself a limit of time to play e.g you know your goin clubbing so you might play for 2 hrs and get some cheap beer then leave. Never just keep getting drink and playing away, it will cost you a lot of money. Avoid drinking the night before any tournament. If you were serious at football you wont drink the night before a match.

2.Your Bank Roll
    You will be keeping your money in cash while in vegas, you wont have a bank account to lodge it in. So therefore all your money will be eithier in your room or the casino cage. Therefore you will have 24 hour access to it. When you go on the piss you will prob wanna play after the club. You should try make your money as hard to get at when your drunk. Suggestions, get someone who isnt out that night to mind it/ give them the safe key.

3. Where to stay
    If you are playing wsop event the gold coast is the best place to stay for ppl with limited bank rolls. Ppl tend to get a bit carried away and like to splash several 100 on a room per nite, this means you have to be making $300 a day to cover ur basics, this puts pressure on. The gold coast is no palace but the rooms are grand and its a 2 mins walk from the rio. It cheap and you can fit up to 4 in a room. All so the games there are small but very soft.

4. Where to play
    I like the Venitan, which has a real nice poker room. It also runs a festival along side the wsop which is much better value for ppl with a limited bank roll. Instead of playing one wsop $1500 crap shoot you can play 3 quality $500 tournies. All so if you win a ticket your better playen a tourney here as a warm up. The cash games are wrost in the Rio and I would avoid playing there if you are looking for value. Any where on the strip is good for soft games.

5. The stress of Vegas
    Most normal ppl stay in vegas for 3 days. Vegas will really take its toll on you. If your stayen for more than a week you will understand what i mean. Were goin for a month of the wsop but were goin get out vegas 4 a week in the middle. Theres so much to do in cali and a week out 2 refresh and re energise yourself is a good idea.

6. Coke and Whores
    Vegas is famous for coke and whores. My advice would be to stay away from both. They are to things Irish lads seemed to get addicted to and both are very expensive habits to fuel. You will be on top of the world when you get big touchs, theres better things to spend your money on. There are ppl who have blown there rolls on the above and ppl going on like there some sort of legends. What a pack of fckin idoits, doin there whole life savings on whores and coke.

7. Table games
    You cant go anywhere in vegas with out walkin around a balck jack table or roulette wheel. Your better off stayen away from them full stop.

8.Rember why your there
    Your there to make money. Dont be lazy and sittin around the pool all day and shoot pool and boozen all night, sit down and play. I always hear I wish I played more when I was there the games are so soft........... Look to average at least 4 or 5 hrs a day.

Vegas is the best education a young player can get. Brian Townsend was 23 when he went there with a 5k roll and grinded it for the summer. 3 years later he returned with millions and was playing the biggest game in the Bellagio. He said the summer he spent in vegas was the making of him.
    Vegas is a great place but once you win there a ppl around lookin for a slice of the action. For most ppl you will only get one or 2 shots at a wsop, dont look back on it as a miss oppourtunity.
    I would encourage ppl to go but be aware vegas can make or break you.

If anybody wants advice on where to stay etc dont be afraid to pm me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Good post. Won't be going this year as I'll still be 20 but this will come in handy for next summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

6. is bad advice, you only live once make the most of it, what kinda of degenerate doesn't blow the loot on coke and hookers; ffs you sound old like me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Yeah good post, hope to make it out at some stage this Summer, maybe not for the WSOP unless I jambag my way to a seat online, maybe i'll just cheat like rag2gar.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,275 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Good advice sir.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

God, I really wanna go...time to grind hard and hope to luckbox an ME seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Good post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

Whats the story with how strict they are regarding Fake IDs? Im in California for the summer and plan on headin up there at some point but im only 20.

Ive heard horror stories of Irish lads getting arrested etc, or havin their winning taken away.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lazare

Yeah great post, some good stuff in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

get drunk, play while locked, spend what you don't lose on coke and hookers

enjoy

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I don't get it. You grind away to make all that money, then you can't spend it on coke and whore's?

What's the point of accumulating all that wealth if you're not going to enjoy it?

You're going to leave it to your kids and then they'll spend it on coke and whore's?

You sir need a reality check.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Whats the story with how strict they are regarding Fake IDs? Im in California for the summer and plan on headin up there at some point but im only 20.

Ive heard horror stories of Irish lads getting arrested etc, or havin their winning taken away.

I played in mgm grand at 1-2 tables, no while I am over 21 I certainly don't look it but never got asked for ID, imagine it depends where you play

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

good post.....reg the coke n whores.....meh, I'll take my winnings and head over to LA and try to find if Britney has gone mad enough to finally take me.....

I hope my new bracelet will impress that gorgeous looney........it's Willie Bitch...

edit..
    RT2 + A2B = LIFE

RT2 - A2B = DEATH

Where AB = Apologise 2 britney.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

YULETIRED wrote: »
    meh, I'll take my winnings and head over to LA and try to find if Britney has gone mad enough to finally take me.....

I hope my new bracelet will impress that gorgeous looney........it's Willie Bitch...

:eek: ultimate bad beat to hook up with that chick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Good post John, my plan is day 1 enjoy, day 2 grind, day 3 enjoy, day 4 grind. The last time i enjoyed and grinded at the same time i missed an opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

cooker3 wrote: »
    I played in mgm grand at 1-2 tables, no while I am over 21 I certainly don't look it but never got asked for ID, imagine it depends where you play

Sounds good, hopefully the whores arent too pushy on ID aswell.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Ya, I was there for just over 2 weeks last year. I think I had about 5 or 6 nights out in 15, and didn't play drunk once so not too bad. The table games don't really interest me, but one of the first nights did do a few hours of drunken Texas Holdem Bonus poker with a few of the lads. Twas good craic and I made a profit. I am relatively old, poor and sensible though, so didn't expect myself to go crazy.

It is a bit overwhelming though after a while and I took a day oof from poker every few days to just go to the cinema, boozing, show etc. It will save your sanity. If as said though, you are drinking every night it certainly lessens your chances of having that big score that you might be dreaming of before you get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

I'll certainly be participating in number 6. Then winning the WSOP, Stuy Unger style!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Good post John, I agree with the learning curve point too, I really did learn a lot from my experiences there. Its a great place if you dont take it too seriosuly and arent overawed by it, and take your opportunities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Lol 6 is an obvious level -reminded me of a story a good pal once told me about having to pay a brasser in coke as hed no loots.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Dagunman advicing people not to play while drunk, brilliant.

I still think I should have played less last year and spent more on coke and hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Skint Reesy

THIS IS THE GAYEST POST I'VE EVER SEEN. You've been to vegas once and u go on like your The Hef! Your all quite comical saying "good post etc" considering none of you have a clue either. Do you really need to be told not to play hammered and not to blow your roll on coke/whores (you could spend it on worse things).

This is fully in bits, and I doubt anyone on this thread can afford to go to vegas anyway, and if they do they'll be routinely doing their bollox over there as is tradition (even I comply when I go)

Gl in the sattys lads (lol),

Balla 4 Life,

Reesy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

THIS IS THE GAYEST POST I'VE EVER SEEN. You've been to vegas once and u go on like your The Hef! Your all quite comical saying "good post etc" considering none of you have a clue either. Do you really need to be told not to play hammered and not to blow your roll on coke/whores (you could spend it on worse things).

This is fully in bits, and I doubt anyone on this thread can afford to go to vegas anyway, and if they do they'll be routinely doing their bollox over there as is tradition (even I comply when I go)

Balla 4 Life,

Reesy

His post is a lot more helpfull than yours to anyone on the forum.Il be heading there for the first time this summer and found the post interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

Balla 4 Life,

Reesy

i like your style. coke and whores is where its at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

On a serious note. Has anyone actually tried to spend a summer out there making $$$ Brian Townsend style? I'm coming to the end of my tenure as a college student, and before I settle into full time employment I might give it a shot spending a few months out there.

Is there some kind of deal that if you're a regular at a casino they give you a free room for the night? And food and drink is more or less for nothing so I'm guessing there wouldn't be any problems at that end?

Only problem is, I've no friends who I think would be interested, so it would be pretty lonely :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭dagunman

Oscar
    I'd being lieing if I said I didnt enjoyin playing drunk. Theres not better laugh in poping in to the jackpot and you can barely see your cards and jumpin around like a monkey abusin the sh1te out of the little worms grindin away with there €200 case money on the table and your stickin them in with the bag and there to afraid to call cause you might have a set. Lollers
    I am actually up from playen pissed in Dublin but in vegas its a different story, you have bigger games than 1/2 plh or plo. I know from expirence playen pissed there is very costly.

I would be in any casino every friday and saturday if they would let me in pissed smackin up the 1/2 plh/o games if they let me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

On a serious note. Has anyone actually tried to spend a summer out there making $$$ Brian Townsend style? I'm coming to the end of my tenure as a college student, and before I settle into full time employment I might give it a shot spending a few months out there.

Is there some kind of deal that if you're a regular at a casino they give you a free room for the night? And food and drink is more or less for nothing so I'm guessing there wouldn't be any problems at that end?

Only problem is, I've no friends who I think would be interested, so it would be pretty lonely :-(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apyB93-1FHk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Health:

Use the pool and gym facilities or do something to get exercise and keep fit. A healthy body has a healthy mind. You’ll feel better for it and this will show at the poker table. Get proper sleep. If you’re too tired after a 36 hour session then go to bed and rest. Don’t force things when you’re tired, even if you’re stuck, in fact especially if you’re stuck.

Eat and drink properly. Don’t eat too much fried food, steak or TGI Fridays. Do get drunk but not every night and only play poker when at least reasonably sober. Eat plaenty of fruit, in fact bring some to the table. Fruit is good for you and as a bonus it will make you look like a pro at the table, just like Johnny Chan. When you eat fruit while playing poker everyone folds when you push all-in on the river.

Getting a the flu is Vegas is very common, so take your vitamins. Wash your hands before, during and after playing poker. Please do not fall into the category of non-hand washer (which is basically 90% of poker players). You’ll make your self and everyone else around you ill. Bring anti-bacterial hand-cream to tables where personal hygiene might be a problem. The last thing you want to is to make the TV table of the WSOP main event and end up coughing s sneezing and sniffling in front of the cameras.

Money:

Don’t be plonker with your money. Manage your bankroll properly. Don’t go broke after three days like Cardshark. Avoid table games and budget you time in Vegas accordingly. If you end up asking for a loan everyone on boards will find out about it and put videos of you on YouTube. By all means go for big scores but not if it means blowing your roll.

Be careful who you loan money to. Make sure it’s someone you absolutely trust and that it’s money you can do without for the duration of your trip because you most likely won’t see it for a while. If someone asks for a loan you can’t give or you don’t know him well enough, don’t be afraid to say no, even if he knows you can easily afford it. If he thinks you’re rude then he’s just a degenerate fool who deserves to be broke and taught a lesson about money.

Recreation:

Go to shows, Go see the Grand Canyon. Even if Vegas is a business trip for you, please take time off to do something fun at least once every three days. If you don’t it will depress you and you’ll end up hating the place. At the end of the day Vegas is MEANT to be fun.

Stay away from hookers. (Not speaking from experience here), but seriously, show some class and don’t. Vegas hookers are all vampire scum and drain your bankroll for more than you might have bargained for. Many are also expert cons, thieves and pick pockets.

If a woman who is way out of your league offers to buy you a drink, she is almost certainly a hooker but unless you’re at a known hooker bar like in the Rio don’t label her immediately without absolute certainty. There are a lot of lonely single beautiful women in Vegas. Tread carefully but be sure you’re not passing up the opportunity for some free sex, because if you’re single that would make you an idiot. (Talking from experience this time)

Blog:

Write about your experience in Vegas at least every second day. People want to know what’s going on. Everyone wants to hear about the $150 pot you lost to a four-outer on the f’in river at Caesers. Having a blog makes you a superior poker player and will in time help you generate your own pack of poker groupies who will worship you and post comments on your blog about how great you are. During the WSOP every poker player’s blog get’s at least 1000 hits a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

NickyOD wrote: »

yada yada yada...CRAPS

19high.583.jpg

I saw lots of text but this is what my brain processed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I saw lots of text but this is what my brain processed

yeah don't play craps either. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

If anyone thinks they are gonna go to Vegas to be the next Brian Townsend your mad. Maybe after trying that they can go to the masters and become the next Tiger Woods. Its a dream. Too many guys think there gonna become rich from poker...why not be happy to make a good taxfree living from it and forget the millions, you gotta make thousands first .... One step at a time.....

Its a long way up and a long way down..!!!