Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards Summer Beach Body Super Challenge: Week 3

• 07-04-2008 8:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭

Well done my measurements this morning and was really happy with the results :

Chest - 32.5 No change
    Bicep - 103/4 (- 1/4)
    Waist - 26 (-1)
    Hips - 33 (-.5)
    Top of legs - No change ( always the place you want to change, and it never does :mad:)
    Knee - 16 (-1.5)
    Calf - 12.5 (-.5)

Havent weighed myself will do when i get to the gym. Really happy with these results. Hight protein & fat diet is really working for me , although I am still eating carbs it is only a small amount a day compared to what I was eating. So onwards and upwards for week 3 !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

My weekend went ok-ish, I was happy with most of the diet decisions I made and others were just downright awful :o

My weight is up slightly on last week but there's...um... some water retention involved but more importantly my jeans are falling off me.

I'm back to the comfort of routine now, and I'm looking forward to a week of good food and feeling positive. I've been indulging in too many skinny lattes of late which desperately need to be swapped back for tea.

Two weeks down, and still 6 weeks left to make big changes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

lindak wrote: »
    Havent weighed myself will do when i get to the gym.

Truthfully if you are going to the gym tomorrow morning I would wait till then, as it is the same time you weighed yourself last week, this will help give a more accurate reading compared to trying to weigh yourself this evening when your day's diet could easily give an inaccurate reading

it also seems powers higher then me have taken exception to my participation in this challenge and have changed my name :D:D

Salad Boy wrote: »
    it also seems powers higher then me have taken exception to my participation in this challenge and have changed my name :D:D
    I was wondering who you were, then I saw your previous post starting with "Truthfully" and it all became instantly clear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Nice one. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

Ye! no will weigh myself in the morning like the past weeks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Like the new name :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Hmmmm :( Well the weekend wasn't good for me - food wise I watched what I ate but the end of last week threw everything I was doing out the window! I made all the sensible choices, no potatoes with lunch/dinner, no chips, no salad dressing, no deserts.. but food wise it was not good as it wasn't what I would have been eating at home. Exercise wise it was bad too! Apart from going for a walk each evening, I didn't get a chance to visit the gym as the conference took up most of our time with organised dinners and receptions. Grr!!

But.. it's a new week and I'm delighted :) So it's to Boxercise this evening, had my bran flakes this morning and I'm feeling good :) Maybe the few days rest will do my muscles good... :o Will be weighing/measuring tonight.. so I hope I haven't done too much damage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

last week was a bit bogey for me, oddles of social eating events and a bit of a change in routine. Hands up on this one but changes in routine normally throw my diet/excercise out the window. Got in 2 gym sessions and actually still pretty sore from saturday. The rest of last weeks excercise was made up of walking. All in all it was a pretty okay certainly alot better than it would of been if i wasnt doing this challenge! My jeans are getting loser but i didnt get a chance to get measurements yet will get them later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

same happened me CorkGirl. Was away last thursday & friday so everything just got thrown sideways for the few days. I managed to maintain a decent enough diet (could have been alot better though) and done some exercise but not as much as I had planned.

The weekends really are my downfall. I bring my set lunch to work during the week and I have a good routine going but I stay in my sisters at wkends and mind my niece. Hence the foods available, eating times, etc all differ vastly. I'm just gonna have to start bringing stuff down with me and plan things out a bit better.

Overall I'm doing well, happy enough with my progress so far. I could have done better last week but I'm just concentrating on improving this week :D I do my measurements on tuesdays so I'll have them up tommorrow. Hope everyones still here :)

ali.c wrote: »
    All in all it was a pretty okay certainly alot better than it would of been if i wasnt doing this challenge!

That is a very good point - there is no way I would have held back on portions and nice things only for this challenge!!

Cork_girl wrote: »
    That is a very good point - there is no way I would have held back on portions and nice things only for this challenge!!

I'd still be JSB if it wasn't for the challenge:D

Ah but you're a new man!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I'm very bad for taking measurements as I want to do them first thing in the mornings with no food on board to be consistent.......but I'm too lazy to do it in the morning

On the plus side I am down 2.45kg in the 2 weeks. I bet some of it is muscle though due to no weights.

Weekend was good but I tend to under eat at the weekends due to being out of the routine :(

Went to physio Saturday too, will be going again next week. Fingers crossed for a full recovery over the next 6 weeks.

Lovin the new name ! :)

screen name JSB -> Salad Boy
    sex all man
    age 28 -> 28
    height 5'10
    weight 217lbs->219lbs-> 212lbs (-7lbs)
    right arm 15.2-> 15.3 -> 15.4 (+.1)
    left arm 15.2-> 15.3-> 15.4 (+.1)
    left thigh 25.2-> 25.8-> 25.4 (-.4)
    right thigh 24.8-> 25.8-> 25.5 (-.3)
    waist 40-> 39.2-> 38.7 (-.5) (measured around belly button)
    chest 43.6-> 43.6-> 44.3 (+.7)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Week two was a good week for me. My main aim in this is to really push myself outside of my comfort zone with the big 3 in the gym. Well, I definately did that this week.

Squat PR for reps with 45kg x 3 x 5

Bench PR for reps with 32.5kg x 3 x 4

Deadlift PR for reps with 80kg x 3 x 5

Also, I said at the start that I wanted to do cardio at least twice a week, which I did.

And do some ab work each time I was at the gym - another check! :)

Overall I"m happy, I'll measure myself again tomorrow or the next day and update then!!

eh yeah took measurements and that this evening. The last ones were taken in the morning time so not so sure what kind of difference that makes

Week 2 Week 3 Changes
    Weight (Kg) 73.8 74.8 1
    Neck 34 33.5 -0.5
    Chest (1) 92 92 0
    Bicep 28.5 29 0.5
    Wrist 17 17 0
    Waist (2) 91 92 1
    Hips 92 92 0
    Top of legs (3) 102 102 0
    Knee (4) 45 45.5 0.5
    Calf 43 43 0

Anyhow sure roll on week 3 onwards and upwards and all that!

training last week

well i got a minimum of 40min walk in everyday also as i said above two gym sessions as follows:

Tuesday
    Front Squats
    20kg*6*6*6
    30kg*5*5
    35kg*4

Bench
    20kg*10
    30kg*6*5*5*5*2

Barbell Row
    15kg*10
    20kg*8*8*8

Sat
    Push Press
    20kg*6
    30kg (+ the solid collar things) *6*6*6*6

Deadlift
    40kg*10
    70kg*6*5*6
    65kg*6

Lat Pull Down
    50*10
    70*8
    80*6*6*5

I personally find it somewhat strange that i can push press more than i bench (intuitively i thought it would be the opposite) but i guess that cause my hips are strong or something along those lines.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Truthfully my weekend was horrible, BGRH and LL beers made sure of that, but I will not be drinking at all this week and didn't the week before last. I did stick to the light stuff though, and bottles so I was somewhat good. Although I found an empty twirl packet beside my head on Saturday morning, I have no recollection of it so I'm hoping it was my sister winding me up.
    Got my seeds as well this weekend so they've been added to the shake in the morning, week 3 has been off to a good start no cravings at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭SMK

Last week was a disaster for me! I was still nursing a cold and I'm on antibiotics until Wednesday. I was really tired and didn't do much exercise. But I'm feeling more positive today and had a good day food wise. As someone already mentioned, I would have given up completely last week if it wasn't for this challenge. And at the start I decided to give up eating a packet of (low fat!) crisps with my lunch every day and I'm happy to say I've stuck to that! At least I've stuck to something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭DAVE_K

I was doing OK until the weekend - then beer took a hold of my routine and it was out the window for Saturday night and Sunday. Kept the diet more or less on track and training didn't suffer (managed it Saturday and last night again). I don't hold much hope on the measurements/weight being an improvement on last week - tomorrow morning is measurement day though so I'll see then where I stand. So i've gone above my weekly quota in the alcohol limits as per the rules :( but I'm gonna keep at my schedule none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

GinnyJo wrote: »
    Although I found an empty twirl packet beside my head on Saturday morning, I have no recollection of it so I'm hoping it was my sister winding me up.
    That is not a nice prank to play :D

Had an OK weekend except for Sunday, but I had to finish off all that chocolate left over from Easter - now it's gone I can relax.
    Didn't drink too much either - which I thought would be the biggest problem to overcome.
    Gonna do measurments tonight, from yesterday morning my weight is the same as when I started.

Weighed myself this morning in the gym and I am down 2lb so happy with that but I am not to consumed with what the scales say to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Well I fell off the wagon this weekend, beer, eating out twice, peanuts, mini snickers bars, there's no way my measurements could improve, right? right?

Lost over an inch on my waist :D
    I won't be getting away with that again. Back on the healthy food and gym going now.

Measurements are in cm:
    Beginning:__Week 2________Week 3
    Neck_________38___________38
    Chest________93___________93.5
    Bicep________28.5__________29
    Wrist________16.5__________16.5
    Waist________89 (35”)______86 (33.8”)
    Hips_________94___________93
    Top of legs____89.5__________88.5
    Knee________37____________38
    Calf_________35____________35
    Body weight__72.5kg_________72kg

Not bothering with the body fat, I don't think I can measure it too accurately anyway. The waist measurement is what's important to me.

blah wrote: »
    Well I fell off the wagon this weekend, beer, eating out twice, peanuts, mini snickers bars, there's no way my measurements could improve, right? right?

Lost over an inch on my waist :D

Lucky you!!

Doing my measurements tonight as I was just shattered when I got home last night and hopped into bed at 9pm. :o My Boxercise class was cancelled and I went to gym instead but felt awful - had no stamina at all, felt weak and after 30 mins had to leave. Not fair :mad: Pilates this evening plus a good walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I'm seriously relieved to see there are people having trouble at this cuz I swear I've lost it completely !!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Hey everyone, going good here, I'm same weight as last week, but I have lost fat :D

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    I'm seriously relieved to see there are people having trouble at this cuz I swear I've lost it completely !!!! :(

nonsense as I said before if anyone is having problems don't worry about it too much and if you need any words of encouragement or advice on anything let us know.

So cheeky just keeping going as best you can as chances are if you finished the 8 weeks you will be better off then if you haven't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

Hey everyone,

I was pretty sick the past week, couldnt hold anything down and running to the bathroom every couple of hours;).. Not a nice way to spend the week!!

Anyway, I have only lost a pound and I have lost around 2" in total.

I measured myself this morning but I fecking forgot to bring in sheet with me so I will update later on with the full list and bodyweight etc.

Even though I couldnt eat or exercise I still thought I would have lost more.. :(

I will be back to the exercise tonight and hopefully this time next week I will see a big difference...

d-redser wrote: »

Am I the only one who thinks it's crazy that people are giving out about losing a pound a week? :confused:
    I think that's great, that's the results I've been getting. I will be happy to lose 8 pounds of fat in 8 weeks (and gain some muscle) and lose a few inches on my waist as well. If everyone can keep up this kind of progress, we'll all be looking great soon enough, nothing's going to happen overnight, but as long as we stick to plan we're going to see results sooner or later (some good results sooner, even better results later!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

blah wrote: »
    Am I the only one who thinks it's crazy that people are giving out about losing a pound a week? :confused:

I completely agree. I'm afraid of losing too much weight (some of it being muscle)

If I lost 8-10 lbs of fat in the 8 weeks I'd be pretty happy.

Oh yeah, I signed up for the British 10K London Run on the 6th of July, which is a goal to look forward to. I should be in great shape at the end of May and able to run 10k by then, but I'll have a couple of weeks holiday and then a month to train. Should be good. :)

Quote:
    Originally Posted by blah viewpost.gif
    Am I the only one who thinks it's crazy that people are giving out about losing a pound a week? confused.gif

I completely agree. I'm afraid of losing too much weight (some of it being muscle)

If I lost 8-10 lbs of fat in the 8 weeks I'd be pretty happy.

No you are dead right ! I hate the scales anyway thats what it does to me makes me want to weigh lighter when in fact what I measure is way more important. Everyone is doing great !

Ok well as I feared, I didn't do too well this week! But.. putting it in perspective last week was a huge big BlAh! :eek: so.. the measurements aren't too bad - no real losses and no real gains..

Neck
    Same
    Chest - .125"
    Bicep Same
    Wrist Same
    Waist - .125"
    Hips + .25"
    Top of legs +.375"
    Knee - .25"
    Calf + 0.125"

Body Weight Same

Next week I am determined to be happy with what I see!!

It's not often I say this, but I'm in agreement with the men-folk here!

Fat-loss and muscle building are not overnight achievements, it's a long process. Over-analysis of measurements on a week-to-week basis will do nothing to drive you absolutely crazy, they're simply there to loosely monitor progress.

Losing weight very fast is not a good thing - your body can't lose fat that quickly. Any more than 1 or 2lb a week is more than likely going to be water being released from your cells.

Similarly, with girls in particular, your body measurements will alter in small ways on a weekly basis irrespective of what your weight is so. Right now my tummy measurement and my weight have gone up - three guess why that's happened and it'll happen again before the challenge is over (well it's not diet, it's not food and I'm a girl... ;) ). If I was to take this weeks' measurements in isolation I'd be very annoyed indeed and would be liekly to throw the towel in and eat my bodyweight in Hula Hoops.

But this is a long-term process, and I'm not going to sweat the small stuff. Keep it going everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

d-redser wrote: »
    Hey everyone,

I was pretty sick the past week, couldnt hold anything down and running to the bathroom every couple of hours;).. Not a nice way to spend the week!!

I measured myself this morning but I fecking forgot to bring in sheet with me so I will update later on with the full list and bodyweight etc.

Even though I couldnt eat or exercise I still thought I would have lost more.. :(

I will be back to the exercise tonight and hopefully this time next week I will see a big difference...

Ok here are my measurements for this week:
    Neck 14”
    Chest 39½”
    Bicep 12½”
    Wrist 6½”
    Waist 36½”
    Hips 44”
    Top of Legs 43¾”
    Knee 19”
    Calf 15½

There is a total loss of 5.75" inches which I am really chuffed about :D.

I know loosing slowly is a good way to keep it off but I am pretty heavy for my size and just frustrated as I thought I would start loosing more than a pound a week. I expected as I am heavy that it would come off quicker.

Last week I didnt eat much or exercise so I can understand my body slowing down but when I do exercise and watch what I eat, it's still 1lb a week.. I expected a bit mre but that is my rant over for the day!!

I know loosing slowly is a good way to keep it off but I am pretty heavy for my size and just frustrated as I thought I would start loosing more than a pound a week. I expected as I am heavy that it would come off quicker.

Last week I didnt eat much or exercise so I can understand my body slowing down but when I do exercise and watch what I eat, it's still 1lb a week.. I expected a bit mre but that is my rant over for the day!!

Seriously the scales mean jack , look at your measurements and you are happy with them , 5.75 inch lose if brilliant. I have to remind myself of these things aswell, but think of it the most important thing is that your loosing inches & Bf and that is happening so pat yourself on the back !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Pendulem effect. The scales IS still important. It might not be as good a measure as bodyfat% or using a tape measure, but it is still important for monitoring progress.

The tape can be pulled tighter and measurements can be made smaller, the calipers can be squeezed a bit harder so they tell you you've "lost" bodyfat. All very subconcious and very likely to happen over the course of 8 weeks. Can't do that with the scales tho...

If you're talking about a 15-20lb fat loss differential over the course of 8-10 weeks no matter how much you want it to be the case, the scales won't stay the same. You won't put enough muscle on to account for the lost fat and maintain the balance.

Pendulem effect. The scales IS still important.
    I just meant that sometimes I have lost inches and the scales wont have budged and it can be quite disheartening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

lindak wrote: »
    I just meant that sometimes I have lost inches and the scales wont have budged and it can be quite disheartening.

I know. It happens to everyone.

But for years too much emphasis was put on scale weight, and now everyone is totally discounting it.

I suppose so . For me though weighing myself it not the be all and end all! Your right though best way it meauring , calipers ,and scales

I don't think anyone here is quite discounting the scales entirely, but it's a timely reminder for everyne to keep the big picture in mind ;)

I don't think anyone here is quite discounting the scales entirely, but it's a timely reminder for everyne to keep the big picture in mind wink.gif

Thats is exactly g'em, I myself can get totally consumed with the scales as I have said before, even when I have lost inches and can see in the mirror a change for the best in my body !

g'em wrote: »
    Fat-loss and muscle building are not overnight achievements, it's a long process. Over-analysis of measurements on a week-to-week basis will do nothing to drive you absolutely crazy, they're simply there to loosely monitor progress.

I have to say that when it comes to the whole "posting up your measurements" thing, I'm really looking forward to posting up my final measurements, weight and body fat at the end of week 8, with a comparison to my initial measurements. I'm sure that will be really satisfying, for everyone. Plus learning the habit of a lifetime and knowing that I stuck through the 8 weeks and continued posting when others gave up and were never heard from again</smug fitness nazi> :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭shabaz

Anyone got any advice on what I may be doing wrong. I am trying to lose weight, I have lost some which I am happy with but want to lose them few extra pounds that are just not moving.

I am 5'6 in height, I weight about 9 stone goes up and down week to week by 3/4 pounds. I like to stay at the 9 or a bit under.

I run and train in the gym at least 4 times a week. My food in take normally on a daily basis consists of Porridge for breakfast, lunch is normally a chicken tikka sandwich with coleslaw. Or Noodles. Dinner I dont have one, but might have noodles or a salad, or after trainning id make up a yogurt nuts desert.

The bad stuff i have and probably too much of is WINE and POPCORN, at the weekend sometimes during the week, wine might be my dinner if ya know what i mean some nights.

I am trying to the summer beach challenge, its the drink part i fall down on.

Not to be sounding like an alco but lets face it we all like going out.

So if I want to lose them pounds am I eating too less for the exercise i do, or just the drink is the problem.

Sometimes im afraid my body is maybe holding onto the fat as its not getting enough food? probably wrong but just want to get the mix right.

Would appreciate all advice.

Regards

Shabaz

shabaz wrote: »
    I run and train in the gym at least 4 times a week. My food in take normally on a daily basis consists of Porridge for breakfast, lunch is normally a chicken tikka sandwich with coleslaw. Or Noodles. Dinner I dont have one, but might have noodles or a salad, or after trainning id make up a yogurt nuts desert.
    Sometimes im afraid my body is maybe holding onto the fat as its not getting enough food? probably wrong but just want to get the mix right.

Would appreciate all advice.

You're probably not eating right. I'm eating 5 or 6 times a day, small meals. It means that my metabolism is working hard all the time so that fuel is constantly being burned. I don't find myself feeling hungry but I am losing weight. I think that if you're skipping meals your body assumes it won't be getting food in the future and tries to hang on to bodyfat. Also, I think that the bread in your sandwich, and the noodles means that a large portion of your diet is carbs, so you should try replacing that with vegetables. I'm eating things like carrot/red pepper sticks with hummus as a snack, and having lots of frozen veg with chicken/salmon for my dinner.

I know G'em said we can post up pics if we want so I've got a couple here for ya ;):

I just realised I've gone from this:

2400852644_e0319beaf3_m.jpg

to this:

2400852662_4883468eb1_m.jpg

Ok, enough boardsing, back to work now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

I run and train in the gym at least 4 times a week.
    what kind of training do you do? Weights/cardio? Time? Intensity?
    My food in take normally on a daily basis consists of Porridge for breakfast, lunch is normally a chicken tikka sandwich with coleslaw. Or Noodles. Dinner I dont have one, but might have noodles or a salad, or after trainning id make up a yogurt nuts desert.
    So on a given day you might have porridge for breakfast, then noodles for lunch and maybe noodles for dinner or nothing at all. That registers about nuffin' on the protein and healthy fats scale, and most of your calories are coming from carbs. That means you're more likely to carry less muscle and more fat than if you had a better diet. Read the nutrition stickies and try to make a few changes based on that.
    The bad stuff i have and probably too much of is WINE and POPCORN, at the weekend sometimes during the week, wine might be my dinner if ya know what i mean some nights.
    I know exactly what you mean and I know plenty of people in similar boats. One small glass (I know some people who get about 2.5 glasses out of a bottle and still think they're only having 'a glass' of wine) shouldn't be a problem, but you should be eating something in the evenings.

In general, when you're not shifting weight you need to change things, and it's very difficult to make small changes if you don't know what you're doing at the moment. Snacking on popcorn, sometimes eating and sometimes not etc. makes this difficult so try to have set meals that are healthy and balanced. As for weekends, if you're only treading water during the week or just losing a little bit then relaxing too much on weekends is obviously going to put a stop to any progress. You need to be sure you can drop fat/weight during the week if you want to go out and let go on weekends.

Lastly, I know this isn't you, but the people I know who have similar habits to what you've described also eat the odd chinese or chipper meal, or have some biscuits or so on that they forget about when it comes to describing their daily diet. Again, if your diet/exercise is not that effective and progress is slow & then you throw a chinese in the mix it's not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Ok my losses so far...

Neck: -1
    Chest: -2
    Bicep: -0.5
    Wrist: - 0
    Waist: -2
    Hips: -2
    Top of Legs: -1
    Knee: -0.5
    Calf: - 0
    Body Weight: -3.1kg
    Body Fat: - 2.53%

This is first time I have done measurements along with what I am doing and I have to be honest and say I genuinely didn't expect them to move. I am so chuffed I did this now as I am one of those that gets very disheartened by numbers on the scales....not anymore.

Thank you for convincing me G'em!

EDIT: MY BF calculations seem a bit awry, three different results on three different calculators, aside from calipers are there any reliable formulas?